Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Child refugees -majority to be males aged 17???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Mary63

If all the men fecked out of these African countries the women could actually get on with building up their country.Thats where I would like to see any spare money we have going.

All of these backward countries keep their women as chattels.If you give women money and power there will be progress, some of these countries are afraid to even give women the vote.

Anyone coming into this country has got to be made aware that women and the gay community have full legal rights.If you don't want to accept that and you think you can molest women as you like just because you have grown up in this environment then get the hell back to where you came from, simple as.

You are annoying me Brianh, you have never seen anything in Tallaght to compare with what we see those illegal immigrants in Calais are doing and shame on you for inferring Tallaght is a lawless jungle.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Mary63 wrote: »
    If all the men decked out of these African countries the women could actually get on with building up their country.Thats where I would like to see any spare money we have going.

All of these backward countries keep their women as chattels.If you give women money and power there will be progress, some of these countries are afraid to even give women the vote.

Very broad strokes for every country in Africa.

Anyone coming into this country has got to be made aware that women and the gay community have full legal rights.If you don't want to accept that and you think you can molest women as you like just because you have grown up in this environment then get the hell back to where you came from, simple as.

I completely agree.
    You are annoying me Brianh, you have never seen anything in Tallaght to compare with what we see those illegal immigrants in Calais are doing and shame on you for inferring Tallaght is a lawless jungle.

I have seen far worse in Tallaght than was shown in that video I don't care if you believe me to be honest. I grew up in Tallaght in the 1980s, did you? If you did and you didn't see some of the mayhem you lived a very sheltered life.

No one on this thread is going to budge an inch on their view that these children aren't welcome. I'm out. I'll leave you to your echo chamber.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

If all the men decked out of these African countries the women could actually get on with building up their country.Thats where I would like to see any spare money we have going.

Last point. Don't call me a liar.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Absolutely shocking that we are being told by Brianh that we are racist because we fear they types of men pictured on the prowl in Calais.

Its ok for him though to paint such a terrible picture of his neighbours in Tallaght, we are supposed to believe Tallaght was full of marauding criminals hi jacking lorries and threatening drivers with their lives.Brian has no evidence to back these statements up at all but we are to take them as statement of fact.Its ok for him to diss the Tallaght community but not for us to question the credentials of people hanging out in Calais for seven years without doing a days work to send money to their families at home.The liberal left loonies are telling us these people went on ahead leaving their women to fight ISIS terrorists with their bare hands, if that was true these men would have accepted asylum in France or in any European country prepared to take them and looked to get work as soon as possible so their families could join them(if things were that dire wherever they came from its likely that most of he people left there have died by now anyway).

Absolutely shocking that we are being told by Brianh that we are racist because we fear they types of men pictured on the prowl in Calais.

Its ok for him though to paint such a terrible picture of his neighbours in Tallaght, we are supposed to believe Tallaght was full of marauding criminals hi jacking lorries and threatening drivers with their lives.Brian has no evidence to back these statements up at all but we are to take them as statement of fact.Its ok for him to diss the Tallaght community but not for us to question the credentials of people hanging out in Calais for seven years without doing a days work to send money to their families at home.The liberal left loonies are telling us these people went on ahead leaving their women to fight ISIS terrorists with their bare hands, if that was true these men would have accepted asylum in France or in any European country prepared to take them and looked to get work as soon as possible so their families could join them(if things were that dire wherever they came from its likely that most of he people left there have died by now anyway).

Don't call me a liar. I am only responding because you've called me a liar more than once now.

I did not say that I saw kids hijacking trucks in Tallaght. I said I saw much worse happen in Tallaght than what was going on in that YouTube video, where no truck was hijacked by the way.

I'm not here to "diss" the community of Tallaght. I can point out that terrible things happened there while I was growing up without stereotyping everyone who lived there. I'm capable of believing that communities in Tallaght, Calais, Syria or Timbuktu have the good and the bad.

As for evidence. When I was 10, a neighbour of mine was rapped, strangled and dumped in a park near our house. That was infinitely worse than throwing branches in front of a truck.

https://presspack.rte.ie/2005/07/09/cracking-crime-7/

I saw a house burned down because the man who lived in it was falsely accused of child molestation. Can't find it reported anywhere though, likely because it wasn't newsworthy enough.

4 teenagers in my brother's year in secondary school were locked up for killing a woman and 2 kids with a stolen car. Again, much worse than thay video that was posted.

Then there were the heroin addicts. Robbing everything in sight. Including mugging me with a concrete block and fracturing my skull.

