Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unpopular GAA opinion - MOD Note #426

• Registered Users Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

TrueGael wrote: »
    It's easy say 'change the station', 'Ignore it' but it is incredibly difficult as every newspaper , TV Station, Radio Station & Social Media constantly bombards us with Dublin GAA 24/7, no other county gets 10% of the attention. No wonder they can attract such a high volume of sponsors - they are bigger than the sport

Kilkenny certainly didn't when they were winning left right and centre. Tyrone didn't in the 00's and Kerry most certainly didn't at any point.

And it's not even all entirely Football related - The WAGS get loads of attention as well - it's reminiscent of the England soccer team under Sven the coverage is overbearing and really grates on neutrals

You're a bitter little man.

Its Saturday afternoon, throw on a bit of Garth Brooks and relax.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

It's easy say 'change the station', 'Ignore it' but it is incredibly difficult as every newspaper , TV Station, Radio Station & Social Media constantly bombards us with Dublin GAA 24/7, no other county gets 10% of the attention. No wonder they can attract such a high volume of sponsors - they are bigger than the sport

Kilkenny certainly didn't when they were winning left right and centre. Tyrone didn't in the 00's and Kerry most certainly didn't at any point.

And it's not even all entirely Football related - The WAGS get loads of attention as well - it's reminiscent of the England soccer team under Sven the coverage is overbearing and really grates on neutrals

More drivel. You don't even acknowledge when you've been proven wrong. Wallow in your obsession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Whatever about jerseys and the likes, the one that annoys me is the Dublin 1916 shirt 'the city that took on an empire'. Arrogance, historical ignorance etc all in one fu**in shirt
    On one hand, that's a good argument for people not to wear them. On the other, it's a perfect justification for making them mandatory whenever Dublin play Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

The spectacle of an All Ireland Final is much more breathtaking under floodlights, similar to Mayo/Dublin replay in 2016 and the Cork/Clare replay of 2013.

I think it would be worth doing bigger games on a trial basis on Saturday evenings.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Gael85

Bonniedog wrote: »
    More drivel. You don't even acknowledge when you've been proven wrong. Wallow in your obsession.

I wouldnt bother replying to TG. He is clearly a WUM and attention seeker who clearly gets his/her kicks trolling on Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,076 ✭✭✭zetecescort

The spectacle of an All Ireland Final is much more breathtaking under floodlights, similar to Mayo/Dublin replay in 2016 and the Cork/Clare replay of 2013.

I think it would be worth doing bigger games on a trial basis on Saturday evenings.

totally agree, Cork v Clare replay was a great occasion even though we lost.

not sure if players would be in favour though. how hard is it to play hurling under lights?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭Paulzx

You've seriously let yourself down with that comment. That term to describe players wives was extremely derogotry when it first appeared in connection with England football teams and even more so when used to describe the partners of amateur sportsmen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

I'm not in the least offended.

In the context of the particular England team he referenced it to it's a nasty thing to say about a group of amateur sportsmans wives.

The term WAG came about in the time of SVen Ericcson and was used at that time to classify the players wives as rich, over coiffed, spoilt women who were airheads and lived off their husbands millions.

That is the context in which it was used on this forum by the poster and i think he's being nasty and petty by doing so.

Patww79 wrote: »

I don't do fashion in any context

• Registered Users Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

You seem to know far more about the Dublin team than I do and I follow them all over the country. I haven't a clue about who is going out with who other than some of the Women's final coverage showed some of the men's team following them. I only picked that up because I was watching a football match.

I actually think that the Dublin presence in the media is surprisingly small given the size of the county. The local papers outside Dublin carry much more gossip and local news about their county teams than any of the Dublin papers carry about Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

It's hilarious considering the fact that the people of Dublin spit in the face of the protagonists of the 1916 Rising and cheered the British for quelling the rebellion, it wasn't known as the Pale for no reason

If it wasn't for the republicans most notably in Kerry and Cork leading the charge we would still be beholden to the Crown today.

Kerry was far less active than Tipp.

Can someone remind me how many of the 1916 protagonists were actually from Cork, how many were from Kerry and how many were from Dublin?

Yeah it might be convenient to certain people's narratives, but still... :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Billy86 wrote: »
    Can someone remind me how many of the 1916 protagonists were actually from Cork, how many were from Kerry and how many were from Dublin?

