Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The case of the racist blackcurrant drink

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I know Ireland is not perfect and there are some genuine racists out there but her whole existence seems to be to look for offence. UCD would better serve themselves and this country if they found a race relations officer who was more focused on integration than racism.

Of course, there are some genuine racists out there. You can find them in any country. It's a part of social conditioning, and perhaps even, human nature, to find those different to be offensive, dangerous, or inferior. But it's not a common perception in Ireland... There's never been any degree of organised movement of racism in Ireland... whereas you can find various groups with such leanings in the UK, France, Germany, the US, etc. Ireland has nothing like that. Zilch. Nada. yet.

tuxy wrote: »
    After watching that, if I was serving her in a restaurant I would definitely mess with her order.
    Not because she is black but because of what an awful person she is.

Because she is black, every perceived negative reaction is racism. That's the whole point.

It doesn't matter what your real reasons or logic is... it will all be associated with racism because other people know your feelings better than you. :rolleyes: Fcuk me. This is the world we live in now. Common sense truly is dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Mulberrytree

The general association of racism is with regards to black Americans. You see it often here on boards with references to the US...

[Just a side note. I did give my own example living as an extreme minority, but you skipped over that. I've also lived in various other Asian and African countries other than China)

I feel that you should give a degree of understanding for people who have grown up in a country with a majority white population, and should take the time to consider their feelings rather than playing the victim card immediately. You have chosen to live here. You could live in a country with a majority black population, and so it makes sense, to take into account the difference in culture and composition of the population. I lived in Zimbabwe for 6 months. I didn't expect them to accept me as a black person... or even to be accepting of me as a person in myself. I knew the history of the country and took that into account when understanding the reactions of people around me. I could have shouted racism a million times... instead I got on with living there, and doing what I intended to do. [and I've lived over a decade in mainland China... nor in a tier 1 city. not a "holiday" by any consideration]

Instead, their behavior is all perceived racism (whether it's intentional or not) towards you, and you're only concerned with your feelings irrespective of the history of the country you're living in. (based on your post)

Nope. I can't fully accept Black American culture. I have no problem with individuals... not do have any issue with African cultures since they rarely throw around the racist card.. But perhaps consider what I wrote rather than seeking something to be offended over...

No. they actually don't. They just don't need to project their feelings on to other people with the intent of causing pain, discomfort or harm to others. Ireland is still a predominately white population. Until the population changes considerably, they really don't need to change. Just as black people in many African countries don't need to become more accepting of "whites". Although I do suspect that's another one of those pesky double standards that should simply be accepted. (and yes, I've traveled extensively through northern and eastern Africa.)

Ahh yes, that's awfully convenient. You decide to live in an area well known for KKK sympathies as a black person, and it's entirely their fault that they're that way. No responsibility for your choices at all. Nope. I don't buy into that BS.

Bugger that. And that's why I despise those who harp on about racism. You have zero consideration for other peoples feelings or beliefs. Instead, if it's against your belief, then they're evil and wrong. TBH, I find your attitude just as racist as any KKK supporter.

I'm the racist? Yeah, must tell my whiter than white, raised in Whitehall husband that when he's home later.

Your post is rubbish.

I chose to live here, yes indeed. I pay taxes, perform a critical service in the health sector I could get paid better for, considering the stress, unpaid work hours etc..but not once on landjng at the airport in Dublin was I informed that I'd have to take into account a majority white population who would find my skin, heritage, accent, hair etc something to take offense over.

Perhaps I should have been told that simply being from a different part of the world means I need to be gentle with people not used to those who look, sound or dress different, all because THEY have an issue.

I'm responsible for racists? What kind of stupid thinking is this? It's not the racists fault - if I hadn't been so darn black (and beautiful), they'd never have been forced to scream " effing n***er" at me for no reason at all as I walked by

Yep, those people harrasssed by the KKK in the States had it coming to them, thinking they his right to live among white folk. Psshh. They should have chosen, like, their section of a segregated community, or something. Back of the bus, maybe.

Facetiousness aside, because majority of your post deserved mockery, please explain how the history of Ireland (and don't assume I'm ignorant, or rather, actually, assume I am), how this history means I should take into account people's "feelings" to apologise for my presence here.

