Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

thebull85 wrote: »
    Go on outta that who je tink your codding..

Whatever.

I am sure theres other users on here that knew him, if they were early 40s from the area. I am pretty sure he went Cabinteely Community School.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Sounds like suicide by cop to me. He got his just desserts.

Save a bill for the taxpayer housing him in a prison. He'd also likely claim insanity or something like that.

A good result all round and hopefully puts off any would be abductors in future.

wish more of them would come to the same end if I'm honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Unfortunately if they did, they'd be jailed.

Oh I don't know, an accidental discharge during the struggle to try and stop Larry murdering yet another young woman...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,727 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Oh I don't know, an accidental discharge during the struggle to try and stop Larry murdering yet another young woman...

I direct you to one Mr. P Nally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,858 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

You'd still face court with no guarantee that you'd be found not guilty.

At a minimum you'd lose your guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭beerbaron

ted1 wrote: »
    There’s a video of him drinking in the ramblers

Is there more than one video (I'm sure there is) ?
    The one i saw is from the Martello three weeks ago - confirmed by the sisters in the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,458 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

juno10353 wrote: »
    As gardai have found no connection between them, and that the attack was opportunistic and random, is it possible that Mark Hennessy thought that poor Jastine was a child. She has been described as being of small build. Maybe gardai also looking at attempted child abductions and assaults.

A striking aspect of the case is that he carried out the abduction in broad daylight and with people watching. There was a car right behind his one and the female driver saw the whole thing and it seems there may have been other witnesses too.

This explains how the the Gardai were on the case immediately and knew a young woman had been abducted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

Strazdas wrote: »
    A striking aspect of the case is that he carried out the abduction in broad daylight and with people watching. There was a car right behind his one and the female driver saw the whole thing and it seems there may have been other witnesses too.

This explains how the the Gardai were on the case immediately and knew a young woman had been abducted.

Sounds like the work of a crazy person. Drugs maybe ?

Mrsmum wrote: »
    Sounds like the work of a crazy person. Drugs maybe ?

I'd say he just went mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭kingofclay

Hindsight is a great thing but if only the driver had followed Hennessy and called for backup(Called the Guards while following him). People should try to be more tuned in. Too bad it was a middle aged women that was behind, and not a gang of young lads.

*But I heard she was sitting in the pub and saw it through a window. That was my impression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭cavemeister

Strazdas wrote: »

I had read that the woman was out walking and saw it - she had to run back to her car to get her phone hence, there was a delay in the call. I could be wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,727 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

kingofclay wrote: »
    Hindsight is a great thing but if only the driver had followed Hennessy and called for backup(Called the Guards while following him). People should try to be more tuned in. Too bad it was a middle aged women that was behind, and not a gang of young lads.

You can be pretty sure that she is asking herself the same thing... Another of the victims in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,531 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Anyone else get really annoyed after reading cases such as this that women aren't allowed to carry pepper spray here legally?

Some form of self defense should be allowed. Waiting it out in the hopes that the Gardaí will show up (or that they'll even know what's happening to you) just isn't enough, especially when a non lethal deterrent is available.

If folks are that afraid of undesirables using it, then license it to people like in Switzerland and Sweden.

kingofclay wrote: »
    Hindsight is a great thing but if only the driver had followed Hennessy and called for backup(Called the Guards while following him). People should try to be more tuned in.

I saw a woman being assaulted once. I tried to intervene to help her and then both her and her boyfriend attacked me. I can understand why people don't want to get involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 EarlSlick

I saw a woman being assaulted once. I tried to intervene to help her and then both her and her boyfriend attacked me. I can understand why people don't want to get involved.

I too intervened once upon a time when i saw a guy aggressively shoving and grabbing a woman on the street. As with yourself, both parties told me in no uncertain terms to mind my own f**kin business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

o1s1n wrote: »
    Anyone else get really annoyed after reading cases such as this that women aren't allowed to carry pepper spray here legally?

Some form of self defense should be allowed. Waiting it out in the hopes that the Gardaí will show up (or that they'll even know what's happening to you) just isn't enough, especially when a non lethal deterrent is available.

If folks are that afraid of undesirables using it, then license it to people like in Switzerland and Sweden.

Its a tricky one. No problem giving pepper spray to women to defend themselves. But as we know with all weapons, it will more likely be misused.

A better option might be a mobile phone or watch with tracker which alerts gardai or family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,531 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Its a tricky one. No problem giving pepper spray to women to defend themselves. But as we know with all weapons, it will more likely be misused. So jilted women spraying men or rival women. Men also using it on women to disarm them. Men using it on each other in fights. Kids using it on each other etc etc.