Yeah it might be convenient to certain people's narratives, but still... :pac:

Doesn't matter.

The Langers can always claim Michael Collins, so those feckers always win any of those arguments on the sheer X factor vote alone.

Remind them that ROG was born in San Diego, not Cork, and they'll turn on ya like a hot snot left out in the sun....but whatever...they're a contrary lot ! :rolleyes:

Don't think that being anti the Sinn Fein jerseys, is an unpopular opinion btw. Yes, you'll see a few of them on match days. But they are vastly out numbered by people wearing the official kit, or older versions of them. Look at any crowd shot over on Sportsfile, of the Hill or the terraces that Dubs primarily stood on down in Portlaoise and KK. All the white collars and stripes of the AIG jerseys, stand out very vividly in the crowd shots. People are voting with their feet (or wallets ?) on what they choose to purchase and wear on match days and, it ain't the Sinn Fein jersey for the most part.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Doesn't matter.

The Lanagers can always claim Michael Collins, so those feckers always win any of those arguments on the sheer X factor vote alone.

Remind them that ROG was born in San Diego, not Cork, and they'll turn on ya like a hot snot left out in the sun....but whatever...they're a contrary lot ! :rolleyes:
    Ah yeah, but you've got to get a laugh about them trotting out Michael Collins while sneering about violence against Republicans in Dublin. Where was Collins killed again? It's petty to the point of comical, but sure that's why it's amusing to us more than anything, at the same time! :p

As for media coverage, it's in large part down to success which is natural (not like we're being overrun with news on the hurling team now is it?) and partly down to the fact that media companies are there to make a profit. Dublin has a population of something like 1.35mn and interest is spiked in recent years with the success... anyone complaining about media companies targeting that audience might want to suggest the benefits of targeting audiences a fraction of that size would be beneficial to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭TrueGael

Billy86 wrote: »
    Ah yeah, but you've got to get a laugh about them trotting out Michael Collins while sneering about violence against Republicans in Dublin. Where was Collins killed again? It's petty to the point of comical, but sure that's why it's amusing to us more than anything, at the same time! :p

As for media coverage, it's in large part down to success which is natural (not like we're being overrun with news on the hurling team now is it?) and partly down to the fact that media companies are there to make a profit. Dublin has a population of something like 1.35mn and interest is spiked in recent years with the success... anyone complaining about media companies targeting that audience might want to suggest the benefits of targeting audiences a fraction of that size would be beneficial to them.

So finally an admittance that the Dublin Media exists and is looking to keep the enormous population happy by good news stories 24/7

Like I said before Kilkenny, Cork or anybody else never got even close to the attention, equality my arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Like I said before Kilkenny, never got even close to the attention, equality my arse

Henry Shefflin got so much media attention that even after a year when he couldn't get a start with Kilkenny he held a press conference to announce his retirement. Those who wanted attention in Kilkenny got it. That Kilkenny team also has three pundits on the Sunday Game which must be unparalleled.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Powerhouse wrote:
    That Kilkenny team also has three pundits on the Sunday Game which must be unparalleled.

Well the Kerry footballers have three now.
    The common factors in both cases
    Both counties have the most AIs in their code
    The guys they have on have a bucket load of medals, in Kerry's case it spans 2 teams with no overlap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Stoner wrote: »
    The guys they have on have a bucket load of medals, in Kerry's case it spans 2 teams with no overlap

The reference to All Irelands won is lost on me. Should that be an automatic criterion for a place on the Sunday Game panel? Ger Loughnane has none. Liam Sheedy has none. Cyril Farrell has none. Ciaran Whelan has none. None of them are from counties with the most All Irelands either.

It was commented by someone else that Kilkenny had nowhere near the media profile of the Dublin footballers despite their success. I simply pointed out that this is far from the case. And having three from the same team, all of whom finished just a couple of years ago, is unparalleled - while Kerry are very over-represented at least it is spread out over different generations. Would anyone seriously expect that in 3/4 years we will see three Dublin footballers on the Sunday Game?!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Stoner wrote: »
    Powerhouse wrote:
    That Kilkenny team also has three pundits on the Sunday Game which must be unparalleled.

