Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭GeordieRebel

then who? lads make it sound easy just calling for Meyler to step down but the board will never go for an outsider either so its Ring next IMO.

be careful what ye wish for

Plenty of lads who’ve done well in club hurling. Fergal Ryan, Ben O’Connor or Pat Ryan for instance? Tom Kenny seems to have done good work with UCC and was involved this year. There’s options there. I don’t see what Ring has done to be at the front of the queue.

Edit: and, to be clear, just because I answered your initial question about the next manager doesn’t mean I necessarily want Meyler out. I just think that’s what’s most likely to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭Shedite27

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Nash- I actually think he needs to get checked for colour blindness- so many comically bad puckouts.
    I was wondering if the sun was causing him an issue. In the first half he was hitting wide open Kilkenny lads, with no Corkman in the area. So (a) whatever signal he was giving for where the ball was going wasn't registering with the players and (b) he completly failed to see that there was alredy a KK man there

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭GeordieRebel

Shedite27 wrote: »
    I was wondering if the sun was causing him an issue. In the first half he was hitting wide open Kilkenny lads, with no Corkman in the area. So (a) whatever signal he was giving for where the ball was going wasn't registering with the players and (b) he completly failed to see that there was alredy a KK man there

A lot of it was runs being changed as he was hitting the ball and because there was only one or two Cork men in the half forward line (and Kilkenny holding their positions), when it happened, there wasn’t a Cork man in sight. Looked more of a systems failure of Harnedy and Lehane /O’Flynn trying to find space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Is it really that hard to understand that a team with one long puckout option in a side are totally screwed?
    Seriously? I counted 7 puckouts hit directly into Kilkenny hands. How is that not the goalkeepers fault? He's been doing it for years, try something new.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Once or twice maybe, but he could see it wasnt working, but he kept doing it. Also, if it was a system failure surely the sideline would have seen the problem and fixed it, that didnt happen either.
    As for the sun being an issue- it's possible, but did anything similar keep happening to the other keepers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Once or twice maybe, but he could see it wasnt working, put kept doing it. Also, if it was a system failure surely the sideline would have seen the problem and fixed it, that didnt happen either.
    As for the sun being an issue- it's possible, but did anything similar keep happening to the other keepers?
    The sun was gone well over the Hogan stand by the time the second half came around, and it did get quite dull. I don't buy the sun excuse.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

LOL comparing a bad challenge match to playing against KK. Aside from SH who else should have been under long puckouts?

Not a Kilkenny man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Mac_Lad71 wrote: »
    No half-forward line to win puck-outs or dirty ball when we are forced to go long.

Not enough pressure on Kilkenny defenders emerging with the ball.

Defending and harrying is about attitude and desire and Kilkenny's overall work rate was better than ours.

This comes from the manager and Cody will sub any player inside 20 mins if he doesn't see the necessary attitude and commitment.

How long did it take for Meyler to make a change?

I would be surprised if you could find even one example of Cody substituting someone that early. He has been notoriously conservative in his substitutions. In the 2016 final when they were struggling all around the pitch he made a grand total of two substitutions, and none until there was an hour gone.

Meyler had three substitutions made today before Kilkenny's second. That first three were on with more than 20 minutes left. But Kilkenny's subs contributed 0-6, Cork's zilch. Not sure Meyler's speed of substitution is really the issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,781 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Calm the heads a small bit lads I know it's a tough day for cork but cut back on the personal stuff

From a nuteral prospective I do find the talk of corks history and tradition a bit old fashioned

The modern game has changed and especially in munster where it an achievement getting out of the group let alone winning the competition and then the hard work starts, it's a different era

• Registered Users Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Calm the heads a small bit lads I know it's a tough day for cork but cut back on the personal stuff

From a nuteral prospective I do find the talk of corks history and tradition a bit old fashioned

The modern game has changed and especially in munster where it an achievement getting out of the group let alone winning the competition and then the hard work starts, it's a different era

