Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cork 0-24 Clare 0-15 FT. not as comfortable as the scoreline suggests

Still waiting on hurling tickets but there are some fine tickets available for the football, on the 45 in the Cusack and Hogan

• Registered Users Posts: 5,425 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Good win with the quality being the difference in the end. Not a great performance but I think we have a few more gears to go up.Clare really battled hard and you could see they were up for this game.

Turnbull was excellent and Daire Connery came into the game as it went on. The final with Tipp will be a very interesting game!

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Pos087

Shane O Regan is quality. One for the future. Do both finalists in Munster and Leinster go into All Ireland semis. I think that’s what happened last year. We beat Tipp in Munster final but they played the winners of Leinster in the other semi. I might be wrong tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

He obviously hasn’t a clue about Cork gaa. A complete clown to make that statement.
    The answer to that ****e is to not turn up for both. No consideration for the travelling supporter but look after the lads walking down from Glasnevin

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭mistermiyagi

Pos087 wrote: »
    Shane O Regan is quality. One for the future. Do both finalists in Munster and Leinster go into All Ireland semis. I think that’s what happened last year. We beat Tipp in Munster final but they played the winners of Leinster in the other semi. I might be wrong tho.

Yes, same format at u21 last year.
    Munster winners v Leinster runners up in one semi, and vice versa the other.
    So, 2 more games at least, which is great for developing these lads further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Angliru

O Regan and Twomey are serious prospects for the future. Turnbull is still as light as a feather and I think he'll struggle against bigger men but he'd be a great impact sub and there's fewer better men to take their man and draw easy frees.

The Cork Team to play Waterford in the EirGrid Munster Under 20 Football Championship Semi Final has been announced

1. Josh O' Keeffe (Newmarket)

2. Michael O' Mahony (Knocknagree)

3. Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty)

4. Paul Ring (Aghabullogue)

5. Gearoid O' Donovan (Newcestown)

6. Shane Hickey (Millstreet)

7. Peter O' Driscoll (Ilen Rovers) - Captain

8. Brian Hartnett (Douglas)

9. Eanna O' Hanlon (Kilshannig)

10. Colm Barrett (St Finbarrs)

11. Blake Murphy (St Vincents)

12. Mark Hodnett (Carbery Rangers)

13. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)

14. Cathal O' Mahony (Mitchelstown)

15. Damien Gore (Kilmacabea)

16. Ian Giltinan (Carrigaline)

17. Jack McCarthy (Carrigaline)

18. Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys)

19. Daniel O' Connell (Kanturk)

20. Rory MaGuire (Castlehaven)

21. Jack McCarthy (Eire Óg)

22. Brian Hayes (St Finbarrs)

23. David Buckley (Newcestown)

24. Colm O' Callaghan (Eire Óg)

I was talking to someone today who knows Shane O'Regan from the U20s and they were telling me that he is very dedicated and regularly does extra training on his own praticing his shooting with a bag of sliothars after the regular training. They were basically saying that he has a great attitude and works hard.

Not surprising from what we saw during the game such as this catch and strike

https://twitter.com/officialgaa/status/1149313440940531713

Just noticed O Regan strikes the ball there with a cack handed grip ala Taggy Fogarty and Walter Walsh.

• Registered Users Posts: 213 ✭✭Pos087

Upper Cusack out on half way line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Having the same problem with shíte tickets for the football tomorrow night. Must be an awful small crowd going seeing as Davin tickets aren't even available yet not to mind the upper tiers. Might hold out till the morning and hope to get a section 304/305/306 ticket.

Angliru wrote: »
    Just noticed O Regan strikes the ball there with a cack handed grip ala Taggy Fogarty and Walter Walsh.

I didn't notice that until you said it. Then by coincidence there is this article in the examiner today about Deano and his left hand on top!!

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/i-played-left-hand-on-top-but-im-right-handed-936376.html

I didn't notice that until you said it. Then by coincidence there is this article in the examiner today about Deano and his left hand on top!!

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/gaa/i-played-left-hand-on-top-but-im-right-handed-936376.html

As a young fella I used to love switching my grip to Deano's and copy his free taking style.

