Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

US Open 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Well this is depressing

Its like the Olympic final last year ,Delpo has no energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭sxt

This last hour of tennis by Nadal has been preserve-in-amber good..some of his best tennis since French open. Nadal is playing like a taunted Michael Jordan. Ruthless. All credit to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

sxt wrote: »
    This last hour of tennis by Nadal has been preserve-in-amber good..some of his best tennis since French open. Nadal is playing like a taunted Michael Jordan. Ruthless. All credit to him

Its easy for him to play like that against a jaded opponent .

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Still can't rule out Anderson winning the final... but it's looking ominous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭yummymummyjay

I reckon Keys will win tonight but I would love to see Sloane take it! Hope it's a battle either way. I hate a disappointing final!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Bar a few points this final has been pretty one sided. Keys hampered slightly by her leg, I think. Stephens so calm and cool.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Sloane is like a throwback to a more graceful age, before the ball-bashers took over. Really like her.

Everything about this post match ceremony has been lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Everything about this post match ceremony has been lovely.

Totally. Lot of class from both of them, come across as really good people.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,929 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

That's got to be one of the most incredible, improbably comebacks ever. Sloane Stephens out for a year, then wins the US Open on her 5th tournament back. Tennis is crazy sometimes :)

Terrible match, but I wasn't expecting anything great. Thought it would go to three sets though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭764dak

764dak wrote: »

so Nadal vs Anderson...
    Anderson obviously known for his serve but he has actually hit more forehand winners than Nadal in the tournament so far - he has upped his game outside his serving prowess.
    Nadal's time-wasting seems to be as bad as it ever was - I know that he's OCD but still it's really annoying to watch and must put off the opponent.
    The extreme number of ball bounces on his serve, the 20 touch routine before each receipt of serve on the opponent's serve....

It Anderson doesn't show up early, he could get absolutely steam rolled because Nadal is going to play like the future of the universe is on his shoulders.

If Anderson shows up, he will win the first set, and who knows from then on. His service game has been immaculate this tournament

glasso wrote: »
    Nadal's time-wasting seems to be as bad as it ever was - I know that he's OCD but still it's really annoying to watch and must put off the opponent.
    The extreme number of ball bounces on his serve, the 20 touch routine before each receipt of serve on the opponent's serve....

He has started it already.
    8 bounces of the ball just to settle himself ,a few scratches of the arse ,then the hair.
    Then he bounces it another 4-5 times.
    Repeat .
    Walking over to the ball boys to get the balls to serve ,and three balls in his hand.
    Absolutely ridiculous stuff ,needs to be stopped.

He is going for the towel now on every point when receiving ah ffs

He has started it already.
    8 bounces of the ball just to settle himself ,a few scratches of the arse ,then the hair.
    Then he bounces it another 4-5 times.
    Repeat .
    Walking over to the ball boys to get the balls to serve ,and three balls in his hand.
    Absolutely ridiculous stuff ,needs to be stopped.

He is going for the towel now on every point when receiving ah ffs

Are you up for Nadal or Anderson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Jaysus 40 minutes on court and only 5 games completed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭John.Icy

Absolutely awful stuff so far.

Anderson would want to calm down ASAP (easier said than done in fairness) and not let Nadal build too much of a lead. Nadal making no great shapes ATM and on certain points it's clear that Anderson has the game to hurt him.

But 20 unforced errors in 7 games? Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,291 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

That's got to be one of the most incredible, improbably comebacks ever. Sloane Stephens out for a year, then wins the US Open on her 5th tournament back. Tennis is crazy sometimes :)

Terrible match, but I wasn't expecting anything great. Thought it would go to three sets though!
    Sloane played really well, but aye not much of a spectacle. However at least it was over pretty quick, this men semi final is drabness personified.

Rafa and Roger have done really well to win all 4 Slams this year, but Christ the fact that 3 of those wins were achieved in cruise control shames the lack of depth in the men's game.

The ladies on the other hand despite a blow out last night has been much more entertaining, fresh and fun.

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Sloane played really well, but aye not much of a spectacle. However at least it was over pretty quick, this men semi final is drabness personified.

Rafa and Roger have done really well to win all 4 Slams this year, but Christ the fact that 3 of those wins were achieved in cruise control shames the lack of depth in the men's game.

This Slam has been particularly bad. No harm to Anderson but when that half of the draw fell apart it shouldn't be a 31 year old journeyman who takes advantage.

There's a couple of young guys who look like exciting prospects now but they can't seem to do it at the slams yet. Hopefully it won't be a repeat of the previous young generation that haven't achieved anything beyond occasionally knocking out a big name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,291 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

This Slam has been particularly bad. No harm to Anderson but when that half of the draw fell apart it shouldn't be a 31 year old journeyman who takes advantage.

There's a couple of young guys who look like exciting prospects now but they can't seem to do it at the slams yet. Hopefully it won't be a repeat of the previous young generation that haven't achieved anything beyond occasionally knocking out a big name.

To be frank its probably more than half a draw:eek:. Rafa's hadn't actually played a top 50 player before the semi final. That's not his fault obviously that so many people bombed, but still not much fun for many who have felt this has been a procession for Rafa. Sloane had landmines galore before last night in comparison.

The tour needs the likes of Zverev, Shapo and I know he is a bell-end, Kyrigos to really step up next year because its highly unlikely that guys like Kei, Milos, Dimi, and Cilic are going to be the ones to shake it up and I for one don't want to see a repeat of this year of Rafa and Roger hammering everyone.

Zverev is still the great hope for the future imo, just needs more time to get his head round the slams.

maybe Shapovalov as well - has beaten top 10 players already at 18

Anderson would have broken now if he hadn't hit that easy smash out.

muck final. Nadal seems so focused to try to catch up with Fed in GS numbers. Could have had a better opponent but it didn't work out that way. Won this without facing a top 20 opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Stuck 20 on Nadal at 3/1 early in the championships. Easiest money I've ever earned. Worst grand slam in living memory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Fairly disgusting to watch all the same. If you believe in Rafa you're one of lifes more gullible folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Rekop dog wrote:
    Fairly disgusting to watch all the same. If you believe in Rafa you're one of lifes more gullible folk.

What are you trying to insinuate here? If you believe Nadal is guilty of some nefarious activities, why don't you just explicitly state it? I had a look back through some of your previous posts and it's obvious you can't hide your disdain for the man. If you don't like his style of play, or attitude on court, so be it, but trying to tarnish this success by suggesting Nadal is guilty of wrongdoing is pathetic. I wonder if you said the same when Federer (at age 35 no less) came back to win the AO and backed that up with SW19.

It is explicitly against Boards rules to post accusations about people without proof. I've already had to pull someone up for that in this thread. Thinly veiled insinuations are what we end up with. No matter, the Slams are all over for another year so this forum will go back to being pretty quiet now for a few months .