Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jastine Valdez found dead. No Ana discussion please. Mod warning post 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

iguana wrote: »
    I've watched the videos of Mark Hennessy that so many people find "chilling" and there is nothing weird about them at all. In the car one, he's obviously agreed to be filmed saying he's super happy with his car as some part of deal with the car salesman. He's just a bit awkward and fake as he's not an actor but he wants the free car mats or whatever is being offered in exchange for being in the video. In the second he could be any guy you'd see in a pub. Drunk and possibly being a bit of a dick but nothing that would set off major alarm bells. If those videos were in the media because he'd been killed in a tragic car accident people would just think he seemed like a normal guy. There is nothing about him in either video that screams murderer. Because that's the thing with many murderers, they don't go through life giving off creepy killer vibes.

People see what they want to see in those videos. Knowing what he's done, they'll see beady eyes, perverted grins and unnatural stares…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,339 ✭✭✭✭ted1

beerbaron wrote: »
    ted1 wrote: »
    From Ballybrack and living in Shankill. So central to where the attacks happened
    Some if the attacks happened in the middle of the day on a public street.
    So similar enough to the way he grabbed the girl. The Garda didn’t realise a description as it was to broad

He lived in Bray. Read one of, or any of the articles over the last few days.
    Sorry meant to say let bing in Bray, Shankill is half way between the two and he seems to socialise in Ballybrack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

According to the news there at midday, the guards are still (so far as they can tell) under the impression that he has no known connections with the poor girl, and the abduction was completely at random.

Could have been any of our daughters, sisters, wives or girlfriends.

Ireland's a somewhat safer country now that he's gone off to meet his maker.

Not safer for much longer if speculation is true about teens killing Ana. The next generation of violent psychos are emerging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭tara73

I've watched the videos of Mark Hennessy that so many people find "chilling" and there is nothing weird about them at all. In the car one, he's obviously agreed to be filmed saying he's super happy with his car as some part of deal with the car salesman. He's just a bit awkward and fake as he's not an actor but he wants the free car mats or whatever is being offered in exchange for being in the video. In the second he could be any guy you'd see in a pub. Drunk and possibly being a bit of a dick but nothing that would set off major alarm bells. If those videos were in the media because he'd been killed in a tragic car accident people would just think he seemed like a normal guy. There is nothing about him in either video that screams murderer. Because that's the thing with many murderers, they don't go through life giving off creepy killer vibes.

thinking the same.

his moves and whole attitude is awkward, but now, you know what he's done, the brain automatically makes a creepy, horrible appearance out of it .

seeing this videos, havn't known what he's done, almost everybody would think he's just some a bit awkward, drunk guy which you meet daily numerous times in pubs.

thinking it's interesting how the brain tricks you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Have to disagree there slightly.

If, and it's an if - but if has been suggested, that the video in the pub was indeed filmed on Saturday night, after he did what he did.

I personally find it both chilling and creepy that he was in a bar, tanked up, surrounded by women, him knowing that he did what he did a very short time beforehand, literally with blood on his hands.

Again this is an if, but if it is footage from Saturday night, I reckon the ladies in the video will have some chill going up their spines viewing the footage now when they rewatch it.

However to play devils advocate, if it was filmed on any other night unrelated to this tragic case, I'd agree, all it shows is q drunken lad in a pub trying to fit in with a group who don't appear to want anything to do with him.

Could be any pub in the country with any random group of folk any Saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Mod note

This is a final warning.

Speculation of any kind is not allowed here. You can discuss articles, news reports or any factual aspect of the case. You can sympathise, you can ask why. Making up what ifs is not allowed

I did not think I would ever have to say this but ANYONE who disrespects Jastine Valdez in this thread is getting an immediate ban from this forum. Some of the crap I have had to read this morning has angered me more than anything I have read on this site before.

This poor girl has a family and friends. She was 24 years old and is being mourned. If people do not have respect then they are not welcome here.