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Fixture

Pundits seem to be split on Cork KK. Hard to be confident in Cork given two losses in Munster and seven goals conceded, but then you realise it’s last year team plus Alan Cadogan plus additional depth off the bench.

The loss of Spillane is undoubtedly being felt as defensive options are all of a similar level - O’Donoghue and Joyce seem to be falling out of favour with management.

Who will be tasked with marking TJ Reid? Eoin Cadogan probably best equipped but that would require starting Damien Cahalane.

Lehane presumably will get the nod but he really needs to fire on all cylinders from the start or Kinston/O’Flynn will be coming in. Dalton is also an interesting option for KK physicality.

Dry day looks likely which is a good start.

Munster Under 20 Football Semi Final Half Time

Cork 3-12(21) Waterford 0-2(2)

These results don't do anyone any good. Feel sorry for Waterford

Munster Under 20 Football Semi Final Result

Cork 5-23(38) Waterford 0-7(7)

Seems pointless really. Sad for Waterford but Cork just had to do what they had to do

Cork will now play Kerry in the Munster U20 Football Final on Thursday July 18th in Páirc Uí Rinn at 7pm

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Munster Under 20 Football Semi Final Half Time

Cork 3-12(21) Waterford 0-2(2)

These results don't do anyone any good. Feel sorry for Waterford
    Why do the County Boards of these counties tolerate such unequal competition?
    Surely they could be a bit adventurous and come up with more even competitions where teams of equal standard can play out competitive fixtures?

The Cork Senior Hurling Team to play Kilkenny has been announced.

1. Anthony Nash - Kanturk

2. Sean O' Donoghue - Inniscarra

3. Eoin Cadogan - Douglas

4. Stephen McDonnell - Glen Rovers

5. Niall O' Leary - Castlelyons

6. Mark Ellis - Millstreet

7. Mark Coleman - Blarney

8. Bill Cooper - Youghal

9. Darragh Fitzgibbon - Charleville

10. Daniel Kearney - Sarsfields

11. Conor Lehane - Midleton

12. Luke Meade - Newcestown

13. Alan Cadogan - Douglas

14. Patrick Horgan - Glen Rovers

15. Seamus Harnedy - St Itas (Captain)

15. Aidan Walsh - Kanturk

16. Patrick Collins - Ballinhassig

17. Damien Cahalane - St Finbarrs

18. Darren Browne - Kanturk

19. Christopher Joyce - Na Piarsaigh

20. Robert Downey - Glen Rovers

21. Tim O' Mahony - Newtownshandrum

22. Robbie O' Flynn - Erins Own

23. Aidan Walsh - Kanturk

24. Shane Kingston - Douglas

25. Declan Dalton - Fr O' Neills

26. Jack O' Connor - Sarsfields

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭citykat

The Cork Senior Hurling Team to play Kilkenny has been announced.

1. Anthony Nash - Kanturk

2. Sean O' Donoghue - Inniscarra

3. Eoin Cadogan - Douglas

4. Stephen McDonnell - Glen Rovers

5. Niall O' Leary - Castlelyons

6. Mark Ellis - Millstreet

7. Mark Coleman - Blarney

8. Bill Cooper - Youghal

9. Darragh Fitzgibbon - Charleville

10. Daniel Kearney - Sarsfields

11. Conor Lehane - Midleton

12. Luke Meade - Newcestown

13. Alan Cadogan - Douglas

14. Patrick Horgan - Glen Rovers

16. Patrick Collins - Ballinhassig

17. Damien Cahalane - St Finbarrs

18. Darren Browne - Kanturk

19. Christopher Joyce - Na Piarsaigh

20. Robert Downey - Glen Rovers

21. Tim O' Mahony - Newtownshandrum

22. Robbie O' Flynn - Erins Own

23. Aidan Walsh - Kanturk

24. Shane Kingston - Douglas

25. Declan Dalton - Fr O' Neills

26. Jack O' Connor - Sarsfields

Are those Aidan Walshes related in any way?

