Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor thread (MMA Talk Only - Read 1st Post Before Posting)

I see conor getting beat again to be honest. He's become too dependent on boxing and the early Conor had great switch kicks followed by straights, the Holloway fight is a masterclass to be honest and in my opinion his best bout.
    He had stamina, ring control, accuracy and timing for days, plus he slips punches with sinister forethought..

He's older, has more miles on the clock, more defeats, stays on his feet in range too long (because he feels he cannot be out boxed)..Your feet need to be underneath you boxing, so his calves will be taken again if this is the case. Kicking will make him jaded, and then he's gone in a few clinches.
    I think Poirier is better at this weight and he seems battle hardened and more confident (though he may walk into a hard one if he gets complacent).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

I actually think he is in trouble - would love to be wrong.
    Just seemed to leave the camp late as he could, no new personnel that I saw.
    Hard to see him succeed if it lasts into the mid way round 2.

Pity really - but I think the day he lost focus on UFC was the day he should've left - mind you its financially worked out for him.

Lots going on in his life and not much to gain from fights must make it tougher to be fair.

When he was committed he was sharp and smooth, haven't seen that from him in a long time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭fitzparker

DodoDojo wrote: »
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=104835

Be warned he was always and arrogant piece of **** even before mcregor got famous. His persona in real life is nothing like the act he puts on for arial etc.

He also had this one https://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?user=788160&sort=newest&date_to=&date_from=&query=%2A%3A%2A&page=4

• Registered Users Posts: 39,114 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

The Nal wrote: »
    Hes only beaten a much smaller washed up Alvarez.
    Alvarez had just won the LW belt, the biggest achievement in his career. The condenses was that Conor was going to get wrecked by he bigger wrestler.

Lads love the old washed up Hyperbole. Sure Dustin has only beaten a much smaller Holloway, scrapped past a washed up Eddie, abd bested a washed up McGregor. :pac:

Brimage was a flyweight
    Holloway was a kid
    Brandao was a bum
    Poirier was an illegal punch
    Siver was a gimme fight
    Mendes was off the couch
    Aldo was a lucky punch
    He scraped a win in Diaz 2
    Alvarez was a bum champion
    Cowboy was well past it

There you have it.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,581 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Brimage was a flyweight
    Holloway was a kid
    Brandao was a bum
    Siver was a gimme fight
    Mendes was off the couch
    Aldo was a lucky punch
    Cowboy was well past it

There you have it.

Its MMA for YOU

you can't just decided to have a few gimme fights here and there or chose your fights so everyone losses and becomes last weeks news,

So much you need to be good at that when someone finds your weakness its gets exposed

It just evolves so quickly ,

• Registered Users Posts: 12,545 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Cowboy was well past it

There you have it.

Those 3 are true. Those 3 fighters have lost a dozen or so fights between them in the last 5 or so years. Well beaten in a lot of them vs average competition too. Hardly a great 5 or so years for McGregor.

Diaz 2 the best of those McGregor fights. An all timer.

Whatever way you look at it, hes made lots of cash but his prime is passing and hes fallen short and now hes in the awful position of a must win against a man who knocked him out in the last fight.

And he cant really do the trash talking anymore because he'd look silly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭FileNotFound

I think when Mcgregor was invested in the sport he was great.
    He fought those they put in front of him and did what needed doing.

ever since he went off doing other stuff, reduced his fight rate - he just has not looked the same sharp dangerous guy.

In fairness he took on bigger men in the division above and beat eddie and even diaz. No mean feat that few have achieved.

All that said he has been very busy outside the fight world, has crossed sports and done very well for himself. Non of which has helped his MMA at all in my opinion. I do think Cowboy was a Gimme but the rest were who he had to fight.

I do worry he may not be up to the challenge now - just lack of in ring time etc.

I don't rate Eddie never did but Conor performance to beat him has to go down as one of the greatest ever in UFC history ,

He came up a weight for a title fight and just dismantled him,
    There was no lucky punch or no caught him early or anything like that he literally took him apart for 2 rounds, Almost a punch perfect performance,

Againi don't rate Eddie at all but even when he losses he puts up a good fight but not that night he had no business being in the cage with McGregor ,

It was Very special performance,

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭OneLungDavy

• Registered Users Posts: 12,545 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I don't rate Eddie never did but Conor performance to beat him has to go down as one of the greatest ever in UFC history ,

There was no lucky punch or no caught him early or anything like that he literally took him apart for 2 rounds, Almost a punch perfect performance,

Againi don't rate Eddie at all but even when he losses he puts up a good fight but not that night he had no business being in the cage with McGregor ,

It was Very special performance,

Really was. His 10th fight in 3 and a half years too. No substitute for activity.

I think when Mcgregor was invested in the sport he was great.
    He fought those they put in front of him and did what needed doing.

ever since he went off doing other stuff, reduced his fight rate - he just has not looked the same sharp dangerous guy.

In fairness he took on bigger men in the division above and beat eddie and even diaz. No mean feat that few have achieved.
    I think that's a fair summary.
    His initial active run was incredible.

