Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running, Corona Virus and Social Distancing

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

Lazare wrote: »
    Let me explain to you what the real point is and who it's lost on.

You do understand what 'fitness' is when it comes to runners and joggers yes?

I'm guessing you don't, but I'll explain. 'Fitness' is aerobic fitness. Lung function.

Fitness takes a long time to build, but a very short time to lose.

Goons like you are stigmatising people who are trying to maintain that aerobic fitness.

With a disease that targets lungs, people with strong lungs will have mild cases of it. Our health care system depends on the majority of cases to be mild, stay at home cases.

More and more people are becoming afraid to venture out because of you and other ignorant people like you. They will lose fitness. Some of them will require hospital admittance because of it.

It's been demonstrated to you over and over in here how runners are responsible people.

Responsible mature runners and joggers won't cause any harm or hurt.

You will though. In 5 weeks time when doctors are choosing who to let die, your contribution to society will have been to burden that system.

Our contribution is to stay out of their way. And everyone else's.

No one cares how long it took you to build your fitness or how fast you will lose it. What matters is that you and everyone else stay healthy and limit the spread of the virus. Thats why brief exercise is allowed.

Just because I disagree with you does not make me a goon. I'm not stigmatising anybody trying to maintain aerobic fitness. It's recommended that they do but there's a difference between maintaining aerobic fitness and maintaining health in times of a pandemic. I simply pointed out that the Gov guidelines recommend brief exercise.

You make the dangerous assumption that people with strong lungs will have mild cases of it. That is not true. This virus has killed healthy, young people as well as the Elderly with underlying conditions. Not one person knows how they will cope if they get this virus.

You think that because your Aerobically fit it's fine for you to run outside because your fitness will keep you out of hospital and not burden the system but your missing the point that you could spread the virus or pick it up. Many people are asymptomatic and if you were there's a possibility of spreading it when outside.

No one is afraid to go outside because of what I said. I want people to exercise outside but not to take unlimited exercise, therefore reducing the risk.

In general runners are responsible but there are some on this forum who put themselves first. Brief exercise is not good enough for them so they exercise for as long as they want.

I won't cause any harm or hurt or burden the system because I want people to exercise but briefly. You want to exercise for as long as you want. I won't be in contact with many people but will still get exercise. You will be in contact with potentially many more people than i will.

You keep missing the point which is to restrict the spread of the virus and stay healthy. It is not to maintain your aerobic fitness.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

No one cares how long it took you to build your fitness or how fast you will lose it. What matters is that you and everyone else stay healthy and limit the spread of the virus. Thats why brief exercise is allowed.

Just because I disagree with you does not make me a goon. I'm not stigmatising anybody trying to maintain aerobic fitness. It's recommended that they do but there's a difference between maintaining aerobic fitness and maintaining health in times of a pandemic. I simply pointed out that the Gov guidelines recommend brief exercise.

You make the dangerous assumption that people with strong lungs will have mild cases of it. That is not true. This virus has killed healthy, young people as well as the Elderly with underlying conditions. Not one person knows how they will cope if they get this virus.

You think that because your Aerobically fit it's fine for you to run outside because your fitness will keep you out of hospital and not burden the system but your missing the point that you could spread the virus or pick it up. Many people are asymptomatic and if you were there's a possibility of spreading it when outside.

No one is afraid to go outside because of what I said. I want people to exercise outside but not to take unlimited exercise, therefore reducing the risk.

In general runners are responsible but there are some on this forum who put themselves first. Brief exercise is not good enough for them so they exercise for as long as they want.

I won't cause any harm or hurt or burden the system because I want people to exercise but briefly. You want to exercise for as long as you want. I won't be in contact with many people but will still get exercise. You will be in contact with potentially many more people than i will.

You keep missing the point which is to restrict the spread of the virus and stay healthy. It is not to maintain your aerobic fitness.

Sanctimonious BS

You can waffle all you like but someone running alone for an hour having no contact under 3 or 4 metres with anyone is far less likely to cause any harm compared to people still meeting in groups from different households in local parks.

Define brief?

Define unlimited exercise?

You simply do not know how many people others are in any sort of contact with so you really should not be speculating on it.

I had a conversation with two gardai last Wednesday after a 14k run, they had seen me at the start of the run, about 1km into it, and just after I finished. I told them exactly where I went and for how long and they had ZERO issues with it because i avoided contact with people.

I spent much of the 14km on either the road, or a non residential area bordering an industrial estate with quiet roads/paths. They reminded me of the importance of the 2m social distancing and the expectation not to venture more then 2km from home.

The single most important factor is social distancing. Everything else comes a distant second.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Seen two runners about an an hour ago in Clonskeagh getting the riot act read to them by the Gardai just nearly opposite the Mosque there. No idea what happened but the Gardai where not holding back raised voices and all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

This is absolute nonsense. We come into contact with precisely zero people. Most of us have reduced our mileage too.