Please god when Cork win the all Ireland again, i wouldn't see it as an all Ireland on it's own, or separate to our past all Ireland wins.The way i see it it will join the 30 other ones, that we already won.As i say we are down right now, with our history and tradition.But we will also bounce back, and rise again with that same history and tradition.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 5,781 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Please god when Cork win the all Ireland again, i wouldn't see it as an all Ireland on it's own, or separate to our past all Ireland wins.The way i see it it will join the 30 other ones, that we already won.As i say we are down right now, with our history and tradition.But we will also bounce back, and rise again with that same history and tradition.

Absolutely 100% but it won't be easy win any all ireland under the current rules

Wexford for example are in the all ireland semi finals after a win against carlow and kilkenny

Cork are out after two wins against the current champions and waterford and are out

In the past as you well know limerick would be out in the first round of munster not in an all ireland semi, it is very hard to compare the two

But Cork will rise again don't worry. The foundations are well in place

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Loads of keyboard warriors here tonight. Nash had a few poor puckouts but by Christ did the full back line panic every f^*king time they got it??? Ellis was awful today, as was the majority of the back line, that’s what lost us the game not the keeper. He wasn’t just striking into space, players made no effort after acknowledging they wanted the ball in the area. Lehane hopeless, I thought Walsh should’ve been brought on just for the physicality in the full forward line, it’s what cody did at half time. Even to put o Mahoney up there.

Absolutely 100% but it won't be easy win any all ireland under the current rules

Wexford for example are in the all ireland semi finals after a win against carlow and kilkenny

Cork are out after two wins against the current champions and waterford and are out

In the past as you well know limerick would be out in the first round of munster not in an all ireland semi, it is very hard to compare the two

But Cork will rise again don't worry. The foundations are well in place

Back in the day Corks playing numbers gave us a huge advantage.Then other counties raised their standards of preparation, and we kind of got complacent, and took our eye off the ball.It's only recently that the county, has started to recover from the fall out from the strikes.So all of those factors combined have led to a situation, where Cork have now gone 14 years without an all Ireland.But i think things are looking up alright, despite todays disappointment.A minor or u20 all Ireland will be a huge boost.

Santy2015 wrote: »
    Loads of keyboard warriors here tonight. Nash had a few poor puckouts but by Christ did the full back line panic every f^*king time they got it??? Ellis was awful today, as was the majority of the back line, that’s what lost us the game not the keeper. He wasn’t just striking into space, players made no effort after acknowledging they wanted the ball in the area. Lehane hopeless, I thought Walsh should’ve been brought on just for the physicality in the full forward line, it’s what cody did at half time. Even to put o Mahoney up there.

The backs took a few touches before deciding what do - and got themselves into trouble. Get it ....drive it from your 30 to 40 yard line into the corners or the opposition 21. They couldn't manage that on many an occasion. They were indeed awful. I've long maintained Lehane should not start any more games for Cork, impact sub with 20 to go is his limit- way too erratic a hurler. Theres a lot more I could outline about both the players etc but I'll leave it full tomorrow.

Oh.....your ' keyboard warriors ' comment - you then go on and slate players yourself :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Oh.....your ' keyboard warriors ' comment - you then go on and slate players yourself :rolleyes:

I did have a smile at the irony of that too!

• Registered Users Posts: 34,045 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

So disappointing the morning.

