Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What you see in Dublin

12345679»

Sorry, it is a sh1thole of a place. Highly visible scumbags coupled with a miserable level of law enforcement that scummers just laugh at.
    It ain't Caracas but I'm sure it could be a lot better than it is.

I've posted this before, but it's worth repeating........If all you see is scumbags and junkies you need to start visiting somewhere other than the streets between Connolly and Heuston.

Dublin has a lot going for it that other places in the country just don't have, or at least don't have all of them:

Access to Cinemas, theatres, concerts, sporting events, top restaurants, public transport (quiet down the back!), international airport, infrastructure to reach the rest of the country, public parks and festivals, a ski slope, theme parks, swimming pools, shopping centres, late night shops & cafes & bars & nightclubs, international tourists, museums, supermarkets, IKEA, fishing, kayaking, rowing, diving, the Zoo, the Phoenix park, food festivals, horse racing, greyhounds, cathedrals, mountains, hiking, casinos, sailing, golf courses etc.

Of all those, the ski slope in Kilmacanogue is the furthest distance away from, say, Dublin 5 and that's only 45 mins by car. How many of those do you have relatively easy access to in, say, Douglas?

That's before you get into the one-off / emergency places you might need visit like the NCT centres, hospitals, embassies or government departments, passport office etc.

Dublin is vastly underrated by a majority of people, most of whom are familiar around a small part and never experience most of the above. Others see junkies on the boardwalk when they get off at Buss or Heuston and dismiss the rest of the city.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

riclad wrote: »
    I think tourists visit here for irish culture , music , theatre etc and we speak english .
    Is dublin any more expensive than london or paris.I doubt it.
    there seems to be a post on here every 2 months .
    I came from a small town i went to dublin, OMG , i came to dublin ,
    i saw some junkies .
    You could go to new york or boston or any large city and see the same thing.
    I understand dublin might be a culture shock if you live in a small rural town.
    Certain music is great and theatre is brilliant in my opinion. Opera house is missing and classicalmusic is also underrepresented. Is there a ballet ensemble? Dublin has some great stuff but I don't think all criticism can be attributed to big city shock. I was born in Central Europe, it's not that hard to visit mid size city and compare.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 84 ✭✭Carlingford Locked

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Yeah, again (and again, and again), just because you can’t see or are unaware of what’s worth visiting in Dublin doesn’t mean other people can’t see or are unaware of what’s worth visiting in Dublin! Maybe you don’t like the particular cultural experiences, the history, the architecture, the parks, the people and coastline that Dublin has to offer!

But other people do.

Just a few corrections

Dublin has the cheapest eateries in Ireland. You just don’t know them.
    Dublin had good weather, not terrible weather.
    In Dublin city centre, the pedestrian is king, it’s very pedestrian friendly.
    I don’t think Dublin is paradise, I just know it better than you.
    And Finally, recommending other cities over Dublin to people that want to see Collins Barracks, Trinity, do the GPO tour etc… is just stupid.

It's not pedestrian friendly at all. Take a walk around Merrion Row and Baggot st. Or Dame st. We have massive volumes of traffic flowing through the city centre which makes it dirty and noisy and frankly dangerous for pedestrians and cyclists.

The weather is generally sh*te in Ireland. Where have you been the last 2 months?

How do you know you know it better than me? Because you know where to get a bowl of pho for 8 euros on Capel St? So do I. And that's cool and all, but you'll find that in any moderately sized city.

What parks? What park would you recommend a tourist to go to today? St Anns? The Phoenix park? Why?

And architecture? It's a mish mash of mostly ugly architecture, some parts are nice alright, like where I work, in the Merrion area, but for the most part it's a bit of a kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,511 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

It's not pedestrian friendly at all. Take a walk around Merrion Row and Baggot st. Or Dame st. We have massive volumes of traffic flowing through the city centre which makes it dirty and noisy and frankly dangerous for pedestrians and cyclists.

