Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2018 - Mentored Novice Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    11799|Mr. Guappa|03:59:59|4:13:21
    5524|coogy|03:40:00|03:57:01|
    17857|Helenasca|04:40:00|04:46:32|
    9724|roosterman71|03:50:00|
    17251|kittyclaws|04:50:00|
    2167|sann|03:40:00|3:37:44|
    |Summerflower|04:29:59|
    |Chippyrun|04:30:00|
    18515|Themadhouse|04:29:59|4:39:51
    14084|Aoifemcc19|04:45:00|
    19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|
    |Chabsey|03:15:00|3:15:50|
    3608|imknackered|03:28:00|03:21:05|
    |tbukela|03:38:00|
    |Naked Lepper|04:15:00|04:18:45
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|
    |cullenswood|03:29:59|03:26:34|
    8176|ReeReeG|03:49:30|
    |Bucketybuck|03:59:99|03:55:38|
    |Pilot1087|04:40:00|
    16144|Strawberry Swan|04:30:00|
    12563|Applegirl26|04:40:00|
    |aloooof|04:25:00|
    |hedgehoggy|03:43:30|
    14086|Misky|04:45:00|
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|
    |AdrianII |03:59:59|03:39:52
    |Comic Book Guy |03:26:00|
    |The man in red and black |03:45:00|
    |Rossi7 |03:54:59|
    7312 |eyrie |03:57:30|03:55:26|
    |Clibee|04:40:00|
    |downtheroad|03:30:00|
    |Corbally|04:00:00|
    |blueberrypie |04:40:00|
    |Hobbyjogger |03:49:59|
    |Effibear |04:50:00|
    10809|juke|04:50:00|
    |bluestone |04:25:00|
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|
    11521| Julie2tubz |04:25:00|
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|

What a day! Amazing atmosphere, amazing event. Enjoyed (almost) every minute of it. It would have been a whole different experience without the advice and experience shared on here, so massive thanks to everyone! I don't have the energy to write a proper race report yet but I'll get working on it soon.
    Went out for a short walk around Marlay earlier and saw loads of people in DCM hats, brilliant :)

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Alorra

Race report - its a little long but was fun writing it, i hope you enjoy:

I set out the stall earlier in the week, a 3.40 was going to be the goal, conservative I thought, better to be safe than sorry. Too conservative?? A lot of things going around in my head. How do I pace it to be aggressive but not hit that wall.

Kellygirl puts up the post – half marthon * 2 + 20 should be realistic….

Hmm that makes me very conservative. @1.34*2 + 20 =3.29. Then I had given my self a 10 minute cushion. The last month and a half I have not followed the plan only an odd week or two was got properly and missed most of my temp runs. Not great, better to be safe than blow up and not enjoy it.

I went to the expo on Friday and met Sean, he was talking about one of the guys in the group, thought he might be a bit conservative. Grr in my head, the planned pace is very conservative too. What to do?....

Saturday was really busy with a load of people around and only got to bed around 11.30 bells. Thankfully the clocks gave me an extra hour. Out of the bed at 6.15, the game is on. Downstairs for the porridge + fruit mix plus the last few pieces of prep. The taxi was booked for 7.20. The gear was packed and I was off. Hugged the better half and was away, she would be at bushy park later.

I was in plenty of time dropped the stuff off and got myself together and kinda meandered my self around the place, no real stresses. Everyone was kinda nervous, could almost feel the anticipation. Got some light warm ups done and then it was wait time. I was a little early but there were so many people coming in after, decided this was the best, loos no problem at that stage. Time flowed quickly enough and the morning sun was glorious. I set myself up between both the 3.40 baloon and the 3.30 guy, lets see what the pace feels like. As we were getting into the karal, I was looking back at the 3.40 pacers he had a lot of people around. No thanks, not for me to start with him. In my head, I know 8.15 is 3.40 pace anything below 8 will keep on pace with the 3.30.

9.00am the elites are off, we are about to get out to the start. We were the gladiators marching into battle, a battalion of people moving around the corner, the anticipation is palpable. 12 mins gone on the big clock, a rain of jumpers begins, its quiet funny. The bin liner is ripped off, ready to go. I see the 3.30 pacers a bit up, not sure about the 3.40 man but he cannot be far away.

We are a go!!

Mile 1-2
    Pace: 7.52, 7.32pm

It is a little busy around the first bend but then it kinda opens up the pace starts off at 9.30 on the watch but quickly people are streaming away, no real congestion at all, by the time we get to stephens green the pace has come down to 7.30 at one stage. Way-too quick, cop on, insanity, begin to pull it back and slow down. Its all easy though and then we are going down hill. Its ok to get a little time in the bag here, I stop pulling back and just flow with the hill. We are down the liffey and begin the climb to stoneybatter. The crowd was good, collected a few high 5’s, this was kinda fun.

Mile 3-4
    Pace: 7.51, 7.54pm

Ease off here and begin to take the hill sensible, not racing it but flowing up it. The 3.30 man is not very far off, I think the 3.40 man is falling back, interesting. This feels sensible pace now. Grr I need a small pit stop, take a little break by the zoo, only lost less than a minute. 3.30 man is away but the 3.40 is still a bit back, I can’t see him around the bends. Still ok on pace/time.
    One of my friends pops up and shouts out. The “Following Mick” whats app group is updated, with mandatory thumbs up photo. I then go on to see her, 3 other times in the park, she is on the bike, it is funny to read back on the updates.

