Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCM 2018 - Mentored Novice Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Strawberry Swan

Bib No.|Username|Target Time|Actual Time
    11799|Mr. Guappa|03:59:59|4:13:21
    5524|coogy|03:40:00|03:57:01|
    17857|Helenasca|04:40:00|04:46:32|
    9724|roosterman71|03:50:00|
    17251|kittyclaws|04:50:00|04:46:01|
    2167|sann|03:40:00|3:37:44|
    |Summerflower|04:29:59|
    |Chippyrun|04:30:00|
    18515|Themadhouse|04:29:59|4:39:51
    14084|Aoifemcc19|04:45:00|4:37:12
    19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|
    |Chabsey|03:15:00|3:15:50|
    3608|imknackered|03:28:00|03:21:05|
    |tbukela|03:38:00|
    |Naked Lepper|04:15:00|04:18:45
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|
    |cullenswood|03:29:59|03:26:34|
    8176|ReeReeG|03:49:30|
    |Bucketybuck|03:59:99|03:55:38|
    |Pilot1087|04:40:00|
    16144|Strawberry Swan|04:30:00|4:45:18
    12563|Applegirl26|04:40:00|04:55:17
    18033|aloooof|04:25:00|4:26:49
    |hedgehoggy|03:43:30|
    14086|Misky|04:45:00|4:37:14
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|
    |AdrianII |03:59:59|03:39:52
    |Comic Book Guy |03:26:00|
    |The man in red and black |03:45:00|
    |Rossi7 |03:54:59|
    7312 |eyrie |03:57:30|03:55:26|
    |Clibee|04:40:00|
    |downtheroad|03:30:00|
    |Corbally|04:00:00|
    |blueberrypie |04:40:00|
    |Hobbyjogger |03:49:59|03:54:23|
    |Effibear |04:50:00|
    10809|juke|04:50:00|05:01:38
    |bluestone |04:25:00|
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|
    11521| Julie2tubz |04:25:00|04:30:23|
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|

It wasn't my day but I did my best and enjoyed it anyway. Report to follow soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭M.m.m.

ariana` wrote: »
    Huge congratulations to the 2018 Graduates!!!!!

It was lovely to meet some of you beforehand and afterward in McGrattans. Unfortunately I wasn't in the best shape myself (I think i may have forgotten to take some of my own advice) so I apologise if I seemed a bit out of it. Thank you so much for the amazing but totally unnecessarily generous gift. Coogy you are one talented man.

I'm not sure what happened you Ariana but I'm genuinely sorry to read that your own marathon didn't go that well.
    You really deserved a sub 4 and all your training pointed to it.

Hopefully other results on shorter races you do now will make up for the bad day you had.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Eoineo

Congratulations everybody!
    I'm not going to post a blow-by-blow account because honestly I haven't processed it that far yet. I did what I set out to do, completed the marathon in less than my target time. I hadn't added myself to the list as my times are ridiculously slower compared to the rest of you and I've felt a bit of a fraud.
    Nonetheless I'm officially a marathoner now.

The support on the first half of the route was incredible. As a slow runner it was difficult completing the second half in near deathly silence until we reached the British Embassy. I partnered with a fellow club member and we completed it together which really helped. Also my husband literally popped up 4 times on the route, completing his own half marathon on the day to meet me at different points. The club support at the last mile to the finish was brilliant because many of our group were volunteering. I'm glad it's done.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭blueberrypie

Blueberry pie here.
    Bib no. 19428
    Actual time 4 hr 36
    if anyone would like to update the table for me.

2nd marathon for me but 1st DCM. A PB by 21 minutes.
    Amazing Atmosphere, amazing supporters.
    Looking forward to 2019 already.

On a side note:
    Cork marathon organisers needs to seriously
    up their game and put in fan zones etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

Eoineo wrote: »
    I'm not going to post a blow-by-blow account because honestly I haven't processed it that far yet. I did what I set out to do, completed the marathon in less than my target time. I hadn't added myself to the list as my times are ridiculously slower compared to the rest of you and I've felt a bit of a fraud.