Stop stigmatising, it's dangerous.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

On this, of course there will be outliers but far from being a dangerous assumption, it's a totally logical assumption to make. Of course healthy people, in particular aerobically healthy people will in general fare better than those that aren't.

Did you rub one out to the scene? You seem to get off on disaster/ authority porn.

Rub one out? You've lost me there.

Why was it a disaster, i'm just telling the forum what i witnesed.

Bizarre post :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭stockshares

Why is the A/R even tolerating these two moronic, basement dwelling, scaredy cat trolls? Don’t respond to them. Neither one of them would say boo to you if you were out on the roads.

A person who disagrees with your point of view is not a Troll.

Your post displays the attitude of a bully. They won't react so just do what you want to them

Why are you posting here? Do you run?

Not since i injured my back years ago no.

Why are you so aggressive?

Actually i just see you are a new account i'll leave you to it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Cut out the abusive back and forth now.
    Lets get back on to discussing "Running, Corona Virus and Social Distancing".

• Registered Users Posts: 10,438 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Why is the A/R even tolerating these two moronic, basement dwelling, scaredy cat trolls? Don’t respond to them. Neither one of them would say boo to you if you were out on the roads.

Didn’t A/R tolerate your good self long enough? An inclusive bunch. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

You need to find an indoor hobby.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

How’d you hurt your back? Must be tough having to surf the couch all day. Hugs

Guess who’s back, the Dr’s back........

• Registered Users Posts: 54,980 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I did say the elderly with health conditions were told to be inside but I should have said >=70yrs..

What if she's 69 with no health conditions. That person needs to be out far more than a runner getting miles in.

Why does she need to be out far more than a far younger person doing actual exercise?

If she has a garden all she needs really needs is a gentle stroll and a birra fresh air...

A runner, or person who is dedicated to fitness and running needs the outdoor run ..

Plus, she is in the older category. Best she is a bit more concerned and responsible about contracting the virus. Onus is on her to give herself the best chance not to contract it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,438 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Will someone pass me the popcorn?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

How’d you hurt your back? Must be tough having to surf the couch all day. Hugs

Hard internet duck alert:D

He'll quack off with himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

walshb wrote: »
    Why does she need to be out far more than a far younger person doing actual exercise?

If she has a garden all she needs really needs is a gentle stroll and a birra fresh air...

A runner, or person who is dedicated to fitness and running needs the outdoor run ..

Plus, she is in the older category. Best she is a bit more concerned and responsible about contracting the virus. Onus is on her to give herself the best chance not to contract it.

YESSSS!!!!

A bit of troll v troll action. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Zebra3 wrote:
    Out jogging this morning and I was running towards a couple who seem to think it's totally fine for each of them to walk on opposite sides of the path.

brutes1 wrote:
    Loads of people out walking now makes running more dodging in and out . Grass areas the only way if you have them, or Give us Rain!

Stark wrote:
    Hah, the two things I miss which I never thought I'd miss: dark evenings and rain to keep all the fair weather folks indoors.

Supercell wrote:
    Actually was thinking this exact thought yesterday in the park as i swerved around dog walkers, prams and erratic children on bikes, please give us a spot of rain so they can go back to their sofas and I can run in peace again! Have never ever seen the park as busy as the last couple of weeks.

SeeMoreBut wrote:
    Out this morning and on a path just less than 2 metres wide so I hope down onto the road as coming across older lady walking towards me to give her plenty of space. No cars around. She ends up crossing the road and putting her scarf across her face while I pass her from a mile away. Takes it off her face after I pass.

SeeMoreBut wrote:
    If she's that worried about she should get a mask

SeeMoreBut wrote:
    How do you know she needs to be out more than me or anyone. I gave her more than enough room but she wanted to more and if she is so scared to catch anything then maybe a mask is what she needs or walk around her garden. I presume you've not left your home in weeks.

ooter wrote:
    I wonder how many of these holier than thou walkers regularly walk on the cycle path? the amount of people I see committing this crime in my local park on a daily basis is unreal.

IvoryTower wrote:
    Yep completely agree, I was doing laps of the local pitch this morning along with a few other randoms about the place, every single person was moving to one side or the other when passing, then a lady arrives and plants herself in the middle of the path for a walk, she was clearly oblivious to the idea that people might want space, some people just dont take it as seriously as others. Or maybe she just doesn't think you can catch anything by walking past someone and shes probably right tbf! I still think she should give space but sure at least most people are.

Some people need to take a long hard look at themselves. Easy to point to someone like stockshares and shout troll (not saying I agree with him) but Jesus Christ people a bit of empathy wouldn't go amiss.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

What part of my post needed empathy

IvoryTower wrote:
    What part of my post needed empathy

Everybody is struggling with this. Including randomers out walking. I'm sure a lady walking in the middle of the path isn't trying to piss you off or get in your way.