The dual weight champion was the ruin of him, as it meant that the Mayweather fight happen, and once every 18 months fights netted the same as 3 a year previously.

That's how I see it. What ever happen to Eddie in the following years is irrelevant. Eddie was the champ, he beat RDA. Conor moved up and despite this revisionist history, a lot of people doubted his chances.
    The Nal wrote: »
    Those 3 are true. Those 3 fighters have lost a dozen or so fights between them in the last 5 or so years. Well beaten in a lot of them vs average competition too. Hardly a great 5 or so years for McGregor.

Diaz 2 the best of those McGregor fights. An all timer.

I agree Cowboy was past it. That was a tune up.
    Diaz has has a spotty record as he insists on staying at WW. He's too small for those guys, but he'd be a much higher ranked LW if he stayed there.

You judging Alvarez on his One FC fights (which are admittedly poor), not his UFC career.
    Probably forgetting that following the loss to McGregor he fought Poirier twice. In the second Eddie was seconds aware from the win, but threw that elbow (and the knee in the first :pac:). Beat Gaethje.

Eddie screwed up, and those fights went agaisnt him, but he was toe to toe with Dustin. Beat Gaethje. N way he wasn't a top LW.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,988 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Those Americans are mad, he had to get a police escort away from the restaurant he was in at the weekend there was so many fans waiting for him outside.
    I've met him a few times up to recently and never encountered anything like that hysteria here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

If everyone is saying McGregor has so much money that he isn't motivated anymore, than why is he even taking this fight? You can say a payday but he could land a similar payday against a less dangerous opponent. Was listening to Bisping last night take about the pyschology of being knocked out and he thinks it takes big balls to make this rematch so quick.
    Interesting to see how it pans out next week but I like the fact he has toned down the media and not brought the kids along.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,054 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Mellor wrote: »
    Alvarez had just won the LW belt, the biggest achievement in his career. The condenses was that Conor was going to get wrecked by he bigger wrestler.

Lads love the old washed up Hyperbole. Sure Dustin has only beaten a much smaller Holloway, scrapped past a washed up Eddie, abd bested a washed up McGregor. :pac:

Do they? I can only speak for my own circle and it was more the talk of it was interesting in that if Eddie could take him down he would be in with a shot but it would have meant him fighting to a plan and not being himself basically - consensus being that he was just too easy to hit and someone with McGregors accuracy and timing would tee off on him.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

If everyone is saying McGregor has so much money that he isn't motivated anymore, than why is he even taking this fight? You can say a payday but he could land a similar payday against a less dangerous opponent. Was listening to Bisping last night take about the pyschology of being knocked out and he thinks it takes big balls to make this rematch so quick.
    Interesting to see how it pans out next week but I like the fact he has toned down the media and not brought the kids along.

Pride.

Some say Pride i say Ego ,

The McGregor "brand " " persona" does not look good if he walks away after a defeat,

He has had many well published problems because of his ego but fighting wise its to be admired ,When Diaz beat him he could have wanted the rematch at lightweight and drained Diaz but no he wanted the same weight to right that wrong ,he went in with Floyd no requests for less rounds or time limits or weight things , his ego wanted Floyd at his best ,

For all Conor's faults he takes chances and big hurdles when it comes to fighting , all ways turns up and very little excuses if he losses,

And i have a strong dislike for the person but he is without question must see when fighting ,

• Registered Users Posts: 19,151 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

The Alvarez revisionism is always just to suit the McGregor nay-sayers. And especially lads who rolled out of bed in 2015 when McGregor was fighting Mendes and had only "MMA for Dummies" to use to catch up on the history of the sport in order to pretend they knew what they were talking about.

Dos Anjos was a man on a 10-1 streak (the lone loss coming to Khabib) and was the undisputed UFC LW Champion. There was no controversy, he beat the undisputed champ at the time (Pettis) systematically over 5 rounds (50-45 across the board if I remember correctly and so favoured was he that they put Pettis front and centre of the poster with RDA stood slightly behind him). He had also defended the belt.

There was no controversy. RDA was the undisputed champ.

Eddie Alvarez then beat him, he knocked him out. It was not a contentious stoppage, there was no dodgy split decision, it was as comprehensive as it gets. Round 1.

There was no controversy.

Will Alvarez go down as one of the GOATs? No.

Was Eddie Alvarez the undisputed UFC LW Champion on the day that Conor McGregor dismantled him? Yes. Of that there is no doubt.

Do they? I can only speak for my own circle and it was more the talk of it was interesting in that if Eddie could take him down he would be in with a shot but it would have meant him fighting to a plan and not being himself basically - consensus being that he was just too easy to hit and someone with McGregors accuracy and timing would tee off on him.
    There was obviously a reasonably middle ground.
    Conor’s striking vrs Eddie’s wrestling. Eddie takes damage early, but had never need knocked out and had bags of experience at the top level. He really should have been able to game plan.

But I was talking more so about the extreme positions that flip from end to the other.
    Mendes will out grapple him. Mendes is munchkin steroid head.
    Aldo will kick the legs off him. Aldo is too old was past it.
    Dustin is a gimme fight. Dustin is far to big and too good...

