Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Angliru

So so frustrating

• Registered Users Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Is this the first decade we have never won Liam?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Richard308

plenty of effort, Kilkenny got 11 or more scores from picking scrappy ball. We need to work on that skill set. If cork won half those and got two points from them We'd have that game. Patrick Horgan is looking like greatest cork hurler never to win an all Ireland. Chin up lads. Proud of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Seadin

DellyBelly wrote: »

That's correct. I suppose they had their best chance in 2013 especially the first game.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Hoggie must be asking himself what he has to do.

Gutted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Seadin

Richard308 wrote: »
    plenty of effort, Kilkenny got 11 or more scores from picking scrappy ball. We need to work on that skill set. If cork won half those and got two points from them We'd have that game. Patrick Horgan is looking like greatest cork hurler never to win an all Ireland. Chin up lads. Proud of you.

We were well off the standard required to win today. Let's not be fooling ourselves the panel hasnt been good enough for a long time now. I cant see Cork winning an All Ireland for a while now im sad to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

No goalkeeper and no full back line, simple as.

Nash should never have been the goalkeeper this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Ompala

DellyBelly wrote: »

1st Full Decade, also didn't win one in the 1880s but first championship was in 1887

• Registered Users Posts: 396 ✭✭sliabh 1956

well that was awful we had them on the ropes in the first quarter but could not put them away Whereas when the cats had their spell at the start of the second half they blew us away To day we could not play our short game and after the first 20 mins our long game failed to achieve anything. The majority of the players we saw today will never win an Ireland for Cork they just are not good enough at the highest level last year we thought the new lads coming through were the ones to push us to the next level from what I have seen this year the answer is no.

I think if I said in March that the Cork footballers would be in the championship longer than the hurlers this year I’d have been excommunicated from the county!

• Registered Users Posts: 563 ✭✭✭rebs23

Nash and Lehane should never play for Cork again. Hate criticizing amateur players but ....
    Horgan please stick with us, absolutely brilliant again today. I couldn’t understand how we were favorite today but KK deserved it , cuter than us.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,045 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

We lack steal. We play lovely hurling but so when you so lack some sort of Physical presence its going to hurt you.

Cats are the experts at fouling at right time too

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

No half-forward line to win puck-outs or dirty ball when we are forced to go long.

Not enough pressure on Kilkenny defenders emerging with the ball.

Defending and harrying is about attitude and desire and Kilkenny's overall work rate was better than ours.

This comes from the manager and Cody will sub any player inside 20 mins if he doesn't see the necessary attitude and commitment.

How long did it take for Meyler to make a change?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    No goalkeeper and no full back line, simple as.

Nash should never have been the goalkeeper this year.

Most idiotic comment on a game you'll ever see.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭GeordieRebel

Really disappointing. We did most of the hurling in the first half but threw away chances. We got physically blown away and out worked in the second half.

Kilkenny started holding their positions rather than following men for our puck outs and we had no answer. Badly missed Aidan Walsh as an outlet. Surprised Deccie Dalton or Tim O’Mahony didn’t come on as options in the forwards. When Kilkenny needed a puck out they had TJ or Walter. In fairness to Seamie, he’s usually that guy for us but too much was asked from him.

A word for Hoggy. The guy is a genius and a leader and I really hope we win an All-Ireland before he’s done.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

So our first decade since the 1890's without winning an all Ireland.It will be going on 15 years without an all Ireland now.Our longest run without an all Ireland since the period from 1903 until 1919.Look i had issues with John Meylers appointment as manager of our senior hurlers.This had a lot to do with the strikes.He was seen by myself as too much of an establishment man for my liking.And having a non Cork native as manager did not, and still does not sit well with me.

I just don't think Meyler is up to the job.Poor decisions or lack of decisions on the sideline cost us against Limerick last year, and today does not do him any favours either.When the tide turned against us in that second half, he was clueless.As well as that i wasn't impressed with his comments, towards Westmeath with regards to them playing us, one week after losing to Laois.I just said to myself, well that was a thick thing to say there John.People say that there is a time and place for these things.Well the time and place is now.I don't doubt John Meylers effort and commitment to Cork hurling.But we need a new manager.He just isn't up to the job.

