Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

Uncharted wrote: »
    I presume you don't have young daughter's.

No, I don't. What's that got to do with anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

No, I don't. What's that got to do with anything?

It might change your perspective on the issue you called a 'joke'.

What percentage of abortions occur because of rape?

And don't try and twist my words. I said it's a joke that the issue is being used as a diversionary tactic, not the issue itself.

Hold tough. He called the pivoting on the discussion relating to 12 weeks a joke. Not crisis pregnancies for someone do young.

But , I'm guessing you knew that.

Thank you Tell Me How

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

mod note

Please take 8th debate to the thread in After Hours or to pm

pc7 wrote: »
    mod note

Please take 8th debate to the thread in After Hours or to pm

It's a lot quieter over here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

tbh, all the media have been shameful when covering the two murders. Marion Finucane had already concluded by the weekend that Internet porn was at fault for the murder of the fourteen year old girl. Amazing that a woman who brings so little knowledge to most topics these days can offer such concrete advice on anything. And on Monday morning, Pat Kenny was speaking to Nicola Tallant. Both of them salivating about the prospect of him having murdered some of the other women who went missing. They went through the missing women one by one, saying "well he was too young for that, but he could have done that that and that". Ridiculous and irresponsible.

I didn't expect Kelly to handle it any better. Her agenda is to portray women as oppressed and all men as bast*rds, in spite of all of the things that this supposed oppressing Irish society has afforded her (funding her education as a doctor, and offering her the opportunity to become a radio presenter with no experience or talent). But it's not just her. If you look at the contrast of the handling of how Paddy Jackson was treated in the media after he was found innocent, as opposed to the eulogy that Liveline gave for Catherine Nevin even though she was found guilty of murdering her husband.
    Very well said.

Would love to hear something like this read out on air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Billgirlylegs

Very well said.

Would love to hear something like this read out on air.

Hopefully they won’t read out that Mr Jackson was “found innocent”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Hopefully they won’t read out that Mr Jackson was “found innocent”

Would you prefer if we all just called him a rapist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

tbh, all the media have been shameful when covering the two murders. Marion Finucane had already concluded by the weekend that Internet porn was at fault for the murder of the fourteen year old girl. Amazing that a woman who brings so little knowledge to most topics these days can offer such concrete advice on anything. And on Monday morning, Pat Kenny was speaking to Nicola Tallant. Both of them salivating about the prospect of him having murdered some of the other women who went missing. They went through the missing women one by one, saying "well he was too young for that, but he could have done that that and that". Ridiculous and irresponsible.

I didn't expect Kelly to handle it any better. Her agenda is to portray women as oppressed and all men as bast*rds, in spite of all of the things that this supposed oppressing Irish society has afforded her (funding her education as a doctor, and offering her the opportunity to become a radio presenter with no experience or talent). But it's not just her. If you look at the contrast of the handling of how Paddy Jackson was treated in the media after he was found innocent, as opposed to the eulogy that Liveline gave for Catherine Nevin even though she was found guilty of murdering her husband.

A particularly well thought out and on the button response. As another op said, pity this could`nt be read out on air. I`ve sent the occasional text to 53102 asking for a bit of balance. Darcy is unfortunately another presenter who seems to have taken this lead and starts his program with a 10 minute diatribe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I think phone calls into the radio programmes should be banned. Nothing to be outraged about but I have no interest in hearing what Johnny from Kinsale has to say on housing crisis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭PCeeeee

meeeeh wrote: »
    I think phone calls into the radio programmes should be banned. Nothing to be outraged about but I have no interest in hearing what Johnny from Kinsale has to say on housing crisis.

Havta say I agree with this. I tune in for professionals and all that is supposed to entail.

If I wanted to listen to random opinions the majority of which are illogical or ill informed, I would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,081 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

meeeeh wrote:

They're always treading a thin line with live call in. Woman just now hinting the severity of her housing situation could lead to drastic action is very precarious.

If she ends up getting sorted, every call could be similar. Don't even want to think about the alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Just had a listened to her sermon..

Jesus :eek:

I note that she throws in the odd "men are great but..." lines in the same way you'll often hear a racist say "i'm not a racist but..."

It's an obvious attempt to make her sexist rant sound less sexist but it was nevertheless both sexist and highly insulting to men in general.

Why is that George gets hounded off the airwaves for making an innocent remark while ciara gets to spout this anti male nonsense unopposed ?

The only difference from what I can see is that as men, we don't have ovaries to get in a twist, so we don't go all PMT, lose all sense of reason and start screaming for heads to roll like we've seen some women do in recent times..

