Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

US Open 2017

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Go on Anderson!! He's a new man with all this fist pumping and self congratulatory behaviour. Seems to be working. Nice two day rest now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,291 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Williams and Kvitova was a very good match.
    I'm not sure how Williams won, Kvitova was the better player but made too many errors late on.
    Venus must be hot favourite now.
    Its Pliskova with the bookies, although not much between her, Venus and Keys with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

If PCB makes it to the final it's a sad day for tennis when a complete grinder makes it to a USO final. But then again the surface speed has some people saying it plays more like clay than fast hard like it traditionally did which I find very disappointing.

I can't stay up again tonight for the Delpo/Fed match as I'll be completely unproductive in work like I was yesterday :D If it were a final I'd be happy for either to win but since it's the quarters I want Federer to win just slightly. If either is at full fitness I expect both to see off Nadal.

Lastly, I want anyone else than Venus to win. I know it would be a story given her age but I just don't like the Williams sisters.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Venus looked good at Wimby also but the final was one match too many. Same could happen here.

If PCB makes it to the final it's a sad day for tennis when a complete grinder makes it to a USO final. But then again the surface speed has some people saying it plays more like clay than fast hard like it traditionally did which I find very disappointing.

Pablo is a nice guy, but yes no interest in this guy in a hard court final. He has played 4 qualifiers and a half fit Schwartzman to get this far, fair play to him for getting it done, but this vulture tennis at its best/worst.

Rublev miles out of his depth, steep learning curve.

Surprised how well Raf and Rog have played themselves into this tournament, their likely semi final could be an epic.

Rekop dog wrote: »
    Rublev miles out of his depth, steep learning curve.

Surprised how well Raf and Rog have played themselves into this tournament, their likely semi final could be an epic.

Rublev has promise, but another somewhat blessed by the draw, Goffin was goosed Monday and Dimi not a 100%.

Please please please don't let Delpo spoil the party :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

What time roughly would the fed-delp match likely start? Might get a few hours kip beforehand, would I be right in saying 01:30ish?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 24,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Please please please don't let Delpo spoil the party :D

Some of us are at the Delpo party ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

thelad95 wrote: »
    What time roughly would the fed-delp match likely start? Might get a few hours kip beforehand, would I be right in saying 01:30ish?

Probably closer to 2.30 I'd say. By the time Keys and Kanepi actually start play it'll be around 20 past 12. They could go to 3 sets....or drag the arse out of 2!:pac:

Delpo - Federer could be a good one! Hope Juan has fully recovered from the Thiem match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,837 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Good man Delpo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,064 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

paulie21 wrote: »
    Good man Delpo

Has he enough in the tank to beat Rafa though?
    I've a bad feeling that it is going to be like the Olympics last year, where he ran out of energy.
    Murrays antics have deprived the fans of a proper final, the other side of the draw is crap.

Federer looked very frail mentally tonight, he was making some shocking mistakes when under pressure. He wasn't really at the races tonight.

Amazing how Del Potros injury disappeared once he got the break point, hopefully he will be OK for Rafa, we could have a classic on our hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭Rob2D

Well Delpo better win it out after that; for his own sake. He just upset the biggest match in tennis history. I wonder how much money the tournament/networks just lost out on? Was gonna hop on a plane to JFK myself actually.

I reckon he can take Rafa and the trophy no problem. It's been a long time coming for him.

Federer looked very frail mentally tonight, he was making some shocking mistakes when under pressure. He wasn't really at the races tonight.

Amazing how Del Potros injury disappeared once he got the break point, hopefully he will be OK for Rafa, we could have a classic on our hands.
    Federer has't been at 100% since Wimbledon. He was missing 99% shots he's make in his sleep and his serving was still not good enough. His clutchness and tactics were just not the same. I'm disappointed he lost but at the same time he was never going to win the USO playing like this. I was hoping he'd be injury free in time and get back to his Wimbly level but it wasn't to be.

I really hope Del Potro can take the title but I have my fears like some of you about his fitness. Who knows where he's at. Juan needs to be aggressive, dictate with his forehand and keep the points short like he did in the USO semi-final 2009 where he left Nadal looking completely out of ideas.

I think it'd be a great story if Del Potro can win this tournament again. If Nadal does win (and likely faces Anderson in the final) he'll have won without facing anyone in the top 20. I can't remember an easier run to a GS in my lifetime.

