Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

keane2097 wrote: »
    I wrote off Dublin before the final in 2015. I ended up being wrong but I don't think the disappointment was any worse because of it, and it definitely made the build up more enjoyable.

A lot of Mayo fans are overly cautious IMO. Ye will eventually win the All Ireland at some stage and the people who go into every game super confident will knock way more craic out of it than the people with the rosary beads out every week.

In most walks of life I think anyone telling you 'don't get your hopes up' should be told to **** off.

Never a truer word spoken
    One game away from a final
    2 from nirvana
    But still we have the usual internet brigade telling us not to even discuss such things in case it puts the players off
    Such a load of ****e
    Stinks of trying to be the very bestest ever mayo supporter and completely politically correct

I'm confident . I think we can beat ye and both Dublin and Tyrone
    . I pre-booked hotel for final in July when a lot were pissing and moaning .
    Of course it's free cancellation cos I'm not mental but still :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

We should tell the Kerry Lads there's a fairy fort on Jones's road.

Might be somthing in that tactic. ;)
    From today's Irish times
    Danny Healy-Rae claims fairy forts caused dip in Kerry Road

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/danny-healy-rae-claims-fairy-forts-caused-dip-in-kerry-road-1.3179717

A more detailed analysis

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/heritage/fairy-forts-who-when-why-and-how-1.3181259

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

km79 wrote: »
    Never a truer word spoken
    One game away from a final
    2 from nirvana
    But still we have the usual internet brigade telling us not to even discuss such things in case it puts the players off
    Such a load of ****e
    Stinks of trying to be the very bestest ever mayo supporter and completely politically correct

I'm confident . I think we can beat ye and both Dublin and Tyrone

I seriously doubt any of the players or management are on the internet reading our views or any other views either. What we say is irrelevant to the eventual outcome. I for one and others too are making a general observation that you can never write off Kerry, from watching them down through the years.

As for being confident of us beating everyone left in the competition, again there is little to base that on. We beat a tired, demoralised and young Roscommon team.

Every other team left in the competition offers a much stiffer test that Mayo will do well to overcome. I fear its the same old situation where Mayo put together one good result and suddenly everyone thinks they are world beaters. They aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

:) Quality

I seriously doubt any of the players or management are on the internet reading our views or any other views either. What we say is irrelevant to the eventual outcome. I for one and others too are making a general observation that you can never write off Kerry, from watching them down through the years.

As for being confident of us beating everyone left in the competition, again there is little to base that on. We beat a tired, demoralised and young Roscommon team.

Every other team left in the competition offers a much stiffer test that Mayo will do well to overcome. I fear its the same old situation where Mayo put together one good result and suddenly everyone thinks they are world beaters. They aren't.

Where are you getting all this from? Mayo world beaters, Kerry underdogs, we're taking them for granted... the only one talking this nonsense is yourself.

It was the same last week when you were on a crusade about McHale / McStay. Over on the Roscommon thread apologising for your fellow Mayo supporters and saying how great their team was... they've suddenly become tired, demoralised and young now.

I get the feeling that you'll only be happy when or if we get knocked out.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Booked it myself Sunday night! :) No rooms left now!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,640 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Mayo really don't seem like they've learned anything about good forward play based on what I saw the weekend. They did set up differently from the previous day and stopped fouling Roscommon when they got into the Mayo half which was a key factor in the win imo. The fouling the first day cost them big.

They kept going for goals after they had built up a big lead. I counted five times in the first half and another four in the second half where they could have taken easy points when a goal was quite difficult. One of those chances ended up in the back of the net but there was no score from all the rest. They left six points out there on the day and it's something that they have to learn from but I doubt they will.

Now some people will say that this is down to provincial rivalry but that is not good enough if you are looking to win an all-Ireland. Kerry destroyed Cork and instead of going for goals they just kept building their lead by taking easy points. If you don't take your easy points against Kerry I don't think it'll be pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,630 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

eagle eye wrote: »
    Mayo really don't seem like they've learned anything about good forward play based on what I saw the weekend. They did set up differently from the previous day and stopped fouling Roscommon when they got into the Mayo half which was a key factor in the win imo. The fouling the first day cost them big.

They kept going for goals after they had built up a big lead. I counted five times in the first half and another four in the second half where they could have taken easy points when a goal was quite difficult. One of those chances ended up in the back of the net but there was no score from all the rest. They left six points out there on the day and it's something that they have to learn from but I doubt they will.

Now some people will say that this is down to provincial rivalry but that is not good enough if you are looking to win an all-Ireland. Kerry destroyed Cork and instead of going for goals they just kept building their lead by taking easy points. If you don't take your easy points against Kerry I don't think it'll be pretty.

