Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Relaxation of restrictions Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Multipass wrote: »
    I would really like to see extensive questioning on what exactly they have done to prepare the hospitals - and most importantly, what is left to do which requires the extra weeks. Because the only reason to have this lockdown is to slow the spread to buy time for preparation. I have a horrible feeling that there is no more urgent preparation being done, and they’re stalling for time because they have no idea what to do. At some point someone has to say that this ends, we are going to end up damaging the health system and killing far more people if this continues.
    We can't create unlimited capacity in our hospitals. We have doubled our ICU capacity which is amazing in itself. It's our job as a people to reduce the numbers going to hospital, and that can only be done by reducing our social contact.

There was never any suggestion from anyone sensible that we could do this for a few weeks and then all go back to normal - this was a rumour spread by the #stayathome crowd who were taking photographs of people sitting on their own in parks, and lighting candles in their windows as if that would eliminate a virus.

Except for lifting some of the restrictions, this is life now until we get a vaccine and we need to get used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Penfailed wrote: »
    Pretty sure anyone that even mentions the possibility of restrictions going beyond the 5th of May falls into the easyspaz category of being in the lockdown brigade. Yet...there he is, himself.
    An extension of restrictions without a detailed roadmap is not the way to go. People could be persuaded to go a further 2 weeks if they can see dates on the calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭dashdoll

I completely understand the rationale and necessity for this but I really do think there won't be a great reaction to this extension if it is so sweeping again.

The goodwill of people is gone.....the mood has changed. The financial stress that people is under is massive also and to hear there is a lot more of it to come will not help matters amongst the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

This little love ins and solidarity we had at the start, " ah sure arent we great." Can you imagine in a few months on prime time ... what do reckon the analysis will be? How well they handled it or all the bad decisions bring made, I know where I'm putting my money !

I'll tell you where we will be at, them ruining lives, companies ,jobs. Huge death toll in nursing and care homes... wait until the reality if this hits people's pockets, cant wait to hear the " lockdown4eva" Crowd opinion then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,333 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

We are absolutely not at 70% compliance. The examples you mentioned above are completely overblown.

Great counterpoint??

I guess i'm imagining the 4,262 posts and 142,583 views on the Bulgarian fruit picker thread?

dashdoll wrote: »
    I completely understand the rationale and necessity for this but I really do think there won't be a great reaction to this extension if it is so sweeping again.

The goodwill of people is gone.....the mood has changed. The financial stress that people is under is massive also and to hear there is a lot more of it to come will not help matters amongst the general public.

Yeah! And those making the decisions, you think they are wondering where the fifty euro to pay the electric will come from ? Lol !

Idbatterim wrote: »
    This little love ins and solidarity we had at the start, " ah sure arent we great." Can you imagine in a few months on prime time ... what do reckon the analysis will be? How well they handled it or all the bad decisions bring nade, I know where I'm putting my money !
    I'll tell you where we will be at, them ruining lives, companies ,jobs. Huge death toll in nursing and care homes... wait until the reality if this hits people's pockets, cant wait to hear the " lockdown4eva" Crowd opinion then.

Ah don't you know there will be tribunals and inquiries that will last for years on end, line the pockets of the lawyers and ultimately those responsible for leading the country now will walk away scott free, just like Bertie is walking the streets a free man still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭Penfailed

We are absolutely not at 70% compliance. The examples you mentioned above are completely overblown.

That 70% number has been plucked from the sky. Compliance is much higher than that. Local streets are empty. Beaches are empty. Granted, there are some disregarding the regulations but the vast majority are.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

Agreed. There needs to be a plan presented by May 5 at the very latest - hopefully earlier. Just saying "we're continuing as we are" won't wash.

We've had great compliance from people without needing heavy-handed police action, but now we need an information campaign to tell us what criteria is used to judge whether restrictions can be lifted. The daily press conferences have probably outlived their usefulness by now, they should be putting effort into perhaps TV or online ads for the next stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭easypazz

Penfailed wrote: »
    Pretty sure anyone that even mentions the possibility of restrictions going beyond the 5th of May falls into the easyspaz category of being in the lockdown brigade. Yet...there he is, himself.

You are badly mistaken.

Not one person genuinely ever expected pubs, restaurants etc. to open full service on May 5th.

On the other hand people were saying 2021, closed until a vaccinee etc.

These are the "lockdown merchants" people are referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I wouldn't say it's gone, it's just not endless. The good will of the people requires something back in order to keep it going.

And that is, some clarity. In short two things;

- A roadmap of what's next

- Confirmation that what the population is doing, contributes to that roadmap.

