Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Organised Raid by up to 100 Youths in Cork City Centr

• Registered Users Posts: 21,518 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Jesus, I knew some people were completely one-eyed about immigration, but claiming we were lucky we got a famine when we did is a bit f'king much!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Point missed Mr consistency.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

Wibbs wrote: »
    Maybe Japan as they're seen as xenophobic(and only if such "diversity" wasn't pale of face and European), but otherwise yep G, pretty much so. Bunch of Whites show up in a Black country, why that's terrible, colonial mindset etc etc(and it usually is/was), bunch of Blacks show up in a White country, why, isn't diversity wonderful, it's all positive.

I wonder where this whole White Guilt/self loathing trend comes from? In the Anglosphere(and it tends to be much more prevalent there) I would say that American college campus thought was a big influence initially. It's at least more understandable there, as the palefaces did screw over the natives and damned near wiped them out, then imported hundreds of thousands of West Africans to be worked and/or raped, often to death. It's still very much living with that legacy today, so I can understand some White Americans feeling rightfully aggrieved by that history. Ireland not nearly so much. About the only explanation or excuse we tend to use as currency is that we were welcomed as immigrants once. Even though we usually weren't.

It's age-old Irish insecurity.
    Irish people need to be loved and esteemed by others. Whether it's by the EU or the US.
    So, whichever way the ideological wind blows, Ireland follows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Jesus, I knew some people were completely one-eyed about immigration, but claiming we were lucky we got a famine when we did is a bit f'king much!! :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Have to say that I balked at that one. Imagine going to some famine-stricken country and saying "count yourselves lucky lads and lassies".

• Registered Users Posts: 13,103 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Berserker wrote: »
    Have to say that I balked at that one. Imagine going to some famine-stricken country and saying "count yourselves lucky lads and lassies".

What was that old joke about Mariah Carey where she said how lucky the poor starving kids all over the world were to be so skinny.
    She would have loved to be that skinny just without the flies and death and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

Did they ever find out which load of immigrants raided Foot Locker during the Love Ulster parade? Or which ones used a JCB to raid Aldi during that snow storm?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Did they ever find out which load of immigrants raided Foot Locker during the Love Ulster parade? Or which ones used a JCB to raid Aldi during that snow storm?

Still haven't seen any actual evidence about who was going about on Friday. guy on the Cork forum who claims he was there says immigrants were definitely the minority

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Amazing to consider that we've done more to destroy Irish culture and the social fabric of our society in the last 20 years than the English did in our entire history.

My Dad (a racist) said the black and tans didn't defeat us but the black and prams will.

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

You seem to think any motivation towards compassion is motivated in a racial/cultural guilt.
    Compassion is a laudable trait so long as it does not render one a fool.
    I have childhood friends who came from privileged backgrounds and now speak about things like the Catholic oppression of their youth when I know myself that they never set foot in a church basically after they made their confirmation.
    They were so utterly untouched by anything to do with the church I can inly surmise that they are suffering from false memory syndrome or are victims of propaganda.
    Oh do not get me started... I know people who grew up in the 70's who were real holy Joes and crawthumpers back then who now claim that they were against it all along. My arse.

I would say the Church Years(tm) have become a handy dumping ground for many of our perceived ills and also plug into our cultural self esteem issues and even more handily gives us someone to blame. It wasn't our fault it was the church's. It's akin to an adolescent blaming their parents for our shortcomings and we've yet to grow past that point on this matter. The dirty little secret we don't really want to look at in all this church bashing is that they didn't exist in a vacuum and were supported by the Irish people and worse that little niggle in the back of the mind that if we were living under it we'd be supportive, tacitly or overtly. And the vast majority of people on this website would have been. When John Paul showed up here on his concert tour in '79 over two and a half million of us marched along in step to see him.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

It was Lidl, and below are the immigrants who were charged in relation to it. No idea why you only wanted the immigrants though, there were six Irish involved too.