Mile 5-10
    Pace: 7.50,7.58,7.54,7.31, 7.36, 7.45

Not much else here, the buzz of the crowd and the music was pretty special in Castleknock. Collected a few more high 5’s going through and started clapping the crowd they really got going then, good buzz and added a pep to the step.
    Downhill for the last few miles, so collected a bit of time for the bag.
    Still feeling relatively ok, the 3,30 man is a good bit forward but still I might go see him later, for now, I need to get through the next few miles.

Miles 11-14
    Pace: 8.01,7.53, 7.46, 8.07

The next few miles is up and down. Just try and go with flow, no pressure now. Keep the pace steady. Chapezilod and Killmainham are mayhem, its great, collect plenty of high 5’s and at times when I thought the crowd were too quiet a little bit of clap, really got them going. This is what people were talking about when they said it was special. I saw more friends here and the whats app group is updated.
    The pull up crumlin went ok, I seemed to be running with a chap called Kevin for a few miles (it was printed on his t-shirt), the shout outs from the crowd were class, (I must get myself one of these). I had a brief chat to him for a few 100 metres and then we were off to concentrate on the running. The cheers team tune rolling in my head, “everyone knows your name”!.
    Pace ok and still in check.

Got through half way, still ok, I have done halfs loads of times, I can do this…

Mile 15 – 18
    Pace: 7.50, 7.45, 7.47 ,7.44

I knew the next few miles were all flat, time to pick up the pace, I could see the 3.30 man way ahead, he was my goal over the next few miles. Still feeling ok, nothing too crazy just reel him in.

The walkinstown roundabout was a wall of noise and with it got even better with a bit of encouragement, great stuff. Loads of high 5’s over the next few miles. Another blast into the KCR, Terenure and Rathgar. Such a boost to spirits. Got a great shout out from the other half at bushy :).
    16 miles down, ten to go. I have done 10miles hundreds of times, I can do this…. The chat to my self was going to be good.

Finally caught the 3.30 man in rathgar, excellent, 8 to go, pleased at my self. They are going at a good pace, I will stay with them for a while. Push a little past them but keep pace. A little bit of craic to be had as lads were shouting out. Mark (I think) the pacer gave advice on easing it off a letting a bit of release into the legs down the next few hils. This coud be good as things are going to be getting tougher now.

Mile 19 -22
    Pace: 7.56, 7.59,8.04, 8.17

This was the beginning of where there was pressure. Still with the pacer group and he shouts out that next few miles are a few up and downs and a light hill only it’s a mile long and in the wrong part of the course, there is fevourish laughter and then we all sober down and focus. A good bit of support going on. I met the brother and his girlfirend, great lift and great buzz.

Still ok but I can feel the hips begin to tighten up, this is the missed sessions coming back to bite me. Refocus time, it is not slowing me, so this I can live with it. Less than 6 to go, that’s 10k, I can do this… I begin to say this a bit more often.

Over roebuck, the hills are done.

Miles 23 – 26
    Pace: 8.01,7.57, 8.04,8.06
    These go slowly, I gradually pull slightly ahead of the pacer but not by much, its tough now but the body is focused on keeping going, the hips are really stiff now and it is spreading down my tigh's. The count down mantra is well and throughly on, I can do this 3, 2 miles. I see more friends another great boost to the spirits.

The last mile… that was where the legs had given as much as they could, I could see the end, one final push, a push at the crowd gave me more energy.

That was it, job done, will hopefully be back.

Thanks for all the advice and comradeship here. Great stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

12563|Applegirl26|04:40:00|04:55:17
    10809|juke|04:50:00|

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

10809|juke|04:50:00|05:01:38

Legs were strong, feet died.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Great report Alorra. That was a really well judged run and a fantastic time for a first effort! Youth and a GAA background is a definite plus!! Haha

• Registered Users Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Themadhouse

Had a good sleep last night and the legs feel good this morning, much better than expected!!! Still tired but thats ok, doing nothing today.
    yesterdays marathon was some experience. My running buddy and I found our way around and eventually found where we were supposed to start, wave 4, 4:30 pacers, with a about 35 mins before the start. We queued for the loo and were still in the Q when our group moved forward. no point in panicking so we tagged along the back of the 5hr pacers, starting last in wave 4. We didnt mind as it made us start conservatively. Legs got tired quite early on, I had gone back to work for 2 full days on thursday and friday and looking back on it i shouldnt have done that so close to the marathon as it drained my body.
    The race went in a blur, I lost track of were we were! The support was unreal, it really spurred us on. It was quite strange at the beginning having people call your name but i just smiled and thanked them all. I high fived all the kids, gladly took the jellies on offer. The supporters were unreal, all the goodies on offer!
    one house had a sign out for use of their bathroom!!!
    There was signs of support everywhere for everyone. I kind of knew where our people would be along route and kept this as my motivation and a distraction in looking for them,
    I am so thankful to those who stood and waited for us to run by, for the balloons, the Georgia signs, the hugs, the high 5s, the shouts of encouragement, They were all appreciated and so needed on the day.
    we passed the 5hr pacers in the pheonix park and around half way passed the 4;50 pacers. we had gathered a bit of speed. By mile 22 I couldnt feel my legs anymore. They were so heavy and sore and it took everything i had to push through and keep moving. The support from the sides really does help you gather extra strength, especially towards the end.
    The last stretch, the blue carpet really got to me. My lungs and breathing were great all the way through and suddenly i could see the end and every emotion gathered in my chest, couldnt breathe, couldnt cry , could just focus on the line. When we crossed I think the 2 of us were in shock that we had actually done it! A huge hug and we were rushed along. I was worried that my legs wouldnt move and I was kinda right! We shuffled along to get the medal and t shirt.
    aimed for 4:30, chip time 4:39, negative split, faster each quarter, I am so pleased!! And I ran it all!!

