Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is everyone going to be voting for in the next general election?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭adocholiday

I voted FG in the last 2 elections but not again. The Children's Hospital, the state of the rental situation in Dublin, the squeezing of middle Ireland, deregulation of planning, and just a myriad of other things have completely soured me towards them.

FF are begrudgingly getting my vote in the next election, but only because Stephen Donnelly is the FF TD in my area.

There is no party in this country that represents middle Ireland. We have more left wing parties than you can shake a dole filled fist at, and FF & FG just represent their own interests. If there was a non-racist and non-religious party in Ireland that would be good representatives for the middle class in Ireland they'd win so many seats. I just can't understand why there seems to be no political will for it here.

Edit because I've seen a lot of posts on it. The Greens will get no vote from me. While I do agree that Climate Change is one of the biggest challenges we'll face, the Greens in Ireland are not the party to fix it. They will land us with massive carbon taxes and who knows what other mental initiatives to impact car use and home heating all while no alternatives are in place. They will cause far more issues than they will ever fix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

A poll, unscientific it may be, about the key issues for a GE ranked in order by Boards posters. My issues: homelessness, rent, HSE, Defence,

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 68,031 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

Based on chances of election locally, with an element of insurance against other candidates - Lab, GP, SD, and possibly one of the FF candidates but never the other. Wouldn't be surprised if the same 4 TDs get back in however - there was no hard left or Independent vote of any real amount in the '16 election to go away like in other areas

• Registered Users Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭adocholiday

As a side note the HSE is a massive red herring. No party in Ireland will fix that basket case unless they are willing to stand up to the unions and completely restructure it from the ground up. It's a bloated mess of middle management and admin staff. All the political will in the world and throwing money at it will do nothing to fix it until it's gutted.

People need solutions not excuses. Solve the HSE A&E crisis. FG have had 8 years. Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

KWAG2019 wrote: »
    People need solutions not excuses. Solve the HSE A&E crisis. FG have had 8 years. Fail.

FG had a golden opportunity in 2011 but choose to continue with the status quo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Voting Fine Gael again essentially means you are telling all future governments that you condone waste, fraud, inefficiency and corruption. Simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Voting Fine Gael again essentially means you are telling all future governments that you condone waste, fraud, inefficiency and corruption. Simple as that.

Perhaps, though they didn't start out like that two terms ago.

But you can also equally write 'Voting Fianna Fail essentially means you are telling all future governments that you condone waste, fraud, inefficiency and corruption'.

It's a sad reflection but you know the old cliche, you get the politicians you deserve - so maybe they just reflect Irish society as a whole.

Have voted Green in the past but as a rural dweller, think they have given up on rural Ireland - view inland Ireland as just a place to stick industrial wind farms whilst keeping the coastal areas for tourists and their own annual summer hols.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,054 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Correct, he's probably confusing Enda telling us on the telly that it wasn't our fault, and a wet day later telling lads in Davos that it was exactly our fault as we all went mad borrowing.

People ‘went mad’ borrowing during boom – Taoiseach

I know people get upset, with this notion, but it is a fact, re borrowing.

The central bank are not keeping tabs on us, for the mere craic of it. Simply put we and the banks cannot be trusted.

What is your solution, may I ask.

markodaly wrote: »
    What is your solution, may I ask.

The implication of that question is of course that there isn’t any so the incompetents who have been in power for 8 years stay there. My solution is that I will vote out people with a proven record of failure.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Labour, Greens, and the local Independent socialist candidate. I never voted for FF, I did at one time vote for FG, but I never will again.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

chite wrote: »
    Is the next general election is going to be around May 2020?

In my constituency I'll probably go GP and Lab. The first one is a clinical psychologist so could actually do something about mental health services (ok being naive here), won't hold my breath as the FG and FF ones will probably get the majority of votes.There's also SF and SD but, meh.

Gotten to know a councillor in another constituency who's really sound and has an ambitious manifesto, well I would say that wouldn't I only that I can't vote for them anyway. She's stiff competition down in Cork South Central.

Been voting since the Lisbon Treaty vote, didn't vote in the same-sex marriage ref as that was going to be a landslide vote (didn't tell anyone incase I was viewed as a homophobe). Spoiling votes is a waste of time, why bother?
    Election will be any time from January according to some. I think Mar-May is probably the window.

The implication of that question is of course that there isn’t any so the incompetents who have been in power for 8 years stay there. My solution is that I will vote out people with a proven record of failure.