When the going gets tough we have been found wanting time and time again. Croke Park has been a nightmare for us the past 12 years

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭rebelyell99

Jesus this cork team is hard to figure out, started fairly well should have built up a big lead by halftime but the amount of errors messing around the back and getting turned over was shocking.Kilkennys half back line bossed it in the second half and really once they went 6 or 7 up twas all over.Horgan was incredible and cadogan has had a fine year too.We havnt bought into the physical side of the game and teams know if they get stuck in to us that we will fold like paper.Tough to know what next year will bring ,horgan and nash could retire? .Meyler should be gone already.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

I think it is very easy to criticise the full back line and I have seen it repeated in the press and all over socail media as well, but the reality is when you set up in a traditional 6 defender set up, it's vitually impossible for a full back unit to break even let alone dominate, the Cork full back line wasn't even the worst full back line in that match for god sake!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭Shedite27

At one stage when Kilkenny were on a run of scores and Cork were in real trouble with the puckouts, I remember we got one and hit it wide. I remember thinking at the time "well at least it's gone wide down there rather than over the bar at our end. Bad times

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

I purposely waited 24 hours after the game before posting here.

Can people please stop personalised attacks on the team and management. Fellas calling Meyler a blow in, or saying some of our players should f-off to the footballers where they belong (as if also being a good footballer is some sort of criticism). By all means feel free to say certain players played poorly or the gameplan / team selection was wrong or that we need new management, but there's some awful personal comments calling the team a disgrace after all the effort and sacrifices they've put in. The only disgrace is people making those kinds of comments, most of whom presumably only ever played at club level. It's more common on Twitter and on the PROC than here but it's still something everybody should bear in mind that these fellas are amateurs who do all they can for Cork and were back in work this morning.

We all know the team underperformed hugely and only a handful of players played anywhere near their potential. It's always bad when you lose but to not perform makes it very disappointing. Hopefully the U20s bring home a cup or 2 before the year's out and maybe things won't be looking so negative in Cork hurling.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Seadin

I purposely waited 24 hours after the game before posting here.

Can people please stop personalised attacks on the team and management. Fellas calling Meyler a blow in, or saying some of our players should f-off to the footballers where they belong (as if also being a good footballer is some sort of criticism). By all means feel free to say certain players played poorly or the gameplan / team selection was wrong or that we need new management, but there's some awful personal comments calling the team a disgrace after all the effort and sacrifices they've put in. The only disgrace is people making those kinds of comments, most of whom presumably only ever played at club level. It's more common on Twitter and on the PROC than here but it's still something everybody should bear in mind that these fellas are amateurs who do all they can for Cork and were back in work this morning.

We all know the team underperformed hugely and only a handful of players played anywhere near their potential. It's always bad when you lose but to not perform makes it very disappointing. Hopefully the U20s bring home a cup or 2 before the year's out and maybe things won't be looking so negative in Cork hurling.

The problem most Cork fans have is under par performances have been happening to the senior team since 2007. They play so inconsistenly its worrying for Cork senior hurling. They couldn't seal a win in 2013 when the game was ours to win first day against Clare. We went backwards then after 2014 season. 2017 many thought we had something to be hopeful about in the semi and we folded against Waterford. 2018 we had Limerick beaten and we folded badly last 10 mins of game. This year more of the same. This problem wont go away unless its addressed. What do we need to do? Do we need new management??? and management with proven track record??? ?? Do we need better players??? Do we need to clear out some of the panel? Do we need better coaches? Do we need to improve structures in how we play hurling in the county? Do we need to look at how other successful counties are set up? Something isnt working in the county regarding the hurling and if we want to win an All Ireland again we need to start doing the right things in Cork GAA politics aside. Who would have thought when Sean og lifted Liam in 2005 that we wouldn't win another All Ireland again for 15+ years and counting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Been listening to a fair bit of programmes on the radio about Cork hurling and what's coming across from pundits is that Cork are not manly enough when it comes to the physical side of things. That for me is the most dissapointing thing going on with Cork. We always have great lovely hurlers but always had tough men. This current team is very weak when the pressure comes on bar Patrick Horgan...this is something we need to change...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Angliru

We've been crying out for a Timmy and Niall McCarthy type player who'll bring some consistent physicality and heart for ages now. It is why I still can't stop thinking about what Pa Callaghan would have brought to this team although commitment. Big loaf of a young fella and hurling talent out his eyeballs. Shame he didn't or didn't want to commit. Dalton simply had to come before O Flynn, especially when Harnedy our main grafter was out of sorts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

Harnedy scored a couple of points. Won around 4 frees that were pointed and won the peno that was goaled. All this while being the only option for every single puckout

• Registered Users Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭The White Feather

The final Super 8s football match against Roscommon has been moved to Pairc Ui Rinn as Pairc Ui Chaoimh is being relaiid.