On paper perhaps but of it weren't for injuries, Delpo and Anderson would be comfortably top 20. Still a handy enough draw though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭Floppybits

It would be fantastic to see Del Potro win this. Hopefully he can beat Nadal. I can see Nadal just hitting Del Potro's backhand all day long in the semi final.

The whole lob sided draw has ruined this tournament. To reach a semi final in the other half of the draw all you had to do was stay fit and healthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

It's not even that lopsided though as it transpired the whole thing has been a bit of a mess

Federer said himself he was miles off winning form and was definitely beatable by an Anderson or querrey

Delpo is a big name but very inconsistent these days. Rublev was the worst QFist on show

Carreno busta's quarter was farcical but that does sometimes happen

I just can't see Delpo hitting through nadal enough to be honest. it'll surely go down as the softest slam win ever for Rafa

• Site Banned Posts: 1 Advisory council

I wonder will Fed be worried about Rafa catching his slam count. Only three in it now after this US Open. Fed might be forced to play for a few more years to protect his record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I wonder will Fed be worried about Rafa catching his slam count. Only three in it now after this US Open. Fed might be forced to play for a few more years to protect his record.

It would be great if they could both end up on the same number of grand slams and they both retire with that.

He's not over the line yet. Hasn't faced a player in the top 50 yet so we haven't had reasonable gauge of where his games at. Won't need to be at his absolute best to beat Delpo and Anderson/PCB but it's definitely a step up on his opponents so far and he was losing to this sort of standard or worse in his previous 3 tournaments.

If Del Potro is at full fitness (which sadly looks very unlikely) come tomorrow I could see him beat Nadal relatively comprehensively. As it is at the moment I see him as the underdog.

Out of the women's side I hope Sloane Stephens wins the entire thing. I like her game. Wouldn't begrudge Keys either. I would be deflated if Coco V or Venus wins. Get the impression that Vandeweghe is an intolerable bitch. Could be wrong but yeah.

If Del Potro is at full fitness (which sadly looks very unlikely) come tomorrow I could see him beat Nadal relatively comprehensively. As it is at the moment I see him as the underdog.

Out of the women's side I hope Sloane Stephens wins the entire thing. I like her game. Wouldn't begrudge Keys either. I would be deflated if Coco V or Venus wins. Get the impression that Vandeweghe is an intolerable bitch. Could be wrong but yeah.

Anyone but Coco for me.

Banned after 1 post? Impressive...

There's a reason why very few win Slams at 36 and Fed showed us why last night. But with two more days recovery time the semi could still be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,150 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I am hoping for either sloane or keys for me. I cant stand the williams sisters and Coco comes across as a bit of a twat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Except as it stands, Rafa has just fallen a Grand Slam further behind so far this year. Of course if he wins this one, Australia next year will be huge in determining if Rafa is likely to catch Federer, as you'd expect him to win the French straight after to bring his tally to 18. Of course if Federer won Aus again, it would be very hard to see Rafa come from 3 slams behind and win 5 to overtake him. Rafa needs to win this, Aus and the French to put him in contention of toppling 19. If not, he's probably left it too late age wise, and you'd expect Djokovic to be back

Simon Carr a set down in his R3 match. Served for it at 5-4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭lostcat

not sure, Federer for some bizzare reason kept hitting to Del Potros' forehand, Nadal will be able to hit his lefty forehand to Del Potros backhand, and no better man to stick to a plan.
    I can see Del Potro spending a lot of the match hitting backhands, and the court looks slower than usual which would help Nadal also (it looks to me like Aus and US flipped court speeds this year, Aus looked faster than usual)

would love to see Del Potro win it outright, but to me Anderson has the look of a Cilic from a few years ago..

Federer gave some rather mealy mouthed compliment to Del Potro during the week about the 2009 win, that one must really have stung....

Simon Carr a set down in his R3 match. Served for it at 5-4.

Carr took 2nd set 6-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

lostcat wrote: »
    not sure, Federer for some bizzare reason kept hitting to Del Potros' forehand, Nadal will be able to hit his lefty forehand to Del Potros backhand, and no better man to stick to a plan.
    I can see Del Potro spending a lot of the match hitting backhands, and the court looks slower than usual which would help Nadal also (it looks to me like Aus and US flipped court speeds this year, Aus looked faster than usual)

would love to see Del Potro win it outright, but to me Anderson has the look of a Cilic from a few years ago..

Federer gave some rather mealy mouthed compliment to Del Potro during the week about the 2009 win, that one must really have stung....

I think Nadal will win fairly handy, but he does seem to be struggling with tall big servers of late