Jesus H Christ. Don't get me started. The O'Se family alone have more media gigs stitched up, than all the former Dubs put together.

Wouldn't you love to be a fly on the wall at a Sunday Game production meeting, when some clueless, but well intentioned soul wondered aloud, if it wasn't taking the piss to always have one of their Kerry trio on the day time show & another one always on the evening highlights show. Ya know, in the interests of fairness and what not, should they not have a bit more variety in their panels? He'd be laughed out of the gaff.

Dublin media me arse !

Kerry have won just two of the last 10 All Ireland's. And one of them was nearly a decade ago. That record shouldn't give any of them an automatic spot on the TSG sofa, nor does it turn any of them into the Oracle of bleedin' Dingle Delphi, just because they are from Kerry.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Powerhouse wrote:
    I have no idea what point is being made in this post - the reference to All Irelands won is lost on me. Should that be an automatic criterion for a place on the Sunday Game panel? Ger Loughnane has none. Liam Sheedy has none. Cyril Farrell has none. Ciaran Whelan has none. None of them are from counties with the most All Irelands either.

How have you no idea when I gave you two factors, granted you might not agree but you should certainly have an idea.

I didn't say you had to have an all Ireland, but it would be a reason to have three on a panel, Brolly gets enough stick for only having one, you certainly won't have two Derry men on the books, there's an amount of good educated option allowed in the mix, but having 8 or 9 titles or 4 or 5, imo you'll get more respect than someone with none regardless of you agreeing with it or not.

People will want to hear what a successful person has to say as essentially the teams are trying to be successful, that's the goal. BTW winning one as a manager would give you a good basis too.

BTW I complained about Spillane in the past myself.
    We had him on the Sunday game, presenting at one stage on the highlights, in the main Sunday paper, and back in the day his good buddy George Hook had him on news talk when it was a "Dublin" station.

There's only so many times you can hear the same opinion.

But what I would give him is that they are his opinions, some of the guest guys they bring on just rehash the same tired information.
    But Spillane has changed up his game a bit, O'Rourke doesn't seem bothered these days, another moany rant in the papers today again about the potential distruction of the game.

Regardless T O'S is fair imo. He was a winner a good loser and is his own man. I find his insight worth tuning in for.

I really can't see Cooper sticking at it but he might, I don't think it suits him anyway.

Apart from Pete McGrath I haven't seen another football guest on the Sunday game recently that I thought would be very good.

I can't see Ciaran Whelan or Dessie Dolan have the impact that someone like TOS has, next level is Carr, Doyle etc.

I don't know maybe there's a bunch of fantastic characters out there that I'm missing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Billy Mays wrote: »
    I'd take no notice. Another fella whose vast majority of posts are slating Dublin for one thing or another.

I reckon Bernard must have scored his missus in Coppers one night.

Which would also explain why every second dub you meet has a deep personal dislike for Aidan O'Shea...;)

Actually on that topic, I seen an article written on the abuse of Cyrus Christie, which made a comparison to the several years abuse a high profile gaa player has faced; doesn't take a genius to work out it is O'Shea being talked about. It is a fair point, apparently it is ok to abuse a guy about everything you can think of for years on end, as long you don't mention his race... Quite hypocritical.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,141 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Which would also explain why every second dub you meet has a deep personal dislike for Aidan O'Shea...;)

Actually on that topic, I seen an article written on the abuse of Cyrus Christie, which made a comparison to the several years abuse a high profile gaa player has faced; doesn't take a genius to work out it is O'Shea being talked about. It is a fair point, apparently it is ok to abuse a guy about everything you can think of for years on end, as long you don't mention his race... Quite hypocritical.

has anything you ever posted not ever had a comparison or some sort of link to something to do with Mayo?

Would you mind sharing that Cyrus Christie article where its clear they also compared Aidan O Sheas "abuse" to what Christie suffered.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Maybe these ex-Kilkenny and Kerry players in the media are there not just because of their success on the field, but also because they may have insights into the mindset of Cody and Micko (never give away state secrets but it's still interesting when they refer to what their managers would have done) . In fairness, I would pay more heed to someone with a few AI medals in their back pocket than some of their contemporaries.

