Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Pineapple1 wrote: »
    Wont see Ruane until a possible final

Can't dispute that but any word he trained this week?
    Alan Dillon cameo FTW!:p

If that man comes on and kicks the winner, we'll get him elected Taoiseach :D
    seligehgit wrote: »

Thanks man. Got them there. Should be a bit of craic.
    Pineapple1 wrote: »
    Of course. I think Rockford would love nothing more than to get one up on the countyboard in particular. I wouldnt blame him either.

That's true.

Aidan O'Mahony was speaking on Off The Ball this morning. His view was that the Mayo lads will also not want to lose to a Donegal team with Rochford involved and it's just a game they can't lose. Just another way of looking at it. He thinks there's still a kick left in this Mayo team. Hopefully he's right.

The lads simply need to follow the standard that Andy and Boyler laid down against Meath. Looking forward to seeing the matchups when the ball's thrown in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

We need to improve our McHale park form . Might as well start with this game .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Can't dispute that but any word he trained this week?

If that man comes on and kicks the winner, we'll get him elected Taoiseach :D

Thanks man. Got them there. Should be a bit of craic.

That's true.

Aidan O'Mahony was speaking on Off The Ball this morning. His view was that the Mayo lads will also not want to lose to a Donegal team with Rochford involved and it's just a game they can't lose. Just another way of looking at it. He thinks there's still a kick left in this Mayo team. Hopefully he's right.

The lads simply need to follow the standard that Andy and Boyler laid down against Meath. Looking forward to seeing the matchups when the ball's thrown in.

Staggeringly brilliant piece of insight there from Twinkletoes O'Mahony. And there was us lot only too willing to believe that Mayo would love to lose to Donegal. Thanks for setting us all straight there Aido.

Not having a go at you btw, but the amount of shyte talk going on is mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Staggeringly brilliant piece of insight there from Twinkletoes O'Mahony. And there was us lot only too willing to believe that Mayo would love to lose to Donegal. Thanks for setting us all straight there Aido.

I was paraphrasing but I take your point that it looks like a cliched and simple quote but there was a bit more to it.
    He was trying to put across the fact that the Mayo lads will do anything for Rochford to not put one over them by using their strengths against them. If that makes sense.
    It was a different slant because all week we've been hearing that Rochford will be masterminding a gameplan against Mayo and sure that might very well happen, but you also could see more fire from Mayo because they won't want someone they know all too well gunning to beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,652 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

I was paraphrasing but I take your point that it looks like a cliched and simple quote but there was a bit more to it.
    He was trying to put across the fact that the Mayo lads will do anything for Rochford to not put one over them by using their strengths against them. If that makes sense.
    It was a different slant because all week we've been hearing that Rochford will be masterminding a gameplan against Mayo and sure that might very well happen, but you also could see more fire from Mayo because they won't want someone they know all too well gunning to beat them.

I would imagine it is pretty well know by the vast majority of county managers what Mayo`s strengths are.
    Donegal under Declan Bonner and his management team to date have concentrated on their own attacking strengths with their game plans.
    I would not see them changing for this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

rumour has it the mcbrearty has picked up some sort of injury. Dunno if its true, or how bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,491 ✭✭✭✭km79

Squatman wrote: »
    rumour has it the mcbrearty has picked up some sort of injury. Dunno if its true, or how bad!

He tweaked hamstring towards end of Kerry game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Squatman wrote: »

He'd apparently signalled to the bench the last day with about ten minutes to go that he wanted to go off (hamstring injury).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I won't believe anything til I see the teams lined out on Saturday.

Just seen a photo of Diarmuid on JJ Burke car site from today
    He still has light cast on :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,913 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

km79 wrote: »
    Just seen a photo of Diarmuid on JJ Burke car site from today
    He still has light cast on :(

That's meant for Donegal eyes:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

ProudDUB wrote: »

Here here

I have the good fortune to be in the great county of Mayo this week, and reading "The Connaught" all I am seeing is this positivity based on nothing more than intangibles.

Now I know the aforementioned newspaper is poor quality as it is but all it is doing this week is telling it's readers what they want to hear.