It took about a half hr before we could even contemplate moving from where we were to meet people!
    What an experience!!

Thanks to all here for the mentoring, the advice, the show of support for my daughter , to anyone who wore something in her memory. It really pushed me through knowing that in that 20,000 crowd there were runners thinking of her and me. xx

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Aoifemcc19

14084|Aoifemcc19|04:45:00|4:37:12
    14086|Misky|04:45:00|4:37:14

• Registered Users Posts: 15,322 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Loving these race reports, thanks to everyone taking the time to share their race experience with us all, keep them coming!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users Posts: 44 Aoifemcc19

Waddling like a duck today but still on a high from yesterday!!! Really enjoyed the day, a few dark miles from 16-18 but I was through them before I even knew it!!

Started right at the back of wave 3 and even stalled a couple of minutes to let everyone go and then started out nice and easy!! Realised we had done our first km about 20 seconds faster than planned but we were so cold we felt like we were barely moving. Pulled it back and then just ticked off the kms - the pace band advice was brilliant and it served as a great distraction and kept us in check.

Castleknock is home (well second home after the Peoples Republic :D) and it was just amazing!! So so many people I knew, including hubby & kids I whooped, hollered, jumped, hugged my way through it!! Loved it! Everything went well (except a bit of reflux after each gel) until mile 16 when some hip pain flared up but I put the head down and before I knew it Caroline told me we were at mile 18! I knew my sister was at mile 20 with flat coke and bounties so that kept us going! Had a little walk with the sis and a chat and then we were off!!

Jumped and hit the mile 20 marker over the road (and got told off by a spectator that I should save my energy for the end) but I knew we had it in the bag!! Mile 21 was hard with so many walkers to get by but we were flying it at that point! Had done heartbreak hill twice in training so it wasn't a bother and we were nicely ahead of the pace bands!! The road from Vincents past RDS is long but I knew the family were outside the schoolhouse!! Other than one roar of where the hell is the bloody school house, we were doing well!! Once we high 5'd and passed them all (with more whooping, jumping & hollering) we took off!! The last 1.4kms were our fastest and we were bate-ing it!! Does that mean we left more out there, I don't know, I don't think I could have done much more and it meant I really enjoyed it all!!!

The support around the course was amazing, I couldn't begin to count the amount of high 5's, claps, thank yous that I did around the 26.2 miles!! I've supported so many races over the years and I know how long and tiring it is but It makes such a massive difference to the racers!! All the advice on here was invaluable, the slow start, the pace bands, slowing down our LSR's it all added up to ensure we all did the best race we could on the day!! I'm so sorry that not everyones race worked out but it just shows that there is never a guarantee that something won't go wrong on the day!!

Sorry I didn't get to the shelbourne before hand but I was tied with a lift in and didn't have time and to mcgrattans after, my kids were cold and tired and needed to sit so we hit Buswells instead!! Hope everyone got to enjoy a post race tipple and HUGE CONGRATS to all you marathoners :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,216 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Class of 2018, take a bow. Graduates. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭gypsylee

What a day! From start to finish I enjoyed every minute. People kept commenting on my smiling. I was so happy to be finally doing it and was looking forward to getting that medal.

The miles just flew by. Chapelizoid was amazing for the support. I knew my family were just after the half way point so I was looking forward to seeing them. After that it was a bit of a drag for the next couple of miles, very little supporters along there. My sister in law met me at mile 22 and ran/walked with me until the 40km mark. Chatting with her helped a lot as I was starting to feel tired.

Seeing the finish line and the blue carpet made me emotional. Crossing the line and getting the medal was wonderful.

I didn't put my predicted time on the chart as I am so much slower than every other novice. I knew I wanted to finish under 6 hours. Official time 5 hours 46 minutes. Absolutely delighted to have achieved my goal.

I loved all of my marathon journey. Every training run and the victory lap yesterday. I would not change anything about any of it. I set out to do something I never thought possible and yesterday I achieved it.

Have a bit of reading here & Strava to catch up on.

Here's how I got on:

Boards novices meetup @ 8 settled my nerves, walked up to bag drop with Applegirl, Strawberry Swan and effibear. Headed to the line with Applegirl and A. The company was great, taking my mind off things. Gradually discarded my layers and uneaten banana.

K’s 1-10: Ran loosely with Applegirl and effibear, kept it controlled, resisted the urge to speed up, amazed by the crowds. My name on my singlet was a hit. Remembered the advice to smile. Missed my brother in Stoneybatter (he relied on the tracker and assumed I’d passed when I was still 5 minutes away). Applegirl pulled away. Up to the park, felt strong. Entertained (?) by some Malahide Estuary lady runners, who were running with a strict [run-walk-stretch] regime while they chatted (loudly) about their marital difficulties. 10k bang on target.

7:17, 7:05, 6:59, 7:02, 7:04, 6:59, 6:59, 7:05, 7:00, 7:03

K’s 11-20:
    Castleknock was something else. Easy to smile here. Feeling strong, 15k a bit behind the paceband but happy to keep conservative pace. Long way to go yet. Corcaigh passed us around the Furry Glen in the park, I think - heard the shout out, but he was passed before I digested who it was. Lose effibear at the 16k water station. Build the tempo slightly, lose the marital woes too, feel good going up St. Lawrence Rd. and up into Kilmainham.