Edger Cesynas, a 24-year old from Lithuania.

Povilas Gneizevicius (20), also a Lithuanian national.

Mohammed Smew (25), was charged with possession of a weapon, and causing criminal damage while trespassing.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/nine-men-charged-in-connection-with-looting-in-tallaght-1.3414315

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Pick any world culture and they did the same. It's what humans tend to do, though to be fair Europeans seem to have been the "best" at it. In that sense they're probably the most dangerous population on the planet.

It must be in the hundred-of-millions dead due to imposing, or exercising, 'European values'.
    However, on the other side of the balance sheet the modern world culture is very much European in nature

Due to colonisation.
    through technology

Pure happenstance is why Europe gained a technological lead over the rest of the world in more recent times.
    and human rights.

Human rights were a consequence of industrialized slaughter in Europe. Hard to believe that my own parents were born before they were codified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Roversfan1

Europeans were responsible for providing the means by which there has been a population explosion in the third world.

Anyway, what we are going through, though organised is a consequence of the end of a civilisation on a larger scale.

The end of the Roman Empire went through all of this:

"Refugees" being given freebies
    Debasement of money
    Bread and circuses
    Decadence
    Degeneracy
    Celebrity chefs....loads more

The writing's on the wall but the lefties will continue to put more coal on the fire

• Registered Users Posts: 15,288 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Just listening to Neil prendeville show :

some info

1st women (eye witness) said about 80% black teenagers
    They call themselves “ABL -all black lads” according to one caller
    They tried to storm lifestyle after the JD raid failed
    They were inciting the gardai and insulting passers by
    1 woman said they tried again on sat morning and failed.
    1 person said it’s ironic they didn’t try to raid a bookshop but instead a place selling cheap rubbishy tracksuits and runners.

Lot of ppl complaining the city has drastically changed in the last year or so, for the worst.

Unsafe lawless feeling in the city centre.

Traders in cork said it “is a new level of organized delinquency” and called on the gardai to respond.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Just listening to Neil prendeville show :

some info

1st women said about 80% black teenagers
    They call themselves “ABL -all black lads” according to one caller
    They tried to storm lifestyle after the JD raid failed
    They were inciting the gardai and insulting passers by
    1 woman said they tried again on sat morning and failed.

Lot of ppl complaining the city has drastically changed in the last year or so, for the worst.

Unsafe lawless feeling in the city centre.

absolutely disgusting and all for what, a bit of tat to dress up like other criminals.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,288 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

It is absolutely sickening carry on

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Things can get worse and will get worse. Give it 15 years or so.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Roversfan1 wrote: »
    Europeans were responsible for providing the means by which there has been a population explosion in the third world.

Anyway, what we are going through, though organised is a consequence of the end of a civilisation on a larger scale.

Debasement of money
    Bread and circuses
    Decadence
    Degeneracy

The writing's on the wall but the lefties will continue to put more coal on the fire
    Lol you can tell when someone got their formal education from the pub. What a load of sh*te

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Imagine the gentlemanly, post-discussion would have proceeded so forth:
    Some bro-bois finna just wanting to looking Boujee. Dem mans, them has some clout to shout out 100 yoof all. All just for them creps n fire-drip. Pure doing the most, tea, innit?

Would’ve been all flex, dem G’s lit with new free dank.
    Next times guess dey be highkey hangry for glo-up all (with no guap, no whip) for dem 2be lookin steez, gucci. Making salty for real.

Yaaaas, headass hectic event like.

May as well embrance the new slang.

Imagine the gentlemanly, post-discussion would have proceeded so forth:

Some bro-bois finna just wanting to looking Boujee. Dem mans, them has some clout to shout out 100 yoof all. All just for them creps n fire-drip. Pure doing the most, tea, innit?

Would’ve been all flex, dem G’s lit with new free dank.
    Next times guess dey be highkey hangry for glo-up all (with no guap, no whip) for dem 2be lookin steez, gucci. Making salty for real.