I guess YOU didn't see where I said this isn't a racist country but there are awfully nasty racist, prejudiced individuals living here. I'm so glad you
    in particular no longer live here.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Of course, there are some genuine racists out there. You can find them in any country. It's a part of social conditioning, and perhaps even, human nature, to find those different to be offensive, dangerous, or inferior. But it's not a common perception in Ireland... There's never been any degree of organised movement of racism in Ireland... whereas you can find various groups with such leanings in the UK, France, Germany, the US, etc. Ireland has nothing like that. Zilch. Nada. yet.
    "YET" and people like this one given a media platform only shift people from the centre to the extremes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

No thankfully but arseholes like her wont be long the catalyst to start it . Fcuk me she's Katie Hopkins ffs. UCD I salute you is this what positive discrimination gets us a complete disaster for 2 different areas that still suffer from the ignorance of prejudice, women in positions of influence in education and immigrants rights . Ha ha ha ha ha well done

• Registered Users Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭gw80

I read a paper she wrote on "Whiteness of the Irish labor market" she's got an agenda and not much else. She grabs stats from anywhere and uses them to show discrimination without any real evidence. An example she used was, that a few years ago out of the 10k odd members of the Gardai none were African. Then said something like "This level of whiteness in Irish jobs is not limited to the Gardai".

No mention of the numbers of Africans in Ireland that met the relevant education, language, age and residency requirements for certain jobs like the Gardai. No mention of how many actually applied to the Gardai. No consideration for the low numbers of people of African decent in Ireland until recent years before immigration increased or any other factors that may have affected employment rates.

She simply used surveys whereby a certain percentage of immigrants had said they believed they didn't get jobs because of discrimination then started looking for areas with low numbers of immigrants or people of African decent and claimed it was because of racism caused by "a white hierarchy in the Irish labor market".

I'd say you'd find Boards.ie posts with more relevant information than anything she's written as a "Dr".

Whats all this whiteness bs, this is a white country.
    Why do we HAVE TOO have people of a different colour.
    Is there a push in Nigeria to have more white people in jobs and integration, is there ****,

• Registered Users Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

I read a paper she wrote on "Whiteness of the Irish labor market" she's got an agenda and not much else. She grabs stats from anywhere and uses them to show discrimination without any real evidence. An example she used was, that a few years ago out of the 10k odd members of the Gardai none were African. Then said something like "This level of whiteness in Irish jobs is not limited to the Gardai".

No mention of the numbers of Africans in Ireland that met the relevant education, language, age and residency requirements for certain jobs like the Gardai. No mention of how many actually applied to the Gardai. No consideration for the low numbers of people of African decent in Ireland until recent years before immigration increased or any other factors that may have affected employment rates.

She simply used surveys whereby a certain percentage of immigrants had said they believed they didn't get jobs because of discrimination then started looking for areas with low numbers of immigrants or people of African decent and claimed it was because of racism caused by "a white hierarchy in the Irish labor market".

I'd say you'd find Boards.ie posts with more relevant information than anything she's written as a "Dr".

Was this just some hate piece she wrote or part of the doctorate? I’d be curious as to how her viva voce went, was it just shouting and roaring, was there anything of substance challenged like the questions you’ve asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Was this just some hate piece she wrote or part of the doctorate? I’d be curious as to how her viva voce went, was it just shouting and roaring, was there anything of substance challenged like the questions you’ve asked.

She completed her PhD in 2015 and this is from 2017

Whiteness and racism: Examining the racial order in Ireland
    https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/0791603517737282

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I do wonder is she doing everything to actually wind people up to actually make them angry and then end up racist....

Something just isn't right and having someone not from Ireland telling Irish how to live is something also that isn't right.

tuxy wrote: »
    She completed her PhD in 2015 and this is from 2017

Whiteness and racism: Examining the racial order in Ireland
    https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/0791603517737282

:eek: this stuff is racist hate speech dressed up as academia...f*ck sake.
    The incongruence between the Ireland which is ranked the world's fourth most welcoming country (Expat Insider 2015) and the Ireland that in recent times appears to favour more ‘acceptable’ EU migrants over non-EU migrants (Fanning, 2009; Joseph, 2015, Lentin 2007), raises crucial questions as to whether a person’s physiognomy is a key factor in understanding race and how it influences labour market outcomes.

However, Ireland appears not only to have a colour-coded migrant penalty but also an intolerance to difference as is evident in the racialisation of Irish Travellers, who are white (Hayes, 2006). This fact forms the basis and reinforces the argument that Irish racism is not simply colour-coded (Garner, 2009). Unlike the US where non-Black minorities must compare their treatment to African Americans to redress their grievances, it would seem that in Ireland, Irish Travellers constitute the prototypical minority group. Nonetheless, it is important to note that part of the colonial tactics mobilised against the Irish and Irish Travellers involved similar cultural and symbolic representations of ‘Blacks’ as ‘dirty’, ‘poor’, ‘violent’, and ‘disruptive’ (Tsri, 2016). On this premise, I argue that the use of perceived difference in language, accent, religion and nationality as a pretext to exploit and racialise the Irish conforms to the colour line, symbolically ‘darkening’ even white subjects with comparable consequences (Joseph, 2015). Although skin colour is not the only possible explanation for the change in the positioning of the Irish in their Diaspora settings, the mobilisation of phenotypic whiteness by the Irish is indisputable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Wouldn't like to be a HR manager theses days.
    Definitely would want to avoid the self entitled and easily offended types. Chancers such as the good Dr. do decent hard working migrants a huge disfavor.

