Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs when/will they re-open - the Megathread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

I've just read the Irish time and I quote
    "A major issue to be resolved over the coming days will be situation regarding the hospitality industry. While decisions have not yet been made, it is thought unlikely that so-called wet pubs – which do not serve food – will be allowed to open. "

Not to come off a bit Healy Rae here but what antiviral benefit does a 9 Euro meal have ?

I was in the UK under Tier 3 a few weeks back and ordered the cheapest meal and left it. Wasn’t hungry.

What is the point ?

SB71 wrote: »
    some amount of anti pub shills on here who have the audacity to even try and make out they are drinkers themselves, yeah right lads we believe you.

You’ve never been stuck behind one of these yahoos taking ages to decide between vegan friendly cranberry or a coffee that comes with a recipe “but only if you have oat milk”.....

Poxes so they are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

Gervais08 wrote: »
    You’ve never been stuck behind one of these yahoos taking ages to decide between vegan friendly cranberry or a coffee that comes with a recipe “but only if you have oat milk”.....

Poxes so they are!

:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

Not to come off a bit Healy Rae here but what antiviral benefit does a 9 Euro meal have ?

I was in the UK under Tier 3 a few weeks back and ordered the cheapest meal and left it. Wasn’t hungry.

What is the point ?

Obviously the rule is there to prevent people moving from pub to pub when their time is up. If there is a requirement to have a meal in the pub, most people would not move to another pub and have another meal. I guess you already knew that though.

HerrKuehn wrote: »
    Obviously the rule is there to prevent people moving from pub to pub when their time is up. If there is a requirement to have a meal in the pub, most people would not move to another pub and have another meal. I guess you already knew that though.

Why the sarcasm ? I know the reason given - I’m saying it’s bull****.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

I think you asked a question when you said "Whats the point?"
    I guess he didn't know it was a rhetorical question

I wasn't being sarcastic, I was spelling out the reason clearly. Your statement "what antiviral benefit does a 9 Euro meal have ?" seemed to indicate you were a bit confused about it.

HerrKuehn wrote: »
    I wasn't being sarcastic, I was spelling out the reason clearly. Your statement "what antiviral benefit does a 9 Euro meal have ?" seemed to indicate you were a bit confused about it.

No I suspect anti-pub campaigners like yourself would like normal people to be confused but no, we’re grand.

We see what nonsense the health puritans are trying to sell.

No I suspect anti-pub campaigners like yourself would like normal people to be confused but no, we’re grand.

I am not an anti pub campaigner, not sure where you get that idea from. It seems to me that having the requirement to serve food strikes the right balance, allowing socialising with a few pints while keeping a lid on the worst behavior. I am hoping the pubs are allowed open up in this way and I will pop out for a few in December if they do.

Lad what are you on about, you asked a question which seemed to look for clarification, got an answer and then said people like the person who offered the explanation want people to be confused...despite him offering an answer to the question and making it clear one of the reasons for the 9 euro meal.

You're tying yourself up in knots with this logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭SB71

so will we be back to the covid meal thing again when you want to have pints, my jaysus this is like a comedy sketch gone wrong at this stage :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,038 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

seannash wrote: »
    Because the pubs have been shut....
    Also schools allow parents to go to work so its a lot more beneficial to have them open.
    Fairly basic stuff lads

I don't think it matters how may times this is said, those who don't want to remember it will always pretend they forgot it.
    Likewise they forget that the entire notion of some businesses being essential, others being very important and others being completely optional and just nice to have.

I don't think it matters how may times this is said, those who don't want to remember it will always pretend they forgot it.
    Likewise they forget that the entire notion of some businesses being essential, others being very important and others being completely optional and just nice to have.

Regular human contact for those of us who aren’t one of the Waltons is more than “nice to have” - it’s more essential than a five year old doing painting they could do at home.

Schools were reopened as mass crèches and it’s foolish to think otherwise.

Do you honestly think everyone has a large family group ? Nice for you there.

Why does anyone need a large gamily group? Not sure what point you're making.

I don't think i have a large family group. I have a Mother and sister, Mother and father in law and Brother in law and his wife. They'll be the only family I'll see over the whole of Christmas (in different groups and sensibly distanced). It's loads to be getting on with.

What was your point?

Regular human contact for those of us who aren’t one of the Waltons is more than “nice to have” - it’s more essential than a five year old doing painting they could do at home.

Schools were reopened as mass crèches and it’s foolish to think otherwise.

