Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

US Open 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Christy42

It has to be said it shows the lengths Federer will go to for the fans. He knows most of the top seeds are injured/out so he makes sure he is on court for the longest time possible for them:p.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

I'm literally in shock that a sentence like that can be written and not seem the utter ravings of a madman ;)

Haha!

To be fair isner could probably serve his way to the latter stages (can never ever see him winning a slam though) but I did a double take at the youzhny suggestion (even if he had beat federer)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

All I can say about the Federer match is, phew.

Youzhny played some awesome tennis in sets 2 and 3 but the match was very patchy and the UE's were stratospheric. It's very hard to tell whats up with Federer. He was playing a LOT of UE's when for him usually they were gimmes - the net charges, the lobs, dropshots, serve awol. His FS at times was 80-mph. Just hope this supposed injury doesn't upset his chances here because he has time to work off the rust. He ain't going far currently. I'm also really disappointed about Dimitrov. I think both Roger and Dimi are really struggling with the court speed and bounce. It's painfully slow.

I'm surprised the amount of heat Sharapova is getting. Thought she was fairly forthcoming with her confession and has served her time off. Whats the big deal? I wouldn't begrudge her going far and making a run. Still would want my fav's Ostapenko & Muguruza to win, but still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Weirdly the players that have come through with most ease so far have been the really tall ones, Del Potro, Isner Cilic Querrey and Anderson, must be some sort of advantage for them out there.

Would love to see Juan Martin go far here again after all his troubles with injuries. Seems a really likeable guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

All I can say about the Federer match is, phew.

Youzhny played some awesome tennis in sets 2 and 3 but the match was very patchy and the UE's were stratospheric. It's very hard to tell whats up with Federer. He was playing a LOT of UE's when for him usually they were gimmes - the net charges, the lobs, dropshots, serve awol. His FS at times was 80-mph. Just hope this supposed injury doesn't upset his chances here because he has time to work off the rust. He ain't going far currently. I'm also really disappointed about Dimitrov. I think both Roger and Dimi are really struggling with the court speed and bounce. It's painfully slow.

I'm surprised the amount of heat Sharapova is getting. Thought she was fairly forthcoming with her confession and has served her time off. Whats the big deal? I wouldn't begrudge her going far and making a run. Still would want my fav's Ostapenko & Muguruza to win, but still.

What's the big deal? She doped. It's easy to apologise when you get caught. It's not like she owned up herself. Like all dopers, she's only sorry because she got caught.

Your opinion reflects the attitude of the tennis community towards doping.

The sport's fight against doping is shambolic. If she hadn't called a press conference to announce her positive test, it would have been kept quiet. They don't even store samples for retesting years later. I love the sport, but it's a farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

Chivito550 wrote: »
    What's the big deal? She doped. It's easy to apologise when you get caught. It's not like she owned up herself. Like all dopers, she's only sorry because she got caught.

Your opinion reflects the attitude of the tennis community towards doping.

The sport's fight against doping is shambolic. If she hadn't called a press conference to announce her positive test, it would have been kept quiet. They don't even store samples for retesting years later. I love the sport, but it's a farce.
    I get what you're saying but I get the impression like she came across as being fairly genuine. Call me crazy ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ But yeah, she's served her time as well so I think that's fair enough. Might as well hate on Gasquet and Cilic as too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I see Sharapova is scheduled to be back on the main court again tomorrow agaisnt the new kid Sofia Kenin. Could be wrong about this but i doubt there have been very many occasions when two wild cards, neither ranked inside the top 100, have been given a top court billing in the third round of a slam. I think Wozniacki was brave and also right to speak out about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

I see Sharapova is scheduled to be back on the main court again tomorrow agaisnt the new kid Sofia Kenin. Could be wrong about this but i doubt there have been very many occasions when two wild cards, neither ranked inside the top 100, have been given a top court billing in the third round of a slam. I think Wozniacki was brave and also right to speak out about it.
    Well she's hardly your average wild-card... it's a commercial business and whoever sells most tickets gets the biggest courts. Anyway Shazza was taking a legal supplement which suddenly became illegal... Lance Armstrong she ain't.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I can see where Wozniacki is coming from but at the end of the day Sharapova is still a big crowd draw. I'm sure the TV people want her on a big court too.

I get what you're saying but I get the impression like she came across as being fairly genuine. Call me crazy ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ But yeah, she's served her time as well so I think that's fair enough. Might as well hate on Gasquet and Cilic as too.

Look up Denis Mitchell's doping excuse. No doper is genuine. That's why they are dopers. Remember that. Don't be fooled by her sweet persona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

I can see where Wozniacki is coming from but at the end of the day Sharapova is still a big crowd draw. I'm sure the TV people want her on a big court too.

I think the point Wozniacki is making is that with Sharapova it's partly the drug thing that is making her such a big star here - not that she isn't a big attraction regardless, admittedly - and there's something a bit morally dubious about that.

Anyway, I totally understand the business aspect of it, just don't have to like it. I think Sloane Stephens has a better chance of winning the title than Sharapova and they had her great match v Cibulkova the other day on Court 10.

Well she's hardly your average wild-card... it's a commercial business and whoever sells most tickets gets the biggest courts. Anyway Shazza was taking a legal supplement which suddenly became illegal... Lance Armstrong she ain't.