The latter is important. People won't tolerate being kept locked down because, "The HSE hasn't got its app ready yet, just sit tight".

They will need to clearly illustrate how restrictions and individual compliance contribute to the national effort, and not make the population background actors who've been put on hold while the state sorts things out.

is_that_so wrote: »
    An extension of restrictions without a detailed roadmap is not the way to go. People could be persuaded to go a further 2 weeks if they can see dates on the calendar.

I completely agree.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

seamus wrote: »
    I wouldn't say it's gone, it's just not endless. The good will of the people requires something back in order to keep it going.

And that is, some clarity. In short two things;

- A roadmap of what's next

- Confirmation that what the population is doing, contributes to that roadmap.

The latter is important. People won't tolerate being kept locked down because, "The HSE hasn't got its app ready yet, just sit tight".

They will need to clearly illustrate how restrictions and individual compliance contribute to the national effort, and not make the population background actors who've been put on hold while the state sorts things out.

The good old hse, is Denis o'Brien developing the worlds most expensive app on behalf of the irish taxpayer?

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Great counterpoint??

I guess i'm imagining the 4,262 posts and 142,583 views on the Bulgarian fruit picker thread?

How does 189 fruit pickers equate to 30% non compliance in a population of nearly 5 million?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Multipass

hmmm wrote: »
    We can't create unlimited capacity in our hospitals. We have doubled our ICU capacity which is amazing in itself. It's our job as a people to reduce the numbers going to hospital, and that can only be done by reducing our social contact.

There was never any suggestion from anyone sensible that we could do this for a few weeks and then all go back to normal - this was a rumour spread by the #stayathome crowd who were taking photographs of people sitting on their own in parks, and lighting candles in their windows as if that would eliminate a virus.

Except for lifting some of the restrictions, this is life now until we get a vaccine and we need to get used to it.

‘Until we get a vaccine’ - might very well never happen. And as for this being life now, where is the life for people who need medical intervention which is being indefinitely postponed? Waiting lists that will never be cleared. To think this can be life until and if a vaccine happens is frankly ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Spencer Brown

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Great counterpoint??

Did I say it was a fictitious event? I said the scale and impact of the examples of non compliance you offered up were negligible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,067 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i heard the Iriah guy from WHO saying sit down restauraunts would be likely open with social distancing on around June 1st. Was on radio just now. Surely that would suffice anyone that wants a pub type drink? i know it would suit me lovely. get some food and have afew pints sitting at a table for an evening would be grand, its prob the model pubs will have to run with first for amaybe a month to see how it goes. Some pubs will be able to do it better than others. Maybe have a 10 pm closing so people dont get drunk and disturb the social distancing.

easypazz wrote: »
    You are badly mistaken.

Not one person genuinely ever expected pubs, restaurants etc. to open full service on May 5th.

On the other hand people were saying 2021, closed until a vaccinee etc.

These are the "lockdown merchants" people are referring to.

People? You. Thanks for engaging with me this time.

*tips hat*

Did I say it was a fictitious event? I said the scale and impact of the examples of non compliance you offered up were negligible.

I'd like to see your counterpoint to what i said...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,123 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

There is to be easing of restrictions announced on friday and the plan for each phase of easing.

What is wrong with people?

Isn't that what we want?

Multipass wrote: »
    ‘Until we get a vaccine’ - might very well never happen. And as for this being life now, where is the life for people who need medical intervention which is being indefinitely postponed? Waiting lists that will never be cleared. To think this can be life until and if a vaccine happens is frankly ridiculous.
    More than likely it will happen, and I don't think about the alternative if it doesn't.

We can't go back to "normal" until we have a vaccine or some other solution presents itself. That's gone. The sooner people accept and understand this the better it will be.

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i heard the Iriah guy from WHO saying sit down restauraunts would be likely open with social distancing on around June 1st. Was on radio just now. Surely that would suffice anyone that wants a pub type drink? i know it would suit me lovely. get some food and have afew pints sitting at a table for an evening would be grand, its prob the model pubs will have to run with first for amaybe a month to see how it goes. Some pubs will be able to do it better than others. Maybe have a 10 pm closing so people dont get drunk and disturb the social distancing.

Yeah that would be fine.

A lot of pubs will adapt pretty quick, just take your order, phone it in to the local pizza joint and drink away while you wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

There is to be easing of restrictions announced in friday admnd the plan for each phase of easing.

Isn't that what we want?

No haven't you heard that we all want to be able to go the pubs on May 6th because we're all selfish cvnts that love the sesh!