🙈🙉🙊

The 2012 ESRI report which made the headlines in Ireland at the time concerning the high levels of disparities in labour market outcomes showed that at 36%, Black African immigrants have much higher rates of unemployment, compared with 9.5% for White EU-13 individuals, and 12.3% for Asians. This finding would not have been very shocking to many migrants of Black African descent in Ireland who were living that experience, as they are likely to be aware that all migrants are not treated equally in the labour market.

Yet no stat given and how many of them looking for jobs. Academic piece quoting "much higher" versus other percentage stats, no research, no evidence yet published. Can't read anymore, f*ckin toilet paper stuff and she was awarded a doctorate with similar material.

Is it not racist or a least patronizing to judge immigrants at a lower standard for fear they may not reach the same levels as citizens who have grow up here and have come through the education system.

Pandering to this level of absurdity and awarding a PHD is insulting to any other immigrant or non national who has achieved an MBA/PHD in DCU.

She should accuse them of being racist as they possibly think she's too stupid to get a proper PHD and as an African she was judged differently....

Is it not racist or a least patronizing to judge immigrants at a lower standard for fear they may not reach the same levels as citizens who have grow up here and have come through the education system.

Pandering to this level of absurdity and awarding a PHD is insulting to any other immigrant or non national who has achieved an MBA/PHD in DCU.

She should accuse them of being racist as they possibly think she's too stupid to get a proper PHD and as an African she was judged differently....

That's something she will do in 20 years and put in a claim she was oppressed...

I'm actually getting very fcuking pis#ed off the way things are going here.

That's something she will do in 20 years and put in a claim she was oppressed...

I'm actually getting very fcuking pis#ed off the way things are going here.

In a world in desperate need of more intelligence , more insight, more common sense we seem determined to plum for the lowest common denominator and the most vacuous and
    shallow.
    Fakery and faux outrage has been weaponized and takes up all the space.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yet indeed. The reason overt racism wasn't an issue in Ireland is simply because Ireland wasn't "multicultural". Racism was certainly there mind you, but not notable unless you were one of the very rare browner folks growing up here. I knew two when growing up in the Ireland of the 70's and 80's and they heard n*gger on the regular. Ireland was more than grand with the "penny for the Black babies" dropped into the slots of the Trocaire box and effigies outside shops, but actual "Black babies" that weren't pictures from the Missions, that was a different thing.

Given how clannish and insular Irish society can often be I'd say the daft multicultural experiment won't go over so well here. I mean look at the Traveller situation and they're locals and White.

The joke and tragedy is it'll be the subsequent generations of African Irish(and others) that will go through the crap. That has happened in every single European country that has run this daft social experiment. Most had to because of their colonial past, but it didn't go too well. African Irish are already sometimes kicking back and I can well understand why. If I were them I would. They know from personal experience that they don't quite fit in, that they're not seen as or feel quite Irish. And it's early days yet.
    gw80 wrote: »
    Whats all this whiteness bs, this is a white country.
    Why do we HAVE TOO have people of a different colour.
    Is there a push in Nigeria to have more white people in jobs and integration, is there ****,
    Well no. It seems the most ardent pushers of "diversity" only seem to feel White nations are the most in need of it. And only of a certain kind. White Europeans from other countries don't cut the mustard, they have to be Brown of whatever tone. The more apparently destitute the better. The African, or Asian or Arab man or woman who comes here legally and is wanted for jobs and the like, not nearly so much. If one were to suggest say Tanzania and Tanzanias should welcome and be somehow grateful for an influx of tens of thousands of pale faces who automatically become Tanzanian on receipt of a passport and then start to dictate Tanzanian culture? Well the "multiculturalists" would have a fit. The Tanzanians would likely do so too, but more from a general confused what the actual fcuk?? angle. And they'd be dead bloody right.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Money must grow on trees and us Irish are to dumb to know anything so we need them folk from Africa to come here, tell us we oppressed them and tortured them and we don't have enough blacks here.....

Now am I missing something here???? We are a white nation as in most cases we tend to be quite pale as the atmosphere we live in....

Ebun love if you don't like it here, why not use all the money you got over the years to go back to your roots and do some good there....

Corrupt government, officials, cops, councils yada yada yada....

They need a mouth like you but you won't as nobody would give you even a second there...

Ebun you are the racist one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

There's some terrible accusations on her page. Not just by her, but by her followers. Naming and shaming people who might have sent an email. "There's six people on LinkedIn that have the same name as the one on that email so I'll report them to the guards". He even gets the first name completely wrong. I don't find being anti-racist one bit impressive if you're willing to destroy someones life to prove how liberal and tolerant you are.