Victor Conte, one of the most infamous doping doctors, said he worked with her. She's on plenty of other stuff. That's all she got pinned for. Why would you associate yourself with Conte if you were clean.

https://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php?threads/victor-conte-and-doping-in-tennis-lendl-rusedski-chang-and-sharapova.443529/

I think the point Wozniacki is making is that with Sharapova it's partly the drug thing that is making her such a big star here - not that she isn't a big attraction regardless, admittedly - and there's something a bit morally dubious about that.

Anyway, I totally understand the business aspect of it, just don't have to like it. I think Sloane Stephens has a better chance of winning the title than Sharapova and they had her great match v Cibulkova the other day on Court 10.

Regardless of personal feelings about it Sharapova is still one of the biggest names in tennis, she's come through these past 18 months relatively unscathed by it all, in terms of her "brand". I think it irks some players, and fans, that she's still a huge star in spite of the drugs ban. Again I can understand that point of view but it is what it is. As long as people show up to see her in their droves she'll remain on the show courts. Wozniacki's problem is with the fans still supporting her, or with the sport's governing bodies still using her to their own ends, which are both understandable, but it's not going to change anytime soon.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Victor Conte, one of the most infamous doping doctors, said he worked with her. She's on plenty of other stuff. That's all she got pinned for. Why would you associate yourself with Conte if you were clean.

https://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/index.php?threads/victor-conte-and-doping-in-tennis-lendl-rusedski-chang-and-sharapova.443529/

This isn't really a thread for this kind of thing. There is another thread somewhere that was started to discuss the problem of doping in tennis. As always though Boards prefers if posters don't make accusations about people without any hard proof.

To be fair though, I tried to set up a doping in tennis thread in the past here (or something along those lines) and it flopped. This forum is only active in 4 threads a year, so there really is no better place to discuss something which is topical anyway.

Victor Conte was at the centre of the Balco scandal, helping Marion Jones to evade test after test. He's like the godfather of doping. When he says he's worked with Sharapova, I tend to believe him. This is something that should be taken seriously, yet 5 years on, almost nobody knows about this.

Cilic in trouble now... he looks fit to murder out there.

Best match of the Open so far though

Schwartzman reminds me a lot of Ferrer. I could see him being a similar late enough bloomer and it wouldn't surprise me to see him go deep in some slams

To be honest a lot had Murray's draw down as a gimme (me included tbf ) but there's every chance he would have gone out to DS had he played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,291 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

If Murray was fit he would have gone through Diego, regularly beat Ferrer, however if he tried to wing it, might have got quite messy.

John Isner 14/1 and Sam Querrey 16/1 to win the US Open, think that tells the story of this Slam.:pac:

Anderson still playing within himself and hasn't dropped a set yet. I'm starting to get excited!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Serena gave birth to a baby girl today :)

Rjd2 wrote: »
    If Murray was fit he would have gone through Diego, regularly beat Ferrer, however if he tried to wing it, might have got quite messy.

John Isner 14/1 and Sam Querrey 16/1 to win the US Open, think that tells the story of this Slam.:pac:

Murray has been a mess in 2017 though. A grinder like Schwartzman is a far from ideal opponent in such circumstances

Murray Ferrer matches were very nip and tuck in ferrer's prime years

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

So let's talk about the bottom half of the men's draw..

https://twitter.com/Renestance/status/903689236725075969

Although Coric, Edmund and Albot have since lost. I hope Shapovalov makes it, but having played qualies he'll probably have run out of gas before that.

So let's talk about the bottom half of the men's draw..

https://twitter.com/Renestance/status/903689236725075969

Although Coric, Edmund and Albot have since lost. I hope Shapovalov makes it, but having played qualies he'll probably have fun out of gas before that.

Not sure about that when it comes to Shapa. Today was a tough match, but the early retirement of Kyle helps. Busta will be tough, but he is not exactly Nadal so if he could get through that easily enough, then who knows.

Isner about to go 2-0 down now, absurd scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I've always had a soft spot for Querrey and as we know he's the type of player who's always capable of throwing the cat among the pigeons at a slam. He's capable of beating any of those players to be honest, especially with home advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭yummymummyjay

Mad results so far! I hope we have a new grand slam champ this year

Querrey has beaten Djokovic and an injured murray at wimbldon- he's never done a thing else at a slam

Saw a comment on Twitter that you wouldn't get as poor a half of a draw in a 250 tournament. Very true

Top half not super strong either. Fed is 2/1 shot with most firms and he's barely able to move, like literally most of this draw would have beat him on his performance vs Youzhny who himself was on one leg by the end. Who knows if his condition will improve but I'd have to put it in the extremely unlikely category.

Nadal is 6/4 favourite but has looked lethargic as anything since the French, rubbish at Wimbledon and his two lead up tournaments. Probably is the most likely winner but you'd only have tentative confidence in him at best.

There's very little recent form in that top half so since it's silly season I don't think Damir Dzumhur is a 500/1 shot, he made a final and semi in his last two ATP 250 tournaments playing some good stuff and looked impressive here so far. His route to the quarters not too daunting either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

Fognini has been defaulted from the US Open for repeatedly insulting the umpire during his first round singles match. He's also been fined 3 times - $24,000 in total. Probably still won't stop him next time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Osty flunks out in straight sets, I'm going off her a bit.

Enjoyed the Coco v Aggie game earlier, but its understandable why so many people dislike Coco, incredibly obnoxious on court. Her actions at the end were pretty ****, but not a surprise really. For someone who has won **** all, she has an arrogance that she has not ever justified.

Love Del Potro on the other hand, however the fact he has cruised through to the last 16 especially at when you look at the other half of the draw is not a good look for the men's side.