Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2019 - General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Apparently it is the new car, well a graphical representation of it.

http://www.pitpass.com/63856/Haas-reveals-2019-livery-and-car

• Registered Users Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I was 100 percent certain the rich energy Craic was a scam but surely they couldn't have got this far without coming up with huge funds

• Registered Users Posts: 11,644 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Haas-F1-VF-19-Formel-1-2019-fotoshowBig-c45102b3-1422443.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,619 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Nice front wing - I reckon that the drinks company will run out of sponsorship money by the time the European races come about. I can't imagine they are in the same league as monster/red bull or any of those and Rich energy are chancing their arm.

I'm still wondering where the drink is available? 90 million cans made, but where is it sold?!!

http://f1i.com/news/329161-rich-energy-boss-answers-risible-and-nonsense-rumors.html

Gotta love this quote: "At the end of the day when the tide goes out we see who is swimming naked, don’t we?

We'll sure find out after 4-5 races.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Good to see Lotus back on the grid...wait a minute.

recyclebin wrote: »
    Apparently it is the new car, well a graphical representation of it.

http://www.pitpass.com/63856/Haas-reveals-2019-livery-and-car

Its the old car with the new front wing.

EDIT - So the render is of the new car, the one at the presentation was the old car.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Hartley to race for SMP in WEC this year.

https://www.motorsportmagazine.com/news/sports-cars/brendon-hartley-returns-wec-smp-racing

Isn't Sergey Sirotkin doing the same? Between Button and Hartley, they will have a strong team for Le Mans.

https://www.motorsportmagazine.com/news/sports-cars/brendon-hartley-returns-wec-smp-racing

Isn't Sergey Sirotkin doing the same? Between Button and Hartley, they will have a strong team for Le Mans.

Hartley will be busy this year with that and testing for Ferrari.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Gintonious wrote: »
    Good to see Lotus back on the grid...wait a minute.

Said the very same thing.
    Starting to get excited now.
    Time to start planning another trip :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

The Haas is stunning, reminds me of the 1998 Arrows

https://twitter.com/glenn_autosport/status/1093578347454627842

This was also what came to mind. Can't see the livery staying the same, the gold was dire to see on the TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

I saw Hamilton had the following on his Instagram stories recently... couldn't be real could it?

https://twitter.com/jeffjthompson/status/1091675792042541056

• Registered Users Posts: 7,467 ✭✭✭Inviere

^^ No they're model kits, I seen that on Reddit a few days back. The scale isn't the same on both of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Hamilton must want to buy the MP4-22, i'd imagine Ron Dennis retains ownership of the real thing and wouldn't sell it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭donspeekinglesh

Not doing Le Mans for them, just covering the races Button is missing due to Super GT. But he's still a Porsche driver, so doing FE work with them too.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BtlvWgjhLZO/?utm_source=ig_share_sheet&igshid=178o186n60vhf

• Registered Users Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭Harika

mickdw wrote: »
    I was 100 percent certain the rich energy Craic was a scam but surely they couldn't have got this far without coming up with huge funds

It's paid in installments over the year. They might have backers that are lured into being the new red bull. With the pr from the sponsorship they might try to start that up and earn money quicker than the checks for Haas have to be paid, or their backers will throw in more cash to make it to the "breakthrough". Would not be the first time in F1.
    Also they get free vip passes that are worth good money to juggle around.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭recyclebin

That can't be the final livery. You can barely see any of the branding.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,614 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

mickdw wrote: »

I fully believe everything that Mr. Spoofer Storey says. I'm off to my local shop to purchase a can.... No luck
    The man in the shop said "ye wha? Never heard of dat one bud".

I can't take him or his makey uppey energy drink seriously, but at the same time I can't see Gene Haas falling for the snakeoil sales pitch. The rumoured connection to Sullivan and Gold must have materialised

• Registered Users Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

skipper_G wrote: »
    I fully believe everything that Mr. Spoofer Storey says. I'm off to my local shop to purchase a can.... No luck
    The man in the shop said "ye wha? Never heard of dat one bud".

Red Bull sponsored Sauber for years before I ever even knew what it was, never mind seen it in shops. I've no idea whether rich energy are legit or not, but just because you don't see it in your local shop doesn't mean it isn't.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,555 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Red Bull sponsored Sauber for years before I ever even knew what it was, never mind seen it in shops. I've no idea whether rich energy are legit or not, but just because you don't see it in your local shop doesn't mean it isn't.
    It gets better, Berger told a story on a recent podcast where Marko came up to him offering sponsorship before he even had a company, let alone a drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,614 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

They're trying to replicate the Red Bull business model of promotion, it might work and it might not. If it does work, then fair play. But I still think he's full of ****

This was an interesting read about some of the energy drink brands that have come and gone in F1 through the years
    http://www.f1colours.com/articles/energy-drinks-and-f1-a-chequered-history/

Weren't Red Bull already fairly established in Asia before they landed in Europe? It was founded in the 80's after Mateschitz got the idea from a Thai drink.
    It gets better, Berger told a story on a recent podcast where Marko came up to him offering sponsorship before he even had a company, let alone a drink.

Marko? He has nothing to do with the RB drink :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,814 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Weren't Red Bull already fairly established in Asia before they landed in Europe? It was founded in the 80's after Mateschitz got the idea from a Thai drink.

Marko? He has nothing to do with the RB drink :confused:

Mateschitz was a tooth paste salesman and brought the recipe back from Thailand. In the 80s it was first established in Austria and Marko who is best friend to him was already helping him here to bring it to F1. Berger is seen posing with a can when still at mclaren Honda. Mid 90s in Austria there were more than 100 brands like red bull available. Only few survived the 90s like power horse or dark horse.
    Different to rich energy you could easily buy those everywhere. If I would be them I would show pallets of my products send wherever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

A little off-topic but this week's episode of The Grand Tour has a brilliant piece on Jim Clark and of course features one of the best looking F1 cars ever made.

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/phillip-morris-under-fire-for-new-logo-on-ferrari-f1-uniforms-20190207-p50wa2.html

Ferraris new sponsor, Mission Winnow, could be banned from Australia, its under investigation down there for being similar to the Marlboro logo (Marlboro own Mission Winnow).

Not exactly sure what the hell MW is really.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,937 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

• Registered Users Posts: 11,843 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/phillip-morris-under-fire-for-new-logo-on-ferrari-f1-uniforms-20190207-p50wa2.html

Ferraris new sponsor, Mission Winnow, could be banned from Australia, its under investigation down there for being similar to the Marlboro logo (Marlboro own Mission Winnow).

Not exactly sure what the hell MW is really.

Ever heard of "wokewashing"?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,264 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I tried to buy a case of rich energy on their site.
    No luck. Don't ship to Ireland or anywhere bar UK it would appear.

Anyone working at a bar and with their recent success want to grab something for their F1 opening party?
    If it is only UK, then I wonder even more as I might have suspected it to be sold somewhere in the middle east.