Ciaran Whelan I understand as he bridges the gap between the Old World (95) and New World (Gavin's era), but what in the name of all that is holy is Senan Connell doing being one of the main Sky pundits? A bit-part player in a team of perpetual under-performers with the look of a carpet salesman leaching on Rachel Wyse on each broadcast.

Look at his colleagues on Sky. JJ Delaney. One of the finest ever defenders in the history of the game. Ollie Canning. One of the best corner-backs in the last 25 years and multiple AI club winner. Jamesie O'Connor. One of the most consistent forwards of the 90s and two-time AI winner. Peter Canavan. Possibly the greatest forward to ever play the game. Jim McGuinness. Revolutionary manager and genius. James Horan. Helped bring Mayo to the top 3 in the country. Success where ever he has went. Seems to me that Connell is the token wise-cracking Dub in comparison.

bruschi wrote: »
    has anything you ever posted not ever had a comparison or some sort of link to something to do with Mayo?

Would you mind sharing that Cyrus Christie article where its clear they also compared Aidan O Sheas "abuse" to what Christie suffered.

I take issue when people post biased sh*te, a lot of that tends to be aimed at Mayo. However I have commented on various other things. Off the top of my head, there was a guy trying to argue that St Vincents loss wasn't a shock win as Rathnew were a top side, and also that big wins don't happen at club provincial level. The comfortable win for Moorefield and the hiding dished out by An Gaeltacht at the weekend would suggest otherwise.
    Also, why not address the point instead of who is saying it? If you are right your counter argument should speak for itself.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/eamonn-sweeney-empty-vessels-making-toxic-noises-36353387.html

He makes reference to the, frankly disgraceful, Lee Keegan stuff directly, references Dublin-Mayo and then states "Abuse does not have to be racist to be hurtful. I'm aware of another GAA star who has been the subject of almost non-stop personal abuse for several years now. Even though he had an outstanding year in 2017, it's continued."

• Registered Users Posts: 27,348 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I take issue when people post biased sh*te, a lot of that tends to be aimed at Mayo. However I have commented on various other things. Off the top of my head, there was a guy trying to argue that St Vincents loss wasn't a shock win as Rathnew were a top side, and also that big wins don't happen at club provincial level. The comfortable win for Moorefield and the hiding dished out by An Gaeltacht at the weekend would suggest otherwise.
    Also, why not address the point instead of who is saying it? If you are right your counter argument should speak for itself.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/eamonn-sweeney-empty-vessels-making-toxic-noises-36353387.html

He makes reference to the, frankly disgraceful, Lee Keegan stuff directly, references Dublin-Mayo and then states "Abuse does not have to be racist to be hurtful. I'm aware of another GAA star who has been the subject of almost non-stop personal abuse for several years now. Even though he had an outstanding year in 2017, it's continued."

Well, that clearly isn't a reference to Aidan O'Shea, as the GAA star "had an outstanding year in 2017".

blanch152 wrote: »
    Well, that clearly isn't a reference to Aidan O'Shea, as the GAA star "had an outstanding year in 2017".

A bit predictable in fairness

Was that you sending him the texts blanch?
    Took the number out of the mots phone no doubt.
    That showed him

So finally an admittance that the Dublin Media exists and is looking to keep the enormous population happy by good news stories 24/7

Like I said before Kilkenny, Cork or anybody else never got even close to the attention, equality my arse
    Actually an 'admittance' that private, for-profit companies work to maximise profits. Dublin weren't getting near this coverage before winning things (the most covered players of the last 15 years have been DJ Carey, Shefflin and Gooch by the way - all wildly successful, yet none of them Dubs) which is why the hurling team barely get much mention at all.

Going by your posts, 1977-2011 (bar '83 and '95) must have some incredibly glorious years in your life, but they're over.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,141 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Address what point? that Dublin lads are jealous of O Shea because he shifted their women? What needs to be addressed there?

thanks for the link. no where does that sound like it is definitely O Shea. It could be anyone, or it could be purely made up.

however, I was most intrigued with this piece in the article.
    And every Dublin-Mayo clash in recent years has led to the type of online exchanges which are, as SeFaol one described a particularly stupid Seanad debate, "like a long, slow trawl through a sewage bed".

that I think is very true.