Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2018 - Mentored Novice Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭kittyclaws

Quick post before I crawl up the stairs to bed!
    My race went perfect until mile 21 when my hips seized up and I was forced to walk for a few minutes. Done some stretching and was able to get running again - but this lost me my negative split.
    I had started with the 4:50 pacers but I past them just before the halfway mark, so decided to chase 4:45. I managed to cross the finish line in 4:39:39 (by my watch) - but got a text with my ‘official’ time of 4:46??? I have emailed them to try get it sorted, I know there does be some descrepency between watch and official times - but 7 minutes?!! :(
    I’m so sorry I didn’t make McGrattans, my hips completely seized up just past the finish line, it took me half an hour to waddle back to my hotel.
    Very happy with how today went, I’m still very emotional about it all. Will do a proper write up once I’ve had time to rest and go over the race in my head :) xx

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

I had a mare of a day too. It was a bit of a disaster and a disappointing effort, I only did 4.33 I think it was. I was doing ok for 17 miles and from there on I had to slow as I thought my hamstring was going to go. I had no option but to slow from there on. Hobbling along for 8-9 miles is torture.
    I felt very lethargic from the half way though I felt grand after my cold but just couldn't overcome my hamstring issues. Funny thing is both my 18 and 20 milers went just fine and the physio said it all looked grand during the week.
    At the moment I'm saying I have to go again next year because no way is that gonna be my marathon legacy!
    But well done to everyone and hopefully see you back again next year.
    Onwards and upwards! But what a great event it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,705 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

kittyclaws wrote: »
    Quick post before I crawl up the stairs to bed!
    My race went perfect until mile 21 when my hips seized up and I was forced to walk for a few minutes. Done some stretching and was able to get running again - but this lost me my negative split.
    I had started with the 4:50 pacers but I past them just before the halfway mark, so decided to chase 4:45. I managed to cross the finish line in 4:39:39 (by my watch) - but got a text with my ‘official’ time of 4:46??? I have emailed them to try get it sorted, I know there does be some descrepency between watch and official times - but 7 minutes?!! :(
    I’m so sorry I didn’t make McGrattans, my hips completely seized up just past the finish line, it took me half an hour to waddle back to my hotel.
    Very happy with how today went, I’m still very emotional about it all. Will do a proper write up once I’ve had time to rest and go over the race in my head :) xx

Any chance auto-pause is turned on on your watch? If so, maybe the watch stopped while you stretched, then re-stared once you got going again? That would account for some discrepancy between watch and chip.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭coogy

Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    11799|Mr. Guappa|03:59:59|
    5524|coogy|03:40:00|03:57:01|
    17857|Helenasca|04:40:00|
    9724|roosterman71|03:50:00|
    17251|kittyclaws|04:50:00|
    2167|sann|03:40:00|3:37:44|
    |Summerflower|04:29:59|
    |Chippyrun|04:30:00|
    18515|Themadhouse|04:29:59|
    14084|Aoifemcc19|04:45:00|
    19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|
    |Chabsey|03:15:00|3:15:50|
    |imknackered|03:28:00|
    |tbukela|03:38:00|
    |Naked Lepper|04:15:00|
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|
    |cullenswood|03:29:59|
    8176|ReeReeG|03:49:30|
    |Bucketybuck|03:59:99|
    |Pilot1087|04:40:00|
    16144|Strawberry Swan|04:30:00|
    12563|Applegirl26|04:40:00|
    |aloooof|04:25:00|
    |hedgehoggy|03:43:30|
    14086|Misky|04:45:00|
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|
    |AdrianII |03:59:59|
    |Comic Book Guy |03:26:00|
    |The man in red and black |03:45:00|
    |Rossi7 |03:54:59|
    7312 |eyrie |03:57:30|
    |Clibee|04:40:00|
    |downtheroad|03:30:00|
    |Corbally|04:00:00|
    |blueberrypie |04:40:00|
    |Hobbyjogger |03:49:59|
    |Effibear |04:50:00|
    10809|juke|04:50:00|
    |bluestone |04:25:00|
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|
    11521| Julie2tubz |04:25:00|
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Themadhouse