The reality is (in no particular order)
    Mayo are missing key players due to injury
    Have played a lot of games in a short period of time
    Have in general terms failed to play as the Mayo we expect in all but one half of one game (first half v Galway)
    Have been exposed defensively
    Have been exposed on restarts
    Have a manager who seems not to think as tactically as his predecessor.

All of that combined coming up against a younger team preforming well gives me very little confidence.

The writers in "The Connaught" are expecting Mayo to do what they did v Galway for a full game v a better team.

I hope I'm wrong but there is a slim chance of that happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I've always admired this Mayo team, I didn't doubt they'd bounce back over ther years.

But this year it seems different, obviously I could be wrong but I think their time in the championship will be over soon

WRT Mayo positivity, the only genuine element I'd consider is Donegal's injury list, their midfield and defence might be weakened.

For me anyway it's not DOC or Ruane that I'd miss, its Parsons, his energy, tackling and ability to pick up broken ball in midfield is badly missed.

I wouldn't put too much into the leagues missing midfield players, he is the biggest loss IMO he is the proven championship player that's missing from midfield, there is no way in hell he could be ready this year, back training or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Have in general terms failed to play as the Mayo we expect in all but one half of one game (first half v Galway)
    Have been exposed defensively.

All of that combined coming up against a younger team preforming well gives me very little confidence

Christ there’s a glass completely empty if I ever seen it.

Injuries - So are Donegal
    Have Played a lot of games - 2 week break and we have learned a lot from the games we have played.

Not the Mayo we expect - We got to an All-Ireland final in 2017 playing like this. We also produced fantastic semi-final & final performances after being terrible in the qualifiers. We are 4/5 against some very tough teams in a short period of time
    Exposed Defensively - Nothing new here. Horan-ball, we won the league playing like this. Donegal can be got at there also

Restarts - Again an age old issue which was exposed badly in Kerry. I am far from Clarkes biggest fan and have made my feelings heard on this subject here before. But there were a lot of mitigating factors to that Killarney meltdown. The aforementioned injuries being one

Tactical manager - Again this is Horan’s way, he backs his defenders. Rochy tactical yes but Did he have a tendency to overthink things?

You sound like my father in law, I was actually wondering if it was him! Ha in all seriousness I believe there is a kick in us. We have a good recent record v Donegal. Rochy does seem to be an advocate of a shoot-out, look how Donegal played v Kerry. If this is the case we will be well able for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Barlett

Here here

I have the good fortune to be in the great county of Mayo this week, and reading "The Connaught" all I am seeing is this positivity based on nothing more than intangibles.

Now I know the aforementioned newspaper is poor quality as it is but all it is doing this week is telling it's readers what they want to hear.

All of that combined coming up against a younger team preforming well gives me very little confidence.

The writers in "The Connaught" are expecting Mayo to do what they did v Galway for a full game v a better team.

I don't disagree, but I think there is a huge amount of revisionism of late regarding Stephen Rochford and Mayo. When I think back on those years, I have great memories of the big days no doubt, but I can still count on both hands the games Mayo actually played well in. Every other game was the same failings on show time and again, letting teams back into games, baffling in-game decisions from players and management. What I see now is a team on a natural slide that would happen regardless who is in charge, but a few new players on the horizon. I think Rochford is an excellent manager and I think Horan is an excellent manager but there is little that can be done to reverse the reality of what is currently happening as players get older, we need to bring through more players next year and continue to rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭spakman

Barlett wrote: »
    I don't disagree, but I think there is a huge amount of revisionism of late regarding Stephen Rochford and Mayo. When I think back on those years, I have great memories of the big days no doubt, but I can still count on both hands the games Mayo actually played well in. Every other game was the same failings on show time and again, letting teams back into games, baffling in-game decisions from players and management. What I see now is a team on a natural slide that would happen regardless who is in charge, but a few new players on the horizon. I think Rochford is an excellent manager and I think Horan is an excellent manager but there is little that can be done to reverse the reality of what is currently happening as players get older, we need to bring through more players next year and continue to rebuild.

Good summary. There were days when we were playing terrible under Rochford that I thought "this would never happen under Horan".
    But equally I don't think we'd have played as well in 2017 final under Horan.