Talk about a shambles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭joe_99

Shambolic from Cork GAA. What could be a defacto all Ireland QF taken out of an expensive new stadium in order to relay the pitch. Typical of how GAA is run in the county.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Angliru wrote: »
    We've been crying out for a Timmy and Niall McCarthy type player who'll bring some consistent physicality and heart for ages now. It is why I still can't stop thinking about what Pa Callaghan would have brought to this team although commitment. Big loaf of a young fella and hurling talent out his eyeballs. Shame he didn't or didn't want to commit. Dalton simply had to come before O Flynn, especially when Harnedy our main grafter was out of sorts.

I think the brains trust on here has established we have many unnamed puckout options but our goalie kept hitting it to KK men. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Grats

I think the brains trust on here has established we have many unnamed puckout options but our goalie kept hitting it to KK men. :D

I know it hurts after losing, we in KK were the same after our loss to Wexford. We wanted to blame everybody and wanted heads on a plate. In the week leading up to last Sunday's match, supporters began to get more positive. We realised that we weren't all that bad against Wexford, we had 12 wides to their 3. But that's what Wexford can do to a team, force them to make mistakes. Credit to them for that.

Similarly KK forced Cork to make mistakes and took advantage of it. Nash didn't puck every ball out to a KK player as a lot wish to believe. When he went long KK players fought for the ball and often won it. When he went short KK broke the Cork game plan down through sheer work rate. There was a lot of similarities to 2006.

Kilkenny did play a part in winning the game. Until ye accept that first and foremost, Cork will continue with the famine.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

The Cork Senior Football Team to play Tyrone in Croke Park on Saturday at 5pm has been announced

1. Mark White (Clonakilty)
    2. James Loughrey (Mallow)
    3. Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
    4. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
    5. Liam O' Donovan (Clonakilty)
    6. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
    7. Mattie Taylor (Mallow)
    8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs) - Captain
    9. Killian O' Hanlon (Kilshannig)
    10. Kevin O' Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    11. Sean White (Clonakilty)
    12. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
    13. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
    15. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

16. Michael Martin (Nemo Rangers)
    17. Kevin O' Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
    18. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    19. Sean Powter (Douglas)
    20. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
    21. Ronan O' Toole (Eire Og)
    22. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
    23. John O Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    24. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
    25. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
    26. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarrs)

Grats wrote: »
    I know it hurts after losing, we in KK were the same after our loss to Wexford. We wanted to blame everybody and wanted heads on a plate. In the week leading up to last Sunday's match, supporters began to get more positive. We realised that we weren't all that bad against Wexford, we had 12 wides to their 3. But that's what Wexford can do to a team, force them to make mistakes. Credit to them for that.

Similarly KK forced Cork to make mistakes and took advantage of it. Nash didn't puck every ball out to a KK player as a lot wish to believe. When he went long KK players fought for the ball and often won it. When he went short KK broke the Cork game plan down through sheer work rate. There was a lot of similarities to 2006.

Kilkenny did play a part in winning the game. Until ye accept that first and foremost, Cork will continue with the famine.

Oh i fully accept that Kilkenny were better, and wanted it more than Cork on the day, particularly in the second half, when the game turned into a dog fight.But an unwillingness to acknowledge that the opposition were better, is not the problem here.Our problem is poor management and tactics, and a group of players that don't seem, to have neither the ability or the desire to compete in the physical exchanges.But Corks problems are fixable, as long as the powers that be can acknowledge the issues as problems in the first place.As they say the definition of madness is doing the same thing, over and over again.