Your achievement is no less worthy than anyone else here.

Congratulations - fellow graduate :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

The support on the first half of the route was incredible. As a slow runner it was difficult completing the second half in near deathly silence until we reached the British Embassy.

Yeah, as a slow runner too, I can empathise with that. People talk about the amazing Castleknock and Dolphin's Barn and the like, and while I did get good reception there last year, I don't think I quite got the full effect of the amazingness of it all as a lot had gone home by the time I'd passed there. Still, it made those who were out all the more appreciated. Well done Eoineo!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

The support on the first half of the route was incredible. As a slow runner it was difficult completing the second half in near deathly silence until we reached the British Embassy. I partnered with a fellow club member and we completed it together which really helped. Also my husband literally popped up 4 times on the route, completing his own half marathon on the day to meet me at different points. The club support at the last mile to the finish was brilliant because many of our group were volunteering. I'm glad it's done.
    juke wrote: »
    Your achievement is no less worthy than anyone else here.

Congratulations - fellow graduate :)

You got the same medal and top as everybody else!! Nothing fraudulent about that!!! Congrats and well done.

• Boards.ie Employee Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭✭✭Boards.ie: Mark
    Boards.ie Employee

Well done everyone on a fantastic achievement and a big thanks to the mentors too for providing great advice and support over the weeks. Hope ye were all able to put the feet up yesterday and bask in the glory of your accomplishment :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

I hadn't added myself to the list as my times are ridiculously slower compared to the rest of you and I've felt a bit of a fraud.
    Congratulations!!! And I'm sorry you felt like a fraud at any stage - personally I think getting through it as you did in the second half when it was quieter takes more guts and perseverance than anything!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Soooo am i allowed ask yet... when are we allowed back running? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

I always remember the guy Gary Kirwan who used to be on with Ray D'arcy - he was 41 stone when he started a weight loss programme and lost a huge amount of weight. Later that year he did the Dublin marathon in 11 hrs. For him, that was as big an achievement as it was for the person who won the race that year.
    So don't feel like a fraud by any stretch of the imagination. Your achievement is just as great.

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭smashiner

Well done Novices, some great race reports coming in, keep em coming!

Firstly, great job by Ariana,Kellygirl and Skyblue for the running of yet another fantastic DCM Novice thread...take a well deserved bow!

It was nice to bump into a few of you outside the Shelbourne Hotel on the morning too. I took a chance walking up to a bunch of complete strangers and asking 'are you on Boards.ie':D

Incentive and I decided to run the first 10K/Half together as we had similar strategies for pacing, this was a really good idea as it was great to chat to someone in the build up to keep the nerves calm.

My brief race report:
    My target was to 'have a look at Sub 4' and see how I felt at mile 20. I ran my most sensible DCM ever, hit the 10K mark at 58 minutes, hit the HM point at 2:01 on the button, negative split exactly where I wanted to be. But for some reason my legs felt weary right from the get go, and I was feeling a bit strange/lethargic at the HM point versus previous DCM's. I need to look at my tapering and see did I do too much/too little in the last 2-3 weeks.

I met the OH and daughter at mile 14 and then one of my best friends at mile 16, a much needed lift and fresh water bottles too. I was still a minute behind the Sub 4 pace and I decided to 'have a go' at it anyway and I lifted the pace up until mile 20 and I actually caught up with times on the pace band, but I kind of knew that I wasn't going to be able to keep that going for another 10K unless something magical was about to happen to my legs.....it didn't :rolleyes:.

I started to slowed down a little bit for the next 2-3K and I then accepted that I was going to blow up into a 1,000 pieces if I kept that pace up, especially going up Roebuck Road, so I decided to dial it back a little and aim for a PB instead.......a wise decision.

I chugged along for the last 4 miles (4 painful painful miles), but kept it together and High 5'd as many kids as I could along the way. I had my name on my top and I had to change over to running on the other side of the road as my left arm was sore after a while...no kidding.

