Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

naughto wrote: »
    Fu1ck O'Shea spilian **** all the Kerry team the time for us is now we need to keep doing what we have being doing
    The running off the shoulder was unreal.

I still stand by what I said about rochford
    Re team selection subs what not.

But let's but that on hold and soak up yesterday's performance can we take the kingdom in Crocker I don't see why not but it's going to be one hell of a battle
    I'll be backing a draw to cover the price of replay tickets just in case :D

Stuck a tenner on o shea to be POTY this morning at 14/1
    James o donoghue is the favourite??????

keane2097 wrote: »
    You would have to be pretty stupid to take 13/2. Mayo are 9/4 to beat Kerry, which means for 13/2 to work out they are being made even money to win the final. Even bringing draws into it you would be miles and miles better off backing them to qualify vs Kerry then putting the winnings on the final.

I went with POTY bet Instead
    Rationale was if mayo win the AI one of them will get POTY and for mayo to win the AI aidan O shea will have to play well so should be in with a great shout
    I backed Cillian last year with same thinking though !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,804 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

km79 wrote: »
    I went with POTY bet Instead
    Rationale was if mayo win the AI one of them will get POTY and for mayo to win the AI aidan O shea will have to play well so should be in with a great shout
    I backed Cillian last year with same thinking though !

There's always value in the All Star and POTY betting around this time of year. For what it's worth your logic is the way I think you should approach it.

AOS will be a shoo-in if Mayo take it down.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

km79 wrote: »
    Tomas o se wasted no time building us up and talking Kerry down

They've a lot more trouble than Mayo down there. :D:D:D

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/danny-healyrae-and-the-little-people-fairies-to-blame-for-problems-on-bad-road-says-td-36009894.html

Then again he is obviously deflecting this.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/danny-healy-rae-s-haulage-firm-has-earned-8-7m-in-state-contracts-1.3179273

Great to see the hate on social media, the same eejits who gave us zero chance against Roscommon have now changed their tune to Kerry.

As long as yesterdays result doesn't give us big heads now, I'd doubt it will, we are long enough on this road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

naughto wrote: »
    Fu1ck O'Shea spilian **** all the Kerry team the time for us is now we need to keep doing what we have being doing
    The running off the shoulder was unreal.

I still stand by what I said about rochford
    Re team selection subs what not.

But let's but that on hold and soak up yesterday's performance can we take the kingdom in Crocker I don't see why not but it's going to be one hell of a battle

It will be a battle, but at the same time we need to watch out for discipline. When some of these Mayo players get riled up they can do anything, including getting sent off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

You would have to be pretty stupid to take 13/2. Mayo are 9/4 to beat Kerry, which means for 13/2 to work out they are being made even money to win the final. Even bringing draws into it you would be miles and miles better off backing them to qualify vs Kerry then putting the winnings on the final.

9/4 and then a little better than evens, 6/4 would give 13.5/2
    You're getting the draw buffer too which on recent evidence is worth a couple of points.

Won't be tempted myself but probably enough of a carrot there.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

It will be a battle, but at the same time we need to watch out for discipline. When some of these Mayo players get riled up they can do anything, including getting sent off.

Did anyone see Durcans incident? Got a text to say he was lucky not to get red?

Little has been said about it but Vaughan needlessly got caught up in a bit. He could have picked up a stupid black for holding a leg on the ground when there was no need for it. Rochford took him off after it.

With Vaughan the only one on the field on a suspension tightrope, he probably should have been taken off way early. It could have been a needless disaster.

I expect Kerry to use every last bit of cute hoorism in the game against Mayo. They did that in 2014 so we can expect similar this time around. Lets hope we get a fair ref this time who leaves the Kerry jersey at home!

There's always value in the All Star and POTY betting around this time of year. For what it's worth your logic is the way I think you should approach it.

AOS will be a shoo-in if Mayo take it down.

