Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Chat. (MOD NOTE post# 3949 and post#5279)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Cass wrote: »
    I wonder how many of the doomsday preppers are going to be disappointed about no Zombies?

They don't have to be disappointed, just head into Dublin north inner city or the boardwalk, no shortage of Zombies..............Bud.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    1600 semi auto cf rifles in one room!Thats 150 times more than the entire type of this gun owned by Irish gunowners!!!Let that sink in for a moment!!!

And a corner stuffed to the gunnels with full auto belt fed machine guns. As soon as i score with the lotto, i'll be there.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

No EU Council meeting to co-ordinate coronavirus response.

Germany refused to supply ventilators to Italy and is now rushing a law through keeping their medical produce within its closed borders.

Schengen is suspended, borders closing by the hour.

If the EU meant anything, the 27 leaders should have met and formulated a common EU strategy.

They're only good at limiting vacuum cleaners and rifle mags, when SHTF they all take the "I'm all right, Jack..."

yubabill wrote: »
    No EU Council meeting to co-ordinate coronavirus response.

Germany refused to supply ventilators to Italy and is now rushing a law through keeping their medical produce within its closed borders.

Schengen is suspended, borders closing by the hour.

If the EU meant anything, the 27 leaders should have met and formulated a common EU strategy.

They're only good at limiting vacuum cleaners and rifle mags, when SHTF they all take the "I'm all right, Jack..."

Yes i agree. Von der leyen was on giving a conference blathering on she wanted schengen to remain open, and no one, including Germany paid the slightest notice to the dizzy bint (except probably our lickspittles). Also the EU is now in recession, probably a very bad one.

In other news,

3.00 pm, French president, Macron declared war on the Coronavirus.

3.30 pm French president , Macron surrendered unconditionally to the Coronavirus.

wiping-alternatives-during-coronavirus-toilet-paper-shortage-art-credit-to-70427234.png

aEk9J2JE_700wp_0.webp

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

tudderone wrote: »
    Wiping Alternatives............

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Moany ould so and so time.

LIDL announced they will have preferred shopping times for the elderly. A good idea and other supermarkets are either already doing it or are intending to do it. Here is the moany bit.

LIDL's statement says:
    "We cannot organise nor "police" this due to staff having to stock shelves and work the tills (both of them :rolleyes: ) so we ask other customers to respect this".

IOW we're not doing spit about it and we ask the same people that are climbing over their Granny to get the last sheet of bog roll to not do it for two hours in the morning.

This coming from the same company that told me when i rang them about people parking in the disabled bays without a permit (my Mother is disabled and had to park the other side of the car park because the three bays were being used by people with no permits):
    We're obliged to install disabled parking bays but we don't and cannot check/maintain them so they are not abused by others

Supervalu and Dunnes are not only doing this elderly hour but they are offering in some stored to only allow elderly in the shops, while stopping regular shoppers, and helping those that need it to get their shopping done including picking groceries, packing bags, etc.

As i said its a whinge/moan and i understand and even appreciate the intent, but you're either going to do it right or are just paying lip service and in this instance LIDL keep up their usual low standards or get them in and out as quick as possible with no regard for customers.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moany ould so and so time.

LIDL announced they will have preferred shopping times for the elderly. A good idea and other supermarkets are either already doing it or are intending to do it. Here is the moany bit.

LIDL's statement says:

IOW we're not doing spit about it and we ask the same people that are climbing over their Granny to get the last sheet of bog roll to not do it for two hours in the morning.

This coming from the same company that told me when i rang them about people parking in the disabled bays without a permit (my Mother is disabled and had to park the other side of the car park because the three bays were being used by people with no permits):

Supervalu and Dunnes are not only doing this elderly hour but they are offering in some stored to only allow elderly in the shops, while stopping regular shoppers, and helping those that need it to get their shopping done including picking groceries, packing bags, etc.

As i said its a whinge/moan and i understand and even appreciate the intent, but you're either going to do it right or are just paying lip service and in this instance LIDL keep up their usual low standards or get them in and out as quick as possible with no regard for customers.

So fcuking pointless then ? Typical Irish. If the eejits just stopped bulk buying like the end of the world is next week, there would be plenty to go around everyone.