For the majority who have posted in a respectful manner we thank you. Please report any posts that require moderator attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭kingofclay

tbh though he looks like a creep and strange, but it doesn't mean he was a murderer just he was born with a look that to me would be typecast as a pervert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

fatknacker wrote: »
    Not safer for much longer if speculation is true about teens killing Ana. The next generation of violent psychos are emerging.

Those boys, who are only suspects, are 13 and mark is 40 so not even same generation if that was even a thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 suemurray

humberklog wrote: »
    I've gone googling stats for this as I was curious about your statement but I haven't came up with a site that gives a decent breakdown of attacks on women out by themselves specifically.
    Could you point me in the direction of where you get your facts?

An asian lady was attacked with acid in south dublin six months ago, another asian lady was attacked by knife in dun loagaire couple of months. Cases not connected. Raonaid murray stabbed at killed in 1999 in south dublin - unsolved case to this day and they are only cases local to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The Go Fund me page is a few pages back so I hope people dont mind me posting it again . It is incredible , at ten this morning it was €10k and now its €30 k .Lovely to see the support and love for Jastines family

https://ie.gofundme.com/jastine-valdez-memorial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,822 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Have to disagree there slightly.

If, and it's an if - but if has been suggested, that the video in the pub was indeed filmed on Saturday night, after he did what he did.

I personally find it both chilling and creepy that he was in a bar, tanked up, surrounded by women, him knowing that he did what he did a very short time beforehand, literally with blood on his hands.

Again this is an if, but if it is footage from Saturday night, I reckon the ladies in the video will have some chill going up their spines viewing the footage now when they rewatch it.

However to play devils advocate, if it was filmed on any other night unrelated to this tragic case, I'd agree, all it shows is q drunken lad in a pub trying to fit in with a group who don't appear to want anything to do with him.

Could be any pub in the country with any random group of folk any Saturday night.

yep, like you said it's putting it in context. By itself the video's seem like a normal bloke. If you passed him in a pub you wouldn't think anything. That's why some people are saying that it's far fetched that others are saying they see something creepy about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭beerbaron

ted1 wrote: »
    Sorry meant to say let bing in Bray, Shankill is half way between the two and he seems to socialise in Ballybrack

Where ? I didnt see this reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,366 ✭✭✭chicorytip

No problem with him being shot. None. For one thing it has saved us a fortune in free legal aid and endless appeals and personal notoriety.

The level of violence deployed by the Gardai in this incident was shocking to me. It is inexplicable how a trained marksman could not shoot merely to disable rather than kill through the head. Hennessy was not physically intimidating and had already self inflicted injuries. He was not an armed bank robber. Even in an American context this would be shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

chicorytip wrote: »
    The level of violence deployed by the Gardai in this incident was shocking to me. It is inexplicable how a trained marksman could not shoot merely to disable rather than kill through the head. Hennessy was not physically intimidating and had already self inflicted injuries. He was not an armed bank robber. Even in an American context this would be shocking.
    I'll not shed a tear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Boo hoo for him , should have thought about that before he murdered an innocent young girl and presented a knife when approached.

If anything , I'm glad the Gardai are taking a no nonsense approach to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,386 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

It's only shocking to you because you want it to be.
    A blind man could see that your only reason to be on here is to knock the Garda.
    I'm thankful that the vast vast majority of posters could see through you and even laugh at your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,298 ✭✭✭✭kippy

You have access to all the facts by the looks of things?
    Care to share?

suemurray wrote:
    An asian lady was attacked with acid in south dublin six months ago, another asian lady was attacked by knife in dun loagaire couple of months. Cases not connected. Raonaid murray stabbed at killed in 1999 in south dublin - unsolved case to this day and they are only cases local to me

In the Dun Laoighre case a youth was subsequently arrested and is facing a charge of attempted murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,822 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Depends. We don't know exactly what happened do we? What if he was charging the gardai and was at close range with the knife?

I'm sure the GSOC will have an investigation and release details in the fullness of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Unless you were there how on earth would you know the facts ?

