Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Child refugees -majority to be males aged 17???

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,567 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

bubblypop wrote: »
    Mary63, how do you feel about the Catholic church?
    recedite wrote: »
    Lets stay on topic.

Stay on topic and report posts you feel are objectionable please.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Brian? wrote: »
    I don't. It's not up to me to vet them. That's the department of justice job. You're going to need some fairly hefty evidence to contradict them. I'm placing my faith in the dept of justice, you're deciding out of thin air that these boys are older than they say they.

The problem is, various European Depts of Justice have decided to do just that, by deciding, pretty much out of thin air, in the absence of Birth certificates, that many of these guys are under 18.

Which makes it very difficult to state, as you did, that they are definitely all children.

We read, again and again, that many of these people have no documentation.
    Therefore, no Birth certificates. Making the system wide open to abuse.

Are you surprised that people don't want to be taken advantage of? Particularly when seeing the videos taken in Calais, and hearing the stories of the townspeople themselves?

I don't personally believe that every migrant is bad - but I emphatically believe that some of them do not deserve a reward for the utter contempt they show to other people.
    There appear to be quite a few of the latter living in Calais - and I quite simply do not want Irish taxes to fund their insistence that they are entitled to do what they please...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

The problem is, various European Depts of Justice have decided to do just that, by deciding, pretty much out of thin air, in the absence of Birth certificates, that many of these guys are under 18.

Which makes it very difficult to state, as you did, that they are definitely all children.

I was being a scallywag. Posters keep claiming that they're not really children, with zero evidence. Why shouldn't I claim the opposite. Both have equal validity.

Why are my statements held to a higher standard of evidence than everyone else?

We read, again and again, that many of these people have no documentation.
    Therefore, no Birth certificates. Making the system wide open to abuse.

Are you surprised that people don't want to be taken advantage of? Particularly when seeing the videos taken in Calais, and hearing the stories of the townspeople themselves?

I don't personally believe that every migrant is bad - but I emphatically believe that some of them do not deserve a reward for the utter contempt they show to other people.
    There appear to be quite a few of the latter living in Calais - and I quite simply do not want Irish taxes to fund their insistence that they are entitled to do what they please...

I am willing to take the chance to help some children find a better life. Simple. I have no problem with my taxes paying for it, it's a far better use for the money than some of the things they've paid for. Ministerial cars for example. Or Bertie's or pension. Or payments to bond holders.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Advbrd

Those pesky liberals eh? I'm sick of them too. Give them hell Mary! I bet they'll even complain when you come up with final solution to the Muslim issue in the mother land.

You can trust me to be honest with you Mary, I'm a socialist. It's those Weasley liberals that are the real problem. I bet we'll look back in 50 years and recognise it was the liberals that caused all of these mass immigration problems. Especially that Angela Merkel, she may pretend to be a Christian democrat but I bet she's really a liberal. And Fianna Gael, they're really liberals and not Christian democrats too.

Liberal after liberal denying that any attacks took place in Cologne, I never saw them do it but you must be right. Hiding it from us as well. It may have been on every tv and radio station and
    covered in every major newspaper, but that's them hiding it in plain sight. We know what they're up to eh?

/sarcasm
    The friggin gingers are taking over. I blame J.K. Rowling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,929 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I was being a scallywag. Posters keep claiming that they're not really children, with zero evidence. Why shouldn't I claim the opposite. Both have equal validity.

Because the evidence from authorities elsewhere suggests that they aren't and has been proven as such in several cases.

You're the one insisting that "well this time it'll be different" which is why you're being asked to back it up as the evidence and precedent doesn't support that idea(l).

I am willing to take the chance to help some children find a better life. Simple. I have no problem with my taxes paying for it, it's a far better use for the money than some of the things they've paid for. Ministerial cars for example. Or Bertie's or pension. Or payments to bond holders.

Well frankly, I'm not - and it would seem neither are an increasing number of our fellow citizens (both here in Ireland and in Europe as a whole). And as I said before too, let's not forget the over €600 million annually this country ALREADY SPENDS on foreign aid.