Very safe area for pedestrians, very few accidents happen here. But I agree 100%, to much vehicular traffic for a city..
    The weather is generally sh*te in Ireland. Where have you been the last 2 months?

It's not. We have a temperate maritime or oceanic climate that gets drier as you travel East, it’s unpredictable & easy to prepare for, but certainly not extreme. If you want crap weather go do Dubai or Darwin.
    How do you know you know it better than me? Because you know where to get a bowl of pho for 8 euros on Capel St? So do I. And that's cool and all, but you'll find that in any moderately sized city.

I don't know why I know the city better than you. It's just the way it is and that’s a stretch from “The most expensive food in Europe” You’re learning by looking back at my previous posts.
    What parks? What park would you recommend a tourist to go to today? St Anns? The Phoenix park? Why?

Yes, both those two for the follies, the rut, the zoo, the Botony, the wildlife, the gardens, there are also particular places of interests for sportspeople. I’d also advise you to visit Blessington Street Basin, Iveagh Gardens, Garden of Remembrance, Croppies Acre, The Botanical Gardens, Dartmouth Square Park, St Patrick's Park, Mountjoy Square Park, Santry Demense, Albert College Park, Griffith Park, Ardgillan Castle and Victorian Garden, Malahide Castle and Gardens and of course Stephen’s green is stunning too. You should really go there. That's aside from areas such as Howth head, Killiney hill and the Dublin mountains and of course the many beaches.

What parks indeed. :rolleyes:
    And architecture? It's a mish mash of mostly ugly architecture, some parts are nice alright, like where I work, in the Merrion area, but for the most part it's a bit of a kip.

Wrong again, Dublin boasts a rich and broad architectural history. Tourists love it and there are tours catered towards the cities architecture.

Wasn't looking through your threads but I've been lurking on boards for years and you can't seem to get over the fact that there are Asian restaurants. In Dublin! Holy sh*t!
    And yes, eating out in Dublin is ridiculously expensive, apart from a few Asian places that you're so fond of. I don't care if it's the cheapest place in Ireland to eat out, I live in Dublin so that's what matters to me. It's really expensive. You can rarely get a bottle of wine in a restaurant for less than 20 euros for example. Even in London you'll often get a 9 or 10 pound bottle on the menu. I live there for years and found it a good bit cheaper to eat out in.
    I've been to most of those parks. Walking around a boring park in winter isn't my idea of fun but I suppose different strokes for different folks. I did enjoy St Ann's during the nice weather as you can lay on the grass and sunbathe however, but weather like that is a freak occurance here. There are more than 2 climates apart from the sh*tty Irish climate, and Dubai. Irish weather although it's never very uncomfortable, is awful. We don't usually get a summer.
    Anyway, you live in Cloudcuckooland when it comes to Dublin. And it's not a pretty city, maybe in your opinion, but you're tapped. I have never once met a tourist who said the city was beautiful.
    Our public transport is awful too. But I'm sure you'll tell me how wonderful it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

im a dub, and ive lived here all my life. i now live in the city centre, rather than suburbs where i grew up.

the only people i EVER hear giving out about Dublin are culchies.
    why is it that culchies give out so much about dublin when they are the ones who contribute to it's badness?

it's the very culchie spud munchers that are giving out, and saying it's the worst and there are better places to live and "you'd swear dubliners think it's a metropolis" - it's a metropolis in comparison to ALL of the rest of ireland.

this entire country is a tiny joke, so what i find very amusing is that the culchie bogger spud munching farmers that come up to dublin to live and work are giving out about it all - they are just terrified of confrontation. like, lads, ye've no reason to be afraid of junkies taking a sh!t on the road, so what if it's gross, but it's not something to be afraid of. that's the jist of it - the culchies are AFRAID of dublin.

a LOT of worse crime actually happens in the countryside....