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/mark-hennessy-note-wicklow-murder-12577698

It is said he was “super aggressive” and slashed at his body and lunged at gardai with a knife. It is understood he was struck in the head, chest and arm.
    Gardai had begged Hennessy to drop the blade, he then began to self-harm, stabbing at himself. Then he advanced towards the officer – stabbing at him. A detective then fired a shot to protect his colleague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,009 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I have complete support for the guards on this.

Funny the only people I see complaining about guards are those who have issues living within the law. For those of us happy to live within the law we see the guards as the frontline of society doing their best to hold back a tide of degenerate scumbags while having one hand tied behind their back and a section of society hammering out on SM how things could be done so much better.

I would support paying guards better.
    Arming the average guard with non lethal defence like tazars etc.
    Massive mandatory sentencing for those injuring guards in the line of duty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

He was attempting to murder an unarmed Garda. Were they supposed to take it like stoic philosophers?

And "trained marksman"? Where do you get that info from?

You don't shoot to injure, there is no such thing as a safe place to shoot somebody. You shoot for where you can hit - centre of mass usually or whatever is the largest part of the target that you can see and reasonably hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭sideswipe

The 'chilling' element is not induced by his action on screen. It's induced by the person watching, it's a normal enough looking situation on screen, to see his smiling face and 'normal' actions of a person who would go on to carry out the despicable and depraved act. It's almost the normality mixed with the knowledge of what has happened that makes it 'chilling'.

Not really a religious person but I hope with every fibre of my being that that poor girls parents get the strength and courage they need for the unimaginable grief they must be going through.

A bullet in the head was too easy a way out for this guy. Not too mention the parents of other girls that have disappeared wondering if he may have taken secrets of their disappearance to his grave.

I'll not shed a tear

Irishcrx wrote:
    Boo hoo for him , should have thought about that before he murdered an innocent young girl and presented a knife when approached.

Irishcrx wrote:
    If anything , I'm glad the Gardai are taking a no nonsense approach to this.

It's only shocking to you because you want it to be. A blind man could see that your only reason to be on here is to knock the Garda. I'm thankful that the vast vast majority of posters could see through you and even laugh at your posts.

I'll not shed a tear for him either, believe me, but the cruel fact is that his death may intensify the grief of Justyne's family given that had he survived and been brought to trial the motivation for his actions may have become clear. It's unlikely, now, that we will ever know.
    To suggest that my posts in this thread are in some sense written to denigrate An Garda Siochana is utterly ludicrous. The point I am raising - and it is a valid point - relates to the training and competence of armed officers in these specific types of situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,641 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

If she has kin in the Philippines, they surely are reading and will desperately search for succour over coming years. As with her friends, Irish and abroad. Similarly for those little boys and Hennessey's wider family. A world of pain out there. This thread is populated by both rational people and also genuine assh*les. In fact, could make a good honey trap for some maladjusted people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Ah c'mon.

The guards need to be praised for their swift and professional reaction to this, and binging it to a quick conclusion.

The bad guy got shot?

Tough.

And if it makes a single would be abducter stop and think again, this lads plight was well worth it.

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,761 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

lol

get a grip will you...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Apparently he was shot in the shoulder as he bent over and the bullet exited his shoulder into his head.

I'd say 100% of the people criticising the guards would have shat themselves and run a mile if they were confronted by a fella who had cut himself multiple times, covered in blood, acting threatening towards you and your colleagues and at that point in time I'm sure they were well aware of the probably that he'd killed a girl in the previous 24hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

If Garda had a body cam it would help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

To suggest that my posts in this thread are in some sense written to denigrate An Garda Siochana is utterly ludicrous. The point I am raising - and it is a valid point - relates to the training and competence of armed officers in these specific types of situations.

I think you need to search for the video of the 4 Honduran police officers being stabbed (one of them fatally) by a knife-wielding assailant because they were too slow to use their firearms.

I've said it before in this thread - knife attacks are no joke and the level of danger they represent should not be underestimated.