Yaaaas, headass hectic event like.

May as well embrance the new slang.

This was written by a saddo who spends too much time on the internet. You can tell

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭batman1

I lived in Cork in the late 90s for a few years. It was a great city centre and always felt safe, night or day .
    I visit now frequently for work and can say it has deteriorated considerably.
    Lots of homeless, zombies walking around everywhere and the recent problem of gangs of youths roaming the city centre.
    I walked through Patrick Street on Saturday evening and was shocked at the gangs of youths generally being loud and intimidating in some cases.
    It's a shame because Cork has a lot going for it. If it gets to the stage where people don't feel safe in the city centre then it will slowly strangle the city and people won't go there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Harvey Weinstein

Compassion is a laudable trait so long as it does not render one a fool.

Oh do not get me started... I know people who grew up in the 70's who were real holy Joes and crawthumpers back then who now claim that they were against it all along. My arse.

I would say the Church Years(tm) have become a handy dumping ground for many of our perceived ills and also plug into our cultural self esteem issues and even more handily gives us someone to blame. It wasn't our fault it was the church's. It's akin to an adolescent blaming their parents for our shortcomings and we've yet to grow past that point on this matter. The dirty little secret we don't really want to look at in all this church bashing is that they didn't exist in a vacuum and were supported by the Irish people and worse that little niggle in the back of the mind that if we were living under it we'd be supportive, tacitly or overtly. And the vast majority of people on this website would have been. When John Paul showed up here on his concert tour in '79 over two and a half million of us marched along in step to see him.

Agree 100%

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

Debasement of money
    Bread and circuses
    Decadence
    Degeneracy

LMAO at celebrity chefs. 😂

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It must be in the hundred-of-millions dead due to imposing, or exercising, 'European values'.

Due to colonisation.
    Go us. As I said of all the Earth's populations, Europeans are both about the most dangerous and the most innovative. One hand often washed the other.
    Pure happenstance is why Europe gained a technological lead over the rest of the world in more recent times.
    It's not "more recent times". Save for the occasional real leap in tech from China, followed by long periods of stasis and the all too sadly brief flowering of the early Muslim world, Europe has been technologically ahead for a goodly chunk of the last two thousand years and it raced ahead after the renaissance and the printing press and then the enlightenment. Never mind that both paper and movable type printing were East Asian inventions that passed through many other hands before they ended up in Europe, and yet didn't cause anything like the same seismic shifts. Hell the Chinese had gunpowder for a century or more before it fetched up to European shores and yet it was the Europeans who used it to change world maps.
    Human rights were a consequence of industrialized slaughter in Europe. Hard to believe that my own parents were born before they were codified.
    Well the discussion and codification of human rights have a tad longer a history than that. Unless your folks have been around long enough to have witnessed the French declaration on the rights of man and citizens. :D Never mind the Bill of Rights of both the US and UK, never mind going back to Aquinas, Locke, Gerson, or Magna Carta, or further back even to Cicero and a host of other European philosophers, a philosophical pursuit that was mostly absent in other cultures outside of aspects of theology. All of which directly informed the UN's Universal Declaration of human rights.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Roversfan1

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Lol you can tell when someone got their formal education from the pub. What a load of sh*te

Everything I said is true and hence you did not challenge me on one point.

The degeneracy is a huge reason why it is mostly men that come to Western countries as "asylum seekers"

• Registered Users Posts: 15,780 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Ah god love anyone who thinks Cork is rough (I mean in general - obviously this incident is beyond scummy).

Homeless man beaten next to his burnt out tent only a short while ago. The city centre has gone downhill with open drug use and begging.
    Current Garda presence, boots on the ground, leaves a lot to be desired. It's not Dublin grade rough, yet, but left unchecked it will.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,780 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Ah god love anyone who thinks Cork is rough (I mean in general - obviously this incident is beyond scummy).