It's just so disappointing.Croke Park seems to be a graveyard for Cork teams nowadays.Before Cork teams would relish playing in Croke Park.We have talented hurlers, but for whatever reason, some them just don't have the drive or cutting to be winners.It's just a shame.Hoggie deserves an all Ireland medal.Im sorry if i am offending people here.But that's the way i feel.But look Cork is a county with a magnificent hurling heritage history and tradition.We are down in the doldrums right now with that heritage history and tradition.But when we rise again, we will rise with that same heritage history and tradition behind us.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭BarryNumber1

Very disappointing outing, Cork were far too casual and this result has been coming. Was at the handy win over Limerick, and the ok performance against Waterford. Couldn’t help noticing in the Galway/Kilkenny game that weekend that they tore into each other. That is what’s missing IMHO. The exact same thing occurred in the U21 final last year, so I would be worried about future progress unless they change their approach. This team can go further, but a change of tactics is required. Can you imagine what Sheedy or Fitzy would do with this panel.

Pat Horgan get’s better with age and I’m gutted for him.

Most idiotic comment on a game you'll ever see.
    Explain?

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭Deaf student

So our first decade since the 1890's without winning an all Ireland.It will be going on 15 years without an an all Ireland now.Our longest run without an all Ireland since the period from 1903 until 1919.Look i had issues with John Meylers appointment as manager of our senior hurlers.This had a lot to do with the strikes.He was seen by myself as too much of an establishment man for my liking.And having a non Cork native as manager did not, and still does not sit well with me.

I just don't think Meyler is up to the job.Poor decisions or lack of decisions on the sideline cost us against Limerick last year, and today does not do him any favours either.When the tide turned against us in that second half, he was clueless.As well as that i wasn't impressed with his comments, towards Westmeath with regards to them playing us, one week after losing to Laois.I just said to myself, well that was a thick thing to say there John.People say that there is a time and place for these things.Well the time and place is now.I don't doubt John Meylers effort and commitment to Cork hurling.But we need a new manager.He just isn't up to the job.

It's just so disappointing.Croke Park seems to be a graveyard for Cork team nowadays.Before Cork teams would relish playing in Croke Park.We have talented hurlers, but for whatever reason, some them just don't have the drive or cutting to be winners.It's just a shame.Hoggie deserves an all Ireland medal.Im sorry if i am offending people here.But that's the way i feel.But look Cork is a county with a magnificent hurling heritage history and tradition.We are down in the doldrums right now with that heritage history and tradition.But when we rise again, we will rise with that same heritage history and tradition behind us.

Had a problem with meyler when he was u21 manager. Thing went wrong when he made subs and tactical decision in u21 final. Wasn't enamoured with it when Cork gaa board made Meyler as a new manager. I was intrigued when 4 selectors under Kingston time walked away instead of joining Meyler backroom team.

I have no doubt that Meyler is a committed hurling man but he isn't fit for the job re decision making etc which came up again re Harnedy injury and played him in injury time v limerick especially it hampered team chances of progressing. That's Meyler for ya.

Also Cork has a problem with physical teams which wasnt surprising at all. Efforts should be made in that area. Skill just gives you a space and time but when you get tired then physically comes in. Also lack of aggression in today game as well. However Cork have plenty talented players coming up as its time to pick a right manager rather than board licker appointee.

Suddenly I noticed Tom Kenny was added to backroom team last month as it was far too late for that. It should have been done much earlier.

It's time now to let Meyler go and appoint new coach irrespective of the board's wishes or their man etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Those puck outs. Jesus wept.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Well that didnt go to plan. So many players did not play upto scratch.

Hoggie is just awesome.

Nash- I actually think he needs to get checked for colour blindness- so many comically bad puckouts.

I dont mind losing, but not with an abjectally bad performance, the first 15 of the second half is as bad as I've seen in a very long time- 2 up to 7 down, Jesus wept.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Had a problem with meyler when he was u21 manager. Thing went wrong when he made subs and tactical decision in u21 final. Wasn't enamoured with it when Cork gaa board made Meyler as a new manager. I was intrigued when 4 selectors under Kingston time walked away instead of joining Meyler backroom team.

