Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

yop wrote: »
    The ticket emails out already! :) 40 snots for a ticket.

and taking payment this Friday, August 11th :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I certainly wouldnt have put Dillon V galway or Cork but at this stage its obvious he's Rochford's preferred choice so he's going to stick with him now.

Yeah we don't really have a go-to guy to send on to kick a point late in a tight game. If we did he'd almost certainly be starting.:p Dillon still probably as good a bet as any in that situation...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Lads, I know many of ye are season ticket holders. I know many of ye go to all the Championship games, and even the league games in Castlebar and maybe beyond. With train tickets, hotels (for the fancy wauns) and the kiddies, how much are Mayo supporters forking out every summer for the past 5 years? Ye must be loaded. 65 quid for the last two games and 40 for the next and load knows how much for the Cork and Donegal games .............

Anyway, best of luck to Mayo for the rest of the season, put us Connacht lads out of our mystery and bring Sam home . Love from a Rossie.

I'm not loaded I just don't drink :D

I thought the roscommon crowd were fantastic and had a roar to match mayos crowd. Ye were a credit to the west.

Well done on your connaught win, it was great to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Mayo News Podcast up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Can't find the highlights from the Monday game last night on rte player, only the extras :confused: Anyone got a direct link, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PARlance wrote: »
    Mayo News Podcast up.

A thundering display, full of relentless energy, saw Mayo overwhelm Roscommon on Monday to make it seven semi finals in a row. Written off as 'tired' and 'on the wane', the Mayo team came up with their most dominant display in years as they ran up a 4-19 scoreline on a day to remember for Mayo fans. On this week's podcast we hear from Paul Earley for Sky Sports, Ciaran Murphy of Second Captains and Frank Roche of the Hearld. Ger Flanagan and Edwin McGreal take you through the game and Mike Finnerty anchors the show. Stay tuned for the thoughts of Keith Higgins too.

Mayo News Football Podcast - Running Riot.

http://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2017-08-08T07_45_46-07_00.mp3

Can't find the highlights from the Monday game last night on rte player, only the extras :confused: Anyone got a direct link, thanks

http://www.rte.ie/player/show/10760225

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

seligehgit wrote: »

Thanks but was looking for the highlights programme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

I don't think there was one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Can't find the highlights from the Monday game last night on rte player, only the extras Anyone got a direct link, thanks

No highlights program as it was a Monday. GAA.ie has a highlights video.

Oh sorry yeah there's no highlights program for Monday game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

km79 wrote: »
    Tomas o se wasted no time building us up and talking Kerry down

To be fair to Thomas O Se he has never written Mayo off this year, always stressed that as long as they are still in the competition they are dangerous team.

Just watching second half back
    Firstly I can't believe the umpires actually made a decision BUT why was it a yellow and not a red for the punch on diarmuid!
    I've said it so many times adequately trained umpires would cut out so much . But jaysus even when they make a decision they aren't brave enough to make the right one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,805 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Just watching second half back
    Firstly I can't believe the umpires actually made a decision BUT why was it a yellow and not a red for the punch on diarmuid!
    I've said it so many times adequately trained umpires would cut out so much . But jaysus even when they make a decision they aren't brave enough to make the right one

Umpire can't give any recommendation to ref, they are miked up to make sure of it as all. All they could say in that instance when asked is 'strike by yellow on green' and ref decides what the punishment is.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Umpire can't give any recommendation to ref, they are miked up to make sure of it as all. All they could say in that instance when asked is 'strike by yellow on green' and ref decides what the punishment is.

The refs fault so

What kind of crowd is likely to attend the semi final?I'd imagine there could be up to 30,000 Mayo fans travelling,not too sure how many will attend from the Kingdom?It's a very attractive contest for neutrals.

seligehgit wrote: »
    What kind of crowd is likely to attend the semi final?I'd imagine there could be up to 30,000 Mayo fans travelling,not too sure how many will attend from the Kingdom?It's a very attractive contest for neutrals.

50/55

50/55

52,495 attended the first contest in 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭Westernyelp

We should tell the Kerry Lads there's a fairy fort on Jones's road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

The refs fault so

Yeah he even did the "striking" motion just before showing the yellow card to say what it was for. Clueless stuff, he'll do well to explain that one in his review...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I would never write off any Kerry team.

You should try it, you won't know yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Stoner wrote: »

Possibly in the style of Frank Skinner who, in response to the oft-repeated injunction to "Never write off the Germans" took a piece of paper and wrote "off the Germans" on it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

We should tell the Kerry Lads there's a fairy fort on Jones's road.

Sure the players wouldnt make it in that case :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,805 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I wrote off Dublin before the final in 2015. I ended up being wrong but I don't think the disappointment was any worse because of it, and it definitely made the build up more enjoyable.

A lot of Mayo fans are overly cautious IMO. Ye will eventually win the All Ireland at some stage and the people who go into every game super confident will knock way more craic out of it than the people with the rosary beads out every week.

In most walks of life I think anyone telling you 'don't get your hopes up' should be told to **** off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Conor Mort with a brief cameo on Terrace Talk podcast... not really worth a listen. They talked about Kerry Minors, Juniors, The weather, Hurling, a bit about Mayo and anything else but their Senior Team!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Stoner wrote: »

I'm sure there has been other times, but there were two famous times Kerry have been written off in my memory. 1997 AI final against Mayo. We beat them the year before and were looking very strong in 1997 so it looked like only a matter of collecting the cup. 2009 against Dublin, no-one gave them a chance as they had a very mixed campaign.

2014 against Mayo also could be included and a few more occasions, probably against Cork in AI finals.

Kerry as underdog is never an ideal way to face them. Its always been that way with them. They love being up against it and they will throw the kitchen sink and everything else at Mayo.

So write them off at your peril.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,333 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I'm sure there has been other times, but there were two famous times Kerry have been written off in my memory. 1997 AI final against Mayo. We beat them the year before and were looking very strong in 1997 so it looked like only a matter of collecting the cup. 2009 against Dublin, no-one gave them a chance as they had a very mixed campaign.

2014 against Mayo also could be included and a few more occasions, probably against Cork in AI finals.

Kerry as underdog is never an ideal way to face them. Its always been that way with them. They love being up against it and they will throw the kitchen sink and everything else at Mayo.

Is anybody actually writing them off ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

[/b]

Is anybody actually writing them off ?

only some peoples imaginations, and his fellow thankers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,085 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Kerry are hot favourites. I doubt if there is even one person in the country who is thinking, “nah, Kerry haven’t a hope against Mayo”.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Kerry are hot favourites. I doubt if there is even one person in the country who is thinking, “nah, Kerry haven’t a hope against Mayo”.

I wouldn't exactly call them hot favourites. They are two evenly matched teams imo and it will be a close encounter and could end up in a draw and replay. Gone are the days when Kerry could beat Mayo out the gate in the first 10 minutes. Equally the game against Roscommon was the first time in a long time where Mayo actually put a team away and didn't allow them back in. They nearly always give the opposition some chance. Lets hope if they do pull out a good lead against Kerry, they show a bit of experience and hold on to it. They can expect a plenty supply of high balls into Donaghy and how they cope with that could determine the result of the game.