Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gang Rape in Kildare

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

jake66 wrote: »
    Gardai..

So basically you dont have a source, and its just hear say and you are claiming the victim is a liar?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,869 ✭✭✭enricoh

What has Brexit got to do with anything?

"Brendan Kenny, Assistant Chief Executive with Dublin City Council, says a working group has been established to plan for a possible increase in the number of foreign nationals becoming homeless after Brexit.

He said Dublin had already seen increasing numbers of non-European Union nationals in particular arriving and ending up on the streets."

So they never contributed a penny to the country, rock into Dublin as homeless, get the free gaff n dole and we just hope what is happening in Rotherham, Sweden, Germany etc isn't repeated. Sounds like a real win-win for Ireland. Meanwhile multinationals can't attract staff to Dublin as rents are sky high. Sod them, we don't need them and their taxes, were cornering the market in parasites instead!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

I'm saying it's much more common than is reported.

If you search for news reports of gang rapes in Ireland you'll find very few each year. I guess you just have to decide for yourself if you think there's only a few each year.

Keep dodging it all you want. You made a claim 75% of gang rapes are committed by 3% of the UK population. Do you stand by that?

You wish us to take as fact your claims that conveniently have no published statistics to substantiate, and yet you say I'm dodging the discussion... feck it, this is like attempting to teach a hamster the violin.

I've posted my opinion, verified same with statistics, you wish to discredit them, post your own statistics not valueless anecdotes that you can't back up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,233 ✭✭✭MFPM

enricoh wrote: »
    "Brendan Kenny, Assistant Chief Executive with Dublin City Council, says a working group has been established to plan for a possible increase in the number of foreign nationals becoming homeless after Brexit.

He said Dublin had already seen increasing numbers of non-European Union nationals in particular arriving and ending up on the streets."

So they never contributed a penny to the country, rock into Dublin as homeless, get the free gaff n dole and we just hope what is happening in Rotherham, Sweden, Germany etc isn't repeated. Sounds like a real win-win for Ireland. Meanwhile multinationals can't attract staff to Dublin as rents are sky high. Sod them, we don't need them and their taxes, were cornering the market in parasites instead!

Can I suggest you think before posting uninformed, inaccurate drivel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Stonehall9 wrote: »
    Very true doctor brown and once brexit comes into force our country will be inundated with this type of culture,

BREXIT will have nothing to do with it. Varadkar is determined to flood with the Country with them to try and win Merkel and Junker's favor. He wants to increase the population by a million in his 2040. Where do you think that number is coming from?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,222 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    BREXIT will have nothing to do with it. Varadkar is determined to flood with the Country with them to try and win Merkel and Junker's favor. He wants to increase the population by a million in his 2040. Where do you think that number is coming from?

Your sister riding non-stop from now until then will add a fair few towards that total

• Registered Users Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Not where your imagination thinks its coming from, certainly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

Odhinn wrote: »
    Not where your imagination thinks its coming from, certainly.

Well the Irish just voted in large numbers to kill their own so that 1 million wont be native Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

These are the statistics you're attempting to discredit;

75% of all grooming gangs are Muslim adult males. Fact.

https://www.channel4.com/news/factcheck/what-do-we-know-about-the-ethnicity-of-sexual-abuse-gangs

3% of the UK populace are Muslim adult males. Fact.

Islam is the second largest religion in the United Kingdom, with results from the United Kingdom Census 2011 giving the UK Muslim population in 2011 as 2,786,635, 4.4% of the total population. The vast majority of Muslims in the United Kingdom live in England: 2,660,116 (5.02% of the population).

What have you got to say about the above two facts?

The page you are linking to says 75% of type 1 group abusers are Asian. Their religion is not mentioned anywhere.

Another poster who would prefer to be obtuse rather than discuss a damning statistic with a hint of adult logic.

Now, my link clearly illustrates the propensity of "Pakistani Males" to be involved in grooming gangs... do you know many Pakistani males who are not Muslim?

Once again we have another poster ignorant of the available published statistics who wishes to discredit my posts without contributing any evidence or sources of their own.

Once more, 12% of all convicted sex abusers, and 75% of all grooming gangs are Muslim. Does this not warrant discussion?

Should you disagree with my assertions please do prove me wrong by linking to reputable sources and not by resorting to anecdotes and whataboutery

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

Rape is bad. That said, we Irish are kinda hung up on a lot of silly things like church scandals, prosecuting child porn people even when there is no child involved, e.g. a few weeks ago someone tried to import a life sized child-doll with all their private parts. If the manufacturer had to use a real child has a cast for the first prototype, fair enough but if not surely the focus should be on helping these people rather than prosecuting them (notice I did not refer to them as deviants or perverts but as people). Such people should be encouraged to ask for treatment/therapy. I know society tends to get really worked up about these things and yes they matter but really, the focus of society should be on working hard, frugality and paying off the national debt!

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

Snake, you might be getting a tad defensive here. Their religion is not mentioned anywhere on the page you linked. They may be Muslim, they may not, you don't know for sure and neither do I.

If you want to discuss something then responding to a two sentence post by saying I'm being obtuse, then going on about 'anecdotes' (no story told in my post) or whataboutery (no other group mentioned in my post) hardly helps.

Snake, you might be getting a tad defensive here. Their religion is not mentioned anywhere on the page you linked. They may be Muslim, they may not, you don't know for sure and neither do I.

If you want to discuss something then responding to a two sentence post by saying I'm being obtuse, then going on about 'anecdotes' (no story told in my post) or whataboutery (no other group mentioned in my post) hardly helps.

Saying that there needs to be doubt whether the vast, vast, vast majority of Pakistani males referenced in the report are indeed Muslim is being obtuse.