Yeah one of the main functions of schools at the moment, and probably the thing that makes them essential, is the fact that they free parents to go to work. You understand the importance of that, right?

SB71 wrote: »
    some amount of anti pub shills on here who have the audacity to even try and make out they are drinkers themselves, yeah right lads we believe you.

You think only non-drinkers are opposed to pubs opening? I drink. I miss the pub, I loved going to the pub. But I don't support opening the pubs or nightclubs at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

You think only non-drinkers are opposed to pubs opening? I drink. I miss the pub, I loved going to the pub. But I don't support opening the pubs or nightclubs at the moment.

No one has mentioned nightclubs opening since the start of Covid. Yet bs artists like yourself drop them in every now and again as if people are pushing for them. No one expects a nightclub to open.

I didn't pretend to quote anyone. I said I don't think pubs and nightclubs should open. I also don't think festivals or sports events or concerts with crowds should go ahead at the moment. Doesn't mean I'm anti-pub, anti-festival, anti-sports event or anti-concert - that was the context of the post i responded to.

Why does anyone need a large gamily group? Not sure what point you're making.

I don't think i have a large family group. I have a Mother and sister, Mother and father in law and Brother in law and his wife. They'll be the only family I'll see over the whole of Christmas (in different groups and sensibly distanced). It's loads to be getting on with.

What was your point?

I thought it was obvious - there are people alone, with no family or close friend support.

I am one and I live in a relatively small town, go to the pub for a couple of hours and it’s sometimes the only time you talk face to face to another person.

I think it is cruel to just dismiss this.

• Registered Users Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

I see the 9 euro rule may be ditched, what will they replace it with? a packet of crisps:)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,996 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Its back to June 29th so, I could live with that. NPHET must be seething, delighted :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I didn't pretend to quote anyone. I said I don't think pubs and nightclubs should open. I also don't think festivals or sports events or concerts with crowds should go ahead at the moment. Doesn't mean I'm anti-pub, anti-festival, anti-sports event or anti-concert - that was the context of the post i responded to.

Course if doesn’t :rolleyes: You’re as transparent as a window.

I thought it was obvious - there are people alone, with no family or close friend support.

I am one and I live in a relatively small town, go to the pub for a couple of hours and it’s sometimes the only time you talk face to face to another person.

I think it is cruel to just dismiss this.

I don't dismiss it or you. I credit you with the ability to get your social interaction in some other way. Maybe you use Boards for that purpose, maybe you do lots of innovative things to get social interaction. Maybe you sit around waiting for the pubs to reopen. I'm not telling you what to do but I can tell you that some actions will be more beneficial to you than others.

Course if doesn’t :rolleyes: You’re as transparent as a window.

Good, glad we cleared that up. Do you support opening night clubs, sports events, concerts and festivals?

I don't dismiss it or you. I credit you with the ability to get your social interaction in some other way. Maybe you use Boards for that purpose, maybe you do lots of innovative things to get social interaction. Maybe you sit around waiting for the pubs to reopen. I'm not telling you what to do but I can tell you that some actions will be more beneficial to you than others.

Boards is not face to face human contact.

Good, glad we cleared that up. Do you support opening night clubs, sports events, concerts and festivals?

You didn’t ask me but - clubs, festivals. No

Concerts and sports - socially distant trials should be ongoing.

Boards is not face to face human contact.

Ok. I hope you get your needs met without putting yourself or others at risk. Pubs might reopen and close down again over the next while so I wouldn't rely on them for "face to face human contact" over the next while. Face to face isn't the only kind of contact worth having, of course. But that's not really the point.

It is when you don't have it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭opinionated3

As much and all as I want to see the pub's open both for the social aspect and for those employed/ depending on them for their income, the vibes today aren't looking good. Looks like restaurants might be allowed open but not wet pub's. Gonna be the quietest Christmas I'll ever experience I reckon ☹️

It may surprise some but I would love them open at Christmas. Christmas eve in a pub is a massive tradition for me and all my mates and whilst we don't see each other as much during the year anymore its always a fantastic catch-up.
    New years day is unreal as well, Would love to be able to do that this year as well.
    But I will accept they might not open and not revel in decisions that dont follow scientific recommendations. If they do open I'll weigh up whether or not the risk is worth it to me personally based on people I will be in contact with over the holidays (Elderly relatives, at risk friends)

I've worked in pubs since I was 13 and only stopped working at the weekends in a pub 4 months before lock-down.
    People can be supportive of pubs yet acknowledge the reality of the situation we are in and what steps need to take place to combat it.