Even though I witnessed these things I don't look down on the people of Tallaght, that would be self loathing anyway. Just like I don't assume every refugee in Calais from a Muslim country is likely to be a rapist. It's that easy. Horrible things happen everywhere, I choose not to hate entire communities because of it.

I'm done with this horrible thread. Unless you call me a liar again.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Dreadful picture to paint of the majority of law abiding people in Tallaght, I am so shocked that someone would try and dredge up a handful of tragedies to support a belief that the good people of Tallaght would ever behave like that criminal element in Calais.There is no comparison whatsoever.

If this is such a horrible thread why are you participating, I don't think its horrible, we need threads like these so people can express their opinions, you won't hear these opinions expressed in our media, they are too busy gazing up their backsides and looking to be offended by someone using the phrase young buck.If people were allowed to express what they think Donald Trump wouldn't be flying to Washington today and Katherine Zappone wouldn't be bringing in people from France than the majority of people in this country don't want.She can kiss goodbye to any hope of being elected in this country again, her job is to look after the interests of Irish children first and foremost and after that she can go trawling the globe looking for waifs and strays.She can put them up herself in a tent in her own garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

Brian? wrote: »
    Just like I don't assume every refugee in Calais .

Theyre not refugees in Calais,its an illegal settlement set up to try and illegally enter the U.K

Dreadful picture to paint of the majority of law abiding people in Tallaght, I am so shocked that someone would try and dredge up a handful of tragedies to support a belief that the good people of Tallaght would ever behave like that criminal element in Calais.There is no comparison whatsoever.

Are you completely blind to my point. Do you even read what I write? I am not besmirching the "good people of Tallaght". I am saying terrible things happened, but that didn't mean everyone I Tallaght was a bad person. Just like everyone in Calais isn't a bad person.

Again. What I saw in that YouTube video was tame compared to the examples I cited. Examples you now accept as real?
    If this is such a horrible thread why are you participating,

Because you called me a liar repeatedly.
    I don't think its horrible, we need threads like these so people can express their opinions, you won't hear these opinions expressed in our media, they are too busy gazing up their backsides and looking to be offended by someone using the phrase young buck.If people were allowed to express what they think Donald Trump wouldn't be flying to Washington today and Katherine Zappone wouldn't be bringing in people from France than the majority of people in this country don't want.She can kiss goodbye to any hope of being elected in this country again, her job is to look after the interests of Irish children first and foremost and after that she can go trawling the globe looking for waifs and strays.She can put them up herself in a tent in her own garden.

More broad stroke stereotyping. What a surprise.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Lux23 wrote: »
    So are all those stories from Syria fake news?

A number of the videos purportedly from Aleppo were faked, and the people who faked them found to have been dressing children and applying fake blood and dust in such a way as to make them look like they'd crawled out of a pile of rubble and that kind of thing. One of the culprits was caught and then it transpired that he had been using the same little girl for a few fake videos about the horrors of war in Syria.

I wonder how they are all getting on in Syria these days,
    news has totally dried up it seems:confused:

Nobody has called you a liar Brianh, you really have a very thin skin and you are terribly easy to offend.

What about the offence you have caused to the people of Tallaght, I still can't believe you believe anything you witnessed compare in anyway to what the people of Calais and the truck drivers going about their daily job have had to put up with for the last five years.Millions and millions worth of goods have had to be destroyed by the antics of these hooligans and lots of jobs put under threat.They don't care about that because all they want to do is get into the UK and go on benefits.

You are the one stereotyping here but thats okay because the people of Tallaght aren't "refugees"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ive grew up in Tallaght in the 80's and 90's while brian? is right in what can be experienced it is not as frequent as you would be led to believe.
    Ive also travelled that god-damned road into Calais on numerous occasions,its genuinely frightening running a gauntlet of migrants,either trying to flag you down,hit the truck with branches,metal bars,rocks,anything they can to slow you down.
    Its also frightening because if I did hit somebody Id either be lynched by the mob or arrested by the gendarmes.
    I mean these lads are just strolling down the motorway trying to hitch a lift to the U.K its absolutley insane.

Exactly the point I am making.

BrianH is trying to belittle your experience by claiming its just a slight inconvenience and nothing worse than he saw growing up In Tallaght.He probably has never been to Calais and certainly never drove a truck with his heart beating in fear of being dragged from the cab and battered to death.There was also the fear of being caught with a stowaway which meant a big fine for the driver or the company who employed him.

Nobody has called you a liar Brianh, you really have a very thin skin and you are terribly easy to offend.

You called me a liar more than once. You said I was making stuff up.

