Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Ya, first time in Croke Park for me. And then the Padraig Brogan thunderbolt in the replay. Some goal.
    was reading recently about the John Finn broken jaw. And still it's not known who did it?

No and he has never said either

It was the Father of a player who's playing for the Dubs now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I'd be pretty sure Donegal will have a strategy to exploit our weaknesses at kickouts at any rate...

You could nearly make an argument for going long as the first option at this stage and hope to break in around the 50/50 mark.

#oldschool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

You know the way we all love getting carried away and dreaming and stuff, especially after performances like the weekend. So like IF the minors make it all the way to an all ireland final, does your season ticket give you any entitlement for tickets? Asking for a friend and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,491 ✭✭✭✭km79

muddle84 wrote: »
    You know the way we all love getting carried away and dreaming and stuff, especially after performances like the weekend. So like IF the minors make it all the way to an all ireland final, does your season ticket give you any entitlement for tickets? Asking for a friend and all that.

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭flasher0030

moghrasa wrote: »
    Nail on the head here. As a Donegal man myself I'm glad to see the team getting praise, but the pundits writing you off so definitively are absurd. We've a lot of firepower up front, but as the game against Meath showed - and at times against Kerry - direct runners charging down the middle of the field can cause us serious bothers. I've noticed the pundits have gone a bit more quiet on us of late, especially since Kerry beat ye. They almost seem relieved that they can big Kerry up now instead of us... It's all propaganda.

I'm optimistic and can see us edging it but friggin hell I can't see how people can be so certain that one team or the other are nailed on winners. It'll be a hard slog and a cracker of a quarter final and whatever side that wins won't have blown away their opponent.

Ya, but I don't think we have those type of direct runners up front. Maybe Fionn McDonagh. Diarmuid O'Connor would, but presume he's not available. Doherty, McLoughlin, O'Connor are not that direct running style. Darren Coen won't get a look in if marked by Neil McGee (I think). Unless Coen can find the legs to run him further out the pitch. Mayo's midfield can't do it. If Seamie O'SHea playing, he's a head down ball carrier. And Aidan just gets bottled up by opposition defenders. If a team with speedy, strong forwards like Clifford, Geaney, Stephen O'Brien, Sean O'Shea can only draw with Donegal, the reality is how do our guys go one better.
    I just can't see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Everyone just assumes that, John has never confirmed it

He hasn't said it publicly alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

It will this year (or so my friend says :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Pineapple1

seligehgit wrote:
    I thought he was retired!

Nope! Still going strong our TJ

If the match is going to be anything like the two hurling games at the weekend we are in for one hell of a ride this Saturday evening, oh please god I can get my hands on a ticket before then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭Panrich

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Same here.
    Noel Durkin scored a goal in the first minute, I can still remember the roar.
    Massive controversy in the aftermath about the broken jaw etc.

I also remember Big Tom Byrne (78 minor) coming on late in the second half and nearly pulling the head off a Dublin defender!

McStay had half a chance to win it at the death but fumbled the pass.

I didn't get to the replay and the policy at the time was not to show live coverage on telly.

Crazy stuff as Kerry and Monaghan drew in the other semi final.

I remember I was living and working in Dublin that Summer and I walked up and paid at the stile for 3 of the 4 semis with replays (exception Mayo-Dublin replay. Got a ticket for that back home). I got upper Hogan stand tickets just behind the cameras for all the others and I think they were about £6. It's crazy to think back to how easy it was to get tickets in those days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

He was the only culprit in the vicinity Nobody else had a hand long enough to reach from where they were .

Did John play in the replay with a broken jaw ? Jaysus , that wouldn’t happen today .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Panrich wrote: »
    I remember I was living and working in Dublin that Summer and I walked up and paid at the stile for 3 of the 4 semis with replays (exception Mayo-Dublin replay. Got a ticket for that back home). I got upper Hogan stand tickets just behind the cameras for all the others and I think they were about £6. It's crazy to think back to how easy it was to get tickets in those days.

In fairness there no issue with going to semi finals or indeed 95% of games

Great to hear Tom Parsons back in training with the Squad.
    I also hear Durcan is fit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

I wonder will Parsons get a club run later this year?

No sign of him in a league game at the weekend though, so its probably too much to ask for this season

3,000 tickets due to go on sale via clubs only later this week due to pre-match entertainment lined up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

The OTB roadshow is heading for CLG Acla tomorrow night.

Our own Nathan Murphy will be joined by Kevin Kilbane.Never was seen before a man prouder of his Mayo roots.

Damian Comer will amongst those on the panel too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boosabum

wrong thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

seligehgit wrote: »
    The OTB roadshow is heading for CLG Acla tomorrow night.

Our own Nathan Murphy will be joined by Kevin Kilbane.Never was seen before a man prouder of his Mayo roots.

Damian Comer will amongst those on the panel too.
    Better not be tomorrow night.... our tickets say Wed 7th!

Call me Al wrote: »
    Better not be tomorrow night.... our tickets say Wed 7th!

Mea culpa!

Thanks Call me Al.

Ta an ceart agat.

Lovely hurling.Heading to Wooly Thursday night and have now booked the OTB roadshow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Looptheloop30

There'll be **** all in it if we lose at the weekend

A distinct possibility but it's a good night out if one is interested in all things GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

In fairness there no issue with going to semi finals or indeed 95% of games

Indeed.
    You could pay at the gate for finals up until the near disaster on the hill in 83.
    A year previous to that the most famous final of all was far from a full house.

Great to hear Tom Parsons back in training with the Squad.
    I also hear Durcan is fit.

Ruane apparently was involved in the A vs B as well. There could be one or two surprises Saturday.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Mea culpa!

Thanks Call me Al.

Ta an ceart agat.

Lovely hurling.Heading to Wooly Thursday night and have now booked the OTB roadshow.

Are tickets still available for Thursday Seligeh?

The more i think about this game at the weekend the more i am thinking that I'm more worried about Rochford vs Horan than Donegal vs Mayo if that makes sense?

Ruane apparently was involved in the A vs B as well. There could be one or two surprises Saturday.

Wont see Ruane until a possible final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Alan Dillon cameo FTW!:p

muddle84 wrote:
    The more i think about this game at the weekend the more i am thinking that I'm more worried about Rochford vs Horan than Donegal vs Mayo if that makes sense?

Of course. I think Rockford would love nothing more than to get one up on the countyboard in particular. I wouldnt blame him either.