MrStuffins wrote: »
    The Alvarez revisionism is always just to suit the McGregor nay-sayers. And especially lads who rolled out of bed in 2015 when McGregor was fighting Mendes and had only "MMA for Dummies" to use to catch up on the history of the sport in order to pretend they knew what they were talking about.

Dos Anjos was a man on a 10-1 streak (the lone loss coming to Khabib) and was the undisputed UFC LW Champion. There was no controversy, he beat the undisputed champ at the time (Pettis) systematically over 5 rounds (50-45 across the board if I remember correctly and so favoured was he that they put Pettis front and centre of the poster with RDA stood slightly behind him). He had also defended the belt.

There was no controversy. RDA was the undisputed champ.

Eddie Alvarez then beat him, he knocked him out. It was not a contentious stoppage, there was no dodgy split decision, it was as comprehensive as it gets. Round 1.

There was no controversy.

Will Alvarez go down as one of the GOATs? No.

Was Eddie Alvarez the undisputed UFC LW Champion on the day that Conor McGregor dismantled him? Yes. Of that there is no doubt.

As iv already said Conor win was stunning a best ever title performance contender without question

My view of Eddie is that while he was always a good fighter but never top class,

He is tough & game & always has a chance but top class guys will beat him,
    He fought two very boring split decision wins before he beat RDA , His win against RDA was a brilliant performance probably his career best when it mattered but i think if we are honest nobody seen him holding onto the belt for along period

The guys who beat Eddie have always had to go through a tough fight but Conor made it look so so easy it was stunning,

So although i don't rate Eddie highly i rate Conor's win against him as spectacular in performance,

Mellor wrote: »
    There was obviously a reasonably middle ground.

Also, McGregor was only a slight favourite with the bookies at the time.

McGregor - 140 Alvarez +110

https://www.cbssports.com/mma/news/ufc-205-odds-betting-lines-conor-mcgregor-a-slight-favorite-over-eddie-alvarez/

If everyone who claims to have known Alvarez was a bum put their money where their mouths are, they'd all be walking around in mink coats like Conor himself

My view of Eddie is that while he was always a good fighter but never top class,

As I said, Eddie won't go down as one of the GOATs, but if there's a higher title a fighter can achieve to be considered "top class" than being the UFC Champion then i'd like to hear about it.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    As I said, Eddie won't go down as one of the GOATs, but if there's a higher title a fighter can achieve to be considered "top class" than being the UFC Champion then i'd like to hear about it.

That it isn't it he's at a level that very few will ever achieve so obviously top class

To me he's like a gate keeper to the real elite guys , as in he will give them a hard fight but i wouldn't expect him to win , He took his chance when it came along and became a champion so fair play to him

I read after the alvarez fight that mark Henry was asked about Frankie vs Conor McGregor, he said McGregor's arm is like the babe Ruth arm of MMA, you'll never see it again for speed and accuracy and of course power to weight ratio.

It's like a Tacit NO for Frankie, NO WAY! and I agree with his analogy Im afraid I just didn't see it against Khabib nor against Dustin, I see him getting beat and that's him..thanks for the cheese

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Hi guys, I know you are all experts here, I am not.
    How well will Conor do against Dustin? has he put on enough weight, is he training correctly?
    Again, I'm a total amateur, but it's good to see an irish guy win on the big stage...

Hi guys, I know you are all experts here, I am not.
    How well will Conor do against Dustin? has he put on enough weight, is he training correctly?
    Again, I'm a total amateur, but it's good to see an irish guy win on the big stage...

MrStuffins is the biggest expert on here, as far as I can tell.

MrStuffins is the biggest expert Only if u'on here, as far as I can tell.

Only if i'm posting after a full camp

• Registered Users Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Brimage was a flyweight
    Holloway was a kid
    Brandao was a bum
    Siver was a gimme fight
    Mendes was off the couch
    Aldo was a lucky punch
    Cowboy was well past it

There you have it.

Best not the mention the 'goat' Khabib's record .......his 29/0 is a long list of fking nobodies topped up by a washed up McGregor .....he's only really beat Poirier/RDA and Gaethje who lets be honest are not all that

• Registered Users Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Any thoughts on how Conor will be prepared for the calf kicks this time round?

Now, Dustin may not utilize them at all as it will seem very obvious, but at the same time if they are there for the taking, he will take them.

One of the best ways to combat these kicks, is to deliver them yourself, so will be interesting to see if Conor uses the same tactice, a la Diaz 2. Stance will have to change for sure.

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,009 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Any thoughts on how Conor will be prepared for the calf kicks this time round?

Now, Dustin may not utilize them at all as it will seem very obvious, but at the same time if they are there for the taking, he will take them.

One of the best ways to combat these kicks, is to deliver them yourself, so will be interesting to see if Conor uses the same tactice, a la Diaz 2. Stance will have to change for sure.

Any thoughts?

I'd like to see McGregor kick, period. Where were the stabbing teeps, or thigh shots? He looked so much sharper against Cowboy than he did vs Dustin.