I managed to finish in 4:07:52....over a 10 minute PB for me and finished fairly strong (by that I mean the strong marathon shuffle), really happy with my race overall. My legs are wrecked, but should be ok in a day or two. I then met my OH and Daughter at the finish line and shuffled down Grafton street and the nicest gourmet meal ever in McDonalds with a chocolate milkshake.....bliss...

Well done to Incentive too, sorry we lost each other at about 8 miles, you were slightly ahead of me and then I looked up and you were gone, DCM 2019 awaits us:D

I think that I saw AQuinn (former DCM Novice too) at Kilmainham in her Crusaders top, but I could have been hallucinating,a bit like I was in 2014!!

To anyone that had a tough debut, don't be too hard on yourself as the first DCM is very hard especially the last 6 miles (I had a mare debut a few years ago), be proud of your achievements.....after all you are now a MARATHON RUNNER and not everyone can say that!!

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Alorra

eyrie wrote: »
    Congratulations!!! And I'm sorry you felt like a fraud at any stage - personally I think getting through it as you did in the second half when it was quieter takes more guts and perseverance than anything!

This to me says it all, it is just fact, more guts and more perservance - well done you are a marthon runner Eoineo.

• Registered Users Posts: 375 ✭✭tbukela

9724|roosterman71|03:50:00|
    19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|
    |tbukela|03:38:00|03:49:53|
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|
    |blueberrypie |04:40:00|
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|

Not the result I was hoping for, I was on track for a sub 3:40 for 22 miles. The finish was pretty tough but I got home with a 25 min PB so I'm happy with that.
    Well done to everyone on their marathon journeys, I hope everyone is justifiably proud of what you have achieved. I would like to echo the thanks to the mentors for their phenomenal support. This has been one of my favourite threads to follow on Boards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭coogy

I hope nobody minds but I'm going to post my race report here as well as on my training log.

As this is my first marathon, I've tried to provide as detailed and honest an account as my memory will allow. It's more for my benefit than anything (how selfish) but if you can take any encouragement or positives from reading it, all the better! Apologies if it goes on a bit. ;)

So here were were, the day that all of the months of hard were leading up to. The feelings of extreme nerves during the previous couple of weeks had gradually turned to excitement in the days before the marathon and I was eventually in full 'race mode', feeling very focused.
    The day before the main event, I had everything prepared, race clothes, change of clothes, fuelling, the works. I was starting to feel really good about this.

Pre-race
    On the morning of the race (after a fitful night's sleep), I got a lift in with some lads from Waterstown RC. I'd never actually met any of them before, they were friends with a girl that I work with and they kindly offered me a lift in when they'd heard I was stuck for transport. It was cold enough, as predicted, but I could already tell that it was the beginning of a perfect weather day for running.

Had a nice relaxing journey in with a few laughs along the way and as most of them were experienced marathoners, they gave me a few last minute pointers to send me on my way.

Arrived in town about 8am and made my way up to Stephen's Green to meet my fellow Boardsies for a brief meet up before we made our way back down to the bag drop off. The buzz around the city was something to behold and it was really only then that I fully understood the sheer enormity of the event. Around Merrion Square. there were runners literally everywhere I looked. Controlled mayhem is an accurate description I think. Removed a few outer layers and made sure I had everything I needed before dropping off my bag. A much needed trip to the portaloo was had, then like a lost sheep, headed up towards the Green start line.

Apart from a few last minute stretches, I honestly didn't know what to do to pass the time. Thankfully, before I knew it, the crowd started moving along up to Fitzwilliam St. and I followed the 3:40 pacers to the start line. In typical 'me' fashion, it was at that moment that I started to doubt my plan of achieving a 3:40 time. Common sense would have to be the order of the day, I thought. Even if I eventually found myself running with the 3:50 pacers, it wouldn't necessarily be a bad day at the office.

My heart was thumping as 9:15am approached and all of a sudden, off we went.