18515|Themadhouse|04:29:59|4:39:51
    |imknackered|03:28:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Themadhouse

shattered and going to bed. Aimed for 4:30, chip time 4:39:51.
    Really pleased as I found today v hard. It started very emotional and i was not looking forward to it. Legs got tired and by mile 22 they were numb,felt like i was not moving at all. But dug for strength and found it and ran the whole course. delighted.
    Also managed to start conservatively and got quicker over the race even tho it didnt feel like it. ALso managed a negative split. SO over all i will certainly take that as a win. :-)
    Full report tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭DJB

Ouch

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Hobbyjogger

Big thanks to the mentors, and also to all the fellow novices who have been so encouraging and supportive of one another (even though we’re all strangers!)

Will edit the table later on the laptop, but for now, I planned to run with the 3.50 pacer but had been queuing for the toilets for 25 minutes and couldn’t give up my place when I got to the top at 9.13!! So my wave took off without me, and I ran after them and started the race alone with no real plan. I decided to heed advice and see this as my first marathon - get through, savour every minute. I ran within myself and after a couple of miles saw I was averaging 5.30/km (3.50 pacers were averaging 5.27) and settled into that for the rest. Only felt a bit of pain around the high 20ks, high fived the kids, thanked spectators, encouraged those struggling and enjoyed every single minute of it. Finished in 3.54 with a fast finish and I will certainly be back!

I’ll miss all of this.. enjoy the rest everyone :)

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭imknackered

3608|imknackered|03:28:00|03:21:05|

• Registered Users Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭cullenswood

|cullenswood|03:29:59|03:26:34|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

|Naked Lepper|04:15:00|04:18:45

plan was totally on point until 30k:
    10k was 1:02
    HM was 2:03
    30k 2:59

thought i was doing really well at first , sped up after 11k down the hill in the park as i knew that was supposed to be hardest bit out of the way, once i got past rathgar the real fun started, i saw the 4.10 pacers , who i had passed earlier, appearing in my peripheral vision and overtake me, which was a bit disheartening. by the end at merrion the 4.20 paces behind me gave me the extra push to not stop and push on for the final 2 miles or so. was secretly hoping to finish around 4-4.10 but it wasnt to be

absolutely buzzing after it, delighted to finish and have been smiling since. cant get over the support and how amazing people were along the route, really brings out the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 ChippyRun

What a day that was..! Like a lot of people, all went to plan up to 32/33K and then right leg started to cramp up. It didn't stop me but slowed me down considerably. Maybe I didn't take enough fuel on aboard along the way. Was aiming for 4:30 and I crossed the line at 4:41. In no way am I disappointed with that and I loved the crowds and met lots of runners that I knew along the way. I think I was more emotional at the start than I was at the end :)
    Sorry I didn't make it to McGrattans as it took me about 45 minutes walking (shuffling) around to find my OH and daughter.
    Ended up in The Shelbourne for 2 of the tastiest pints of Guinness ever pulled.
    Chuffed.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Helenasca

WE DID IT. Did it hurt yes but we got there.

So so hard not to get pulled along too quickly at the beginning. I was moving along nicely till about 30k mark and could see the 4.40 balloons all the way then the IT bands started screaming in pain. Had to stop to stretch a couple of times. The crowds were amazing, delighted I had my name on my top cos everytime someone shouted my name I thanked them and gave them a smile even tho my legs were burning. It definitely helped with morale. I picked up the pace again a little and got to see the balloons in the distance but the legs were having none of it. Had a bit of a cry and I can't do this moment but ploughed through it and sprinted along the last few hundred metres and smiled the whole way it was just incredible. Came in at 4.46 and an absolutely delighted with myself considering how I felt out there.

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to the mentors. Ye are amazing. Sorry I didn't make mcgrattans.

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭imknackered

I had such a fantastic day yesterday, the weather was ideal, the crowds were amazing and i smiled and laughed more than i had in my other two marathons.

As far as the race went, this was my third DCM and the first where my race management went to plan (3rd time lucky eh!) I set out at 3:28 pace for the first 10k, upped the pace slightly after castleknock and kept it steady until halfway @ 1:42. After the walkinstown roundabout i picked the pace up slightly again as i was feeling great, when i got to milltown (amazing support there too) i made a conscious decision to ease up the pace for a few kms while going up the drag and onto Roebuck hill. Fistpump in the air on getting to the top of Roebuck hill and ,still feeling pretty good, i picked the pace up again turning onto the dual carriageway. Kept things steady from then on. When i got to ballsbridge i could feel my hamstring starting to strain a little bit which stopped any ideas i had of a strong finish.

