Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Racing Festival 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    Her price is astonishing and I think at some point an honest proper debate has to be had about Laurina.

We need to talk about Laurina.

I sat and watched last year when she was proclaimed the second coming and every second person felt she was going to "hose up" in the champion hurdle. Did she phuck.

She jumped like a buck around Gowran first time out, beat Minello Indo and I reckon a future Irish National winner, all good.

But I am beginning to question what she has actually achieved. I am beginning to become very suspicious about the mares novice race a Cheltenham. I think it is basically a throw in for young mares and I am going forward excluding it from my formbook. I think young mares are clueless, the race is essentially a pin job, look at the prices of last years winner and runner up.

Today is the acid test for Laurina. I am frankly astonished at her price and find it puzzling that she has been sent to Sandown. I am going against her and have dutched Itchy Feet and Grand Sancy. The main reason being that given her undeniable hype she should be even money. It is a massive head scratcher for me.

9/4 now.
    She may well win that bad race but a Mullins drifting like that?
    Would anybody who wanted to win money take a chance on a horse that bled last time out?
    Rather take an ew chance on the other Irish runner today at Mussleburgh,My Manekino at 12/1.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

tipptom wrote: »
    9/4 now.
    She may well win that bad race but a Mullins drifting like that?
    Would anybody who wanted to win money take a chance on a horse that bled last time out?
    Rather take an ew chance on the other Irish runner today at Mussleburgh,My Manekino at 12/1.

Lovely shout. I like it.

I have backed 2 in the county hurdle at 2.05. Groveman and Kaizer looks overpriced.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,423 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

aidankkk wrote: »
    ‪3:45 leop‬

‪There nothing more I like than backing a horse at a huge price that has been gambled on before with no success . Minds Eye has always preferred decent ground and if he hasn’t lost it completely 50/1 might look value ‬

‪1 pt ew 6 places sky 50/1 5 places others ‬
    Snap, the extra places give this one huge value.

Sand 2:25 Laurina surely far too big at 9/4 going up against novices that should be a grade below it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

‪3:00 sand‬

‪Not sure why soft ground needing dour stayer Clondaw Cian is the outsider of the field here . He even has a reasonable record fresh and some good runs in France . He’s also on a good mark .‬

‪1 point ew 5 places 66/1 . ‬

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭stretchaq

Sand 2:25 Laurina surely far too big at 9/4 going up against novices that should be a grade below it.

Think itchy feet has a great chance

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭maximo31

A Plus Tard NR. change in going.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 WicklowBravee

maximo31 wrote: »
    A Plus Tard NR. change in going.

Honeysuckle be next I’d say.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Honeysuckle bubble will be burst today I reckon.

On the ground Sharjah could take the beating. No bet for me mind.

I've backed Fury Road for the AB. Hopefully he pisses in now!

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭MaxBet

2.35 -
    PALOMA BLUE 6/1 Boyles

• Registered Users Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭piplip87

Why can't they water the track tonight ? Jaysus soft ground is needed

Good man Paul Nolan.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Happy with that from Fury Road. The AB made for him.

Well done Cooper, fair play to him.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Happy with that from Fury Road. The AB made for him.

Well done Cooper, fair play to him.

Agree re Cooper , looked strong

Not too sure about Fury Roads run though

3.45 -

MISTER BLUE SKY 40/1 bet365
    EGLANTINE DU SEUIL 33/1 bet365

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Nolan would have been sick if Jim Mernagh had taken the money. They wanted to keep him after turning down JP.

A Plus Tard out of the next. Dissapointing.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Jury out on Fury Road but cameraman caught a glimpse of Elliott next to Paul Nolan after race and he didn’t seem bothered. Having said that he’d need to take a big step forward to trouble the 3 ahead of him plus the English he’s also drifted in the ap market. Liked latest exhibition he knucked down and got the job done that’s exactly what you want to see, his form also stacks up better than Fury Road so I’d be siding with him in March

I am backing Cilaos Emery in this.

It looks like I am not the only one.

Duc Des Genievres @18s. Interest bet.

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    I am backing Cilaos Emery in this.

It looks like I am not the only one.

well phuck that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Good performance but the English won't be losing sleep in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Yeah that didn’t look great Chacuns jumping wasn’t clean as you’d like for a 2m champion chaser

• Registered Users Posts: 3,133 ✭✭✭akelly02

Defi won’t lose any sleep

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭The Jman

aidankkk wrote: »
    1:25 leop.

Everything has its price and Ornua has a great record on decent ground . There have been bigger shocks in this race than a former grade 1 winner getting involved .

Obviously Min wins but still Can’t resist a 3 figure price

1 pt ew 150/1 paddy/betfair/vC .
    Good pick aidan, 2.50ew returned 62.50!!

akelly02 wrote: »
    Defi won’t lose any sleep

A Plus Tard will do both of them.

The Jman wrote: »
    How? There was a non runner so in a field of 7 you only get two places.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭maximo31

Fakir out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

The Jman wrote: »

Horse was unplaced.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Horse was unplaced.

Horse was 3rd paying 3 places. Betfair and paddy Still paid 3 fair play to then ;-)

maximo31 wrote: »
    Fakir out.

Becoming a bit of a joke at this stage. Leop are going to get some stick.