The race
    Miles 1-6

Naturally, as expected, things were slow to get moving but I still enjoyed the atmosphere around me, trying to soak it all in. The first mile came and went in a flash, couldn't believe how quickly it had passed. Up past Patrick's cathedral and towards Christchurch, I was feeling great, helped in no small part by the perfect running conditions. At this point, I was more than happy for the 3:40 pacers to be ahead of me, as long as I kept them within my sights.
    The first lag of the day - Blackhall Place/Stoneybatter - brought the first little mis-hap. I took at bottle from the water station and after removing the lid to drop the half a zero tab in, I dropped the lid and somehow managed to pick it up quickly enough not to impede any other runners. Way too close for comfort. Had to make sure the next one went more smoothly.
    There was great support along NCR and as soon as we got into the park, I had to prepare myself for Chesterfield Ave. I was trying my best to match my pace band against my watch and although I was 10-15 seconds faster for miles 3, 4 and 5, I still thought I was running at a moderate enough pace. Picked out my first bit of support along Chesterfield Ave which gave me a great boost. The stretch along this par to the route was not as much of a drag as I was anticipating and as we hit the 10k mark, I couldn't believe how quickly the miles were passing by. Still, checking my pace and was still averaging 8:15-8:20m/mile. Took a gel during mile 6.

Miles 7-14
    Exiting the Castleknock gates was a completely different kettle of fish. The support was immense and the band on stage really carried us along. There was a real carnival atmosphere and I was astounded at the lengths some people had gone to with their posters, banners and shouts of encouragement towards their own families and friends. Lots of high-fives were the order of the day and added to the feel-good factor before we made our descent back into the Phoenix Park. Looking back, it was this moment that may have been a turning point for me. I was more than aware that I needed to take it easy but as I checked my pace for mile 8 as we entered the Phoenix Park once more, alarm bells rang when I saw 7:57. There was a marginal improvement for the next mile as we headed towards Chapelizod gates but was back into 7 minute territory on the next downhill stretch of the Upper Glen Rd.
    St. Laurence Rd was manageable enough and by this point I was just looking forward to running through Kilmainham where my wife and two kids would hopefully be waiting. Heard my name being shouted out as we ran down Sarsfield Rd and saw it was another familiar face.
    The anticipation of seeing my family was almost too much to bear and found myself having to fight back some tears of emotion at the thought of seeing them. As we approached South Circular Road, I was frantically scanning the crowd for a sign of them and there they were, just outside the gates of the Royal Hospital. Simply put, I lost the plot as I jumped foy joy and let out shouts of delight that I were almost out of my control. A sight that no doubt will be etched into the memory of my kids for some years to come. My plans of high-fiving them were not to be as one of the stewards had asked my wife to move slightly away from the road just before I appeared and the photo opp she had been waiting ages for came and went. I was so disappointed for her and was almost tempted to turn back but knew that would be crazy. Still, I was so happy to see them.
    My actual pace and my pace band were still not that far apart and as we entered Rialto. Fantastic support again from the locals who were armed with tubs of jellies, oranges, apples bananas, jaffa cakes, the works. It was as this point that I felt that something was not quite right. Running along the Crumlin Rd, I experienced the first sign of tiredness in the legs and as we approached the half way point in 1h:50m, I begun to wonder how on earth I was going to cope if I was feeling like this now and felt like I was now left with a serious uphill battle if I wanted to achieve a negative split. The pacers were now further away than ever and could just about make out the white balloons in the distance. Took a gel at mile 11, followed by water with Zero tab.