Someone is going to end up getting arrested over this shite.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

I believe the term is soft bigotry of low expectations.

The great thing with people like her is its like they are a plant for growing intolerance. Popular in the twitter sphere and the usual echo chambers around the country but for the rest of society they are not what you would want to represent the immigrant community.

There's some terrible accusations on her page. Not just by her, but by her followers. Naming and shaming people who might have sent an email. "There's six people on LinkedIn that have the same name as the one on that email so I'll report them to the guards". He even gets the first name completely wrong. I don't find being anti-racist one bit impressive if you're willing to destroy someones life to prove how liberal and tolerant you are.

Someone is going to end up getting arrested over this shite.

The twitter thread is hilarious and has lots of that kind of person, throwing themselves on their swords and apologising for Ireland on a whole.

Calhoun wrote: »
    I believe the term is soft bigotry of low expectations.

The great thing with people like her is its like they are a plant for growing intolerance. Popular in the twitter sphere and the usual echo chambers around the country but for the rest of society they are not what you would want to represent the immigrant community.

I read on regrettably...

“However, Ireland appears not only to have a colour-coded migrant penalty but also an intolerance to difference as is evident in the racialisation of Irish Travellers, who are white (Hayes, 2006)”

“Appears” so in her warped perception, followed by the reference from Hayes says nothing of a sort. We are essentially an entire nation of hate filled xenophobic racists á la KKK in her warped mind. More I read about her and her material she is a very sick and hate filled twisted individual. This just seems impossible to most because she is black.

I read on regrettably...

“However, Ireland appears not only to have a colour-coded migrant penalty but also an intolerance to difference as is evident in the racialisation of Irish Travellers, who are white (Hayes, 2006)”

“Appears” so in her warped perception, followed by the reference from Hayes says nothing of a sort. We are essentially an entire nation of hate filled xenophobic racists á la KKK in her warped mind. More I read about her and her material she is a very sick and hate filled twisted individual. This just seems impossible to most because she is black.

Its great alright as certain sections of Irish society keep making misfires with who they pick for diversity. Ends up just turning people off of the "official" Ireland stance on it.

Its like we have learned nothing from whats happening overseas and putting horrible people focused on politics that divide into the spotlight.

There's some terrible accusations on her page.

What page is it if you mind me asking and I assume its fairly toxic if they are doxing people. I also wonder how our liable laws would stand up to stuff like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

What are people doing moving to racist countries if they dont like racism, or are of a race that will attract racism if they move to it ? Dont go there in the first place, and expect everyone already there, to change to accomodate you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

What page is it if you mind me asking and I assume its fairly toxic if they are doxing people. I also wonder how our liable laws would stand up to stuff like this.

https://twitter.com/HyperbolicDub/status/1213474584747544576

What are people doing moving to racist countries if they dont like racism, or are of a race that will attract racism if they move to it ? Dont go there in the first place, and expect everyone already there, to change to accomodate you.

We get allot of economic immigrants who come over on the sly and play the direct provision marathon trying to drag it out so they can eventually stay.

Not all but allot of criticism of the current system comes from folk abusing the asylum process.

Those emails are reprehensible but trying to out people online and doxing them from Ireland isn't the safest thing to do as it can go both ways. If you get the wrong person the liable laws could **** you up greatly, if you get a worse person well they find out where you live and your proper ****ed then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I've actually reported this tweet so there's a chance it might disappear. I did get a screenshot of the tweet in case anyone needs evidence of defamation but I won't post it here.

twitter.com/HyperbolicDub/status/1213474584747544576

He accused someone with a different first name of sending the email. I've just seen someone inform him of this. Instead of deleting his tweet brushes it off as a typo, accuses the man of being a racist and blocks him.

https://mobile.twitter.com/HyperbolicDub/status/1213848597432852480

I've actually reported this tweet so there's a chance it might disappear. I did get a screenshot of the tweet in case anyone needs evidence of defamation but I won't post it here.

twitter.com/HyperbolicDub/status/1213474584747544576

He accused someone with a different first name of sending the email. I've just seen someone inform him of this. Instead of deleting his tweet brushes it off as a typo, accuses the man of being a racist and blocks him.

https://mobile.twitter.com/HyperbolicDub/status/1213848597432852480

Lets hope it doesn't cause issues for the guy he falsely identified. As could see him in court.

He also seems to now be going dirty Harry on one of the other pages. As i said above you can do what you want but in Ireland i would never assume that i would be overly safe going on a crusade against people as we are so small.

If he can figure out who people are the same can be done for him, even the profile picture he has gives an indication of where he lives/frequents.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,718 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

I had a feeling that anybody who corrected him would be dismissed and accused of similar. While the emails to Dr Ebun are appallingly racist, Hyperbollix seems like a very angry man.