I'm not being defensive, I'm simply looking for some adult discourse as to why asian immigrants to the UK and their descendants have a proven higher proclivity for sexual abuse than any other section of society.

Well the Irish just voted in large numbers to kill their own so that 1 million wont be native Irish.

If we could prevent this discussion turning to yet another abortion thread that would be swell.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

You wish us to take as fact your claims that conveniently have no published statistics to substantiate, and yet you say I'm dodging the discussion... feck it, this is like attempting to teach a hamster the violin.

I've posted my opinion, verified same with statistics, you wish to discredit them, post your own statistics not valueless anecdotes that you can't back up.

No you presented as fact that 75% of gang rapes are committed by 3% of the UK population. It's there for everyone to see. Are you standing by that or not? It's a simple question.

And I doubt you could own a hamster. You'd probably confuse his hibernation for adherence to Ramadan and **** him out of your house.

Ah resorting to personal insults to distract from discussing the quantifiable statistics I posted.

Only one of us has provided evidence to substantiate their claims whilst the other prefers to thumb their nose and resort to untrustworthy anecdotes of zero substance.

As you do not want to discuss in an adult manner the available statistics which highlight the highly skewed percentage of convicted sexual abusers who DO come from a pool of 3% of the UK populace, I won't further respond to you until you provide some reputable statistics to disprove my own.

Ah resorting to personal insults to distract from discussing the quantifiable statistics I posted.

Oh man, that's priceless. Did you forget what you said in the post I was responding to?

this is like attempting to teach a hamster the violin

Or did you mean that as a compliment? You get a little precious when you're not the one throwing out the insults don't you?

Only one of us has provided evidence to substantiate their claims whilst the other prefers to thumb their nose and resort to untrustworthy anecdotes of zero substance.

As you do not want to discuss in an adult manner the available statistics which highlight the highly skewed percentage of convicted sexual abusers who DO come from a pool of 3% of the UK populace, I won't further respond to you until you provide some reputable statistics to disprove my own.

You've had about five chances to stand by your comment and you have refused to do so. It's obvious you were lying. You find a statistic and add your own piece to it and then if anyone challenges your outright lie you point to the true part. Yeah I don't have the stats to prove my point but you are straight up lying to prove yours.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

Islam is the second largest religion in the United Kingdom, with results from the United Kingdom Census 2011 giving the UK Muslim population in 2011 as 2,786,635, 4.4% of the total population. The vast majority of Muslims in the United Kingdom live in England: 2,660,116 (5.02% of the population).[/quote]

Islam isn't the 2nd largest religion in the UK, its less than Anglican, Catholic, atheist, agnostic, unsure etc... so calling it a small minority religion only practiced by less than 5% of the population would be more accurate

Islam isn't the 2nd largest religion in the UK

https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/culturalidentity/religion/articles/religioninenglandandwales2011/2012-12-11

According to all available data from the last UK census(2011) it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

Captain what do you think of the stat so that says 75% of all grooming gangs in the uk are muslim? Just want your opinion on that and not on the rest of snakes post.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭tico1300

Poor girl, hope that the scum are caught & locked up asap

iebamm2580 wrote: »
    Captain what do you think of the stat so that says 75% of all grooming gangs in the uk are muslim? Just want your opinion on that and not on the rest of snakes post.

I don't really care what religion, race or nationality a child abuser is. They all deserve the same treatment. I won't look at a Muslim and thing he's more likely to be a child abuser and I won't look at a child abuse case and think it's most likely committed by a Muslim man. I see no benefit in either of those actions.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I don't really care what religion, race or nationality a child abuser is. They all deserve the same treatment. I won't look at a Muslim and thing he's more likely to be a child abuser and I won't look at a child abuse case and think it's most likely committed by a Muslim man. I see no benefit in either of those actions.

Would it not stand to reason that if 75% of grooming gangs are Pakistani/Muslim then it might be worth looking at? As in, it's most likely a cultural attitude.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Would it not stand to reason that if 75% of grooming gangs are Pakistani/Muslim then it might be worth looking at? As in, it's most likely a cultural attitude.

Is it though? What proportion of Muslims would you say are involved in that? The percentage must be minuscule, especially when you consider that a small group of people can be responsible for over a hundred instances as Snake showed us in his link. I don't see how a small percentage of a group doing something can be considered a cultural issue. Surely a cultural issue must be very widespread among the community. It's certainly worth looking at how specific groups started doing it.

My own opinion is that religion only came into in that the people who started doing it were more likely to be acquainted with others of their own religion and it spread in that way. Like a disease that spreads through exposure.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭SnazzyPig

I think it's more to do with Pakistani rather than Muslim, as the north of England seems to have a lot of ethnic Pakistani ghettos.

The grooming gangs are likely to be outcasts from those communities.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭MightyMunster

Christian covers multiple religions, at least 2 of which out number Muslims in the UK

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

My own opinion is that religion only came into in that the people who started doing it were more likely to be acquainted with others of their own religion and it spread in that way. Like a disease that spreads through exposure.

Also comes into it insofar as they don't generally attack muslim girls, non-muslims are explicitly 'easy meat' and fair game. From the perspective of policing, safety, awareness in the affected communities surely this isn't information you just throw away?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,166 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

And yet they're a tiny minority of the muslim population.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭iebamm2580

Grayson wrote: »

And yet they're a tiny minority of the muslim population.
    Have you got stats to back that up?, as i was asked numerous times yesterday when i voiced an opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,310 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

Christian covers multiple religions, at least 2 of which out number Muslims in the UK

Christian is one religion which covers many denominations/branches. Just as the religion called Islam has three main branches.