the reason a lot of culchies think dublin is a sh!t hole is because they are narrow minded and if they dont live in dublin, the only experience they have of it is driving up to croke park (which is not a "nice" area) and/or taking a journey down the most horrible bit of the quays to get to heuston past where all the town junkies actually live...

culchies are hilarious. ye havent copped on yet that Dublin keeps the worst bits for the culchies to experience!

sure ye're all covered in muck and rough and ready to go, so ye'll be grand. just whack them with yer hurley boi, yeeow! yahoo! Hon Tipp etc etc...

yahoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

Wasn't looking through your threads but I've been lurking on boards for years and you can't seem to get over the fact that there are Asian restaurants. In Dublin! Holy sh*t!
    And yes, eating out in Dublin is ridiculously expensive, apart from a few Asian places that you're so fond of. I don't care if it's the cheapest place in Ireland to eat out, I live in Dublin so that's what matters to me. It's really expensive. You can rarely get a bottle of wine in a restaurant for less than 20 euros for example. Even in London you'll often get a 9 or 10 pound bottle on the menu. I live there for years and found it a good bit cheaper to eat out in.
    I've been to most of those parks. Walking around a boring park in winter isn't my idea of fun but I suppose different strokes for different folks. I did enjoy St Ann's during the nice weather as you can lay on the grass and sunbathe however, but weather like that is a freak occurance here. There are more than 2 climates apart from the sh*tty Irish climate, and Dubai. Irish weather although it's never very uncomfortable, is awful. We don't usually get a summer.
    Anyway, you live in Cloudcuckooland when it comes to Dublin. And it's not a pretty city, maybe in your opinion, but you're tapped. I have never once met a tourist who said the city was beautiful.
    Our public transport is awful too. But I'm sure you'll tell me how wonderful it is.

you're so closed minded. why dont you leave the country, Dublin is the best bit of Ireland, and it's the best you'll get here, so why not leave, or you must be secretly happy enough to stay in dublin then...

so, hypocrite or just thick? must be muck or spuds in your eyes

And yes, eating out in Dublin is ridiculously expensive, apart from a few Asian places that you're so fond of.

There are plenty of very affordable eateries all over the city from gastro-pub to tapas to carvery to top end early bird offers and pre-theatre menus. Again, just because you don’t know about them doesn’t mean they don’t exist.
    I don't care if it's the cheapest place in Ireland to eat out, I live in Dublin so that's what matters to me. It's really expensive. You can rarely get a bottle of wine in a restaurant for less than 20 euros for example. Even in London you'll often get a 9 or 10 pound bottle on the menu. I live there for years and found it a good bit cheaper to eat out in.

I paid €5 corkage in a restaurant on Friday. Try the BYOB places. Again, just because you don’t know about them doesn’t mean they don’t exist.
    I've been to most of those parks..

You were saying “what parks” five minutes ago. Now not only are you aware of them, but you’ve been to most of them? Pull the other one Carlingford locked :pac::pac:
    Walking around a boring park in winter isn't my idea of fun but I suppose different strokes for different folks.

:confused:? I keep telling you tourists like things like this. just because you don’t like certain experiences it doesn’t mean tourists don’t like them.
    I did enjoy St Ann's during the nice weather as you can lay on the grass and sunbathe however, but weather like that is a freak occurance here. There are more than 2 climates apart from the sh*tty Irish climate, and Dubai. Irish weather although it's never very uncomfortable, is awful. We don't usually get a summer.

We have a temperate climate. It’s not as bad as you think it is, we don’t have to adapt our lives for extreme cold or heat.
    Anyway, you live in Cloudcuckooland when it comes to Dublin. And it's not a pretty city, maybe in your opinion, but you're tapped. I have never once met a tourist who said the city was beautiful. Our public transport is awful too. But I'm sure you'll tell me how wonderful it is.