Passing the buck so. :D

My preferences would be

FG/Greens/SD in no order

FG had a golden opportunity in 2011 but choose to continue with the status quo.
    They didn't, not until at least 2014, as the troika ruled the roost. 2014-2019 is the real timeframe to evaluate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

SD/Indies/SF, but not O'Snodaigh.

is_that_so wrote: »
    They didn't, not until at least 2014, as the troika ruled the roost. 2014-2019 is the real timeframe to evaluate them.

So...
    FG had a golden opportunity in 201114 but choose to continue with the status quo.
    I believe Reilly's clinics anywhere he wanted and Irish Water with the sweet sweet deal still under investigation, were before 2014. And we've yet to find out the details of any NAMA-esque 'inappropriate behaviour' on the part of Noonan IMO.

Also did Kenny's FG save us or sit on their hands until told otherwise as your comment suggests?

So...
    FG had a golden opportunity in 201114 but choose to continue with the status quo.
    I believe Reilly's clinics anywhere he wanted and Irish Water with the sweet sweet deal still under investigation, were before 2014.
    The first three years were Troika years. IW came out of Troika proposals. Reilly's "clinics" were and are a good thing, in principle. Both were poorly implemented along with LPT.

Fair enough. We disagree. The allocation of the clinics was self centered and the sweet deal under investigation and the lucky winner of the contract was not down to Troika. Neither was the looking after our own or 50+million on consultants.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

I voted FG in the last 2 elections but not again. The Children's Hospital, the state of the rental situation in Dublin, the squeezing of middle Ireland, deregulation of planning, and just a myriad of other things have completely soured me towards them.

Ive voted Fine Gael ever since I was eligible to vote (Im 44 now) and have always been a FG supporter.
    I will never vote for them again after this term.
    Mainly because of the disaster that Im going through trying to get my daughter an appointment for scoliosis treatment.
    Waiting lists of 2+ years before shes even seen. Possibly another year for the operation. Ive emailed my local TDs (FG) ,Ive sent letters and emails to that useless piece of **** that is our Health Minister.
    He didnt even have the decency to reply. My local TD got on to it and made some really good inroads in taking my concerns to the HSE but honestly I couldnt vote for him again as long as he is in FG. That would give the party my support and I just cant do that anymore.

So i dont know who Im voting for. Maybe SF this time as a protest vote.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    Ive voted Fine Gael ever since I was eligible to vote (Im 44 now) and have always been a FG supporter.
    Mainly because of the disaster that Im going through trying to get my daughter an appointment for scoliosis treatment.
    Waiting lists of 2+ years before shes even seen. Possibly another year for the operation. Ive emailed my local TDs (FG) ,Ive sent letters and emails to that useless piece of **** that is our Health Minister.
    He didnt even have the decency to reply. My local TD got on to it and made some really good inroads in taking my concerns to the HSE but honestly I couldnt vote for him again as long as he is in FG. That would give the party my support and I just cant do that anymore.

I could never support one party rain or shine. I think it's good to give them all a good read before voting.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Aontu, if they're in my constituency. Independent if not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Complete and utter rubbish, the Troika didn't give a fiddler's about day to day running of the country once the agreement that the previous administration had entered to was stuck with. You seem to wish to give the FG/Lab government a three year grace period. A little bias prehaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Health was in crisis during the boom, remember Harney and Martin, the unions are the biggest problem in the health service imo, but certainly FG are guilty of not doing one iota to help sort out that problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Will be voting FG, no vote for SF/Greens/other loony lefts.
    May give second preference to FF or may not depending on who the candidate is

• Registered Users Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭Feisar

Hellrazer wrote: »

I feel for you, we went through our own slog however don't vote for that shower of tramps.

First they came for the socialists...

Complete and utter rubbish, the Troika didn't give a fiddler's about day to day running of the country once the agreement that the previous administration had entered to was stuck with. You seem to wish to give the FG/Lab government a three year grace period. A little bias prehaps?
    In your view. Well, I'll go with Matt on this, we disagree.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭Feisar

FF - reckless economic policies left us in a bad place during the crash (Anyone who votes for them has a short memory)
    FG - very weak leadership
    LAB - actually may be worth a punt, however always the bridesmaid. Would actually like to see a Labor led government
    SF - as above, gangsters
    Greens - mental notions
    The Rest - waste of time

First they came for the socialists...

Health was in crisis during the boom, remember Harney and Martin, the unions are the biggest problem in the health service imo, but certainly FG are guilty of not doing one iota to help sort out that problem.
    Health is a hard one to bash any government with because it is a perennial basket case and any incoming government claiming they can fix it is very likely to find themselves in the firing line very quickly. Roll on the next iteration of health boards/HSE.