I have no doubt that Meyler is a committed hurling man but he isn't fit for the job re decision making etc which came up again re Harnedy injury and played him in injury time v limerick especially it hampered team chances of progressing. That's Meyler for ya.

Also Cork has a problem with physical teams which wasnt surprising at all. Efforts should be made in that area. Skill just gives you a space and time but when you get tired then physically comes in. Also lack of aggression in today game as well. However Cork have plenty talented players coming up as its time to pick a right manager rather than board licker appointee.

Suddenly I noticed Tom Kenny was added to backroom team last month as it was far too late for that. It should have been done much earlier.

It's time now to let Meyler go and appoint new coach irrespective of the board's wishes or their man etc.

New manager, a bit of work on the physical strength and conditioning etc, and i would be hopeful that Cork will be back winning all Irelands again, sooner rather than later.With Frank now thankfully retired, i would like to think that the board will get rid of Meyler, and put the right man in charge.Oh and all credit to Kilkenny.I can't stand the cats, but i do admire their workrate and intensity.Kilkenny teams always, bring a savage workrate and intensity to the table.It's about time that Cork do the same.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

I felt Meyler was far too stubborn with the changes today. Tim O'Mahony should have been in at HT.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

who do you replace Meyler with? Denis Ring next in line, especially if the u20s get back to an AI final?

I felt Meyler was far too stubborn with the changes today. Tim O'Mahony should have been in at HT.

Old story re his decision making - not thinking on his feet or unable to see what's unravelling before him and make quick or astute decisions to buffer weak area etc. That was where I had a problem with him in u21 final. Cork was doing well until last ten mins then he made tactical subs which went wrong as Cork lost by a point or two I think.

Introduction of Kenny into backroom team very late into hurling season suggests lack of planning on Meyler's part as buck stops with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭GeordieRebel

who do you replace Meyler with? Denis Ring next in line, especially if the u20s get back to an AI final?

Ring has won too little with some very good teams to be considered I would say.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Explain?

Is it really that hard to understand that a team with one long puckout option in a side are totally screwed?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ring has won too little with some very good teams to be considered I would say.

then who? lads make it sound easy just calling for Meyler to step down but the board will never go for an outsider either so its Ring next IMO.

be careful what ye wish for

New manager, a bit of work on the physical strength and conditioning etc, and i would be hopeful that Cork will be back winning all Irelands again, sooner rather than later.With Frank now thankfully retired, i would like to think that the board will get rid of Meyler, and put the right man in charge.Oh and all credit to Kilkenny.I can't stand the cats, but i do admire their workrate and intensity.Kilkenny teams always, bring a savage workrate and intensity to the table.It's about time that Cork do the same.

Yes agree with your comments above. Fair play to cats as they did their analysis done on Cork. Before the game, I told someone that Cork can beat cats if they did right thing right decisions etc but not to be. Cork has the talent to burn and beat teams but wrong choice of managers and lack of foresight on part of gaa board as well.

One poster commented re colour blindness which was interesting cos I hadn't thought of that. My friend has colour blindness as he could only work in certain part of work space.

Other thing I remembered was Clive Woodward England Rugby coach had all of his players eyes checked for colour blindness and related eye problems before rugby World Cup. He checked everything from eyes to ball etc whole shebang. That was a professional approach or a professional organisation.

Cats well known for savage work rate as I admire that. It might compensate for other such weakness that some players might not have such as hurling skill. Agree with you re Cork should do the same.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Is it really that hard to understand that a team with one long puckout option in a side are totally screwed?

A lot of his long piucks came straight down on top of Kilkenny men, with Cork men no where to be seen. His puckouts all day were up and down quality wise He drilled short ones at defenders and they hopped off the Hurley and Kilkenny gained possession and scored.

Compared that to the Tip keeper, Passing the ball to a defender with about 30 to 40 % less power-perfect control by Tip defender.

I would love to see a different keeper get the chance next year. I really hope Donal Óg points out how bad his puckouts were- doubt he will.