Same when an inch of snow falls, gobshines losing the run of themselves in the shops, three trolley fulls :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,955 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

When sailors used the head - originally a board with a cutout hole beside the bowsprit (at the head of the boat) they used an old piece of rope wrapped at one end and frayed at the other (working) end. This was tethered by a small line to the boat and was dropped into the water for cleaning.

Be intresting to see how well that works with modern nylon,polypropylene ropes.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

When sailors used the head - originally a board with a cutout hole beside the bowsprit (at the head of the boat) they used an old piece of rope wrapped at one end and frayed at the other (working) end. This was tethered by a small line to the boat and was dropped into the water for cleaning.

Bound to make your eyes water !

• Registered Users Posts: 9,658 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

ALot to be said for going all continental with bidets in every house;)

Varadkar's announcement included the bit:
    Not all superheroes wear capes… some wear scrubs and gowns.

All of our healthcare workers need us to do the right thing in the weeks ahead.
    Was only a year ago that HIS government under the school drop out (otherwise known as our health Minister) threatened to fine and sanction nurses who went on strike for a pay rise.

The line i see others spouting and it pisses me off royally is:
    Viruses pay no attention to borders
    It pisses me off because viruses don't walk across the borders, the people carrying it do. Close the borders as other countries have done and stop the influx of new cases.

When the foot and mouth hit the borders were closed, unnecessary transport stopped, and wash stations and checks at airports, ports, etc were immediately rolled out. The result was only one suspected case and after 30 days Ireland was declared safe from it with no loss to our livestock industry.

Seems people are not afforded the same level of consideration.

Profit and cows will ALWAYS come before people in Ireland!!! From intresting experiances during the 91 invasion of Kuwait ,and having a couple of friends stuck there and having to try and get them out,with SFA help from the dept of foregin affairs,and the word being Mr Goodmans beef contract being more important to the govt than their citizens...:mad:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Varadkar's announcement included the bit:

Was only a year ago that HIS government under the school drop out (otherwise known as our health Minister) threatened to fine and sanction nurses who went on strike for a pay rise.

The line i see others spouting and it pisses me off royally is:

It pisses me off because viruses don't walk across the borders, the people carrying it do. Close the borders as other countries have done and stop the influx of new cases.

When the foot and mouth hit the borders were closed, unnecessary transport stopped, and wash stations and checks at airports, ports, etc were immediately rolled out. The result was only one suspected case and after 30 days Ireland was declared safe from it with no loss to our livestock industry.

Seems people are not afforded the same level of consideration.

Varadkar is a complete end of a bell. I wish he would disappear. When you see how hard the nurses and doctors work in the state hospitals, they are not paid nearly enough, unlike TD's, Senators and MEP's who are paid far too much.

Profit and cows will ALWAYS come before people in Ireland!!! From intresting experiances during the 91 invasion of Kuwait ,and having a couple of friends stuck there and having to try and get them out,with SFA help from the dept of foregin affairs,and the word being Mr Goodmans beef contract being more important to the govt than their citizens...:mad:

Another blast from the past, and another face in our rogues gallery.

I see Bono has gone full on Uriah Heep, writing a mawkish song about the loneliness of coronavirus lockdown :rolleyes:. Between Varadkar doing his Churchill impression and him, they'd make you embarrassed.

Just what we need to make people want to kill themselves off enmasse.Bono starts up again!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Selling 30 guns before lunch, i reckon most dealers here would not do that in a week :eek:.

Between Varadkar doing his Churchill impression ..............
    I'm not a complete naysayer or "down with this sort of thing" and sometimes a rousing speech can do wonders. However for this man to:
    • Threaten nurses last year then praise them this year
    • Go to America with no parade, no public meeting, no handshake, essentially no reason just for the holiday
    • To give a "Emergency statement" from the White House and not back from his office where he should have been in the first place
    • To provide no new information or plan of attack but merely lip service
    • To fail to act quickly (even now with a record 191 new cases today alone bringing the total to 557 as of this evening 19th March) on border control, and enacting more rapid control measures
    ................ then get kudos for his speech which was received very well by a larger than it should have quarter of our citizenry is, well frankly, annoying and embarrassing.