Where's Ivana when you need a bit of faux outrage :rolleyes:

Men of course just switch off and stop listening.

The hypocrisy of it all was completely lost on Ciara but nothing new there.

I cringed when i fast forwarded to the comments and heard some man say how we men must stand together and stand up for women yada yada yada.

Fluck right off with your standing together..

Being a man does not make me feel in any way responsible or apologetic for the behaviour and actions of other men.

I didn't know Mark Hennessy. I didn't know Graham O'Dwyer. I don't know the lads killing each other on the streets of Dublin every weekend and I don't know any rapists that i'm aware of anyway. I don't beat my wife and I haven't murdered her yet. That's a joke by the way. If you're a feminist and you're offended, the complaints dept is that way
    >>>

I have no reason whatsoever to feel apologetic or to change my behaviour in order to reflect the way I feel about the behaviour of others or the way others expect me to behave.

Another point that seemed completely lost on ciara is that as a bloke i'm far more likely to be the victim of a random violent attack then she is as we both happily and safely wander round the leafy suburbs of Greystones or any other part of the country for that mater.

But sure why let facts get in the way of playing the victim card given that's her narrative..
    A truly woeful,out of her depth, biased, amateur presenter.

Nail on head. Dangerously out of her depth and getting more so.

What is it that she wants men to do exactly? What can I do about that nut in Wicklow? I'm open to suggestions!

Swanner wrote: »
    Just had a listened to her sermon..

Jesus :eek:

I note that she throws in the odd "men are great but..." lines in the same way you'll often hear a racist say "i'm not a racist but..."

It's an obvious attempt to make her sexist rant sound less sexist but it was nevertheless both sexist and highly insulting to men in general.

Why is that George gets hounded off the airwaves for making an innocent remark while ciara gets to spout this anti male nonsense unopposed ?

The only difference from what I can see is that as men, we don't have ovaries to get in a twist, so we don't go all PMT, lose all sense of reason and start screaming for heads to roll like we've seen some women do in recent times..

Where's Ivana when you need a bit of faux outrage :rolleyes:

Men of course just switch off and stop listening.

The hypocrisy of it all was completely lost on Ciara but nothing new there.

I cringed when i fast forwarded to the comments and heard some man say how we men must stand together and stand up for women yada yada yada.

Fluck right off with your standing together..

Being a man does not make me feel in any way responsible or apologetic for the behaviour and actions of other men.

I didn't know Mark Hennessy. I didn't know Graham O'Dwyer. I don't know the lads killing each other on the streets of Dublin every weekend and I don't know any rapists that i'm aware of anyway. I don't beat my wife and I haven't murdered her yet. That's a joke by the way. If you're a feminist and you're offended, the complaints dept is that way
    >>>

I have no reason whatsoever to feel apologetic or to change my behaviour in order to reflect the way I feel about the behaviour of others or the way others expect me to behave.

Another point that seemed completely lost on ciara is that as a bloke i'm far more likely to be the victim of a random violent attack then she is as we both happily and safely wander round the leafy suburbs of Greystones or any other part of the country for that mater.

But sure why let facts get in the way of playing the victim card given that's her narrative..

Nail on head. Dangerously out of her depth and getting more so.

Sums it up perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

She covered her ar$e on Tuesdasy by saying some of her best friends are men and so is her husband. She's full of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

she is calling for men to cross the road if they are near a woman just incase she might feel nervious
    yes its terrible that some women ( and im sure some men ) feel nervous when a man is around. thats their own issue.
    what kind of signal is this setting for our children.
    telling our girls that every man is a threat

she is calling for men to cross the road if they are near a woman just incase she might feel nervious
    yes its terrible that some women ( and im sure some men ) feel nervous when a man is around. thats their own issue.

You can't be serious. Did she say that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

I think the main problem that Ciara Kelly is going to have is that men are going to cross the road to avoid her radio show. Why would any man want to listen to her constant vilification. It's bad enough having to listen to the missus giving out to you when you are at home, now you get it in the van on the way to a job as well. She would want to just be careful just how high she ramps up the hatred of men though, because she might need a few of them when the JNLR figures come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭podmu80

What do you do if you cross the street only to encounter another female? Cross again? Zigzag your way down the whole fecking street?
    What about grafton street? Female only between certain times?
    Headcase.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

If I'm walking behind a woman late at night or somewhere really quiet, I'll generally speed up and get past her as quickly as I can, because I don't want to make anyone nervous. If you're not a threat to someone, then there's no harm in doing something to indicate that fact, set their mind at rest. Simply saying "well, that's their own issue" is just selfish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

I guess it's only a matter of time before Ciara Kelly suggests a curfew for all men of 10pm. I'm half expecting that she will suggest something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

If I'm walking behind a woman late at night or somewhere really quiet, I'll generally speed up and get past her as quickly as I can, because I don't want to make anyone nervous. If you're not a threat to someone, then there's no harm in doing something to indicate that fact, set their mind at rest. Simply saying "well, that's their own issue" is just selfish.