True enough, but I think if we are to beat Kerry we would definitely need a goal or two so the more practice the better perhaps.

I give ourselves a decent chance but its understandable why Kerry are favorites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Oh you can never win

Mayo won by 22 points.

Had they only won by 10 someone would be saying that unlike Kerry or Dublin they don't crush the opposition when they should

Other days when Mayo (and other teams not called Kerry or Dublin) kick points instead of goals they are criticised for not going for goals

Now you are criticising them for going for goals during a what was little more than a training session.

Kerry only beat Galway by 9, a team that lost to Roscommon by 9, a team that lost to Mayo by 22, go analyise that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I wouldn't exactly call them hot favourites. They are two evenly matched teams imo and it will be a close encounter and could end up in a draw and replay. Gone are the days when Kerry could beat Mayo out the gate in the first 10 minutes. Equally the game against Roscommon was the first time in a long time where Mayo actually put a team away and didn't allow them back in. They nearly always give the opposition some chance. Lets hope if they do pull out a good lead against Kerry, they show a bit of experience and hold on to it. They can expect a plenty supply of high balls into Donaghy and how they cope with that could determine the result of the game.

Well they're 2/1 on with the bookies, not raging hot favourites but clear favourites all the same

Oh you can never win

Mayo won by 22 points.

Had they only won by 10 someone would be saying that unlike Kerry or Dublin they don't crush the opposition when they should

Other days when Mayo (and other teams not called Kerry or Dublin) kick points instead of goals they are criticised for not going for goals

Now you are criticising them for going for goals during a what was little more than a training session.

Kerry only beat Galway by 9, a team that lost to Roscommon by 9, a team that lost to Mayo by 22, go analyise that

Clearly you don't understand plain English.
    I am criticising then for leaving points out there. They would have won by six more if they had taken their easy points instead of going for goals.

I'm more than happy with a 22 point win. Anymore and we wouldn't know ourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Fr. Tod. I think it's best to let this one go. You just know it's going to end in tears.

I have to confess that I don't remember Mayo missing 8 goal chances, but with the dominance that was there, Eagle Eye could be right about that statistic.

I'm more than happy with a 22 point win. Anymore and we wouldn't know ourselves.

Right so, you are all in favour of Mayo doing the wrong thing?
    I bet you'll be the person criticising them when they lose a game through not taking their easy points.

PARlance wrote: »
    Where are you getting all this from? Mayo world beaters, Kerry underdogs, we're taking them for granted... the only one talking this nonsense is yourself.

It was the same last week when you were on a crusade about McHale / McStay. Over on the Roscommon thread apologising for your fellow Mayo supporters and saying how great their team was... they've suddenly become tired, demoralised and young now.

I get the feeling that you'll only be happy when or if we get knocked out.

Total horse manure and you know it. The rest of your post isn't much better and not worth a response.

But what point are you trying to make ?

22 points is a massive score difference.

Do you think that it’s not enough?

It will have no relevance to the Kerry game as they will be two totally different games.

Explain to me why Kerry did not beat Galway by more than 9, surely they left points out there as well?

On the Sunday Game after the Ulster Final one of the panel was asked to find a fault with Tyrone’s display (I can’t remember who it was could have been Dessie Dolan) .

They brought up a clip of a Tyrone fisting a ball over the bar in a game that was already won and said something to the tune of ‘if that was Kerry or Dublin they would have gone for goal, that’s the difference between Kerry and Dublin and the rest yada yada yada…”

Yet Kerry fisted points over the bar in the Munster final and no one said boo, and probably did the same v Galway

And you now find going for goals as a point of a criticism for a team that was just going through the motions ?

I can't believe I'm actually seeing this conversation .
    There is no pleasing some people.
    Happy enough with the TWENTY POINT WIN myself .
    They won't beat Kerry without scoring goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,805 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Yet Kerry fisted points over the bar in the Munster final and no one said boo, and probably did the same v Galway

At least one person said they should be literally murdered in fairness.

Well they're 2/1 on with the bookies, not raging hot favourites but clear favourites all the same

Big difference between favourites and hot favourites. I answered another poster who said Kerry were hot favourites to defeat Mayo. They aren't. I've said they are evenly matched.

So far I have called most of the games correctly, apart from the Roscommon replay, although I will have to check back what I said about the replay.