To me its like people who clap at pilots landing a plane or applaud a politician for opening a building (built with public money). As someone once said would you thank an ATM for giving you out your money?
    I see Bono has gone full on Uriah Heep, .........
    .Bono starts up again!!:rolleyes::rolleyes:
    I need doctors, builders, lorry drivers, nurses, supermarket workers, warehouse workers and every other soul out there risking their own health to keep our country running a billion, BILLION, times more than some tax dodging mouthpiece whose only role is to lecture us on our wrongs while guilting the poor into giving what little they have to the even poorer. :mad:

I'm not a complete naysayer or "down with this sort of thing" and sometimes a rousing speech can do wonders. However for this man to:
    • Threaten nurses last year then praise them this year
    • Go to America with no parade, no public meeting, no handshake, essentially no reason just for the holiday
    • To give a "Emergency statement" from the White House and not back from his office where he should have been in the first place
    • To provide no new information or plan of attack but merely lip service
    • To fail to act quickly (even now with a record 191 new cases today alone bringing the total to 557 as of this evening 19th March) on border control, and enacting more rapid control measures
    ................ then get kudos for his speech which was received very well by a larger than it should have quarter of our citizenry is, well frankly, annoying and embarrassing.

To me its like people who clap at pilots landing a plane or applaud a politician for opening a building (built with public money). As someone once said would you thank an ATM for giving you out your money?

I need doctors, builders, lorry drivers, nurses, supermarket workers, warehouse workers and every other soul out there risking their own health to keep our country running a billion, BILLION, times more than some tax dodging mouthpiece whose only role is to lecture us on our wrongs while guilting the poor into giving what little they have to the even poorer. :mad:

They had living corpse Bob Geldof on the box in the UK this morning, asking his opinions (why) on the coronavirus issue. He went into a rant about the corruption of the government and church here and was cut off. We are truly living in bizarre times.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

They had living corpse Bob Geldof on the box in the UK this morning, asking his opinions (why) on the coronavirus issue.

They want to hear from Geldof because society is becoming dumbed down and indoctrinated into celebrity worship therefore Geldof's opinion is probably given more credence than that of a well respected virologist.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    ......... given more credence than that of a well respected virologist.

Listening to Pat Kenny the other day on the wireless, not sure if i posted this already, and it made me both laugh and wonder at the agenda of the media.

He [Kenny] was speaking to one of the top virologists in the UK whose lab is working on a vaccine for "the Rona". Kenny asked some important and pointed questions which the chap on the other end answered well and comprehensively.

Kenny then asked for the guys opinion and he said that while important and a threat to public safety we should not panic and proper social distancing will help, who will be effected the most, etc, etc. That is not verbatim, but the guy gave a much calmer and reasonable response than i've heard from most people.

Kenny immediately dismissed his calming message saying people should be panicked, should fear for their lives and basically get the rosery beads out.

A radio host basically dismissed a guy with two PHds that is an expert in this area.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

I do often wonder what the likes of Bono thinks of himself in his own head. Is he so far up his own hole that he sees himself as some sort of altruistic philanthropist or does he have a good chuckle at the inane masses?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,886 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Feisar wrote: »
    I do often wonder what the likes of Bono thinks of himself in his own head. Is he so far up his own hole that he sees himself as some sort of altruistic philanthropist or does he have a good chuckle at the inane masses?

I'm going to go with "A".

Final answer.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,886 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

And the same applies to Pat Kenny.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm going to go with "A".

Final answer.

I think you are through to the next round!

First they came for the socialists...

I do often wonder what the likes of Bono ..........

You mean Paul Hewson! I refuse to validate their fantasies by calling them their desired moniker, even if it is akin to a dog biscuit.

We have X number of Male patients and Y number of Female patients globally infected with Corona...What happened to the 98 other genders ??:confused:

If declaring a GUN FREE ZONE stops shooting sprees.Why not simply put up signs saying VIRUS FREE ZONE to prevent your busisness and home and church from being infected by Corona virus?:confused:

Why is it racist for Pres Trump to call it the Chinese flu?But it is ok for the German measels or the Spanish Flu ,or Newcastles disease to be used?:confused:

Where's Mary Lou got to? Is she hiding out in a old PIRA arms bunker someplace?:confused:

Greta has gone vey quiet in herself..Is she tidying her room finally?:confused:

Short answer....Yes!Call it the God delusion.