6:58, 6:57, 7:12, 7:01, 7:11, 6:53, 6:48, 6:53, 6:35, 6:43

K's 21-30:
    Up into Crumlin, still feeling good. Hear loads of shoutouts, but assume it’s just people seeing my name on my t-shirt. From Walkinstown roundabout, feet beginning to get tired. Would be lovely to see some friendly faces - expecting friends on Fortfield Road and Terenure. Didn’t see them. Beginning to struggle. Why do my feet always get so hot, ankles beginning to feel tight and uncomfortable.

6:50, 7:11, 6:53, 6:47, 6:49, 6:57, 6:51, 6:55, 6:48, 7:05

K’s 31-40:
    Surrounded by loads of people, feel quite alone. It’s ok, my mentor will be on Orwell. Oh no, he’s not. Sh1t :(. This is really beginning to hurt. Starting to feel overwhelmed. Would my OH be at the arches in Milltown? It’s hurting. Maybe I can just go home with him. But then I won’t get a finisher’s top. Get choked up, struggle to get breath in, heart rate is fine, see him in the distance, can hardly breath, burst out crying. He gave me huge hug, told me I was ⅔ there, that he was so proud of me and pushed me on my way, with drink, banana & salty chocolate. Eat half the banana and a square of chocolate. See another friend before the hill, use the boost to run up. Focus on keeping moving, know there’s 2 decent hills ahead, feel myself slowing. Stop in Clonskeagh, lean against a car, breath, move again - walking, maybe 40 yards. Encouraged by another runner to run, we’ll do 100 steps he said, I run, 40 he shouts, I keep running, he shouts 80 and I hear my name - a pained looking Strawberry Swan is beside me, fighting hard. So good to see another familiar face. This is the most I’ve ever run, of course it’s going to hurt. 36k and I’m at the top of Roebuck - and I know my friend will be around the corner. She is, more chocolate and encouragement. Manage to swallow 1 bite of Bounty. Tears. Some stranger on a bike is shouting at me, as I come to the end of Foster’s Ave - goddammit, my mentor, when I am barely moving :rolleyes:. And why am I struggling anyway - my legs feel strong, breathing good, heart-rate very steady. Try to up the pace, but my feet and ankles just can’t. He’s on the course randomly as I pass (from the pictures he sent me) but I’m oblivious. Turn off my watch and just concentrate on moving, counting down the distance. Another shout out, Kittyclaws passes me in Ballsbridge looking good.

7:20, 7:17, 7:16, 8:46, 7:35, 7:51, 7:40, 7:03, 7:11, 7:18

K’s 41-42.5
    Crowds are loud, I keep trying to smile, green arch ahead, My feet are so tired and sore, keep smiling I say, keep smiling. Blue mat, tears, medal. It’s over.

7:07, 6:56, 3:13

Chip time 5:01:38

Summary: Back/shoulder injury in July really didn’t help, as I lost 2 weeks building miles. My swelling ankles in September, presumably a symptom of running, hit my confidence. I had a drink with me but I took water at every station, even when I felt I didn’t need to. Think that was the right decision. I think I fuelled well. My feet are like melons today. I won’t get into the gory toe detail - suffice to say it will be awhile before I’ll be able to wear a shoe/runner. Dodgy feet didn't stop me getting to McGrattans. Powerlifting doesn’t lend itself to running, I had hoped my leg and core strength would be a benefit. Strength was no good when my feet gave up. I really wanted to hit sub-5. I did my best, and I can't ask for more than that.

Managed a 2k walk today in flipflops.

Tired and emotional, but proud as heck :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Hobbyjogger

|Hobbyjogger |03:49:59|03:54:23|

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

juke wrote: »
    Alooof passed us around the Furry Glen in the park, I think - heard the shout out, but he was passed before I digested who it was.

Wasn't me J, but was great to say hello yesterday morning, however briefly. Brilliant race report tho and congrats, we're graduates!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭aloooof

18033|aloooof|04:25:00|4:26:49

Time added. Working on the race report!

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

juke wrote: »
    Have a bit of reading here & Strava to catch up on.

Here's how I got on:

Boards novices meetup @ 8 settled my nerves, walked up to bag drop with Applegirl, Strawberry Swan and A. Headed to the line with Applegirl and A. The company was great, taking my mind off things. Gradually discarded my layers and uneaten banana.

K’s 1-10: Ran loosely with Applegirl and A, kept it controlled, resisted the urge to speed up, amazed by the crowds. My name on my singlet was a hit. Remembered the advice to smile. Missed my brother in Stoneybatter (he relied on the tracker and assumed I’d passed when I was still 5 minutes away). Applegirl pulled away. Up to the park, felt strong. Entertained (?) by some Malahide Estuary lady runners, who were running with a strict [run-walk-stretch] regime while they chatted (loudly) about their marital difficulties. 10k bang on target.

7:17, 7:05, 6:59, 7:02, 7:04, 6:59, 6:59, 7:05, 7:00, 7:03

K’s 11-20:
    Castleknock was something else. Easy to smile here. Feeling strong, 15k a bit behind the paceband but happy to keep conservative pace. Long way to go yet. Corcaigh passed us around the Furry Glen in the park, I think - heard the shout out, but he was passed before I digested who it was. Lose Applegirl at the 16k water station. Build the tempo slightly, lose the marital woes too, feel good going up St. Lawrence Rd. and up into Kilmainham.