What about the offence you have caused to the people of Tallaght, I still can't believe you believe anything you witnessed compare in anyway to what the people of Calais and the truck drivers going about their daily job have had to put up with for the last five years.Millions and millions worth of goods have had to be destroyed by the antics of these hooligans and lots of jobs put under threat.They don't care about that because all they want to do is get into the UK and go on benefits.

The video posted was tame compared to the examples I posted. That is all I said. Read my posts.
    You are the one stereotyping here but thats okay because the people of Tallaght aren't "refugees"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How have I stereotyped? I've said repeatedly that Tallaght is full of good people despite what happened there. Read my posts. Read my posts.

Why do you keep calling me Brianh by the way? My name is Brian. Username is Brian?, no h.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

BrianH is trying to belittle your experience by claiming its just a slight inconvenience and nothing worse than he saw growing up In Tallaght.He probably has never been to Calais and certainly never drove a truck with his heart beating in fear of being dragged from the cab and battered to death.There was also the fear of being caught with a stowaway which meant a big fine for the driver or the company who employed him.

At no stage was that my point. I compared one YouTube video posted to my experiences growing up. That's it.

Read my posts.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

In fairness growing up in Tallaght had a few heart beating in fear moments:D

I really think that we should be going further afield for refugees.
    Would it not be much better to help those in Refugee Camps bordering these dangerous regions instead of those in an illegal settlement.
    Its making one of Europe biggest transport hubs a nightmare to get through and not just for safety reasons.
    Its been dismantled,everyone who was there was offered asylum in France.
    Right now there is a new Calais Jungle emerging,filling up with lads who refused Safety in France and want back to Calais to illegally enter the U.K.
    There are far more refugees deserving of our help than people who continually break the law.

gitzy16v wrote: »
    In fairness growing up in Tallaght had a few heart beating in fear moments:D

I really think that we should be going further afield for refugees.
    Would it not be much better to help those in Refugee Camps bordering these dangerous regions instead of those in an illegal settlement.
    Its making one of Europe biggest transport hubs a nightmare to get through and not just for safety reasons.
    Its been dismantled,everyone who was there was offered asylum in France.
    Right now there is a new Calais Jungle emerging,filling up with lads who refused Safety in France and want back to Calais to illegally enter the U.K.
    There are far more refugees deserving of our help than people who continually break the law.

How does one score the refugees though? I think taking in children first is the right thing to do, which is what we are trying to do.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

Brian? wrote: »
    How does one score the refugees though? I think taking in children first is the right thing to do, which is what we are trying to do.

Id start with refugees who have refused asylum in a safe country go behind refugees who will accept asylum when offered.

Yes I agree totally,I would rather find these children and mothers unable to make the trip to France.

16/17 year old children from Calais,go home and join the army,fight to free your country send your mothers,sisters loved ones to safety.

Just to end,can you be sure that the children will be 16/17 and not 20-30,we've seen the Calais children the U.K got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,950 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

This Hungarian Lorry driver has the the right way to deal with the so called "children of Calais"

Apologies for causing further offence, yes, I must be blind, it is a question mark, not a H, apologies again for the offence caused.

I didn't think the video was tame at all but then again I am a woman so gangs of marauding men frighten me.I didn't grow up In Tallaght so I didn't learn the necessary coping skills of a traumatic childhood surrounded by gangs of out of control people on heroin.This is why I find the pictures of scenes at Calais shocking and also wonder why there are never any young women present.The young men are properly dressed and look very well fed, they don't appear to have been affected in any way by the arduous journey to Calais.

I don't think there is any point in now telling me the people of Tallaght are mainly good,you expect me to believe the people of Calais are mainly good in spite of what I see on my own television screens.

I have read your posts, you said nothing you have seen reported from Calais is in anyway troubling to you because you saw worse growing up in Tallaght.This to me means Tallaght must have been a horrific place because Calais was a lawless jungle.You think because the prospect of us bringing in criminals doesn't bother you(because of your past) it shouldn't bother me either.I will decide what I should worry about, thank you very much.

This Hungarian Lorry driver has the the right way to deal with the so called "children of Calais"

Great bunch of lads?Sure they will behave once we take them in.

We should be off doing a deal with Jordan or Lebanon for real refugees.

There are hundreds of men in that video and none of them look like teenagers to me.

The covering of their faces is very sinister.

you expect me to believe the people of Calais are mainly good in spite of what I see on my own television screens.

So the only knowledge you get is from what you have seen on TV?
    The media are hardly going to stream the boring nothing happens parts are they?
    I mean rte news don't come on at 6pm showing videos from somewhere nothing has happened do they?
    I'm not sure why you think because some refugees commit crimes that they all do?
    Can you explain your reasoning on that?

bubblypop wrote: »
    So the only knowledge you get is from what you have seen on TV?
    The media are hardly going to stream the boring nothing happens parts are they?
    I mean rte news don't come on at 6pm showing videos from somewhere nothing has happened do they?
    I'm not sure why you think because some refugees commit crimes that they all do?
    Can you explain your reasoning on that?

