Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭Shedite27

WHo's gonna mark TJ Reid ya reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Shedite27 wrote: »
    WHo's gonna mark TJ Reid ya reckon?
    I heard McDonnell.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭The White Feather

The ladies starting the weekend off well so far

Half time in the All Ireland Senior Camogie Championship

Cork 2-11 Meath 0-03

The Cork starting team against Dubin

D_Xz3lhWsAETAJS.jpg

All Ireland Senior Camogie Championship Result

Cork 3-22 Meath 1-05

No matter what happens now, I'm happy the lads are giving it a go.

Well, while this year's championship is virtually over, I couldn't be happier with the Cork performane. Playing against a team who should win the next 5 All-Ireland's with ease, and never giving up, is enough to take away with this. I'd fancy us against Tyrone and Roscommon, and let's go for Munster next year. Well done to the lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

That's a bit of a hammering. Massive gulf in class. Really shows the difference between div 1 and div 3.

DellyBelly wrote: »
    That's a bit of a hammering. Massive gulf in class. Really shows the difference between div 1 and div 3.
    The score does not in any way reflect the performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Think the score isn't a true reflection of the game tbh I think lady luck fancied dub a bit more then Cork. I think ye really gave us a good solid game.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    The score does not in any way reflect the performance.

Moral victory is no good. Cork football is miles off the pace and playing div 3 ain't going to do much for them. You'd have to say though they must have good chance of going up to div 2 next year

We should walk division 3 and there's no reason why we can't win Munster

Very proud of the Cork players today. That game will bring us on a load and we played some good football at times and really went for it. Hopefully they reproduce that form in the other 2 games.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,443 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    To be fair , the very vast majority of teams would fear the same playing Dublin in Croker.

I hope Cork go for it and attack the shít out of Dublin. I want Cork to score more than the majority of other teams do. By doing that, it might stop the inevitable bombing foward of the Dublin half back line allowing our defence the chance to not be overrun. We are expected to lose by a fair bit anyway. Our defence is not the strongest, so we should concentrate on our best weapon, our attack.
    I'm tired of seeing Dublin with 80% possession spraying the ball around in front of 14 defenders. Have a cut off them.

Posted this last week.

Delighted with our teams performance, 1-17 is very good and probably should have been more. We played the way football should be played. 3 goals in 4 minutes- dont even mention the first, is 9 points we could have done without, but such is life.
    Onwards and upwards.

Bring on Kilkenny, cant wait !!

FYI Ronan McCarthy said Cork will have Sean Powter, Killian O'Hanlon and Eoghan McSweeney available for selection for next weekend's game with Tyrone.

That's some boost, Powter is immense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Three late goals have put a false reflection on that scoreline.Dublin are a serious side.Yet right up until the last 10 minutes, we pushed them all the way.Bring on Tyrone and Roscommon i say.I see no reason why we can't beat them.But fair play to Ronan McCarthy and the lads, we really did put it up to a great Dublin side.Now let's put Kilkenny to the sword tomorrow.Rebels Abu.:)

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Right lads, it's rare that I'd even look in the Cork thread, never mind post in it, but after that game today I felt that I had to. That was the best game we've gotten in ages, your lads had us under pressure that I've not seen since Kerry and Mayo a few years back, a proper dogged performance, never letting us get truly clear until the end. It's pretty clear that a lot of your players just ran out of steam near the end, and the three goals came from that, which I'll admit means that the scoreline doesn't really reflect the way the game unfolded.

Good luck in the rest of the super 8s.

Cork will now play Kerry in the Munster U20 Football Final on Thursday July 18th in Páirc Uí Rinn at 7pm

This match will be live on TG4 and at 7.30 not 7

Safe travels to everyone heading up, can’t wait

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    Safe travels to everyone heading up, can’t wait

Blue sky in Dublin, dont forget the sun cream

• Registered Users Posts: 3,058 ✭✭✭C__MC

I think next week is a defining game for cork football this season

• Registered Users Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thesultan

Why on earth was this game held in Clonakilty? That must be nearly 2 and a half hours each way from Waterford City.

I'm all for spreading the games out but we'd be giving out if another county did that to us.
    Waterford city the hotbed of waterford football support.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Im still really annoyed after last night's game. It was frustrating that we just ran out of steam. Credit to management and players for an epic performance but I'm still thinking "what if". The season isn't over yet and another couple of big games and we can possibly put the decline of Cork football argument to bed....where it if already anyway I think.

Anyways, safe travels to all today. Bring suncream! Corcaigh Abu.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭Seadin

Hurlers playing alright. Few missed chances but good to be leading by 2 at half time. Hopefully we can push on the 2nd half.

We have gifted them so many points through errors such as bad passing and delaying clearances. Then we have hit bad wides.This is why is going to be a long half. We have given them momentum.

We are in big trouble

We went from 2 points up to 6 points down. A big collapse. We have the firepower but now its a dogfight and what we wanted to avoid.

Missed passes everywhere

Thats it. Just not good enough this decade. Disappointing again.

We have gifted them so many points through errors such as bad passing and delaying clearances. Then we have hit bad wides.This is why is going to be a long half. We have given them momentum.

Congrats to Kilkenny. Didn't see it happening but we really misfired today.

The amount of delayed clearances has given away about 4 points.

We cannot win any puckouts at all so we had zero platform.If Harnedy doesn't win them then we lose possession straight away. We have to fix this next year or we will be back in the same place