6:58, 6:57, 7:12, 7:01, 7:11, 6:53, 6:48, 6:53, 6:35, 6:43

K's 21-30:
    Up into Crumlin, still feeling good. Hear loads of shoutouts, but assume it’s just people seeing my name on my t-shirt. From Walkinstown roundabout, feet beginning to get tired. Would be lovely to see some friendly faces - expecting friends on Fortfield Road and Terenure. Didn’t see them. Beginning to struggle. Why do my feet always get so hot, ankles beginning to feel tight and uncomfortable.

6:50, 7:11, 6:53, 6:47, 6:49, 6:57, 6:51, 6:55, 6:48, 7:05

K’s 31-40:
    Surrounded by loads of people, feel quite alone. It’s ok, my mentor will be on Orwell. Oh no, he’s not. Sh1t . This is really beginning to hurt. Starting to feel overwhelmed. Would my OH be at the arches in Milltown? It’s hurting. Maybe I can just go home with him. But then I won’t get a finisher’s top. Get choked up, struggle to get breath in, heart rate is fine, see him in the distance, can hardly breath, burst out crying. He gave me huge hug, told me I was ⅔ there, that he was so proud of me and pushed me on my way, with drink, banana & salty chocolate. Eat half the banana and a square of chocolate. See another friend before the hill, use the boost to run up. Focus on keeping moving, know there’s 2 decent hills ahead, feel myself slowing. Stop in Clonskeagh, lean against a car, breath, move again - walking, maybe 40 yards. Encouraged by another runner to run, we’ll do 100 steps he said, I run, 40 he shouts, I keep running, he shouts 80 and I hear my name - a pained looking Strawberry Swan is beside me, fighting hard. So good to see another familiar face. This is the most I’ve ever run, of course it’s going to hurt. 36k and I’m at the top of Roebuck - and I know my friend will be around the corner. She is, more chocolate and encouragement. Manage to swallow 1 bite of Bounty. Tears. Some stranger on a bike is shouting at me, as I come to the end of Foster’s Ave - goddammit, my mentor, when I am barely moving . And why am I struggling anyway - my legs feel strong, breathing good, heart-rate very steady. Try to up the pace, but my feet and ankles just can’t. He’s on the course randomly as I pass (from the pictures he sent me) but I’m oblivious. Turn off my watch and just concentrate on moving, counting down the distance. Another shout out, Kittyclaws passes me in Ballsbridge looking good.

7:20, 7:17, 7:16, 8:46, 7:35, 7:51, 7:40, 7:03, 7:11, 7:18

K’s 41-42.5
    Crowds are loud, I keep trying to smile, green arch ahead, My feet are so tired and sore, keep smiling I say, keep smiling. Blue mat, tears, medal. It’s over.

7:07, 6:56, 3:13

Chip time 5:01:38

Summary: Back/shoulder injury in July really didn’t help, as I lost 2 weeks building miles. My swelling ankles in September, presumably a symptom of running, hit my confidence. I had a drink with me but I took water at every station, even when I felt I didn’t need to. Think that was the right decision. I think I fuelled well. My feet are like melons today. I won’t get into the gory toe detail - suffice to say it will be awhile before I’ll be able to wear a shoe/runner. Dodgy feet didn't stop me getting to McGrattans. Powerlifting doesn’t lend itself to running, I had hoped my leg and core strength would be a benefit. Strength was no good when my feet gave up. I really wanted to hit sub-5. I did my best, and I can't ask for more than that.

Managed a 2k walk today in flipflops.

Tired and emotional, but proud as heck :cool:

Brilliant race report J. Running with yourself and A was one of the best parts for me. Well done for digging deep when the going got tough. Well done! You're a marathoner xxx

• Registered Users Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭ariana`

Huge congratulations to the 2018 Graduates!!!!!

I'm thoroughly enjoying all the reports - keep them coming. Some highs, some lows too but those are all part of what makes running your 1st marathon so special. I hope you have all taken a moment today to give yourself a massive slap in the back - however it went for you you have done it, you are now marathon runners - congratulations on being part of the 1% of the population who can say that!!

It was lovely to meet some of you beforehand and afterward in McGrattans. Unfortunately I wasn't in the best shape myself (I think i may have forgotten to take some of my own advice) so I apologise if I seemed a bit out of it. Thank you so much for the amazing but totally unnecessarily generous gift. Coogy you are one talented man.

Thank you all for letting me go on this amazing journey with you these past 18 weeks - you're a great bunch of runners and individuals, I hope you hang around boards for a lot longer and help to inspire the next bunch of novices and continue your own running journey - it has only just begun!

Keep the reports coming and recover well x

ariana` wrote: »
    Huge congratulations to the 2018 Graduates!!!!!

I'm thoroughly enjoying all the reports - keep them coming. Some highs, some lows too but those are all part of what makes running your 1st marathon so special. I hope you have all taken a moment today to give yourself a massive slap in the back - however it went for you you have done it, you are now marathon runners - congratulations on being part of the 1% of the population who can say that!!

It was lovely to meet some of you beforehand and afterward in McGrattans. Unfortunately I wasn't in the best shape myself (I think i may have forgotten to take some of my own advice) so I apologise if I seemed a bit out of it. Thank you so many for the amazing but totally unnecessarily generous gift. Coogy you are one talented man.

Thank you all for letting me go on this amazing journey with you these past 18 weeks - you're a great bunch of runners and individuals, I hope you hang around boards for a lot longer and help to inspire the next bunch of novices and continue your own running journey - it has only just begun!