A better option might be a mobile phone or watch with tracker which alerts gardai or family.

I do know what you mean, however people already use a tonne of items incorrectly in criminal/dangerous ways (knifes, bleach, tools, sports equipment, bricks (!) therefore I don't see pepper spray being added to that list to make much of a difference. If someone wants to harm someone they have the means currently available already, and legally.

On the flip side, allowing people to use it as self defense could potentially make a huge (and non lethal) difference to some particularly hairy situations.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

After listening to Dr. Ciara Kelly on Newstalk today I feel it is my duty to apologise for being a male.

I'm Sorry. :(

she is the only reason i no longer listen to newstalk ,

You can be pretty sure that she is asking herself the same thing... Another of the victims in this case.

I’ve said it before on this thread, but I, for one, would not be able to give chase whilst phoning Gardai and driving winding country roads st high speed. Phone in one hand, steering wheel in the other, and the gear leaver in whatever other hand might be left. Not everyone has Bluetooth operational in their car. He was apparently driving like a maniac with tyres screeching, and more fatalities could have resulted with other non experienced joining in the “rally driving” on these roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭ellejay

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Bloody hell. Awful turn of events and the poster stating that they had personal details from a gardai but didn't want to share it and yet they come on boards what B.S. and shame on you.

Doubt it came from a gaurda, it's been all over Bray and Enniskerry since Sunday.

mynamejeff wrote: »

I wonder what she is like at her “main job”, that of GP. Thought all the doctors keep complaining on the media that there’s not enough of themselves to cover the primary care needs of the country.

I'd say he just went mental.

He was known to abuse alcohol and drugs, ie take them to the extent they rendered him antisocial and lawless

Its a tricky one. No problem giving pepper spray to women to defend themselves. But as we know with all weapons, it will more likely be misused.

That sounds like a great idea, a tracker alert app, and of course penalties for its deliberate misuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

o1s1n wrote: »
    I do know what you mean, however people already use a tonne of items incorrectly in criminal/dangerous ways (knifes, bleach, tools, sports equipment, bricks (!) therefore I don't see pepper spray being added to that list to make much of a difference. If someone wants to harm someone they have the means currently available already, and legally.

On the flip side, allowing people to use it as self defense could potentially make a huge (and non lethal) difference to some particularly hairy situations.

Pepper spray could be used in a large number of circumstances to disable someone, including to disable the owner of the pepper spray. I can see it being used in arguments in pubs and nightclubs or by teenagers in schools if it becomes freely available.

Flooding a country with more weapons never really works and causes more problems than it solves.

I have no problem giving women a method of self defense but can we be sure that its not used in the wrong way.

If a woman is being attacked and was trying to get to the pepper spray whats to stop her attacker taking it and using it against her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭AAAAAAAAA

He was known to abuse alcohol and drugs, ie take them to the extent they rendered him antisocial and lawless

aka he got two convictions, one for possession of cannabis and one for being drunk and disorderly, both twenty years ago, and was going to court for drunk driving next month. He's not exactly the obvious profile for kidnapping murderer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

wakka12 wrote: »
    Those boys, who are only suspects, are 13 and mark is 40 so not even same generation if that was even a thing

Hence why I said "next generation"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 670 ✭✭✭sightband

mynamejeff wrote: »

what? and not paul williams???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭AVFC.Stephen

bullvine wrote: »
    Hes from the Brack.. but actually lived in the noggin as a kid but dont hold that against us.

I knew him as a teenager.

I didn't know him well but never thought of any malice from him. I know a good few of his relations too which I have got on well with.

He was in DL college for a while. He was pretty quiet then. This was around 2008. Still find it hard to believe this has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,458 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I didn't know him well but never thought of any malice from him. I know a good few of his relations too which I have got on well with.

He was in DL college for a while. He was pretty quiet then. This was around 2008. Still find it hard to believe this has happened.

One wonders if he was undergoing some mental health issues. Murdering a young girl in broad daylight, going on the run and then attempting suicide and leaving a suicide note doesn't sound normal in any way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,363 ✭✭✭chicorytip

ifElseThen wrote:
    When the ERU (I know they didn't shoot in this incident) shot John Carthy way back when, the subsequent invited FBI investigation concluded that the main problem with the Garda actions on the day was that they waited too long to fatally Mr Carthy.

John Carthy was an unwell individual with a long history of psychiatric problems. This was well known. The situation could have been handled differently without the fatal outcome that transpired. I think that was the broad point of view at the time.