Miles 15-20
    I knew my parents would be waiting for me on the Cromwellsfort Rd so perhaps that would give me another much needed boost. As we neared the Walkinstown roundabout, the support was phenomenal and I found myself dipping in to some of the jellies on offer. Not something I had planned to do at any stage of the race and saw it as an ominous sign of what was to come.
    I spotted my parents outside the Submarine Bar, just where they said they would be and once again, excitement took over, so much so that I decided not to take the banana that my dad was patiently holding out for me. I wondered if I would eventually regret that.
    The thrill I felt very quickly vanished and I was back to where I was before, feeling tired in the legs and a general feeling of discomfort. At this point, I had begun to lose a little bit of focus and was no longer aware of where we were on the route. The 3:40 pacers had begun to pull out of sight completely. Not a good sign.
    What followed after Templeogue/Terenure is all a bit hazy. I became quite disoriented and the tiredness in the legs very quickly progressed into an actual ache. My pace was gradually becoming slower and it felt like everything was going wrong very quickly. Panic begun to set in. I thought as long as I maintained this slightly slower pace, I would still perhaps manage a 3:45 finish or thereabouts. I became less and less aware of the crowds of supporters around me and before long their cheers and clapping were doing absolutely nothing for me whatsoever. I noticed some runners around me had begun to walk and for the first time I wondered if that would eventually be my fate. After Terenure, my sense of location grew less and less and even the prospect of facing the infamous wall barely registered with me. I noticed that as my pace lessened, more and more runners with much fresher legs than mine were passing me by. This was not the plan and as much as I tried, I just couldn't push any harder. Then, somewhere around the Milltown area - I can't be sure of this - the legs went. Cramp - something I've never experienced before - had well and truly set in and I could feel (and see) the muscles in my legs tighten. I pulled up with severe pain in the back of my legs and had no choice but to stop running. I was devastated. As I limped on, with other runners offering words of encouragement, I kept looking behind for the 3:50 pacers. Still nothing. I stretched for a minute at the side of the road and started to run again at a much slower pace. Again, the legs went and the pain was becoming worse.
    Took another gel at mile 20.

Miles 21-26
    I just kept walking, and I was in good company too as the number of walkers grew. I hoped that after a few minutes of walking, the pain in my legs would pass. After a few more stretches, I tried running again but this time the pain was at its worst and the legs turned into a jelly-like state and I stopped once more. I didn't know where to turn, what to do or what to think. I was in pain, I could barely walk and worst of all, sub 4 now felt like an impossible task. I felt like crying but I wouldn't allow it. I took another glance over my shoulder and there they were in the distance, the 3:50 pacers. My heart sank and as I limped up towards Roebuck Rd, I let out a very loud "NOOOOOOOOO!!!!!" in complete frustration. The pace on my watch read 12:29 and at that moment, I honestly felt like packing it in there and then but knew that wasn't really an option. The pacers glided past and all I could do was watch. I managed another half mile or so of light running and in desperation, I asked an onlooker if I could take a drink of her coke, thinking that it would help somehow. She saw I was in trouble and very kindly obliged. Couldn't possible say whether it had a positive or adverse effect. Took two clif bloks.
    Like with the previous few miles, I really had no idea where I was and as the crowds grew in size, all I wanted was for them to disappear. I saw another familiar face but didn't even have the energy to call their name out. By now, the 3:50 pacers were nowhere to be seen.
    As we turned onto Stillorgan Rd, I somehow managed to start running again at a reasonably moderate pace and thought that maybe, if I pushed enough, I could catch up with the 3:50 pacers but I clearly knew this was too big an ask. Just before Nutley lane, the legs went again but not quite as bad as before so I walked again for another minute while checking the time on my watch and saw that just over 3 and a half hours had elapsed. I did the maths in my head and knew that it would take all my strength to make sub 4 at this point. I started off running once more and prepared myself for the final stretch.
    I was able to pick up the pace with the pain in my legs just about manageable and begun to overtake a good few other runners as we approached Ballsbridge. I now knew that if I were to stop again between here and the finish line, it was all over so I dug deep and ran through pain like I've never known. The last half a mile seemed to go on forever and all the previous romantic notions I'd had before today of approaching the finish line completely went out the window. I was utterly spent by now and the noise from the crowds, which had almost trebled in size, became almost overwhelming to me and as crazy as it sounds, I tried as hard as I could to block it all out. I kept telling myself that I had to stop but something - I don't know what - made me plough on. I could see the official time ahead was 03:56.xx so pushed hard once again for the final 200 metres and crossed the finish line in a complete daze. Official time was 03:57:01

