Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pavee point criticise judge for telling truth

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Shows you how much respect they have for our police force.

Ridiculous they had to get a search warrant.

If someone is a suspect and then attacks someone the guards should be able to get them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

If someone is a suspect and then attacks someone the guards should be able to get them.

It is beyond insane that a search warrant was needed to enter a house someone walked out of and assaulted a police officer. Assaulted anyone actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

I read a survey a year or two ago that showed the majority of Irish people, when given the choice, would rather have refugees as their neighbor over travellers.
    That said a lot for me, that most people would rather have people of different nationality and race living next door to them than other Irish people (travellers) with whom they should easily and readily identify with.

No-one hates living near travellers more than other travellers.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Now it has to be said, I don't know for a fact that it was travellers in that incident but I know there are a good few tax payer funded settled traveller gafs up round ballyogan and when I read that that gardai were attacked with a baseball bat and had a dog (dag) set on them, my life experience leads me to certain conclusions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,707 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

psinno wrote: »
    Does anyone think they are?
    Someone posted 15% of male prisoners are travellers. Obviously the other 85% are not.

And if 15 % of men in the country were travellers the ratio of travellers to non travellers in prison would be 1
    As in travellers are equally likely to be in prison to anyone else in the country
    However the percentage of men in Ireland that are travellers is 0.7 meaning that all other things being equal, travellers are over 21 times more likely to be in prision at any time than non travellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Wow it's been a while since we had a good traveller bashing thread

• Registered Users Posts: 33,268 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

begbysback wrote: »
    Wow it's been a while since we had a good traveller bashingfact-stating thread

fyp;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,707 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Statistically it’s the traveller women that get bashed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

A "good traveller" bashing thread would be crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,268 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

A "good traveller" bashing thread would be crap.

It would be very short.

• Site Banned Posts: 8 Tournament

Trash people, I hate them.

Everyday I go without seeing one is a good day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

"Has been released and a file sent to the DPP" has to translate into "aaaaand that's the end of it".
    Or maybe there will be a trial which will be put back 15 times and finally canceled.
    Or in the end yerman gets a suspended sentence. I can understand that the Gardai don't want to do anything and don't want to know.
    Who would like it if their work got flushed down the toilet every single day. And if your work was dangerous as well, at some stage you will say " kiss my arse" and not bother anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Ill give you an insight into Collins.

I used to do a small bit of animal rescue and rehoming, specialising in lurchers. Really low key, 2 man operation, probably helped rehome less than 30 dogs here in the few years we did it.

Lurchers are the dog of choice for travellers and in my vast experience having been dealing with the breed for years, they are treated absolutely horrendously, by that 'small minority we always hear about I am sure :rolleyes:

Many people with lurchers as pets will also tell you that they can be subject to harassment and intimidation from this 'small minority' when walking their pets. Lurchers are at great risk of theft if left tied up outside shops, unsupervised in gardens etc.

I would always warn potential adopters about the fact that they might receive unwanted attention from the 'small minority' when they have their lurchers based on our experience with the breed and in email correspondence to a potential adopter I did just that.

Anyway turned out the potential adopter, who was a barrister was a fruit loop and also unsuitable for the dog she was interested in and she didn't take too kindly to me refusing her permission to adopt him, so she forwarded my email on to Collins, as well as my private mobile phone number which I had used to discuss her application.

Collins to proceeded to ring me up and threaten me down the phone that he would be taking me to court for slander against travellers or some such. I had just given birth 2 weeks previously and had this aggressive fool ringing my private number on behalf of a, I would assume, government funded organisation threatening me over the phone. It was highly upsetting and I warned him in no uncertain terms that if he called me again I would report him to the Guards for harassment.

So that might give you some insight into the mindset of Collins and an insight into the great work he is doing on behalf of travellers:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

Awful race of people, thankfully their continued inbreeding will see them implode sooner or later.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Travellers setting up 'camp' wherever they like up and down the country has almost ruined motorhoming and caravaning.
    This has a massive knock on negative effect for small businesses and Sunday markets due to the lack of trade from same said tourists. They are a blight on the countryside. Utter scum

Shankill they have 2 motor homes at road side.

This absolutely sends me into rage......

Sick fcuking bastardos

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

And that probably explains why this pair were in Newcastlewest :

https://www.thesun.ie/news/2506282/paedophile-tag-team-james-white-and-jason-lydiard-detained-by-cops-after-theyre-tied-to-armagh-park-bench-and-covered-in-blue-paint-in-citizens-arrest/

A major Garda warning was issued after the pair were accused of approaching children in Newcastle West

• Registered Users Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Now it has to be said, I don't know for a fact that it was travellers in that incident but I know there are a good few tax payer funded settled traveller gafs up round ballyogan and when I read that that gardai were attacked with a baseball bat and had a dog (dag) set on them, my life experience leads me to certain conclusions.

Your life experience directed ya the wrong way this time.Unless there's travellers in Lagos.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It got a lot of media attention at the time.

As it's a sex case a lot of the details weren't allowed to be broadcast, so no names of the people involved.

It also has to be said that there's nothing to link this to travellers. Members of the settled community are well able to do this and worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Members of the settled community are well able to do this and worse.

But I have never heard of entire families in the settled community who are child abusers. Its usually just one person or at most two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Dr Brown wrote: »
    But I have never heard of entire families in the settled community who are child abusers. Its usually just one person or at most two.

If only that were true.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

This has ever been the case. Those defending travellers have invariably never lived beside a halting site nor had large numbers illegally camped next to them.

True.

Of all the people I know, not one single person has ever reported a pleasant experience with travellers - dozens have told me of negative experiences. I used to have to deal with them a fair bit in an old job and practically all my own personal dealings were negative, got to the stage where you'd almost class it as a good experience if you weren't abused, threatened or robbed.

In my own personal experience they are an absolutely horrible group of people - I'd be perfectly happy to never so much as see another one. They're best avoided, full stop!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

gctest50 wrote: »

Anyone else hear of this "major warning" last week by gardai ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭verycool

I feel sorry for the women and children in that community. What awful, awful lives of abuse and insecurity, combined with being deprived of all the cultural, social and economic opportunities we take for advantage - be it reading, writing, finishing school/ university, doing music or language classes and so much else.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Drunken belt-ups at weddings/funerals/bar-mitzvahs are one thing, but to me it is an astounding individual that will arm themselves with something like a slash-hook and enthusiastically swing it at another person's head. Some of these characters are really on a different planet...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Vel wrote: »
    I used to do a small bit of animal rescue and rehoming, specialising in lurchers. Really low key, 2 man operation, probably helped rehome less than 30 dogs here in the few years we did it...

Stunning animals. Bless ye for that work.
    So sorry you had to endure that. You may well have made a very good call though with that would-be adopter by the sounds of it. They were a nasty piece of work.
    It is hard to watch animals with such a noble nature being neglected.