Crossed the finish line in 3:21:05 and while i was delighted with my time i think i was more happy with the way i managed my pacing throughout the race (paying particular attention to the first 10-11k the mentors drilled into us!!)

Things on my perfect run wishlist:
    Take the start handy.....CHECK
    Aim for negative splits.....CHECK
    Finish strong.....CHECK (last 10k were my fastest of the day!!)
    Go sub 3:30.....CHECK
    Enjoy the day & smile a lot.....DOUBLE CHECK

Thanks to everyone on the board for their posts, humor and advice over the last few months, I train on my own so this board has been a great at making it feel like you were part of a club
    Thanks to the mentors for all their patience and advice

I hope anyone who's race didn't go to plan takes alot of positives away from the experience, it is a phenomenal achievement to run a marathon not matter how fast/slow! Learn from what went wrong and come back and smash it next time.

I'm officially retiring from marathons now, too many injuries have taken their toll on my joints and after a perfect marathon yesterday I feel like i have achieved everything I wanted to in DCM.

Happy running!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,132 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

|Bucketybuck|03:59:99|03:55:38|

03:55:38. A PB by almost 37 minutes from my first DCM 2 years ago and now I'm a sub 4 marathon runner. :)

A big shout out to all the support lining the course yesterday, there were times I just had to lift my head and try to soak it all in, the noise and the crowds were just unreal. I'll make sure to pay that forward in years to come!

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Helenasca

Oh can someone add my finish time please, I broke it last time. Thanks 04:46:32

• Registered Users Posts: 18,132 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

17857|Helenasca|04:40:00|04:46:32|

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

On my phone now on the way home so can’t wait to read everything properly but just wanted to drop in and say congrats to all the graduates of 2018.

It was lovely meeting so many of you yesterday and I really hope you all stay on Boards and keep up running.

Thank you so so much for the fabulous Caricature and voucher. You are all so generous and it’s hugely appreciated. The pic will be up on our wall by this evening hopefully!! I absolutely love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

By the way I have a picture of the gang of you who met at the Shelbourne on my phone. Does somebody want to pm me your number and I’ll whatsapp you and you can share it with each other.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

8854|AdrianII |03:59:59|03:39:52|

That was tough

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭sann

Morning all. Well. Nursing a right dirty old hangover after the night but reading through all the posts is defintly easing it. Was going to do the race report on the train home yesterday but i felt a bit guilty so i decided not to. Guilty, because very fortunately things worked out for me and it was disapointing to see that it didn't go that way for others. Others who I know are much stronger runners than me and deserved better on the day because of what they put in over the last few months.
    On to race report so. If i was asked this morning where the route went or what monuments we passed I could not name one. It all passed me by. Was too focused on the pacing and and how I was feeling.
    With all the thinking and planning I found myself on the start line with only half a plan. The goal was 3.40. Started between 3.40 and 3.50 pacers. One thing I was adament about was that i was going to run the first 3 miles at 9 min/miles. Was not easy with every one passing. Then the 3.50 pacers passed me as well. Plan was to go 9 m/m for the first 3 then go 8.20/.30 For the next 4.Then from 13 miles on, try catch 3.40 pacers and kick on past them if able. Passed the 3.50 pacers around mile 6. Felt good. The live band on stage were brilliant. Pity there was not more of the same on route. Support was unreal on the route. Down in the kingdom we are nearly born with a sense of hatred towards the dubs because of the huge football rivalry in the 70s and 80s but i must say that all changed yesterday. What a crowd. They were unreal. Could not do enough. Residents. Marshalls..Taxi drivers
    Roll on 5 in a row lads.!! I got to mile 13 slightly outside the planned time. Was not too bothered. Neg split was plan anyway. So I set off to catch them lovely 3.40 white baloons. Caught sight of them around mile 14 . On I went. Mile 17 came and while i was feeling ok it was the fact that i was puting in a big effort and them flipping white baloons didnt seem to be getting much closer. Didnt panic and knew I had plenty of time left. Caught them along the main road around mile 23 and sat in with them for a while. Found it tough because of all the ducking and diving with the big bunch around pacers so decided to kick on . Mile 25 was tough. I was caught between trying to keep ahead of the baloons and trying to save something for the finish. In to mile 26 and my whole body just went numb. Strangest feeling ever. My head was throbing with the noise. Lost a close friend tragically a few years ago and thought about him alot over the day but it all seemed to explode in emotion over that last mile. Crossed the line in 3.37. Was delighted. Congrats to all. Thanks again to mentors. I think those first 3 miles at 9 mins is what made my marathon and i wouldn't have went that route without the advise from them. Anyway . I'm off to moms for a good aul greesy fry followed by one or 3 beers to bring the body back to life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