Same thinking here. If Dublin were to beat Tyrone and Mayo to be Kerry then I don't even think Mayo need to win (as with Keegan last year) for him to be in serious contention.

PARlance wrote: »
    9/4 and then a little better than evens, 6/4 would give 13.5/2
    You're getting the draw buffer too which on recent evidence is worth a couple of points.

Won't be tempted myself but probably enough of a carrot there.

You're right, I literally forgot to carry the 1 :pac: (3.25*2.0 -> 6.5, + 1)

Same thinking here. If Dublin were to beat Tyrone and Mayo to be Kerry then I don't even think Mayo need to win (as with Keegan last year) for him to be in serious contention.

The fact that Keegan won without winning the AI last year is problematic. Can't see Mayo getting it two years in a row after being beaten in a final.

I expect Kerry to use every last bit of cute hoorism in the game against Mayo. They did that in 2014 so we can expect similar this time around. Lets hope we get a fair ref this time who leaves the Kerry jersey at home!

Can we start a campaign now via our media boys to "Do a Lee" on Donaghy :D Might be the only way we can stop him! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Dillon lacked composure and sight of the game plan. The point he went for should have been recycled in keeping with previous passages of play.

This was lost on him and he was keen to get on score board. The value add for team is limited as he was playing outside the game plan and like a headless chicken. It undermines the team spirit, collectiveness that is so crucial within the group.

My point is that this time could have been afforded to Regan or Boland, up and coming players who need experience.

The fact that Keegan won without winning the AI last year is problematic. Can't see Mayo getting it two years in a row after being beaten in a final.

If Dublin are in the final then it increases the chances I think. They're generally looked on as team over individual. Probably share the load more than others.

If it was Tyrone and they won, then no chance.

Anyway, best to get past ye first.

I would never write off any Kerry team.

We struggled past Cork by the skin of our teeth, they got past them in 2nd or 3rd gear as they did Galway. But like us they seem to peak in August.

If not from a footballing point of view, but purely from their ability to grind out wins against the odds I would favour them against us. I wouldn't be surprised if it was a draw the first day and went to a replay, with Kerry edging it in the end.

And again lets hope we get a fair ref. AOS was nearly assassinated in Limerick in 2014 and hardly got a free.

If Dublin are in the final then it increases the chances I think. They're generally looked on as team over individual. Probably share the load more than others.

If it was Tyrone and they won, then no chance.

Anyway, best to get past ye first.

If Tyrone win it peter Harte will get it
    But they won't do it's a moot point ;)

The ticket emails out already! :) 40 snots for a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭mayopanda84

yop wrote: »
    The ticket emails out already! :) 40 snots for a ticket.

another 5 euro increase on last year, reckon the final tickets will be increased this year too, possibly up to 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

finisklin wrote: »
    Dillon lacked composure and sight of the game plan. The point he went for should have been recycled in keeping with previous passages of play.

This was lost on him and he was keen to get on score board. The value add for team is limited as he was playing outside the game plan and like a headless chicken. It undermines the team spirit, collectiveness that is so crucial within the group.

My point is that this time could have been afforded to Regan or Boland, up and coming players who need experience.

Boland perhaps. Regan is not up to the standard and won't be anytime soon.

I mentioned earlier, if we needed a forward to come on with a few minutes left in a tight game give me an aging Dillon a million miles ahead of Regan.

I'd even put Enda Varley as being a better player than Regan.

Just my opinion of course.

Have you not seen what Regan has done when he came on against Galway & Cork. Personally I would like to have seen Boland on but I think he is firmly out of Rochfords plans at present. He has been in the last 2 squads but I think he's seen as back-up to the back-up.

Dillon doesn't give you power or pace, what he gives you is experience and intelligence. I think Rochford still has a role for him, I think that role is to help close out games if needed. It wasn't needed yesterday but he may as well give him a bit of time if he intends using him. He made an error against Cork and the shot yesterday was a silly one... 20 odd points up, I think he gets some leeway. As does Loftus, Kirby and a few others.

