Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Organised Raid by up to 100 Youths in Cork City Centr

• Registered Users Posts: 8,629 ✭✭✭corks finest

Its true, despite never colonising anyone, starting any wars or being a part of apartheid states etc... the inherint white guilt in our society leaves us laying our tye red carpet and acting as front and centre apologists for the criminals we import

Correct

• Registered Users Posts: 23,202 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

The funniest part of this thread and the "intimidation" these immigrants are causing is that it is completely dwarfed by the white ISIS member confirmed to be heading back to Ireland but not as much outrage from the concerned citizens for some reason.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

pjohnson wrote: »
    The funniest part of this thread and the "intimidation" these immigrants are causing is that it is completely dwarfed by the white ISIS member confirmed to be heading back to Ireland but not as much outrage from the concerned citizens for some reason.....
    Is there some connection?

recedite wrote: »
    Is there some connection?

Just the response both are getting and which seems to be the biggest problem. Unsuprisingly for CA its not the white person the problem. ISIS isnt cool anymore.

Have you even looked at the long running "ISIS people returning" thread?
    People are highly critical. Was ISIS ever "cool"?

Have you even looked at the long running "ISIS people returning" thread?
    People are highly critical. Was ISIS ever "cool"?

Not since her return was confirmed yesterday that threads been less active than this. Not suprising I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

zig wrote: »
    You may missed that he was being tongue in cheek.

No he was trying to claim that it was Irish only that attacked the Lidl. Same fatuous argument we always see. 'Shure we have Irish criminals too'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Not since her return was confirmed yesterday that threads been less active than this. Not suprising I guess.

We've known she was coming home for ages now. Just because it was announced should we all go into the thread and say exactly what we've already said?? Bit pointless just repeating ourselves.

Bit pointless just repeating ourselves.

So why are so many repeating themselves here :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

LMAO at celebrity chefs. 😂

Dont know why it is such a laughable thesis.
    The idea was popularised in the doc Four Horsemen but was originally among John Glubbs ideas of decadence for the fall of empires. Glubb mentions the status of sports persons as celebrities. Even Gibbons notes decadence and hedonism /over indulgence as symptomatic of civilisational decline. It may be a minor pointer but one can make a decent argument that the popular cult or fetishisation of the gourmand can be symptomatic of decay.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    I was actually in town when this was going on last Friday. There were some black teens involved but the majority were white Irish. Fact. I would take anything on Prenderville with a massive pinch of salt.

Quote from the Cork forum from someone who was there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

It is intimidation - no need for the quote marks. And the European isis members are being absolutely slated - if anything there is even more contempt for them. That woman Lisa Smith - strips torn off her.

I know there are people here not interested in facts (witnesses say it was mostly white kids) but it's still a strange thing to say to make that point.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Gynoid wrote: »
    Dont know why it is such a laughable thesis.
    The idea was popularised in the doc Four Horsemen but was originally among John Glubbs ideas of decadence for the fall of empires. Glubb mentions the status of sports persons as celebrities. Even Gibbons notes decadence and hedonism /over indulgence as symptomatic of civilisational decline. It may be a minor pointer but one can make a decent argument that the popular cult or fetishisation of the gourmand can be symptomatic of decay.

A decadence that lasted a thousand years? Mate you realize thats an empty statement. Mongol empire, british empire, roman empire. Literally any notable society can be described as ‘decadent’.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

sk8erboii wrote: »
    A decadence that lasted a thousand years? Mate you realize thats an empty statement. Mongol empire, british empire, roman empire. Literally any notable society can be described as ‘decadent’.

Not beyond elites in general if at all. The populace may have had limited periods of going wild, saturnalias, or such. Swapping the pileus cap with the bosses. Those empires you mention were quite strict and militaristic at their peaks. Wasnt there a saying about the virgin being able to walk unmolested carrying a pot of gold from one end of the Mongol empire to the other. Although it could have refered to Persia. And could have been metaphorical... Point is a group of likely lads would fear the consequences in a well run empire, if they lashed into ye olde textile emporium and tried to create havoc. The decadence comes late, when the rules start slipping. Most civilisations at their apogee have been largely maintained by strictness, be it religious, military, philosophical, taboos, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,553 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Bit pointless just repeating ourselves.
    To be honest though, has there been anything new in any immigration/sexism/gender/traveller/dole/etc thread for years?

I'd guess 90% of threads are people repeating arguments they already made, maybe dozens of times.

In fairness, looting is a brand new phenomenon in Ireland.
    We used to have to watch foreign TV stations to see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I dunno, fair few pairs of runners nicked during the Love Ulster Riots in 2006.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Yup. It very much depends on how one defines "decadence" too. Gibbon while a genius who produced a towering work also had his personal slant on things going in. The negative role of Christianity one. Never mind that the Eastern Empire continued on happy out and was just as religious. There were many reasons for Rome's "fall" and the fall itself is not so neatly bookended either. The lights didn't suddenly go out. Though historians of the past and even today prefer things to be neat in such matters and of all empires Rome holds a particularly strong draw for the European mind.

I would say it's less about "decadence", or more, any perceived decadence is a symptom of a wider malaise, a lack of surety, self confidence in the idea of the particular empire and culture and those within it feeling like they belong to it.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,726 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

What a load of Bollox lol

‘The country that practically invented modern guerilla warfare and popularized the pipe bomb has seen only seen the phenomenon of looting on tv’ Uh huh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Overheal wrote: »

‘The country that practically invented modern guerilla warfare and popularized the pipe bomb has seen the phenomenon of looting’ Uh huh
    Statements like that about the Irish - fine, it seems!

Raconteuse wrote: »

As are similar statements about the USA that so frequently pass here with as much comment or less. Welcome.

Raconteuse wrote: »
    You can say a lot of bad things about the IRA, but they were never into looting.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Destruction_of_Irish_country_houses_(1919%E2%80%931923)

??

• Registered Users Posts: 39,608 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Apart from the odd horse.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,414 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I have Northern Bank on line one for you...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,229 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Overheal wrote: »

‘The country that practically invented modern guerilla warfare and popularized the pipe bomb has seen only seen the phenomenon of looting on tv’ Uh huh

I'm not being smart but have you ever been in Ireland?

Birneybau wrote: »
    I'm not being smart but have you ever been in Ireland?

Yes many years.

Pipe bombs and guerrilla warfare are in the country’s modern history but looting I’m told is the ‘bridge too far, the type of sordid thing god-fearing pearl-clutching Irishmen have only ever seen from their television screens that has only been important now by the blacks’ - as I said, that premise is a load of bollocks.

I really dont see the point of getting offended by your history: have you seen the US’ ledger? It’s filthy. Thicken up lads.

Boggles wrote: »
    Apart from the odd horse.
    Think you mean house. But maybe the odd horse too.
    In fairness, there was some looting during the civil/independence wars, but there is always some killing, looting and raping in every war.
    We can't really compare that to the organised looting of consumer goods and luxury items during peacetime.

humberklog wrote: »
    I have Northern Bank on line one for you...
    Again, that's a full scale bank robbery/heist, not looting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Harvey Weinstein