It's not really plastered all over the media at all.
    It's more sympathetic to the Calais migrants.

I have seen enough of those depressing scenes from Calais and heard enough truck drivers who have no axe to grind telling it as it is.it doesn't matter where the scenes are viewed, its good that we have access to these scenes so we can put pressure on our elected representatives to protect this country from becoming a drop off point into the UK.

Its an offence to try and get into any country illegally so everyone of those "refugees"spotted walking along the motorway is a criminal.If they are carrying on like that in France I think we can take it they will engage in crime in Ireland too.Idle hands make the devils work and there will be no work for these "refugees"wherever they are dumped so eventually they will set up a MOLENBEEK all to themselves and in ten years time they will don suicide sets to earn the ten virgins in heaven.Why do you need to be told this bubble pop, have you not seen whats happened in the Netherlands, in France, in Brussels, in Germany, the only safe place now in Europe is Hungary.

Lol
    Mary your hysterical!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

We have seen photos of these so called children.
    Anyone seen girls?
    Not me.
    All I see are males of fighting age.
    Nothing to fear I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

We have seen photos of these so called children.
    Anyone seen girls?
    Not me.
    All I see are males of fighting age.
    Nothing to fear I suppose.

Apologies for causing further offence, yes, I must be blind, it is a question mark, not a H, apologies again for the offence caused.

No offence caused. I was merely curious if you'd confused me with another poster called brianh as you two may have history.

Another polite query, do you ever use the quote function.
    I didn't think the video was tame at all

I did. That's a difference of opinion. Not a reason to call me a liar.
    but then again I am a woman so gangs of marauding men frighten me.I didn't grow up In Tallaght so I didn't learn the necessary coping skills of a traumatic childhood surrounded by gangs of out of control people on heroin.This is why I find the pictures of scenes at Calais shocking and also wonder why there are never any young women present.The young men are properly dressed and look very well fed, they don't appear to have been affected in any way by the arduous journey to Calais.

We have different life experiences which is why we have different opinions. Differences should be celebrated.

I'm not shocked by the scenes in the video because I've seen worse here at home. You choose to believe the worst of the people of Calais because of your shock and fear. I want to offer those children a way out of their terrible situation. It's called empathy and is severely lacking around here.

I don't think there is any point in now telling me the people of Tallaght are mainly good,you expect me to believe the people of Calais are mainly good in spite of what I see on my own television screens.

I do. Because, they more than likely are. I have this horrible character flaw, I believe people are essentially good until I'm shown otherwise.

I have read your posts, you said nothing you have seen reported from Calais is in anyway troubling to you because you saw worse growing up in Tallaght.This to me means Tallaght must have been a horrific place because Calais was a lawless jungle.You think because the prospect of us bringing in criminals doesn't bother you(because of your past) it shouldn't bother me either.I will decide what I should worry about, thank you very much.

You say you read my posts. But you clearly haven't.

I said nothing in that one YouTube video that was posted was worse than anything I'd seen growing up in Tallaght. Every bit of news I see about the problem at Calais upsets and disturbs me. I'd Ireland to help by taking in some children. That's all I want.

I also never said you shouldn't be worried about the prospect of you bringing in criminals. I don't particularly care whether you worry or not. I said you can't stereotype every Muslim refugee as a rapist.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭recedite

...Tallaght must have been a horrific place because Calais was a lawless jungle.You think because the prospect of us bringing in criminals doesn't bother you (because of your past) it shouldn't bother me either. I will decide what I should worry about, thank you very much.
    Brian's thinking on this is bizarre. He seems to think that just because he has seen some bad stuff in his life, there should be no minimum standards for the kind of people we allow into this country.

If an Irish person applies for a Green Card to the USA, the slightest whiff of criminality woud disqualify them. They are looking for Garda references, health checks, educational and training qualifications etc..

And there is no point saying these Calais migrant lads are "refugees", not officially "immigrants". They are immigrants, but they are bypassing the official immigration system because one TD (Zappone) has decided that they should. Nobody is even trying to pretend that these African lads come from Syria or a war zone.

The Irish Navy and others are picking these people up from the coast of Libya, and nobody asks them where they have come from. Everyone knows they come from various sub-saharan African countries, and the only reason they have travelled to Libya is to hitch a ride on one of these EU ships that are waiting 12 miles offshore to pick them up.
    No questions asked.