He was far from a headless chicken, 6 other good possessions in the 10 mins he came on.

I suppose "undermining team spirit" is better than "striving to unwin".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

Agree with most of what you said Larlance, however, I dont think Kirby should be getting leway - He has the advantage of watching 60 mins of play unfold, then start fresh against tired opposition, and then kicks venomless shots. he proves time and time again that 62 mins is too early for him to be coming on. Same with Regan, infuriating when you see them kicking hail marys!

Squatman wrote: »
    Agree with most of what you said Larlance, however, I dont think Kirby should be getting leway - He has the advantage of watching 60 mins of play unfold, then start fresh against tired opposition, and then kicks venomless shots. he proves time and time again that 62 mins is too early for him to be coming on. Same with Regan, infuriating when you see them kicking hail marys!

I don't think he's at the level required at all. I just think that the game was over when these shots went in so I don't really mind taking the greedy option. Not ideal obviously, but not something I would get too caught up on either. It's more of a response to the Dillon criticism which I think was a tad OTT.

In fairness to Kirby, right after coming on, he pinged in a great ball for the Loftus chance I think. But he wouldn't be a favourite of mine at all.

I don't think he's at the level required at all. I just think that the game was over when these shots went in so I don't really mind taking the greedy option. Not ideal obviously, but not something I would get too caught up on either. It's more of a response to the Dillon criticism which I think was a tad OTT.

In fairness to Kirby, right after coming on, he pinged in a great ball for the Loftus chance I think. But he wouldn't be a favourite of mine at all.
    He certainly doesn't have the most elegant running style ! Would not be a massive fan either

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Lads, I know many of ye are season ticket holders. I know many of ye go to all the Championship games, and even the league games in Castlebar and maybe beyond. With train tickets, hotels (for the fancy wauns) and the kiddies, how much are Mayo supporters forking out every summer for the past 5 years? Ye must be loaded. 65 quid for the last two games and 40 for the next and load knows how much for the Cork and Donegal games .............

Anyway, best of luck to Mayo for the rest of the season, put us Connacht lads out of our mystery and bring Sam home . Love from a Rossie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Kerry_2008

Looking forward to a cracking semi final! Was Cafferkey injured or just dropped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

if anything I think Barry Moran should have been brought on for the last 20 minutes. I assume he is still off the pace though after his injury.

franklyon wrote: »
    if anything I think Barry Moran should have been brought on for the last 20 minutes. I assume he is still off the pace though after his injury.

You would have to think so. Wasn't on the 26 man squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭finisklin

Regan is a confidence player, no more than any forward. He's not afraid to pull the trigger, which is same for Loftus and Boland to a degree.

He hasn't converted as much as he should but that doesn't mean he should be discarded. Far from it, these type of players need encouragement and game time more than anything.

Look at Loftus's performamce in the Derry game and what that has done for him.

These are for the long term over the next year and beyond. The days of throwing in a young buck at this level and seeing how he fares is long gone. It's gradual immersion in championship game time and giving this to players in the twilight of their careers is regressive to the players of tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Regan is a confidence player, no more than any forward. He's not afraid to pull the trigger, which is same for Loftus and Boland to a degree.

He hasn't converted as much as he should but that doesn't mean he should be discarded. Far from it, these type of players need encouragement and game time more than anything.

Look at Loftus's performamce in the Derry game and what that has done for him.

These are for the long term over the next year and beyond. The days of throwing in a young buck at this level and seeing how he fares is long gone. It's gradual immersion in championship game time and giving this to players in the twilight of their careers is regressive to the players of tomorrow.

I certainly wouldnt have put Dillon V galway or Cork but at this stage its obvious he's Rochford's preferred choice so he's going to stick with him now. Regan and Boland have had plenty of chances this year and neither has really grabbed them. Come February im sure they will get another shot but for now, theres going to be no major change in personnel