The government made the decision to close down large parts of the country, and were quite clear about the urgency of doing so. They showed leadership by making these difficult decisions and sticking by them, despite the fact they are becoming increasingly unpopular. How anyone can accuse them of lacking all those things at this point in time is beyond me.

Couldn't pick a worse country to be in at this point? How about our nearest neighbours, who ended up with their leader in a critical condition with the disease thanks to a pig-headed disregard of preventative measures? How about the ones with a clown in charge turning the whole thing into a campaign rally and suggesting people drink bleach or whatever nonsense he's coming out with now?

The crippling conservatism here obviously helped at the start if this crisis! What I mean by coukdnt be in a worse country now is, well... how many months will it tauevthennti start funding things, as far as they are concerned, they have done the urgent bit. Many peoples lives, mental health, jobs, arent important compared to the virus... they will start feeling the backlash. Fg lost a lit of seats last election, I expect their poor decision making over the next few months, to kill fg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,817 ✭✭✭Charlie

What people want Tuesday at minimum are
    All hardware stores open
    All construction sites open
    2km bull**** scrapped - nonsense anyway
    All offices open - work remote if possible
    All schools open for leaving cert students
    Road map listing dates for all other important milestones

Any less and People will start breaking all restrictions

You’ll do nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,859 ✭✭✭✭road_high

jonnny68 wrote: »
    me as well, enough is enough im 100% not staying in lockdown for another fortnight after this bank holiday weekend,obviously many restrictions have to stay in place but the 2km limit and older people not allowed out has to be lifted.

How will you tackle the Gardai? They are quite billigerent from what I can see particularly with the masses that are easy to police.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    The crippling conservatism here obviously helped at the start if this crisis! What I mean by coukdnt be in a worse country now is, well... how many months will it tauevthennti start funding things, as far as they are concerned, they have done the urgent bit. Many peoples lives, mental health, jobs, arent important compared to the virus... they will start feeling the backlash. Fg lost a lit of seats last election, I expect their poor decision making over the next few months, to kill fg!

Listen you hate FG because of your hate for people in social housing, calling Leo a rat and splinter in other threads.

You're now using this unverified news to have a pop at them, grow up.

Restrictions will be eased on Friday with a map.

Seriously some people are like spoiled kids, I really don't know how they dress themselves in the morning.

There is to be easing of restrictions announced on friday and the plan for each phase of easing.

Isn't that what we want?

I can't see what has changed this morning.

Construction and a few other bits to open next week and a roadmap for everything else.

Last Sunday week the headline of a Simon Harris interview implied no pubs until 2021.

There is nothing like that being floated today.

easypazz wrote: »
    I can't see what has changed this morning.

Construction and a few other bits to open next week and a roadmap for everything else.

Last Sunday week the headline of a Simon Harris interview implied no pubs until 2021.

There is nothing like that being floated today.

Wait until Friday before we loose our ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭the kelt

It's seems obvious at this stage that the lockdown is being extended because they don't have different elements to control an outbreak in place i.e testing, contact tracing. How can it all hinge on a couple of admissions to ICU more than anticipated? If they feel they cant deal with a few extra admissions then why would they ever lift restrictions?! And you know I think if they came out and said to us that there have been delays but by May 14th for example we will be in a solid position to deal with it then people would accept it.
    But this slight blame game going on last week about more people out and about is not sitting well with people...more specifically the 90% of people who are following the rules as they have been asked.
    For the record I do support this lockdown and the next couple of weeks if that's what it takes (not sure if I could take much more after that) but I think a bit more openness and honesty would go a long way.

That’s pretty much it in a nutshell, makes you wonder why there hiding the information from the meetings etc from the general public, it’s not as if the cmo has previously had issues with transparency in regards to cervical check scandal for example.

All the rhetoric about compliance with no it’s seem admission to failures in regards to contract tracing, testing and nursing homes etc, honesty won’t happen, it’s back covering time.

Ye know what if they came out and said we need 2 more weeks of lockdown because we as the people in charge still haven’t sorted out issues in regards to contact tracing and testing and we may have erred in how we handled the nursing home situation I’d actually applaud them for their honesty and say fair enough, it’s an unprecedented situation, it’s understandable.

But no we will have a few more rounds of blaming Johnny for going further than 2k to excercise and Mary for visiting family when she didn’t need to and another round of tut tut, let’s all pull together whilst we avoid any responsibility for our own failings.

Like I said be up front and honest with people and they will go the journey with you, that seems to have completely ended.