Once I had crossed the finish line, all I wanted to do was to sit down on the ground but there was enough common sense coming from the race stewards to tell me that it was not the most sensible idea in the world. I could barely walk, I couldn't speak and as the medal was placed over my head, it barely registered with me. After receiving my race t-shirt and goodie bag (how disappointing was THAT by the way?), I made my way slowly up to collect my bag.
    No-post race selfies, no tears, no smiles, no hugs from family and a whopping 17 minutes outside my target time. At that moment, I felt like a fraud and most of all embarrassed for aiming my sights so high, telling the world how I was gunning for a 3:40 finish. It was the exact opposite to how I imagined this moment to be. I couldn't have felt any more low.
    I rang my wife and it turned out they couldn't get anywhere near the finish line to see me so I got changed (very slowly) amongst the hoardes of fellow finishers and went off to meet them before saying a very brief farewell to the other Boards crew who had gathered in McGrattans. Would have loved to have stayed but it wasn't to be.

Later that evening, while sitting at home on the couch watching tv and thinking about the whole day, I burst into tears. Just like that. Better later than never I suppose.

Looking back, I think there were many factors which contributed to my horror show (pacing/fuelling/competitive streak/inexperience) but I have gradually gotten over my disappointment and know deep down that I should be proud of what I achieved, especially in the last few miles.
    I will definitely be back next year, stronger, wiser and hopefully this time with a realistic goal and new PB.

Thanks to everyone who shared the experience with me. We did good! (Didn't we?)

Great read coogy. You gave it all of your heart and soul, not the actions of a fraud.

Be very proud with your sub 4 and for finishing strong. You've graduated - 3.40 will be there for you another day.

The funny thing is coogy, I am completely the same today. I was peed off Sunday, and yesterday, but today I am thinking "2019 is another year", there are things I can and will do better for it and I will be in a sterile chamber in the days before to avoid illness. I can't wait till Thursday to register for 2019 and forget about this year.
    And other stories posted on here put things in perspective too. It is only a marathon, even if it felt like death towards the end!
    My hopes for 2019 are a sub 4 hr marathon, a healthy arrival of my 1st child, and that we all make the start line again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

wonder when the finisher pics will be uploaded, they said 24-48 hours on their website..
    gone 48 hours now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭sann

wonder when the finisher pics will be uploaded, they said 24-48 hours on their website..
    gone 48 hours now :)

Just checked there now and they are up

• Registered Users Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭Lazare

Coogy, your race is a carbon copy of mine. All except for the running down the last stretch bit. I was carried down it.

I know what colossal effort that took to do. Pat yourself on the back.

Fantastic report.

• Registered Users Posts: 360 ✭✭irlpic

Has anyone signed up for the 2019 KBC Dublin City Marathon? Priority access emails were sent out earlier today for anyone who completed this year.

irlpic wrote: »
    Has anyone signed up for the 2019 KBC Dublin City Marathon? Priority access emails were sent out earlier today for anyone who completed this year.

Didn't get an e-mail, maybe they decided they don't want to let this donkey in again!!

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭effibear

Here we go, sorry hard to write a short post about a marathon.

I was lucky to experience no real niggles throughout training, missed no long runs bar the last one. Last week however one mile into a four mile easy run I got a pain in my calf and shin that stopped me in my tracks. I initially fobbed it off as maranoia because surely this would have been building up and who manages to get an injury tapering down. Booked physio app and he wasn’t overly optimistic about my chances. I followed his plan to the letter and by the next appointment I had improved significantly and was given the green light to give it a bash if a test run on the Friday wasn’t painful. Test run I felt great so I was delighted to be making the start line. Because I’d spent the week thinking it was off the cards, I was woefully unprepared in terms of thinking about stragedy and timing etc. I just decided to go with my original plans which wasn’t a great idea in hindesight.