I would always have done that too. I'm always conscious of the fact that she might feel vulnerable and would take whatever reasonable steps I can to mitigate that while getting on about my own business. (usually slow down or speed up and cross the road)

But I don't need Ciara Kelly telling me to do it.

I'm far less likely to do it now because she's telling me I have to. Her method of preaching is counter productive.
    what kind of signal is this setting for our children. telling our girls that every man is a threat

I was raised to hold doors open for women and stand aside to let a women on the lift first or whatever the scenario might be. I was just raised that way and I do it instinctively but this new brand of feminism is dangerous stuff and I've started to become nervous doing these things as I don't wish to create a confrontational situation with some head wrecking feminazi.

Then thankfully I came to the realisation that some people will choose to get offended no matter what you do and so i've given up worrying about it. If I do something that's meant in kind and you choose to take offence that's your call and your problem.

I will no longer change my behaviour to avoid insulting people whose sole purpose in life is to feel insulted.

They can all just fluck right off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,081 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

This suggestion (by someone else but taken up by Ciara) would ultimately make people more fearful because the guy that "doesn't" cross now if many do must obviously be sinister.

It's not selfish to think we should try to live in a country where all women feel safe all of the time and trust men as their default position.

If it was suggested that women should use phones with an app that constantly reports their GPS location to a database so they can be located and that they wear panic button pendants to initiate a siren and Gardai being called, it would be said that it's unfair to make women change their behavior because of bad men. This suggestion would make all men change their behavior because of the few bad ones.

It's the same but different and would teach young men that they are dangerous or have the potential to be.

If a girl is walking home, on her own, and behind her a guy is walking. He has lost his job, and relationship, he is wearing a hoody and has the hood pulled up because he doesn't want to engage with anyone. She sees him and feels uncomfortable. Is her discomfort more important than his depression so he must cross the street? Why?

Like you HL, I don't want to make anyone feel nervous (male or female) but I'm not going to behave all of the time like me, or my gender, are not to be trusted.

I'm in favour of gender equality, in every situation, but there is a sense that some of the conversation is suggesting something more akin to "positive discrimination", which is wrong in my view and will cause some men to feel unfairly emasculated by women which creates another problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭ouxbbkqtswdfaw

Why shouldn't the woman cross the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Why shouldn't the woman cross the road?

Cos all of the fcukin' chickens have taken that gag already....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Drifter50

More unbelievable guff from CK on her show yesterday. She said the Champions League final was irrelevant to her and anything to do with it is white noise and she filters it out. Ciara you may not be interested in the Champions League final today and that is your personal opinion but thousands of men and women up and down the country are and last time I checked you are a presenter of a Current Affairs Program that surely relates to and reports on........current affairs this weeks events and sports events etc

As for the way she treated that lady Eileen from Carlow who was facing homelessness during the week, I mean WTF. " Listen pet, you need to go and talk to someone, you could start with your GP " I mean just how condescending is that.

I`ve had enough, I am getting wound up listening now so I`m opting out. Can`t stand Muireann on Today FM with the nails on glass screech tones or Ronan Collins on R1 with the blandest of bland so I`m on the hunt for Lyric FM or even BBC5live

Over and out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,310 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Drifter50 wrote:
    More unbelievable guff from CK on her show yesterday. She said the Champions League final was irrelevant to her and anything to do with it is white noise and she filters it out. Ciara you may not be interested in the Champions League final today and that is your personal opinion but thousands of men and women up and down the country are and last time I checked you are a presenter of a Current Affairs Program that surely relates to and reports on........current affairs this weeks events and sports events etc

Jasus the Ciara bashing is getting out of hand.

She said that it's irrelevant to HER. She didn't say that it's irrelevant. Personally I don't believe that it has a place on a current affairs programme. We have sports programmes & dedicated sports news every hour for sports. Pat Kenny on before her had nothing about the champions league either.

This thread really makes hard reading nowadays :(