Paddy Cow wrote: » I know Ireland is not perfect and there are some genuine racists out there but her whole existence seems to be to look for offence. UCD would better serve themselves and this country if they found a race relations officer who was more focused on integration than racism.
tuxy wrote: » After watching that, if I was serving her in a restaurant I would definitely mess with her order. Not because she is black but because of what an awful person she is.
[Deleted User] wrote: » The general association of racism is with regards to black Americans. You see it often here on boards with references to the US... [Just a side note. I did give my own example living as an extreme minority, but you skipped over that. I've also lived in various other Asian and African countries other than China) I feel that you should give a degree of understanding for people who have grown up in a country with a majority white population, and should take the time to consider their feelings rather than playing the victim card immediately. You have chosen to live here. You could live in a country with a majority black population, and so it makes sense, to take into account the difference in culture and composition of the population. I lived in Zimbabwe for 6 months. I didn't expect them to accept me as a black person... or even to be accepting of me as a person in myself. I knew the history of the country and took that into account when understanding the reactions of people around me. I could have shouted racism a million times... instead I got on with living there, and doing what I intended to do. [and I've lived over a decade in mainland China... nor in a tier 1 city. not a "holiday" by any consideration] Instead, their behavior is all perceived racism (whether it's intentional or not) towards you, and you're only concerned with your feelings irrespective of the history of the country you're living in. (based on your post) Nope. I can't fully accept Black American culture. I have no problem with individuals... not do have any issue with African cultures since they rarely throw around the racist card.. But perhaps consider what I wrote rather than seeking something to be offended over... No. they actually don't. They just don't need to project their feelings on to other people with the intent of causing pain, discomfort or harm to others. Ireland is still a predominately white population. Until the population changes considerably, they really don't need to change. Just as black people in many African countries don't need to become more accepting of "whites". Although I do suspect that's another one of those pesky double standards that should simply be accepted. (and yes, I've traveled extensively through northern and eastern Africa.) Ahh yes, that's awfully convenient. You decide to live in an area well known for KKK sympathies as a black person, and it's entirely their fault that they're that way. No responsibility for your choices at all. Nope. I don't buy into that BS. Bugger that. And that's why I despise those who harp on about racism. You have zero consideration for other peoples feelings or beliefs. Instead, if it's against your belief, then they're evil and wrong. TBH, I find your attitude just as racist as any KKK supporter.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Of course, there are some genuine racists out there. You can find them in any country. It's a part of social conditioning, and perhaps even, human nature, to find those different to be offensive, dangerous, or inferior. But it's not a common perception in Ireland... There's never been any degree of organised movement of racism in Ireland... whereas you can find various groups with such leanings in the UK, France, Germany, the US, etc. Ireland has nothing like that. Zilch. Nada. yet.
PonchoMcHoncho wrote: » I read a paper she wrote on "Whiteness of the Irish labor market" she's got an agenda and not much else. She grabs stats from anywhere and uses them to show discrimination without any real evidence. An example she used was, that a few years ago out of the 10k odd members of the Gardai none were African. Then said something like "This level of whiteness in Irish jobs is not limited to the Gardai". No mention of the numbers of Africans in Ireland that met the relevant education, language, age and residency requirements for certain jobs like the Gardai. No mention of how many actually applied to the Gardai. No consideration for the low numbers of people of African decent in Ireland until recent years before immigration increased or any other factors that may have affected employment rates. She simply used surveys whereby a certain percentage of immigrants had said they believed they didn't get jobs because of discrimination then started looking for areas with low numbers of immigrants or people of African decent and claimed it was because of racism caused by "a white hierarchy in the Irish labor market". I'd say you'd find Boards.ie posts with more relevant information than anything she's written as a "Dr".
Higgins5473 wrote: » Was this just some hate piece she wrote or part of the doctorate? I’d be curious as to how her viva voce went, was it just shouting and roaring, was there anything of substance challenged like the questions you’ve asked.