Homeless man beaten next to his burnt out tent only a short while ago. The city centre has gone downhill with open drug use and begging.
    Current Garda presence, boots on the ground, leaves a lot to be desired. It's not Dublin grade rough, yet, but left unchecked it will.
    Only for the tip off, the guards would struggle to do anything about the "raid". Judging this and recent youth activity in Glanmire and Wilton, it's like they're testing the limits of the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

They spoke about Cork in the same breath as pre Giuliani New York City, and said they "wouldn't put an animal in Cork" (what the actual fuk?) Nobody's denying anti social behaviour when it does occur, but that's just hysteria.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

1 person said it’s ironic they didn’t try to raid a bookshop but instead a place selling cheap rubbishy tracksuits and runners.
    Reminds me of some of the comments at the beginning of this thread about how they should have raided the more expensive clothes up the road in the BT shop instead.
    As if they'd be interested in stuff for skinny ass white girls.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

the French declaration on the rights of man and citizens. Never mind the Bill of Rights of both the US and UK, never mind going back to Aquinas, Locke, Gerson, or Magna Carta, or further back even to Cicero and a host of other European philosophers, a philosophical pursuit that was mostly absent in other cultures outside of aspects of theology.

Yep when the concept of human rights applied to men and excluded women, children, and slaves.

Everything I said is true and hence you did not challenge me on one point.

The degeneracy is a huge reason why it is mostly men that come to Western countries as "asylum seekers"

Everything you said is a load of sensationalist bollocks thats reiterated to and by uneducated low IQ forum dwellers who cant seem to understand that a civilization from 2,000 years ago has nothing to do with the Republic of Ireland in any facet except language (English is a romance language of course). Its oversimplication and straining to reach a point that makes it obvious you know f*ck all about history. Let me explain to why its obvious you never went to school or atleast studied history in any respectable form.
    The Roman empire didn’t end until the 1400s. Thats when the crusades happened and the Christian Empire was sacked by he British and Continental europeans. Right at the start of the Renaissance. According to you, they went through all this and still lasted a thousand years.

Refugees" being given freebies
    What the f*ck does this even mean lad? This is an empty statement. At no point did the romans give refugees any freebies. If anything the Romans fought the refugees (and lost BADLY) in the 5th and 6th century AD. Those refugees were Germans running away from a guy named Atilla whose attack coincided with a mini ice age that meant everyone north moved south for warmth.
    Debasement of money
    BULL. The Roman empire was insanely rich even at its collapse. Banking was their number export, something the venetians desperately coveted. Constantinople was teeming with gold and silver currency. The Byzantine economy was the strongest in all of Europe up to its collapse. DEBASEMENT.LOL

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Byzantine_economy

Bread and circuses
    ??? Again this means nothing. The Romans have had distractions for its populace since 400 BC. The empire didnt collapse for another thousand years so if you can correlate BREADS AND CIRCUSES to anything it would be the longevity of the empire.
    Decadence
    Means nothing at all. Every single noble, prince, empire at the time was decadent. Being rich doesnt mean you’re decadent. This point makes zero sense
    Degeneracy
    LOL This is probably the stupidest and most moronic point you’ve made. Are you saying the hardcore orthodox society that had no separation between church and state was the most degenerate at that time?

Mega LOL. Absolute brainlet take.

The Roman empire at its fall was at its most organized, had a massive military, was an authoritatian christian state, and the biggest economy in Europe.

Please enroll to an actual school. None of what you said were actual factors in the collapse of the Roman empire. You made no mention of geopolitical forces (betrayal of Venice and Christian states during the crusades. Plus attacks from the Serbs) lack of medicinal knowledge (pipes and aqueducts built with lead made the population mentally and physically unwell) the plague from west asia decimating population, attacks from the Ottoman turks and the two civil wars between claimants of the throne.

It’s obvious you know jack sh*t on the subject bud, best you stop embarrassing yourself. Rereg troll.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

No idea why you only wanted the immigrants though, there were six Irish involved too.

You may missed that he was being tongue in cheek.