Keep the reports coming and recover well x

You led a fantastic team, ariana`, thank you. Take a bow!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,131 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I may as well throw up a report, its probably my last marathon so might as well order my thoughts on it :).

First 10km
    I was starting in wave 3, got the bag dropped and into the corral for around 8.50 which gave me time to just relax and get ready for the race ahead. Then when it came our turn I decided to wait at the back of the wave, I don't much like crowds and figured I might as well let the big bunch of people go first and spread out a bit. That was actually a bit of a mistake, the first 7km turned out to be a frustrating exercise in trying to get past people. I had intended to take it easy but I was going a full minute per km slower than my marathon pace and didn't much like it. I wasn't stressing about it, I knew a slow first 10km was a good thing but I wanted to get into free air and into my rhythm at some point. I passed the 4.20 pacers at the zoo and once I got onto Chesterfield avenue it was a lot better, the sun was shining and I felt good, I really enjoyed that stretch. The only cloud was my right groin, it was starting to ache and from experience I knew it could be a big problem later on. I also knew though that I could do little about it so just noted it and kept going.

10km - 21km

Castleknock was brilliant, as a solo runner I still love hitting those walls of sound and seeing all the people cheering. I passed the 4.10 pacers just after the corner in Castleknock and started downhill, I was a little ahead of MP on that stretch but didn't worry much about it, I knew I was comfortable enough. Through Chapelizod and up the hill without too much trouble, the groin was still pulsing away as I came to the underpass but to be honest I was feeling really good. My first time doing DCM I was a bit lethargic at this stage but as I came into Kilmainham and Rialto I felt really strong, I was passing people constantly (had been from the start) and it was a really nice feeling to have my head up and smiling at the crowd where once I had the head down and just focusing on moving.

As I came into Dolphins barn once again I couldn't get over the crowd, it was just a wall of noise and people cheering. I know they weren't there for me but I did get a lift from it, how could I be down in front of all that enthusiasm.

22km - 32km

This was one of two stretches I had worried about, last time out I remembered Crumlin right through to the KCR being a really long drag. Again though, I felt a lot stronger this time and the roads just flew by. I was passing people constantly and was getting a huge confidence boost simply by remembering how I had felt 2 years ago compared to now! Again the support, at Walkinstown, at Bushy park, at Terenure, it was all brilliant. There were a few choke points because of supporters encroaching onto the road but to be honest I didn't mind it, it felt more personal having them in close like that. Through Rathgar I was about 5 mins ahead of goal time, still feeling really good but conscious that Milltown was next, and Milltown was where my pace dropped off a cliff two years ago. Oh, and that worrying groin? The niggle was gone, damned if I know where it went. :)

32km to 42km

First there was the hill in Milltown, it killed me last time and I didn't much like it this time either, but I got over it and onto Clonskeagh road. This is definitely the crunch time of the marathon for me, its such a drag in every way, and for the first time I was starting to feel the effects of a long run. I started to feel drained and the calves/quads/etc etc all started shouting for attention. I also wanted a water bottle and thought there was one at the UCD entrance, was surprised to find that there wasn't, but happy that my way of finding that out was by turning onto Roebuck road quicker than I expected. Grabbed a bottle and faced into heartbreak hill. This was no big deal to me, I'd far rather run heartbreak hill than that drag on Clonskeagh so it was up the hill and round the corner and off I went.

I have to say once again that I was getting a huge confidence boost by comparing to where I was two years ago, even on Clonskeagh road I almost couldn't believe that there was less than 10k to go, I knew that a finish was guaranteed and that I was well on target for my goals. Two years ago the one and only place I had to stop and walk for about 20 meters was just before the UCD flyover, this time as I came down that stretch I actually felt really, really good, I was ticking along nicely, passing people and staying right on target.

That feeling lasted until Merrion. Thats the only place where I even came close to a wall, at 40km. My pace dipped by 20/30 seconds for that km and even though I knew it was only 2 km to go I also knew it could be a very long 2 kms. Both quads started to get very tight, coming right up to that line where they could go and stop me in my tracks. They didn't cross the line though and I got back up to MP for the last 2 km.

The finish

People would pay a lot of money to feel as good as I did on that finishing stretch. I was 5 minutes ahead of my 4 hour target with half a kilometer to go, I knew I was going to do it and it allowed me to just relax and soak up the atmosphere of the approach. And that atmosphere was amazing, so many people and such a wall of noise, I think that middle of the pack runners like me have it best, the elites finish before the crowds have built up whereas the crowds might have drifted away later, but if you ever come in around 4/5 hours its a wonderful mass of people cheering.

All too soon it was that blue carpet and over the line to become a sub-4 marathon runner. Job done.

Epilogue

I think that will be the end of my marathon running. Never say never but my debut DCM time was 4.32 and it left a lot of strings dangling, I could definitely do 4.30, I could even do 4.15, could I do 4 hours? There was always going to be a 2nd try after that one.

But now? I have gone under 4 hours, but I'm never going to go under 3. Do I really want to devote 6/7 months of my time to go from 3.55 to 3.45? Maybe I could do it but do I really want to? I doubt it, it just wouldn't mean as much as this one.

If this is my last marathon I have to say it was a perfect way to finish. The training went well and I hit PB's in every distance along the way. The weather on the day itself was perfect, my race went perfect, I ran a negative split, I hit all my goals, and my memory of DCM is going to be that amazing support at so many points along the way. I think that is a good way to finish. :)

Sorry for the long post, and many thanks to the mentors and to all who gave such good advice along the way!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

ariana` wrote:

Great job ariana. And same to your support team. Ye put in a monster effort. It's a special thing to guide people through their first marathon. This place always brightens up when the new batch of Novices arrive every year. Well done on supporting them all.