Well I didnt exactly go to town on her now did I, just discussing the topic...

IvoryTower wrote:
    Well I didnt exactly go to town on her now did I, just discussing the topic...

Didn't go to town no but just part of a general theme here lately. Seems like the response to stockshares lately has been to go after walkers and regular folk. Like I said. A lack of empathy on here and runners doing themselves no favours. Knowing the struggle my wife has had with trying to manage two kids out for walks and praying for a bit of decent weather so she can take them out and seeing people on here moaning that they have to move aside for buggies and praying for rain so the fair weather folk can feck off inside. Very frustrating. First World problems for a lot of people here.

It might be first world problem but it's our hobby and that's what we're here to talk about cause we've nothing else to do!

My point was that only one person didnt try to make room which is a pretty good result as far as I'm concerned, it doesn't matter if shes walking or running

Stock shares spouted some nonsense, he/she is not a troll but I can see why some people thought so. What was it, self absorbed? Idiots? Meh. You can show him/her empathy if you wish, they should be apologising, if you are freaked out about this, it doesn't give you a pass talk **** to people , I mean who isn't freaked

Anyone for 10m around a football pitch tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

IvoryTower wrote: »
    It might be first world problem but it's our hobby and that's what we're here to talk about cause we've nothing else to do!

My point was that only one person didnt try to make room which is a pretty good result as far as I'm concerned, it doesn't matter if shes walking or running

Stock shares spouted some nonsense, he/she is not a troll but I can see why some people thought so. What was it, self absorbed? Idiots? Meh. You can show him/her empathy if you wish, they should be apologising, everybody if freaked out about this, it doesn't give you a pass talk **** to people

Anyone for 10m around a football pitch tomorrow?

I'll head out of town away from people, pain in me hole with idiots in m'view, its far safer on the streets, even more safer around beamore where theres nobody, plenty of roads (might just go over the 2km though)

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Sam the Sham

ted1 wrote: »
    They may not live together are are social distancing from each other. Careful about being judgemental

If they don’t live together, they shouldn’t be out together, whether social distancing or not. The guidelines are clear on this. And if they live in the same household, they don’t have to social distance from each other. There’s no excuse for any two people to walk on opposite sides of the path and force everyone else to either run between them or go two metres off the path to get around one of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭pc11

ted1 wrote: »
    Is she’s 70 or older she’s meant to be cocooning

I actually got abused by an older woman today in the park as I was jogging for a warm up. While I was still quite a distance from her she started shouting at me to get away.

Now, as healthcare professional, I think it's fair to say I appreciate the threat of COVID and I'm always careful to give people space. That said, I also know you can't get it by passing metres away from someone in a couple of seconds!

I was actually so far away I had to stop to hear what she was even saying.

She proceeded to lecture me about '3 feet' and it was clear she had no idea what 2 metres was, which seems to be common.

Ironically by making me stop and engage with her I was in her general vicinity for a good minute or two instead of being gone past in a flash. And while she did so she grasped a railing that could have been touched by anyone. So, it was all a bit counter-productive really.

She was well over 70 I'd say (though I didn't mention this) - I just tried to point out I was at least 4 metres away while she ranted at me but she really wasn't having it.

Part of me was annoyed to be randomly abused in the park but part of me has to acknowledge her commitment to distancing, even though she probably shouldn't have even been there.

In the end I gave up trying to reason and I just jogged away.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,342 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

@Swashbuckler

Because wishing for rain for a normal run can make it happen.
    Really?
    Sanctimonious, are you like this in real life?, look at yourself, wishing for something isn't real..get a grip.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Supercell wrote:
    Because wishing for rain for a normal run can make it happen. Really? Sanctimonious, are you like this in real life?, look at yourself, wishing for something isn't real..get a grip.

What's your point? I never suggested wishing for something will make it happen. I've been in a household for the past two weeks where my daughter has been increasingly frustrated being stuck indoors with ****e weather and some small bit of sunshine let's my wife take the kids out for a walk or play in the garden. As I said, a bit of empathy goes a long way. Pray for rain all you want. Great for you. You get a nice peaceful run where you get the footpath to yourself. The impact is, families who have been stuck inside all day/week don't get a chance to get out for some fresh air.

Now I dont want to get involved but is the weather not great everywhere!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,342 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

What's your point? I never suggested wishing for something will make it happen. I've been in a household for the past two weeks where my daughter has been increasingly frustrated being stuck indoors with ****e weather and some small bit of sunshine let's my wife take the kids out for a walk or play in the garden. As I said, a bit of empathy goes a long way. Pray for rain all you want. Great for you. You get a nice peaceful run where you get the footpath to yourself. The impact is, families who have been stuck inside all day/week don't get a chance to get out for some fresh air.

Empathy wont stop it raining.
    We are all in the same boat.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Yeah I'm done with this thread. Good luck to ye.