In contrast you had other posters who said we would have no trouble against any team. All I saw on here in the buildup to the Cork game was how Cork football is a shambles, Mayo will have no trouble blah blah. I pointed out that Cork were of a similar quality if not better than Derry and Clare and not far off Galway.
    The truth is we struggled all the way to the Roscommon replay and finally found another gear. As I said on the Roscommon thread, Roscommon looked tired and are also inexperienced. As Pat Spillane said the game was worthless as an exercise in analysing where Mayo are at re the other big 3 teams. Anyone with half a clue about football would also agree with this.

Some posters on here struggle with nuances and minor distinctions in posts.
    For example it is correct to say we struggled up to the Roscommon replay. We then hammered them. But Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin are a completely different proposition to a leg weary Roscommon team. Anyone who thinks we will have it anyways easy against the big 3 is naive. I'm calling it a close game between Kerry and Mayo.

Nope, should have been 28

If it was Kerry or Dublin they would have won by 28.

Right so, you are all in favour of Mayo doing the wrong thing?

Stop talking sh*te.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I wanted a 30 pointed, really disgusted we didn't. ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Big difference between favourites and hot favourites. I answered another poster who said Kerry were hot favourites to defeat Mayo. They aren't. I've said they are evenly matched.

So far I have called most of the games correctly, apart from the Roscommon replay, although I will have to check back what I said about the replay.

In contrast you had other posters who said we would have no trouble against any team. All I saw on here in the buildup to the Cork game was how Cork football is a shambles, Mayo will have no trouble blah blah. I pointed out that Cork were of a similar quality if not better than Derry and Clare and not far off Galway.
    The truth is we struggled all the way to the Roscommon replay and finally found another gear. As I said on the Roscommon thread, Roscommon looked tired and are also inexperienced. As Pat Spillane said the game was worthless as an exercise in analysing where Mayo are at re the other big 3 teams. Anyone with half a clue about football would also agree with this.

Some posters on here struggle with nuances and minor distinctions in posts.
    For example it is correct to say we struggled up to the Roscommon replay. We then hammered them. But Kerry, Tyrone and Dublin are a completely different proposition to a leg weary Roscommon team. Anyone who thinks we will have it anyways easy against the big 3 is naive. I'm calling it a close game between Kerry and Mayo.

Earlier, you suggested that Lee Keegan be left on the bench for the semi-final against Kerry. The same Lee Keegan who is the reigning player of the year, scored 1-3 in one half of football in the quarter final, and is currently showing even greater form than last year. I think we all (or most of us anyway) agree that Mayo’s strength is their running game, and possibly their only hope against Kerry. And you want to leave our strongest scoring half-back on the side-line.

I honestly do not understand what footballing mentality you carry around with you. You’re coming up with these strange assertions – “Anyone who thinks we will have it anyways easy against the big 3 is naïve”. I’m pretty sure nobody here thinks we have it anyways easy against the big 3. And the reason I know that is because nobody has said it. So I don’t know where you are getting these fantasies from. Unless you are a troll, and just sniggering away as you type.

I said earlier that Kerry are hot favourites. I meant it in bookies terms. 2/1 on for Kerry to win, and 9/4 (I think) for Mayo to win does make Kerry hot favourites in a 2 horse race in my opinion. Obviously Paddy Power does not agree with you that the teams are evenly matched.

22 point win, not 20. You must be counting one of them goals as a point.

Jeebus lads its bloody opinions, one poster thinks one thing others dont agree, hardly need to go losing the plot over it! :D

We hammered Roscommon, we are in a semi, we have a chance of beating Kerry. Happy days. Sun is shining, go get a farmers tan! :D

Earlier, you suggested that Lee Keegan be left on the bench for the semi-final against Kerry. The same Lee Keegan who is the reigning player of the year, scored 1-3 in one half of football in the quarter final, and is currently showing even greater form than last year. I think we all (or most of us anyway) agree that Mayo’s strength is their running game, and possibly their only hope against Kerry. And you want to leave our strongest scoring half-back on the side-line.

I honestly do not understand what footballing mentality you carry around with you. You’re coming up with these strange assertions – “Anyone who thinks we will have it anyways easy against the big 3 is na”. I’m pretty sure nobody here thinks we have it anyways easy against the big 3. And the reason I know that is because nobody has said it. So I don’t know where you are getting these fantasies from. Unless you are a troll, and just sniggering away as you type.

I said earlier that Kerry are hot favourites. I meant it in bookies terms. 2/1 on for Kerry to win, and 9/4 (I think) for Mayo to win does make Kerry hot favourites in a 2 horse race in my opinion. Obviously Paddy Power does not agree with you that the teams are evenly matched.