The biggest take away for me from this years Novices thread was to speed up... Or was it slow down? I can't remember...

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭kittyclaws

17251|kittyclaws|04:50:00|04:46:01|

When does the hurting stop? :D
    I’ve just signed up for the Clontarf half, I’m thinking a reverse taper is the best way to get race ready?! I really want a half marathon PB under my belt before the end of the year :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I have gone under 4 hours, but I'm never going to go under 3.

No reason why not. Maybe take a couple of years to run shorter distances, but no reason why you can't run sub 3. Anyone can do it.

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Dealerz2.0

11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|04:23:02

Race report when Ive caught my breath!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

Before I start, well done to everyone here, the contributions from mentors, ex-mentors and fellow rookies was excellent. One of the friendliest places on the internet.

Buildup:

I wake up before my 6am alarm. Sleep was good quality actually and spend the morning doing mundane things around the house before leaving at about half 7 to drive down to the Luas in Dundrum. It is jammed and not the best thing in the world in prep for the start line, tired back and legs from standing. I leave my girlfriend and brother at 8.45 so they can catch the elites start and support me at mile 1. While on the way to Wave 4, I queue for the toilets. Made a silly mistake here queuing for ages at one of the first lines where further along, there are hardly any queues and the toilets are probably not as grim looking or smelling!

I strip my warm clothes and position myself, get the watch GPS set up and off we go!

KM 1-5

Everyone is bolting! I try to restrain my pace as best as possible and generally keep it above 6/min Km. Everything feels fine. Stoneybatter is the first water stop and is chaotic. Very narrow spot for it and feels a bit dangerous. Bottles are not all thrown to the side creating some hazards. There is a queue for the first toilet stop. I keep the 4:30 pacers in sight.

KM 5-10

Still quite cluttered leading into the park. So sunny here and warm, lovely. Chesterfield Avenue is where I seemed to see some slightly mad things happening. One middle age lad answers his phone and chats for 5 mins, literally a phone up to the ear, no bluetooth! Then, one of the pacers decides to take a piss off to the side by a tree, hard to miss considering he has a huge balloon attached! A lady almost face plants but just about survived and held onto 2 guys in front. Also see a guy running in the wrong direction looking for his phone. Someone grabs it for him. Silly.

Coming into Castleknock was great, all the supporters are up early to encourage the runners. At the downhill at about 10k, I make my move past the 4.30 pacers with ease.

KM 10-15

Before I hit Chapelizod, I reach for my first Dioralyte to add to my water. Doesn't go that well and look like Al Pacino in Scarface for a second! Spoke to a nice guy from Tramore about Parkrun as I am wearing my 50 top. Chapelizod was brilliant support and felt like a real athlete making the 90 degree turn. That hill under the motorway was steep enough and for the first time, feel slight breathlessness. I try to take my time into Kilmainham to get it back comfortably. Pace doesn't seem to reflect that though.

KM 15-21

The support around Islandbridge and Dolphin's Barn is insane, people lined on the streets on both sides, amazing. My girlfriend and brother are at an easy to spot location near the half marathon spot, I stop briefly for a hug and some jellies and head away again. Crossing the half mark, feeling comfortable enough still.

KM 21-30

Struggle a little with the drag after the half mark and beyond to Walkinstown. My slowest K so far is at 22k at 6.31 but it is uphill so grand. Flat pretty much from there until Milltown. Mentally flag a little before Terenure College but get a good mental lift here, only 9 miles left, this is doable! It helps that I am very familiar with this area also.

I grab a water after Rathgar and give Daragh Kelly from Marlay parkrun a shout, he hasn't a clue who I am :) Going through the Arches and Windy Arbour, I take it easy in preparation for the next hill in Milltown. Gladly see my supporters again here.

KM 30-36

Coming to the 20 mile mark, I still feel good. Starting the drag in Clonskeagh, feel like I'm slowing down a good bit but surprisingly, only about 10% of people around me are running, everyone has decided to walk around here, it's mad. It's a tough section with little support. Thankfully the support builds again at the start of Roebuck road. Strangely enjoyed Heartbreak hill, it's not that bad and it wakes up parts of your legs again. Pace drops to nearly 7/min k though.

KM 36-42.2

I try to get my pace up again along the N11, not happening, lower body is seizing up. Not much better than 7/min k despite the downhills. It's a slog to the end now for sure!

It gets worse when I hit the flats from Mount Merrion to the end. My 40th K is 7.24/min. Once I pass the RDS with only 1.2k to go, I get the awful thought of ''Will I still get under 4:30 if I walk for a bit?''. I do the maths, nope but a slow run guarantees it. I slog on. My Garmin loses signal with about .5k or so to go, ahhh! Slightly annoying but it's fulfilled most of its purpose. The noise from the crowd is now deafening, what a buzz.

Hitting the blue mat for the final sprint, I pick it up as best I can. Finish! 4.28.24.

Post-Run

Oh my, I can't really walk properly as I collect the finishing goodies. I go the wrong way exiting the race area and get a bit lost. My focus is one foot in front of the other. A couple stops me for photos and quickly feel guilty they picked me as the photographer. I barter a call to my girlfriend to meet up, no answer, network might be busy. I laugh with another couple that the post run walk is so much harder than the run.