I’ve met hundreds of tourists that love Dublin. Public transport isn’t good, but tourists mainly rely on the DART and use it off peak and at weekends, so it works out very well for them. (if you ever met a tourist in Dublin you’d know this) ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Seanachai

There are plenty of very affordable eateries all over the city from gastro-pub to tapas to carvery to top end early bird offers and pre-theatre menus. Again, just because you don’t know about them doesn’t mean they don’t exist.

I paid €5 corkage in a restaurant on Friday. Try the BYOB places. Again, just because you don’t know about them doesn’t mean they don’t exist.

You were saying “what parks” five minutes ago. Now not only are you aware of them, but you’ve been to most of them? Pull the other one Carlingford locked :pac::pac:

:confused:? I keep telling you tourists like things like this. just because you don’t like certain experiences it doesn’t mean tourists don’t like them.

We have a temperate climate. It’s not as bad as you think it is, we don’t have to adapt our lives for extreme cold or heat.

I’ve met hundreds of tourists that love Dublin. Public transport isn’t good, but tourists mainly rely on the DART and use it off peak and at weekends, so it works out very well for them. (if you ever met a tourist in Dublin you’d know this) ;)

We do have a temperate climate, which can sound like a pretty good thing and it is up to a certain point in terms of us avoiding major disasters. But for general comfort levels, it doesn't really mean much, I love Ireland but it is damp and the long runs of grey skies can really affect your mood.

Seanachai wrote: »
    We do have a temperate climate, which can sound like a pretty good thing and it is up to a certain point in terms of us avoiding major disasters. But for general comfort levels, it doesn't really mean much, I love Ireland but it is damp and the long runs of grey skies can really affect your mood.

I'll affect your mood in a positive way with my next sentence brother Rabbit.

Solstice in two days, longer days and shorter nights! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

And it's not a pretty city, maybe in your opinion, but you're tapped. I have never once met a tourist who said the city was beautiful.

You haven't met many tourists then. I had a friend over from Australia who spent an entire day taking pictures of the bridges on the Liffey.

I had an American mate share her pictures on Facebook of the Christmas lights in town from 5 years ago. That's half a decade and she's still thinking about how beautiful Dublin is at Christmas.

When you live somewhere it's easy to put it down because you start to only see the bad things.

I'll affect your mood in a positive way with my next sentence brother Rabbit.

Solstice in two days, longer days and shorter nights! :)

Yeah, longer days of murkiness ;)

dbdBb5Q

https://ibb.co/dbdBb5Q

Parks don't really do it for me unless it's warm weather, so you can list all the parks you like. And yes I've been to most of them, I've lived here the guts of 40 years.
    You seem to like the climate here, I think it's terrible. We don't really get seasons, and the driving wind and rain we've been having for weeks on end now is the norm, not the exception. Makes it hard to enjoy doing things outdoors in Dublin.
    BYO restaurants, yes I'm aware there are some here. 5e corkage is actually a rip off. In London it's free, on Brick Lane etc.
    Generally speaking Dublin, and Ireland, is very expensive for eating out, you can't argue with that.
    I'm sure some tourists do enjoy visiting here, I just can't see for the life of me why, despite the arguments you're making.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    The best thing about Dublin is that it's not Cork

Shut up ya auld langer ya!

:pac::D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Lads loitering around Heuston trying to flog Guinness to Beamish conversion sachets when the train from Cork comes in

Parks don't really do it for me unless it's warm weather, so you can list all the parks you like. And yes I've been to most of them, I've lived here the guts of 40 years

I'd suggest you stop going to them if the don't do it for you.
    You seem to like the climate here, I think it's terrible. We don't really get seasons, and the driving wind and rain we've been having for weeks on end now is the norm, not the exception

Driving wind and rain is not the norm in throughout Spring, Summer Autumn and Winter and you know it. It's mid winter now and we've had an unusual bad run except for today which was a cracker of day.
    Makes it hard to enjoy doing things outdoors in Dublin.