I said it has created a selection headache which it has. There is nothing wrong with leaving a brilliant player on the bench and bringing them on when you see how the game is going and where he is most needed. The modern game involves all sorts of rotations of players, you just have to look at Dublin as an example. I also said the other option is to start him. So relax and keep your shorts on.

So you think we are going to steam roll any of the big 3? My footballing mentality is far more sound than yours. Roscommon are a young inexperienced team who may be a force in future years but not this year. They aren't within a million miles of any of the other counties left in the competition.

So as I said before, the replay against the Rossies was worthless when deciding how good Mayo's chances are of winning the AI. It really is that simple. Believing because we steamrolled Roscommon, we will steam roll everyone else left in the competition is idiocy in the extreme.

Some of the predictions of some posters have been widely off the mark through the entire campaign. The predicted we'd hammer everyone along the way and they made fools of themselves while doing it. Now many of the same posters are making more wild predictions for the Kerry game, how we will take them handy and either Tyrone or Dublin afterwards. Its hard to take these predictions seriously.

Look, I think some people should just enjoy the occasion, shout "come on Mayo" every so often, etc. But they should leave the serious analysis to others who have a more nuanced and non-biased view of the game.

PARlance wrote: »
    22 point win, not 20. You must be counting one of them goals as a point.

Oops I forgot the TWO :D
    By eagle eyes mentality it would in fact have been a twenty point win anyway
    Take the easy points gave us six extra BUT take the easy point for the 4 goals is a net loss of 8 points so we only win by 20 by taking the easy point ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Stats from the Mayo Roscommon game.

37 scoring chances from play
    18 scoring chances from play converted

DGox1LGW0AAqWsE.jpg

Also a quick lesson in turning bookies odds into probability.

Currently Paddy Power have Mayo at 9/4 Kerry 1/2 and the Draw 15/2

In percentage terms this works out as

Mayo 31%
    Kerry 67%
    Draw 12%

The reason this doesn't add up to 100% is the overround or basically the bookies profit.

If you adjust it down to take out the bookies profit and get their true odds, it works out as

Mayo 28%
    Kerry 61%
    Draw 11%

In terms of the "favourites" versus "hot favourites" debate, I'd imagine that there is no way to accurately agree on that, but it's clear that Kerry are favourites and by a good margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

I said it has created a selection headache which it has. There is nothing wrong with leaving a brilliant player on the bench and bringing them on when you see how the game is going and where he is most needed. The modern game involves all sorts of rotations of players, you just have to look at Dublin as an example.

So you would leave keegan on the bench against Kerry...
    That is lee keegan now - probably the player with the most complete skillset in the game.

I wonder will Kerry be leaving Geaney and David Moran out? Modern game and all that...

Some players you need on the pitch - keegan is most definitely one of them.

FFS, we won the game and won it well. Could we have scored more? Yes. But the game was over by half time, and guys take on shots in that situation. Are you telling me that Kerry or Dublin didn't miss a few chances to win by more in their games? Diarmuid O'Connor is the only guy Id take issue with for their shot selection.

We should now consign the Roscommon game to the past and move on to Kerry. We can definitely beat them, but it will be a big ask. The battle between AOS and Morley will be a big factor in the game. If they win a lot of primary possession he could hurt us breaking up the field, but vice versa is also true. To win, we need to find a way to put Moran on the backfoot.

So you would leave keegan on the bench against Kerry...
    That is lee keegan now - probably the player with the most complete skillset in the game.

I wonder will Kerry be leaving Geaney and David Moran out? Modern game and all that...

Some players you need on the pitch - keegan is most definitely one of them.

FFS, we won the game and won it well. Could we have scored more? Yes. But the game was over by half time, and guys take on shots in that situation. Are you telling me that Kerry or Dublin didn't miss a few chances to win by more in their games? Diarmuid O'Connor is the only guy Id take issue with for their shot selection.

We should now consign the Roscommon game to the past and move on to Kerry. We can definitely beat them, but it will be a big ask. The battle between AOS and Morley will be a big factor in the game. If they win a lot of primary possession he could hurt us breaking up the field, but vice versa is also true. To win, we need to find a way to put Moran on the backfoot.

A. Its irrelevant what I do, its the manager who makes the changes.
    B. None of us have any clue as to whether he is over his injury. If he is fully fit I would probably start him. But who do you take off, given there wasn't a single weak link against Roscommon? On the balance of probability I would start him, but the question is who do you drop and why?
    C. Similar to B., we don't know if he's fully fit and over his injury. No point playing a player who isn't fully fit just because he's the great Lee Keegan.

So its not as straightforward as saying "We need to start Lee Keegan". Again you have to be nuanced and assess his fitness and how and where he can make the best impact on the game.