I met with the group at the shelbourne, and headed to bag drop with strawberry swan, Applegirl and juke. Was lovely to have people to have a natter with before hand. I was in the same wave as juke and Applegirl so we started out together. Felt great at the first few miles, didn’t feel like pace was too fast but there was a heaviness in the leg I wasn’t expecting.

Castleknock was fantastic, I had ran it a few times in training and found it a drag so this was a nice surprise. I was looking forward to the downhill section ahead but once I got to it my calf started to tighten. I was still running with Juke at this stage, had lost Applegirl somewhere along the way. At Chapelizod I met a family member - quick stop and fell behind Juke. My intention was to slowly catch back up with her as I had really enjoyed running with company but it wasn’t to be. Calf really started to tighten as I headed up Laurence’s Hill, so I slowed right down. As i did the 4.30 pacers and crew came past me like a truck. I had to move to the side as the road was narrow enough but stopping mid hill- I really struggled to get going again. I had to walk up the hill.

From there every time I got near an incline my leg cramped up. I realised I was going to have to walk the inclines to continue or I was going to end up in pain. Mile 11-12 are a bit of a blur. I knew the leg might not hold up but t but I had expected it to happen later on the race. Having a half a marathon ahead of me run walking seemed too much. My family were just past the halfway so I made that my aim, ran when I could, walked whenever I had to too. Met the family, got a pep talk and decided to finish even if it meant taking a long time. I was only racing myself after all. From there I ignored mile markers and just divided up the miles in my head, one foot in front of the other, walked the inclines, sadly had to walk the sharper declines too which seemed a bit cruel! Towards the end I was jogging a lot more than walking. Once I turned the corner onto n11 I knew I’d make it one way or the other. Crowds really picked up last few miles, great boost, I had hoped when I saw the line I’d be able to pick up the pace for the sprint finish but my left leg continued to not cooperate. Cried when I finally got there- will not be opening that finisher pic email when it arrives :-D.

I’m proud of myself for getting through it. I already had decided a few weeks ago no more marathons until the kids are older which is why I wanted to finish regardless of time. Might do another for my 40th but until then I want to keep running regularly. I want to sort out my strength issues that the injury highlighted. Long term I would like to speed up a little also and get better at the shorter stuff.

Thanks to the mentors for all your time and advice along the way. Thanks to Applegirl and Juke for helping keeping my nerves in check beforehand and good company along the way. I’ve no regrets, ego a little bruised by being 45 mins longer than my planned time of 4.50 but happy I got there in the end- the mental battles of the marathon are exhausting!

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭sann

irlpic wrote: »

Ya. Registered this morning. No time like the present!!

effibear wrote: »
    I’m proud of myself for getting through it. I already had decided a few weeks ago no more marathons until the kids are older which is why I wanted to finish regardless of time. Might do another for my 40th but until then I want to keep running regularly. I want to sort out my strength issues that the injury highlighted. Long term I would like to speed up a little also and get better at the shorter stuff.

Thanks to the mentors for all your time and advice along the way. Thanks to Applegirl and Juke for helping keeping my nerves in check beforehand and good company along the way. I’ve no regrets, ego a little bruised by being 45 mins longer than my planned time of 4.50 but happy I got there in the end- the mental battles of the marathon are exhausting!

Tough day - you were so brave to keep going, knowing so early that all was not right, I'm not sure I'd have had your strength. Well done.

And likewise, thanks for the company, it was really invaluable to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Helenasca

I obviously paid more attention to the smile when you cross the line advice then the start slow advice :)

Delighted to have this great photo

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Dealerz2.0

Finally got a few minutes to write a race report!

I really enjoyed the training plan, it was great to go into work and mark off the previous weeks number of miles completed. It really is a fanastic journey.

Training itself was relatively injury free (a calf issue set me back only a few days) except for the last two weeks of taper. A pain in the arch of my left foot meant (and thanks to advice from mentors) I only ran 13 miles in the last two weeks. However i spent the taper weeks in complete maranoia ( and a nitemare to live with too) as to whether I could run for 26 miles or not and Im glad I chose to take the chance and get to the start line.