Are you actually serious? We produce the best GAA football team in the country and one of the best Rugby teams in the world, where do you think they train, play and practice set pieces? In a tent? Not to mention all the clubs scattered throughout the county and country. As a kite surfer I find your comments hilarious and I've kitesurfed all over Europe including Tarifa. Dublin and Ireland have some of the best conditions in the world. I'm outdoors every day and right now there's a running group running by my house, the city and county is full of outdoor activities that hundreds of thousands of people take part in.
    BYO restaurants, yes I'm aware there are some here. 5e corkage is actually a rip off. In London it's free, on Brick Lane etc. .

I don't think you were aware until I posted to be honest, just like you didn't think there were any parks except St. Annes and the Phoenix Park.
    Generally speaking Dublin, and Ireland, is very expensive for eating out, you can't argue with that. .

I can, I did and I proved my point. I can head in to town and get good cheap food, you can't.
    I'm sure some tourists do enjoy visiting here, I just can't see for the life of me why, despite the arguments you're making.

Edit... I was far to harsh there, apologies if you read my initial reactive post and I offended you. Tourists love Dublin, Dubliners and people from everywhere love living in and visiting the city. You may not like it, but it's what you make of it and how you interact with it. I'm just going to leave it at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

One of the two most prominent shopping streets i.e Henry Street swamped with the tackiest dodgiest stalls selling fake perfumes and other such fake crapie landfill.

Dublin City CoCouncil must be rotten to the Core to grant permits for this.

Chinasea wrote: »
    One of the two most prominent shopping streets i.e Henry Street swamped with the tackiest dodgiest stalls selling fake perfumes and other such fake crapie landfill.

Dublin City CoCouncil must be rotten to the Core to grant permits for this.

Well at least it'll get them off welfare for a few weeks a year and they'll be contributing their taxes.

Edit... I was far to harsh there, apologies if you read my initial reactive post and I offended you. Tourists love Dublin, Dubliners and people from everywhere love living in and visiting the city. You may not like it, but it's what you make of it and how you interact with it. I'm just going to leave it at that.

Thanks. The weather here gets me down sometimes. I do more outdoors than most people I know, golf, surfing (in Sligo), walking etc. But the last 2 months have been just bloody awful. Today is glorious, because there's no wind for a change, and if I was off I'd be in Deer Park now.

I know you can get decent deals in town RE food, but generally speaking, it's an expensive city to eat and drink out in.

The days started getting longer a week ago by the way.

Thanks. The weather here gets me down sometimes. I do more outdoors than most people I know, golf, surfing (in Sligo), walking etc. But the last 2 months have been just bloody awful. Today is glorious, because there's no wind for a change, and if I was off I'd be in Deer Park now.

I know you can get decent deals in town RE food, but generally speaking, it's an expensive city to eat and drink out in.

The days started getting longer a week ago by the way.

I'm resorting to sunbeds and I never thought I'd see the day, I do it in short sessions, the vitamin D boost does improve my mood.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 325 ✭✭Pretzeluck

Yeah, again (and again, and again), just because you can’t see or are unaware of what’s worth visiting in Dublin doesn’t mean other people can’t see or are unaware of what’s worth visiting in Dublin! Maybe you don’t like the particular cultural experiences, the history, the architecture, the parks, the people and coastline that Dublin has to offer!

But other people do.

Just a few corrections

Dublin has the cheapest eateries in Ireland. You just don’t know them.
    Dublin had good weather, not terrible weather.
    In Dublin city centre, the pedestrian is king, it’s very pedestrian friendly.
    I don’t think Dublin is paradise, I just know it better than you.
    And Finally, recommending other cities over Dublin to people that want to see Collins Barracks, Trinity, do the GPO tour etc… is just stupid.

Stopped reading after Dublin has good weather.

Seanachai wrote: »
    I'm resorting to sunbeds and I never thought I'd see the day, I do it in short sessions, the vitamin D boost does improve my mood.

I spoke too soon. Windy and rainy and foggy now.