I think Horan is a better man to build a team, he's already brought through more players this year than Rochford did in his 3 years.
    Maybe some of that was through necessity, and Rochford tried to include Carr but he was injured, but I still think Horan is better suited to building a new team in the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Barlett

spakman wrote: »
    Good summary. There were days when we were playing terrible under Rochford that I thought "this would never happen under Horan".
    But equally I don't think we'd have played as well in 2017 final under Horan.

I think Horan is a better man to build a team, he's already brought through more players this year than Rochford did in his 3 years.
    Maybe some of that was through necessity, and Rochford tried to include Carr but he was injured, but I still think Horan is better suited to building a new team in the next few years.

Agreed, even last year James Diskin and Cian Hanley were parachuted into championship football, probably out of necessity, but it was a bit out of no where. There appears to be a more concentrated move to introducing new players this year even if there's only 2/3 making the first 15 currently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Can anyone recommend ninja parking options for the match on Saturday? I'll be coming in the Breaffy side :cool:

It's been a helluva long time since I was at a game in Castlebar :(

That's meant for Donegal eyes:p

It is a light cast it must be said
    I wonder ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 Lisbon67

km79 wrote: »
    It is a light cast it must be said
    I wonder ..........

https://www.facebook.com/JJBurkeCarSales/photos/a.604463539567886/2824914937522724?type=3&sfns=mo

No cast on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Lisbon67 wrote: »
    It's there over his wrist and base of thumb, its just not bright blue anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

Lisbon67 wrote: »

It looks like there is some thing could be a splint yoke to keep it straight

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend ninja parking options for the match on Saturday? I'll be coming in the Breaffy side :cool:

It's been a helluva long time since I was at a game in Castlebar :(

You could park out at the industrial estate where Woodies and Harvey Normans is.About a 15 to 20 minute amble in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Barlett wrote: »
    Agreed, even last year James Diskin and Cian Hanley were parachuted into championship football, probably out of necessity, but it was a bit out of no where. There appears to be a more concentrated move to introducing new players this year even if there's only 2/3 making the first 15 currently.

Where is Cian Hanley this year? Has he been on the panel?

Gone to the US for the summer,struggled to recover from a number of injuries.

I'd imagine he'll be in James Horan's thoughts for next year.

Here here

There are intangibles that nobody seems to have considered when it comes to Donegal as well.

They have their own injury problems where there is the possibility of their first choices at 2, 3, being out as well as the number 2 stand in against Kerry. Plus their standout half back is out for the season, Eoghan Ban Gallagher There are also doubts over their two mid-fielders.

Add to that Paddy McBrearty now looks as if he will not make it due to a hamstring problem and you have a serious amount of intangibles with a relatively young inexperienced team where it comes down to replacements. Especially when Mayo look to be getting some of their older experienced players back.

seligehgit wrote: »
    There's definitely a cast on his left hand.

It is a light cast, but yes there is definitely one there.

Could be just for the photo-op mind you.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

charlie14 wrote: »
    There are intangibles that nobody seems to have considered when it comes to Donegal as well.

They have their own injury problems where there is the possibility of their first choices at 2, 3, being out as well as the number 2 stand in against Kerry. Plus their standout half back is out for the season, Eoghan Ban Gallagher There are also doubts over their two mid-fielders.

Add to that Paddy McBrearty now looks as if he will not make it due to a hamstring problem and you have a serious amount of intangibles with a relatively young inexperienced team where it comes down to replacements. Especially when Mayo look to be getting some of their older experienced players back.

I don't think Tod means intangibles in the sense you do, like injuries and stuff

Think he's more referring to blanket statements like "Mayo will raise their game" and "there's one more kick in them" and things like that, which are based on no tangible and solid evidence, and that there has been no real tactical analysis or anything put forward to support any Mayo predictions.

And he's spot on - because any objective strategic analysis based on form would only point at one outcome

Now for what its worth, I do think this will be more of a battle than many think (and yes I'm using intangibles myself to support this!!)

But Tod's viewpoint is still spot on imo, and I'm glad we can get contrary opinions on this site, which are generally a complete no-go on the Mayo Blog. Checked on it yesterday to see some guy getting absolutely lambasted by a plethora of posters for predicting a comfortable Donegal win