The genius of Meyler! Hopefully the ref and Kilkenny wont notice the extra man on the pitch........:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Fixture

Not surprised with that selection - experience of McDonnell and Lehane valued. The defenders will be rotating around with forward movements so no major issue with O’Leary being named at 5. It will be like a very physical game of chess for the first quarter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

Thats an interesting move with O’Leary

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Munster Under 20 Football Semi Final Result

Cork 5-23(38) Waterford 0-7(7)

Seems pointless really. Sad for Waterford but Cork just had to do what they had to do

Why on earth was this game held in Clonakilty? That must be nearly 2 and a half hours each way from Waterford City.

I'm all for spreading the games out but we'd be giving out if another county did that to us.

Why on earth was this game held in Clonakilty? That must be nearly 2 and a half hours each way from Waterford City.

I'm all for spreading the games out but we'd be giving out if another county did that to us.

There were a number iof reasons given. The u20 manager wanted it, to decentralise and try to sell more tickets as its thought it would be more popular. Clon is designated as our home venue at U20 level. There were 983 people at the game tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 607 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

There were a number iof reasons given. The u20 manager wanted it, to decentralise and try to sell more tickets as its thought it would be more popular. Clon is designated as our home venue at U20 level. There were 983 people at the game tonight

Was Clon the home venue for all our matches? If so then that's fair enough. Nearly 1,000 people is a fine crowd. Like I said I'm all for spreading these kinds of matches around the county to the likes of Clon, Mallow etc but it just seems a bit unfair on Waterford to travel the extra distance on a work day.

Anyway fair play to the lads, that's an impressive score regardless of the opposition.

That Kilkenny half forward line is going to give me nightmares tonight and tomorrow night.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,447 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Angliru wrote: »
    That Kilkenny half forward line is going to give me nightmares tonight and tomorrow night.

And hopefully sweet dreams on Sinday night.

As regards the hurling, I think we now have a very strong panel. We seem to have a load of options off the bench to change things.

Meade and Kearney were rested against Westmeath and both (especially Kearney) are high energy players as in they do a lot of work. So I expect them to be fully charged and ready to go. Kingston scored 5 points and is on the bench. I'd expect him raring to get on and start up scoring. This means lehane and others have to make their mark or else they will be replaced. I dont think we had this capability before.We have O'Mahony and Walsh ready to come on as well as Robbie O'Flynn. Lots of good options.

We used to rely on Patrick Horgan and in a way we still do for free taking but it doesn't seem its all down to him getting on the ball. Thats a great thing. Kilkenny rely on TJ Reid a bit too much so we need to keep him quiet. Easier said than done of course but I think we can.If Kilkenny win, he will be man of the match.

Kilkenny will want to get this game into a dogfight and have it going point for point. We want to just keep pinging over points and get into a lead. Its a game that if we get a few points ahead early we will keep the lead and win. If they go ahead or its level then we go into a dogfight. They perceive us as not having the capacity to go toe to toe.

They will start the game off with a few shoulders and trying to get themselves pumped up for it and knock us off our stride. While we need to stand up to them, we should look at when Kearney was pushed to the ground against Clare. Just get up and ping over points. I think they will lose confidence if we are up by a few after 15 mins. This Kilkenny team is not as good as years past and thats no secret. They will be vulnerable especially to the pace of this Cork team so they will try to make it physical. I don't mean dirty play, I just mean hard tackling but this could lead them to bookings.

Our defence wouldn't be the best yet I don't think its as bad as everyone says.This is where Kilkenny and TJ Reid hope to do damage. They definitely can and it is a concern.I just think we will score more than they will, due to our attack. So yes I think we will win but this is Cork v Kilkenny so form can go out the window! I just think we are in a perfect place with a lot of options off the bench and that will make the difference late in the game. I think we are still smarting from last year and I think these players couldn't wait to get back to Croke Park. This will be the time to make a statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 563 ✭✭✭rebs23

We seem to be favorites which I don’t like. After looking at that KK forward line....
    They will be pumped up after all the criticism they have shipped recently. Some bizarre comments about Cody as well on the kk forum but anyway we just need to concentrate on our own game and be as determined to tear into it from the start.
    Really hope Lehane In particular performs and stands up.