Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think nurses will get their payrise?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Oh so to add insult to injury...you want nurses to commute from the arsehole of Laois or Offaly to work their 12 hour shift in Dublin....

That’s the mentality he/she !! Thick as a wet plank

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

gctest50 wrote: »
    Only one way to sort it

- pick one ward and hunt all the hse staff out of it*

- staff it with a small herd of agency nurses

- tell them to run n organise it anyway they want, all you'll be doing is looking at results n feedback

Do the same, in the same hospital but fill it with the Asian Crew :)

Let the fun begin

* obv. not doctors before some clown says it

That's not a bad idea at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Please state the relevance of this question to this thread.

Well you seem to want nurses to live outside a reasobable cimmuting area and they should earn that of a nurse in Hungary where cost of living is considerably less.

Maybe i want to compare your wage to that of a Hungarians

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Please state the relevance of this question to this thread.

I’m fairly sure that a lot of us are wondering what your relevance is ? In general , like

Ninthlife wrote: »
    Well you seem to want nurses to live outside a reasobable cimmuting area and they should earn that of a nurse in Hungary where cost of living is considerably less.

Maybe i want to compare your wage to that of a Hungarians

Please state exactly where I said that or how you inferred it.

Answer my question

All your posts infer nurses are overpaid and that they can move if living costs are high

There's clearly a lot of nurses on this thread hating my common sense factual approach.

It's quite obvious, ye know who ye are!

Now get off ye're phones and do some work before ye sleep at the nurses station.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,292 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

There's clearly a lot of nurses on this thread hating my common sense factual approach.

Now get off ye're phones and do some work before ye sleep at the nurses station.
    I think someone might have been turned down by a nurse he met in coppers...bless

gctest50 wrote: »
    Only one way to sort it

- pick one ward and hunt all the hse staff out of it*
    ( including managers etc )

- staff it with a small herd of agency nurses

- tell them to run n organise it anyway they want, all you'll be doing is looking at results n feedback

Do the same, in the same hospital but fill it with the Asian Crew :)

Let the fun begin

* obv. not doctors before some clown says it

You do know agency nurses on average make about 10k more than a regular nurse....so yeah... Still think this is a great idea?

gmisk wrote: »
    I think someone might have been turned down by a nurse he met in coppers...bless

No love, I wouldn't date a moan!

Why don't you go back to Panti bar and try chat up the "friendly bar men" or play with your Xbox!

So what do you work as?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

i dont think pay is the issue per se.
    they are being paid adequately well imho.

the real issue is the HSE and how it's so badly structured.
    if i see a picket, i will have no problem in passing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Can nurses only work in Dublin hospitals?

For specialised nurses the work wouldn't be there for them down the country

I think people are right to be annoyed at the unaffordability of Dublin
    But centralising jobs and growth in this region has been government policy for decades

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

The salaries might seem ok, but take home pay is another thing

And employing temporary agency staff instead of hiring full time nurses

Someone in the private sector is making a killing with agency nurses

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

You do know agency nurses on average make about 10k more than a regular nurse....so yeah... Still think this is a great idea?

1.)If there is say 60 agency nurses in a hospital anyway, just swap them around

2.) It'd be research, always find money for research

3.) Be good for morale of doctors n stuff, they could have a few bets with each other on the outcomes

No love, I wouldn't date a moan!

Why don't you go back to Panti bar and try chat up the "friendly bar men" or play with your Xbox!
    It's sad you have to trawl through my posts on totally different topics to find something to try and attack me on...
    I said bar men in a pub were friendly and I have an xbox...the scandal of it all...

Anyway back to this topic...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,590 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

professore wrote: »
    The reality is we pay one of the highest costs per capita for quite frankly a poor health service. Seeing my mother in excruciating pain for 3 years waiting for a hip replacement was ample evidence of that. Now I'm not blaming nurses for that but a root and branch reform of the health service is needed. It's not a bottomless pit.

I am sorry your mother went through that, it is barbaric.

Why are people are on lengthy waiting lists for hip replacements?
    It's not the fault of hardworking nurses ,doctors and healthcare staff...it's the lack of these essential staff through years of knocking their pay , increasing their hours and not funding necessary beds that has lists getting longer and longer. No matter how many expensive commissions and reviews a succession of governments have paid good money for , we still have increasing numbers of patients on trolleys and longer waiting lists .

Invest in the staff that our country has paid to train and who want to stay and work here doing a very difficult job .
    Invest in wards and beds and staff them properly and trust the nursing and medical staff to run them.
    Clear out admin who don't come from nursing or medical backgrounds or do not have an ethos of public service over financial service.
    In order to have a decent health service that cares properly and with real improvements everyone needs to get real and stop acting like all public services are equal.
    When people are in pain or their relative needs long term care do you want a nurse ,who as one poster said should clock off early to get his or her reports done?
    Or do you want a nurse who doesn't do that , or feel aggrieved or stressed by the extra unpaid time she is putting in, because there is an equally well trained colleague available , called in to help, or because your nurse can claim overtime pay for hours spent on your care if necessary? No nurse leaves a patient who needs care to off to write up reports so she can get off on time, never mind early.

Ireland needs to decide what sort of society they want ...pay for what matters through taxation , or keep drifting along tinkering at the edges of healthcare with HSE bosses who put the price of a smeartest above lives of women, and then take off into the sunset with massive pensions that could pay many nurses salaries for many years. And ministers who instead of doing the job they were elected to do, keep passing the buck to commissions who are hogtied before they start by that same ministers instructions and limitations. The pay commission were told to come up with a solution, that didn't include pay rises for nurses.?? Good one ,Paschal 🙄

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    The salaries might seem ok, but take home pay is another thing

And employing temporary agency staff instead of hiring full time nurses

Someone in the private sector is making a killing with agency nurses

welcome to the real world

It seems the consensus in this thread is that nurses get paid enough and shouldn't get a pay increase.

When you are working zero hour contracts on minimum wage, don't look for help from your colleagues that walked all over then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 110 ✭✭MaryBrosnan

It seems the consensus in this thread is that nurses get paid enough and shouldn't get a pay increase.

Thanks Leo.

According to you because you are spamming the thread .

If it seems that way to you that's grand.
    It doesn't really seem that way to me from what I have read.

I think in general most people would hope they don't strike obviously but would support them and understand the reasons for it (e.g. Poll in the journal from 19 Dec 75.5% supporting strike)

If it seems that way to you that's grand.
    It doesn't really seem that way to me from what I have read.

I think in general most people would hope they don't strike obviously but would support them and understand the reasons for it (e.g. Poll in the journal from 19 Dec 75.5% supporting strike)

Hahaha...using polls from the journal as credible!! Bahahaha

You've said it all now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Varta

I think someone dropped their phone into the chimpanzee enclosure in Dublin Zoo. In the kingdom of the witless a half-wit is still a half-wit.

You've said it all now!
    What polls do you have that say people don't support the strike?
    Or is it just something you seem to think is true?

Goldengirl wrote: »
    According to you because you are spamming the thread .

Cop on girl, read back over the thread and you'll see the majority say that nurses pay is enough . What they will add is that the conditions should be better.

Go back watching Eastenders

You've said it all now!

Still cant answer my question

Ninthlife wrote: »
    Still cant answer my question

I'll answer all questions if relevant!