I waddle towards Stephen's Green and grab another kind runner's phone and get through to arrange meeting up. After a sit and change in KC Peaches and food in Burger King, we walk/waddle back to the Luas, everyone is tired but satisfied.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭julie2tubz

17251|kittyclaws|04:50:00|04:46:01|
    11521| Julie2tubz |04:25:00|04:30:23|

Well done everyone. Didn’t quite get what I wanted yesterday. My 2 legs seriously started to ache relatively early on and I had to slow down by mile 13. Then I just decided to stop stressing about time when I realised I wasn’t going to get goal. And I just focused on soaking up the day.
    The support was literally mind blowing!!!
    I felt like a rockstar when hearing my name being cheered. It was the absolute best!!!
    So even though I didn’t get the time I wanted I had such an amazing day. Such an amazing experience.
    Legs are sooooo sore today. Went for a gentle swim to loosen them out today - defo helped.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

Well done to each and every one of you :) the race reports are fantastic, keep them coming and bask in the afterglow of what you have achieved

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

RayCun wrote: »
    No reason why not. Maybe take a couple of years to run shorter distances, but no reason why you can't run sub 3. Anyone can do it.

Maybe even me :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 18,131 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

RayCun wrote: »

You are right of course, physically it may be possible.

So I guess its more accurate to say that I wouldn't want to put the effort in to get there. I have a laypersons idea of what it would take, years of increasing the mileage, running week after week and month after month, multiple marathon attempts (and failures) to bring those times down. And even then it would be a huge ask, after all the average pace for a 3 hr marathon is faster than the average pace of my current 5k PB!

Right now I am kinda looking forward to having my life back, of doing things other than running. I do plan to keep running those shorter distances but the big block of training in search of a landmark target? I'm not so sure about that.

Thats today though, maybe when the DOMS goes away I'll change my mind. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭yido1882

A massive well done to everyone, as I learned yesterday, the marathon is a beast of a distance. As I shuffled down the stairs in pain on my ar$e today, I wondered how some mad people run these 32 marathons in 32 days.
    I also wondered how some of the strava group were out running again today!

Race report

I started towards the back of wave 2 and planned to run my own race and try go sub 4 based on the great advice received here about how to run the course.

I was very nervous as I got dropped into town and walked about a bit, fixing my race number about 15 times for some stupid reason.
    As we moved up to start at 9.15, I felt strangely relaxed, threw my wooly hat away and it was time to go.
    My plan was to take the first 10km handy and save the legs for later.
    The first km was slow going, I heard a few around me getting a bit flustered that they'd started too slow but again, based on info from this thread, I expected it to be slow so was nice and relaxed.
    Going up through stoneybatter, I got a bit choked up, I'm the least emotional person you'll ever come across so this was a surprise to me! I've no connection to stoneybatter either!

Going up through the phoenix park, was getting overtaken by quite a few but again, I was nice and relaxed, sticking to my plan and was comfortable with that.

Out the park gates and hit the 10km nearly to the planned second, delighted!

Into Castleknock village and spot my wife and kids, over to them for quick high fives, the crowd are unreal and all is going well, lump in throat again, hear my name called out on by the DJ going up the side of myos and down onto tower road. No spectators now so time to focus again. See two lads dressed as batman & robin stop off for a leak along the road, had a good laugh at that.

The next big crowds were at chapelizod, again another lump in the throat, don't know what's going on with me but keep it together as I know there's a big hill coming up. Took it handy up laurence road and felt fine afterwards.
    As I got to kilmainham gaol, which was the home straight for the RnR half marathon, a part of me was wishing it was nearly over..

I went under the half way inflatable in 2:01:xx, the legs  felt heavy, the negative split plan seemed like it was going to be a big ask.

I tried to push on, my legs seemed to be going faster but my watch was telling me otherwise. The sub 4 dream was looking less and less likely.

As I went by what I thought was the 16 mile mark, I gave myself a talking to and said I can do it this. The next mile marker approaches a few mins later and too my horror, it's fookin mile 16?! That was a kick in the teeth... don't know what went on between mile 16-20 cos all I was thinking was make it to 20 miles and see what happens.

Get to 20 and all my focus was on the next target, roebuck road, I couldn't remember what mile the hill was at but knew it was coming, people were stopping before they hit the hill, faces in pain, stewards spraying legs. I got up the hill and thought it wasn't as bad as it was made out to be(not on this thread I should add!)

Got to the stillorgan dual carriage way and upped the pace a bit, I was overtaking a lot of people at this stage. I did a 5:27km and it gave me a boost, next km 5:27 again, "come on, sub 4 could still be on" I said to my self. Next km 5:41, noooo! The RDS was my next target, it seemed to take forever to come, ran closing my eyes at times to get through the pain(not recommended).

I found some strength for the last push, a couple of spectators shouted encouragement and it spurred me on. The noise of the crowd coming up the home straight was unbelievable, it was nearly like an outterbody experience, looked up at the green time clock as I crossed the line and it said 4:01:xx, stopped my watch, didn't even look at it but thought I didn't make sub 4. Legs nearly buckled as I stopped running, myself and another lad leaned against the railings in pain, half smiling, half crying looking at each other.

After I eventually found my wife, I told her how tough it was and was gutted I missed 4 hours. She said you didn't, takes out the tracking app, 3:59:33. Made the pains in the legs slightly better knowing I had got sub 4.

Thanks again to the mentors for everything and to my fellow novices, it was great following everyone's journey to DCM 2018.

I promised myself yesterday I'd never do it again, starting to think about it again reading all these race reports though....