tuxy wrote: » She completed her PhD in 2015 and this is from 2017 Whiteness and racism: Examining the racial order in Irelandhttps://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/0791603517737282
The incongruence between the Ireland which is ranked the world's fourth most welcoming country (Expat Insider 2015) and the Ireland that in recent times appears to favour more ‘acceptable’ EU migrants over non-EU migrants (Fanning, 2009; Joseph, 2015, Lentin 2007), raises crucial questions as to whether a person’s physiognomy is a key factor in understanding race and how it influences labour market outcomes. However, Ireland appears not only to have a colour-coded migrant penalty but also an intolerance to difference as is evident in the racialisation of Irish Travellers, who are white (Hayes, 2006). This fact forms the basis and reinforces the argument that Irish racism is not simply colour-coded (Garner, 2009). Unlike the US where non-Black minorities must compare their treatment to African Americans to redress their grievances, it would seem that in Ireland, Irish Travellers constitute the prototypical minority group. Nonetheless, it is important to note that part of the colonial tactics mobilised against the Irish and Irish Travellers involved similar cultural and symbolic representations of ‘Blacks’ as ‘dirty’, ‘poor’, ‘violent’, and ‘disruptive’ (Tsri, 2016). On this premise, I argue that the use of perceived difference in language, accent, religion and nationality as a pretext to exploit and racialise the Irish conforms to the colour line, symbolically ‘darkening’ even white subjects with comparable consequences (Joseph, 2015). Although skin colour is not the only possible explanation for the change in the positioning of the Irish in their Diaspora settings, the mobilisation of phenotypic whiteness by the Irish is indisputable.
The 2012 ESRI report which made the headlines in Ireland at the time concerning the high levels of disparities in labour market outcomes showed that at 36%, Black African immigrants have much higher rates of unemployment, compared with 9.5% for White EU-13 individuals, and 12.3% for Asians. This finding would not have been very shocking to many migrants of Black African descent in Ireland who were living that experience, as they are likely to be aware that all migrants are not treated equally in the labour market.
NasserShammaz wrote: » Is it not racist or a least patronizing to judge immigrants at a lower standard for fear they may not reach the same levels as citizens who have grow up here and have come through the education system. Pandering to this level of absurdity and awarding a PHD is insulting to any other immigrant or non national who has achieved an MBA/PHD in DCU. She should accuse them of being racist as they possibly think she's too stupid to get a proper PHD and as an African she was judged differently....
punisher5112 wrote: » That's something she will do in 20 years and put in a claim she was oppressed... I'm actually getting very fcuking pis#ed off the way things are going here.
Deleted User wrote: » Of course, there are some genuine racists out there. You can find them in any country. It's a part of social conditioning, and perhaps even, human nature, to find those different to be offensive, dangerous, or inferior. But it's not a common perception in Ireland... There's never been any degree of organised movement of racism in Ireland... whereas you can find various groups with such leanings in the UK, France, Germany, the US, etc. Ireland has nothing like that. Zilch. Nada. yet.
gw80 wrote: » Whats all this whiteness bs, this is a white country. Why do we HAVE TOO have people of a different colour. Is there a push in Nigeria to have more white people in jobs and integration, is there ****,
Irish Guitarist wrote: » There's some terrible accusations on her page. Not just by her, but by her followers. Naming and shaming people who might have sent an email. "There's six people on LinkedIn that have the same name as the one on that email so I'll report them to the guards". He even gets the first name completely wrong. I don't find being anti-racist one bit impressive if you're willing to destroy someones life to prove how liberal and tolerant you are. Someone is going to end up getting arrested over this shite.
Calhoun wrote: » I believe the term is soft bigotry of low expectations. The great thing with people like her is its like they are a plant for growing intolerance. Popular in the twitter sphere and the usual echo chambers around the country but for the rest of society they are not what you would want to represent the immigrant community.
Higgins5473 wrote: » I read on regrettably... “However, Ireland appears not only to have a colour-coded migrant penalty but also an intolerance to difference as is evident in the racialisation of Irish Travellers, who are white (Hayes, 2006)” “Appears” so in her warped perception, followed by the reference from Hayes says nothing of a sort. We are essentially an entire nation of hate filled xenophobic racists á la KKK in her warped mind. More I read about her and her material she is a very sick and hate filled twisted individual. This just seems impossible to most because she is black.
Irish Guitarist wrote: » There's some terrible accusations on her page.
Calhoun wrote: » What page is it if you mind me asking and I assume its fairly toxic if they are doxing people. I also wonder how our liable laws would stand up to stuff like this.
The Rape of Lucretia wrote: » What are people doing moving to racist countries if they dont like racism, or are of a race that will attract racism if they move to it ? Dont go there in the first place, and expect everyone already there, to change to accomodate you.
NewbridgeIR wrote: » https://twitter.com/HyperbolicDub/status/1213474584747544576
Irish Guitarist wrote: » I've actually reported this tweet so there's a chance it might disappear. I did get a screenshot of the tweet in case anyone needs evidence of defamation but I won't post it here.twitter.com/HyperbolicDub/status/1213474584747544576 He accused someone with a different first name of sending the email. I've just seen someone inform him of this. Instead of deleting his tweet brushes it off as a typo, accuses the man of being a racist and blocks him.https://mobile.twitter.com/HyperbolicDub/status/1213848597432852480