With that 2 weeks of "non" activity plus the sore foot I made another big novice mistake of thinking I had a faster pace than was possible in me.

The morning of the marathon I had breakfast (normally have 2 wheatabix) about 6:45am, had a banana about 8am. I think this was a complete novice mistake too as that was all the solid food I had till post marathon and I think resulted in my stomach cramping during race.

I made another novice mistake by getting caught up in just "being" in the marathon streets, in that I didnt warm up......at all!!! Stupid stuff!

I had a friend from work with my second bottle of premade tailwind at mile 11 but already at that stage the lack of food I felt was kicking in and I was finding the drink difficult to "enjoy".

So back to the race itself:

Walking and lining up in wave 3 with friends created a great positive excitment for me, really started to feel the sense of achievement from completing the training plans.

So once I got started I felt so relieved, no pain in the foot, "managing" my pace and let a few mates pull away from me. I was looking for a 2:01 half for a fast second half ( I know now I was being rediculous!).

Felt strong going through Pheonix Park, met supporters I knew heading into Castleknock ( they said I looked really strong!), the crowds will stay with me for ever- amazing.

Took a jelly off someone just before Kilmainham and I nearly choked, couldnt get it down at all :eek: - saw the newspaper headlines!!!

My sister in law surprised me by being at Kilmainham, gave her and her husband a great big hug...felt great.

The crowds in Dolphins Barn and Crumlin were my highlight...honestly felt I was in Tour de France, they were so close and so noisey....that alone would make me come back for more!

Turned down to Cromwelsforth Road and I think thats were my stomach started to act up, pain in foot was still manageable. Met (and hugged again!) a mate I havent seen in years....buzzing!

Unfortuately the body was telling me it wasnt happy now. I knew someone in work was going to be there at mile 17....must have missed them...energy left me. For the first time in all my training my quads got so tight that they stopped me in my tracks.

From Rathgar onwards, it was a torture, I tried to run and walk as much as I could to try and get home...its strange its not that a thought of giving up entered my head but I just knew I had to get to the finish line no matter what, I had done so much training, I WILL FINISH THIS NO MATTER WHAT.

Pacers passed me, I was down but not out. Those last miles were a complete blur. Every muscle was burning and my stomach was off!

I got a great buzz when I saw my mam and sister and brother and sister in law on the home straight...missed my wife and kids, which was really disappointing...but cant be helped

Cramped up with 5 feet out and hobbled over the line....I DID IT.....A MARATHON!!!! I welled up with tears of happiness as I knew my wife and kids would be so proud of me and the money I raised for charity.

So all in all, I loved the training, I endured the pain of a "bad" race, I made mistakes....but they are the memories and mental images of my first marathon.

Thanks for all the great internet running friends I made along the way and thanks especially to the mentors for giving your time to this thread and runners.

....have to go...will fix spelling issues later!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭Steve

9724|roosterman71|03:50:00|04:00:31
    19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|05:25:27
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|03:59:33
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|03:28:13
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|04:23:02
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|04:12:13
    19428|blueberrypie |04:40:00|04:36:03
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|04:28:24
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|04:01:56

Adding others that gave bib numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Hedgehoggy

9724|roosterman71|03:50:00|04:00:31
    19107|MickOB94|04:45:00|05:25:27
    9584|yido1882|03:59:00|03:59:33
    8187|hedgehoggy|03:43:30|3:38:48
    8060|Alorra|03:40:00|03:28:13
    11654|Dealerz2.0|04:15:00|04:23:02
    10516|Buzwaldo |04:10:00|04:12:13
    19428|blueberrypie |04:40:00|04:36:03
    16260| Corcaigh07 |04:29:59|04:28:24
    12008| ryaner777|04:00:00|04:01:56

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Super time Hedgehoggy....all that's missing is the race report! ;)