Thanks for all the advise.
    The morning wasn't that cold after all, no need for the extra layers I had planned.

Started the race with the 3.40 balloons and stuck with them for the first 5 miles. Nice pace, relaxed heart rate and the legs kept turning. At mile 6 I felt good and powered on a little, nothing mad but I put in a few 8 min miles, this gave me a cushion of 25 seconds a mile on the Pacers that I felt I would need. Hit the half at 1.45.55 still felt good. Dropped back to about 8.20 min miles for a while. Then BANG at mile 21/22 I had an awful crash into that wall. Wanted to give up, the crowd started to annoy me (dont know why) times for the next miles dropped to 9.30ish. But I didn't stop, kept going slower but no walking. The miles seemed to get longer and my watch wasn't moving as fast I though it should be.
    Then mile 25 came up and the pacers caught me and passed me like a train. I tried to keep with them and I did for half a mile on the home stretch, then I heard that the 3.40 pacers came in at 3.39 this gave me 50 seconds to get home. Just made it under. 3.40. Even though I wanted under 4, when 3.40 was there I wanted it.

Crossed the finish line and bang again, that sudden stop, I was barely able to move again. Had to sit down for a few mins.

Well done to all, mentors and fellow novices.

My only complaint is the t shirt is horrible and the goody bag was poor.

Apart from mile 22 I loved every minute of it. Fantastic crowd.

Sorry for the long post.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭kittyclaws

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    Any chance auto-pause is turned on on your watch? If so, maybe the watch stopped while you stretched, then re-stared once you got going again? That would account for some discrepancy between watch and chip.

Nope, I made sure it was off. I’d understand a minute or two’s discrepancy between the two times - but 7 minutes?! Have emailed them to see if my number read properly at the start line - it looks like they timed me as starting from the top of wave 4 when I was a good bit back.

Several people who were tracking me on on the app said it was dreadful, at one stage it said I'd finished and I ran past them about a quarter of a mile from the finish line a minute later!
    I think the t-shirt is awful too and the goody bag was poor but they are minor gripes compared to the disappointing run!

• Registered Users Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

Think the T-shirt is grand myself and the goody bag was given out at the expo , including a grand hat. The bag at the end was for recovery - a drink and a bar.
    Fantastic event & smooth organization.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,055 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Several people who were tracking me on on the app said it was dreadful, at one stage it said I'd finished and I ran past them about a quarter of a mile from the finish line a minute later!
    I think the t-shirt is awful too and the goody bag was poor but they are minor gripes compared to the disappointing run!

The app is not a live tracker. It is an estimated progress towards an estimated finish time based on your speed / pace between the last two checkpoints you've gone through. If you slowed down after 30k which a lot of people would, the app may show you getting to the finish line long before you do as it has no way of knowing you have slowed.

Ah I didn't realise that. Thanks for that, that clears that up!! Cheers.
    Also agree with poster above, the wooly hat is really nice! I'm generally just peed off today with how things went!

• Registered Users Posts: 733 ✭✭✭sassyj

I know someone who got a medium shirt but would like to swap for a small so if anyone wants to do a swap, pm me :)

Fantastic day, I was a novice 6 years ago and only got to go again this year, felt like a novice again. Super advice on the slow start, people kept passing me but I don't allow myself speed up. Beat last time by over 30 mins, and pace was bang on. Once it hit 20 miles, I was passing a lot of people. Will be signing up again

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper