Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whingy Returning Emigrants

• Registered Users Posts: 24,319 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

She's not a Nordie, but she does want a cheap education in the north she already got one in Cork. I think she prefers America but just doesn't want the debt of an American education.

Seriously, what was she expecting from Belfast?

Either way, I'd love to know more about these interactions with the great and good of NY.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

If she did even a little research she’d have found out that Belfast is a pretty dull place, much duller than any of the Southern cities. It shouldn’t have been a surprise to her that it shuts down on a Sunday, it’s not a secret, even if it is very strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

While the article does seem a bit 'poor me', having returned to Ireland after living in the states she is right about certain things.

Working in food service over here, for example, is an absolute nightmare. Employers treat you like dirt, even though they themselves couldn't organize a pissup in a brewery, and you're expected to do the jobs of 4 people. Host/hostess, server, bartender and busboy/girl. And people here don't friggin tip.

But one thing that isn't mentioned so much in the article that is actually proved by this thread, and which was the biggest shock to me upon moving back, is the attitude of the Irish people. It takes a while to cop on to it, but eventually it becomes obvious that the whole "the Irish are so friendly" stuff is due to complete fakery. Yes they are nice to your face, but often they are hateful, seething begrudgers inside. They take any opportunity to run people down and speak ill of them, as long as the person isn't there to hear it. When I first moved back I found out quickly that speaking honestly and openly to someone you have an issue with is frowned upon, and if it is someone in authority, such as a manager at work, it is looked at as 'backchat'. As if we are not adults but children in school. So every workplace is full of arse kissers/back stabbers as a result. The done thing is be sweet and false to a persons face and then eff and blind about them behind their back. A cowardly way to behave IMO.

And as she says, it is very insular, and a lot of the people who have never left their town will take against you just for having had lived abroad. Again, it's begrudgery.

Still, I don't feel bad for her, at least she got to move to Belfast when she came back. I had to move to fuppin Donegal.

We have a minimum wage here. No need to tip. Do you tip in McDonalds? Or Centra? where the workers are probably on the minimum wage too??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Feisar

If she did even a little research she’d have found out that Belfast is a pretty dull place, much duller than any of the Southern cities. It shouldn’t have been a surprise to her that it shuts down on a Sunday, it’s not a secret, even if it is very strange.

Belfast dull? Have you lived there? Feckin' class city.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

She'll be on the Late Late with Tubs next and he'll be all about her

No it be Darcy with the 2 of them eye to eye with no desk and him with the sad face saying its terrible

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

1) Nollaig
    2) "New York is everything people say it is. I met celebrities, diplomats......"

This is enough to know what a narcissistic twat she is

milehip wrote: »
    What do you expect when you call a child Nollaig?

Yeah, Irish people calling Irish kids Nollaig. Oh. My. God. The shame. Next you'll be complaining about English and French people calling English and French kids Noelle or Noël?

Cultural Cringe

Confirms to username.
    Stay woke, buddy.

He's correct, though; choosing to focus on her appearance rather than on what she's writing is fairly pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

JupiterKid wrote: »
    It’s a real shame how the IT, our alleged “paper of record” has gone so so downhill in the past 15 or so years. I suppose pretty much all print media has gone this way. This “piece” is lazy clickbait, pure and simple.

That young woman is an interminable whinging, entitled and self-absorbed spoiled brat who is seriously deluded if she expects Belfast to be exactly like New York.

She should have moved to Leitrim.
    They have everything she needs there.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

In Belfast, and Ireland in general, things close at 6pm.

Whatever about Belfast, this certainly ain't the case in Dublin, where there's plenty of things to do after 6pm on seven nights a week.

Particularly if your "something to do" involves:
    In New York every single day was full, whether it was working out, taking some sort of class, meeting a friend, going to work or doing laundry – you were always moving and there was always something to do.

Moron.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,017 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

He's correct, though; choosing to focus on her appearance rather than on what she's writing is fairly pathetic.

I'd say you're great craic at parties.

I don't really care what you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

The media are worse to give this nonsense a platform, 'the struggle is real' rubbish. I guess her singing and writing career in the US has not worked out to plan so far.

Going for a second masters, now that's something most regular people would view as a luxury.

There's a thing called 'Eternal Student Syndrome' and it can be a way of procrastinating and avoiding stress/pressure and decisions. A lack of direction and priorities. Then once attained, the qualification is wasted never being put into practice in real life.

I'd agree that people should follow their dreams and that could mean changing direction and learning throughout life. However, moaning about the result of your own decisions to the media (when there are people out there going through a hell of lot worse situations) just comes across as very self centered.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,178 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...He's correct, though; choosing to focus on her appearance rather than on what she's writing is fairly pathetic.

She's no great prize in all fairness, boring little missy. :pac:

...There's a thing called 'Eternal Student Syndrome'...

It's nothing new either, I call them Hardy Perennials. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭chrissb8

"Your personal choice"

No it wasn't, for a lot of people and stating it as such makes you no better than that dope in the article. Such an annoying prevailing attitude.

You had willing and able people hanging on longer than they should in the hope they can stay close to their family & friends. Do you think everyone wanted to be away from Ireland and just decided to go just cause.

Circumstance made the choice for people.

Although not recent my parents had to move to the UK during the recession of the 80s. My father hung around for 3 years after qualifying as an accountant in Ireland but literally, he had no employment opportunities at one point and was forced to move. So he could live and get his life going. When we were born all my parents wanted to do was raise us in the land of their own. But Ireland had nothing to offer until the 90s when things got good again.

Aggravating nonsense "Your personal choice". No. Like my parents and many others people's brothers, sisters, lifelong friends personal choice was to stay at home in Ireland and make a life. The choice was and in some cases still is out of their hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Amirani wrote: »
    Whatever about Belfast, this certainly ain't the case in Dublin, where there's plenty of things to do after 6pm on seven nights a week.

Particularly if your "something to do" involves:

Moron.

LOL. Tell us what you really think, Amirani! :D

I know, in what world is doing laundry going to be included in a... laundry list of the exciting things to do in a particular city? That most dull of household jobs. And yeah, do night classes and gyms not exist in Ireland? I think this is why she is drawing ire and bemusement. The article makes little sense.

I’m always interested to hear of different ways things are done in other countries. Sometimes you can really learn something. This article, however, does not illuminate anything of interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,744 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

No it be Darcy with the 2 of them eye to eye with no desk and him with the sad face saying its terrible

Asking her to do something creepy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

I thought it was a good piece, very honest and unfiltered.
    Some people get offended by it, so what.
    It's interesting to peer into peoples heads and see what they are really thinking, how they are really feeling.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,196 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

LOL, she moves from the largest city in the US to a city that doesn't even feature in the Top 10 in the UK, is shocked when it doesn't compare and then whinges about it in an Irish newspaper? Why are the Irish Times even publishing it, she isn't a returning emigrant: she continued her emigrant status when she moved to Northern Ireland.

I think Wibbs has the right of it: she's a coddled middle class brat whose parents cursed her with a pretentious name and delusional aspirations. I'd give 100 to 1 odds that she hasn't the feintest inclination of using her second Masters to develop some skills in an area that might improve her employment prospects beyond waitressing (which she makes very clear in that article, is a position she feels is beneath her). Having to stay until 1am in a job in the hospitality industry? I can only imagine what some of her fellow Irish working in that sector in New York would think about the luxury of getting to knock off so early. TBH, I work later most nights helping out in a local sports club's bar myself.

Is Nollaig really seen as a pretentious name? It’s just a bogstandard Irish name to me. Decidedly unglamorous.

I wouldn't have thought so, no, I'd consider it in the same vein as Brighid, Dympna, Maeve, Aisling, etc. There's much, much worse than that, e.g. Sorcha (the focking cont! :D), Iseult, and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

lawred2 wrote: »
    Seriously, what was she expecting from Belfast?

Either way, I'd love to know more about these interactions with the great and good of NY.

She has a blog and a Twitter feed according to another poster. I took a look at her blog to see is it true she has a master's, according to her blog she has. Apparently though its quite useless if she resorted to waitressing to support herself.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I wouldn't have thought so, no, I'd consider it in the same vein as Brighid, Dympna, Maeve, Aisling, etc. There's much, much worse than that, e.g. Sorcha (the focking cont! :D), Iseult, and so on.

Nail on the head, Goosemeister! It is exactly in that stable of names.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,196 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I'd consider it one of "those" Irish names beloved of what David McWilliams characterised as the "Hibernian Cosmopolitans": the aspirational middle classes who, having returned from the enforced emigration of the 80's, became rather insufferable in their devotion the gaelscoileana and other forms of social engineering designed to keep their children from having to mix with the "New Irish".

Sleepy wrote: »
    I'd consider it one of "those" Irish names beloved of what David McWilliams characterised as the "Hibernian Cosmopolitans": the aspirational middle classes who, having returned from the enforced emigration of the 80's, became rather insufferable in their devotion the gaelscoileana and other forms of social engineering designed to keep their children from having to mix with the "New Irish".

God, that’s funny. It’s one of those deadeningly unglamorous Irish names to me.

What’s with all this putting people in boxes? I feel like I live in a different country to other boardsies sometimes. David McWilliams loves his soundbite-able categorisations.

God, that’s funny. It’s one of those deadeningly unglamorous Irish names to me.

What’s with all this putting people in boxes? I feel like I live in a different country to other boardsies sometimes.

David McWilliams was bowel-evacuatingly cool there for a few years, he used to come out with some scutter.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

The bit that got me the most is that she's barely back a month!!!!Really do not know what she expects to happen in the space of four weeks.She's lucky to have found accommodation and a job (and given up a job!)in that space of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

maninasia wrote: »
    It's interesting to peer into peoples heads and see what they are really thinking, how they are really feeling.
    It is. Especially when it confirms what a deluded, self-entitled, shallow, vacuous, lacking in any semblance of self awareness @rsehole they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

jimgoose wrote: »

How dare you? Just wait until Tristan and Sebastian meet you in the scrum

• Registered Users Posts: 34,695 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

maninasia wrote: »
    I thought it was a good piece, very honest and unfiltered.
    Some people get offended by it, so what.

It's not that it's offensive, it's that it reads as if it's meant to be parody.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,400 ✭✭✭NSAman

She sounds like a complete pain the ARAS! Not all of us are whinging emigrants. I live in the US and if someone like her came into work for me, she wouldn't last long.

Talk about self absorbed!!!!

She wants to do a masters? In what area? Whining?

Jesus wept, she isn't the most intelligent person, Dublin of Belfast are NOT New York, nor never will be. She is everything that is wrong with some Irish people coming to the States and then going home, entitled much?

I wonder is she even developed an American Accent after two days?