Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lisa Smith home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

People with the surname Smith bring nothing but shame to this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,282 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

tigerboon wrote: »
    She willingly joined a terrorist organisation that murdered tens if not hundreds of thousands of innocent people including children. Here we are accepting her back to this country and giving her air time on TV. Just think about that. What sort of half-witted idiots are we electing?

We live in a world where the same people that champion trials convicting 90 year olds to prison for being cooks and cleaners in concentration camps for the nazis are defending a woman who actively volountarily gave herself to isis and continues to defend their ideals

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Weapons, equipment, etc etc. Military equipment that ain't going within an asses roar of a civilian airport in this country

No

This thread should be in Conspiracy Theories

Just to 100% debunk this theory. I came home from Lebanon on Monday and landed in Dublin airport.

We dont rotate weapons in and out, they are handed over to the next lads.

Also, defence forces weapons have travelled in and out of civilian airports in the past.

Best to just talk about what you know instead of what you think you know.

billie1b wrote: »
    They’re not the American Army, just the IDF, they travel with nothing but themselves, everything else is supplied by the UN

Not true...at all.

It's in fact, quite the opposite.

The soldiers bring their weapons with them on their chartered aircraft, it’s all done under the escort or the Gardaí and DF.

Not true

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

whippet wrote: »
    On what charges ?

If only life was so simple that you could just lock up those you don't like - fortunately we have a civilised society with laws in Ireland (not always the best) but better than mob rule that some here seem to be advocating

Treason. She is an enemy of the state.

No need to be pedantic, you know exactly what I mean but just incase IDF is also an acronym for the Irish Defence Forces.

No its not.

It isn't though. Defence Forces Ireland is what's on my uniform. It's either PDF or more unusually DFI. It's never IDF

Are you in the RDF?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭whippet

Treason. She is an enemy of the state.

Under what legislation? Remember ISIS isn’t listed as a prescribed organisation in law.

You can’t pick and choose when it comes to law.

I’m not for one minute defending her .. however it’s impossible to have a reasonable productive debate when you are bombarded with unrealistic nonsense

No if you read the comments properly you’d see that I said the soldiers weapons are brought with them on the aircraft.
    They are brought to the airport under escort of the Garda and DF, loaded into the hold of the aircraft under armed supervision and the armed supervision stays there until the aircraft pushes back. The vehicles etc are mostly supplied by the UN/UNIFIL.

Everything about this is wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,072 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

This whole thread (esp the last couple of pages) is an excellent reminder of the amount of absolute ****e that gets spouted on boards.ie!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭billie1b

Everything about this is wrong.

Oh really? So everytime I’m in the airport working and handle this type of flight i’m imagining whats happening around and on the aircraft? Ok no problem Mr.Fancy Pants.

I don't know what you do be imagining.

Maybe my eight overseas tours of duty with the Irish Defence Forces has made me senile. Never once have I brought or repatriated my weapon overseas.

On certain occasions weapons do travel with soldiers but not for a regular overseas deployment.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Under what legislation? Remember ISIS isn’t listed as a prescribed organisation in law.

You can’t pick and choose when it comes to law.

I’m not for one minute defending her .. however it’s impossible to have a reasonable productive debate when you are bombarded with unrealistic nonsense

The Treason Act 1939 is on the books. Don't see why she shouldn't be charged using it. 40 years without parole sounds fair.

Maybe my eight overseas tours of duty with the Irish Defence Forces has made me senile. Although, I did only come back from Lebanon 4 days ago. Never once have I brought or repatriated my weapon overseas.

On certain occasions weapons do travel with soldiers but not for a regular overseas deployment.

What’s your opinion on the plane that landed in Balldonnel? If you can’t give an opinion due to being in the defence forces, just say.

The Treason Act 1939 is on the books. Don't see why she shouldn't be charged using it. 40 years without parole sounds fair.

from your link
    Treason shall consist only in levying war against the State, or assisting any State or person or inciting or conspiring with any person to levy war against the State, or attempting by force of arms or other violent means to overthrow the organs of government established by this Constitution, or taking part or being concerned in or inciting or conspiring with any person to make or to take part or be concerned in any such attempt.

so .... when she joined ISIS ... did she levy war against the republic of ireland ? If not then Treason isn't an offence she is guilty of

What’s your opinion on the plane that landed in Balldonnel? If you can’t give an opinion due to being in the defence forces, just say.

My personal opinion is that this situation is unusual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

So is she back? I thought there was a thread already open for splenetic outrage.

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭tigerboon

from your link

so .... when she joined ISIS ... did she levy war against the republic of ireland ? If not then Treason isn't an offence she is guilty of

Yes. ISIS declared that the West was their enemy and their aim was to go to war with the West. We are part of the West. They didn't omit Ireland from their plans. She joined a de facto army that had declared war on and attacked the society we are part of, as the killings in Europe clearly demonstrate.

this would need to be teased out a bit more - they never actually attacked the state of Ireland - and only went after territory in the middle east.

To pin a treason charge on someone you would need to have a much stronger case than just 'war on the west' .... but I suppose these things will never be able to stop the people who reckon Leo should just make up the law as he goes along

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Weapons, equipment, etc etc. Military equipment that ain't going within an asses roar of a civilian airport in this country

No

This thread should be in Conspiracy Theories

No it is you that should be on that forum.

Maybe my eight overseas tours of duty with the Irish Defence Forces has made me senile. Although, I did only come back from Lebanon 4 days ago. Never once have I brought or repatriated my weapon overseas.

Ever travel with vodka laced oranges, purely for hydration purposes like ;)

Some people forget you also have to go through customs when you get home.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

RTE news tells me I should be concerned about what might happen to Lisa in Turkey

I’m not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

RTE news tells me I should be concerned about what might happen to Lisa in Turkey

I’m not

Neither am I.

Nor are a lot of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

So this aircraft
    Freebird Airlines TC-FBV - Airbus A320-214

It does get around, but why suddenly a trip to a military field in Dublin ?

Leased to Bamboo airlines earlier this year.
    I am presuming it is passenger not freight.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 24,196 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I’m not
    You should be. They might release her into Irish custody.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭granturismo

I’m not

RTE are quoting the UN's Office of the High Commissioner on Human Rights 'A group of UN human rights experts have expressed "grave concern" for the welfare of Irish woman Lisa Smith and her child.'

RTE are not telling you anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,037 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

She really shouldn't be allowed keep her child. She will pump her toxic ISIS ideology into it.

She is a traitor and should have her passport revoked. Even put it to a referendum. In the past treason was dealt with by hanging. Now you get treated like royalty.

there is nothing to put to a referendum here.
    treason and traitor are more or less redundant and have been for years if not decades, made so by anti-terror and other laws.
    She willingly joined a terrorist organisation that murdered tens if not hundreds of thousands of innocent people including children. Here we are accepting her back to this country and giving her air time on TV. Just think about that. What sort of half-witted idiots are we electing?

it wasn't possible for us not to accept her.
    countries have a right to deport foreign criminals back to where they came from, and that is what ultimately happened here.
    We live in a world where the same people that champion trials convicting 90 year olds to prison for being cooks and cleaners in concentration camps for the nazis are defending a woman who actively volountarily gave herself to isis and continues to defend their ideals

this is very interesting, as i haven't saw anyone defending lisa smith anywhere.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

jmayo wrote: »
    So this aircraft

Yeah it’s a passenger plane. Has all the windows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

But could be used for cargo couldn't it? Especially if the price was right.

jmayo wrote: »
    So this aircraft

Maybe it was carrying your vodka oranges :D

Who are bamboo airlines