I'll agree with you on the examples you give but Bertie (and the many others) has a legal right to a pension (albeit hugely inflated) as a citizen of this country. The bondholder payments are a little murkier of course but there's no going back on that now - unless as you suggested to me, you lobby your TD perhaps?

But I agree, I'd far rather see money being spent to improve the situation of those who need and have a right to it - the homeless citizens of this country, those people lying on hospital trolleys, the under-resourced Gardai and the reopening of Garda stations, the ordinary taxpayers who are struggling to keep a roof over their family's head or their children in childcare while they work to pay for all this.

The above are indeed far better uses of the limited resources we have - and that includes not importing the problems of others with no ties to this State (or even Europe) and who offer nothing but additional strain on those resources and Irish /European society as a whole..again as we've already seen elsewhere on the continent but which you still reckon "will be different this time!" with no evidence to support that conclusion.

Your ideals are well intentioned, but they're not realistic in the face of the actual situation we're faced with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭rgossip30

I don't. It's not up to me to vet them. That's the department of justice job. You're going to need some fairly hefty evidence to contradict them. I'm placing my faith in the dept of justice, you're deciding out of thin air that these boys are older than they say they.

I wonder will there be a public progress report on these 'children '?

rgossip30 wrote: »

What sort of progress report?

Both really don't have equal validity, unfortunately.

The experience of other Countries - the UK being particularly valid, since that is/was their intended destination - raises serious doubts about whether, in fact, these lads are children or adults.
    Hence, my question.

I'd be willing to take a chance on children. But I want to know that they are children.
    There are plenty of young children in camps in Syria, Jordan, Lebanon, etc.

I'd prefer to take them, in the certain knowledge that they are children.

Ha! If we're lucky, we'll get a photo op with some TD, with a child/young teenager (usually female) who will trot out the obligatory "I'm grateful to Ireland" speech, to make us feel all warm and fuzzy.
    Any that cause trouble, we will hear nothing about, because it would "stoke racial tensions."

And the more facts are suppressed, and become known through social media channels, etc. - the more racial tensions really will be stoked....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭rgossip30

What sort of progress report?

I thought that was obvious as to how they are integrating and in the long term will they work or just stay on welfare .
    I expect a veil of secrecy as this experiment is not going to go well .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Mary63

If anyone steps forward to offer your home as a foster placement don't forget that one of these teenagers took an axe from his foster family and attacked innocent passengers on a train in Germany.This is what you are up against and its the reason Angela Merkel changed her mind about taking refugees in and tried to bribe Turkey to take them back.Turkey while they though they had a chance of getting into the EU was willing to clean up Angelas mess but now that they won't get into the EU they have told Angela to deck off.The Turks are loathed in Germany and Austria even though they have been there for decades, they haven't integrated at all.

Mary63 wrote: »
    If anyone steps forward to offer your home as a foster placement don't forget that one of these teenagers took an axe from his foster family and attacked innocent passengers on a train in Germany.This is what you are up against and its the reason Angela Merkel changed her mind about taking refugees in and tried to bribe Turkey to take them back.Turkey while they though they had a chance of getting into the EU was willing to clean up Angelas mess but now that they won't get into the EU they have told Angela to deck off.The Turks are loathed in Germany and Austria even though they have been there for decades, they haven't integrated at all.

I'm currently undergoing the assessment to foster children. I'll happily foster any of these kids.

The Turks aren't loathed in Germany, except by the extreme right. Have you been to Germany? Especially in Berlin there are Turkish businesses all over the place, no centralised and isolated.

From what I can gather the Austrians don't really like anyone.

they/them/theirs

I'm currently undergoing the assessment to foster children. I'll happily foster any of these kids.

The Turks aren't loathed in Germany, except by the extreme right. Have you been to Germany? Especially in Berlin there are Turkish businesses all over the place, no centralised and isolated.

From what I can gather the Austrians don't really like anyone.

Now. Now. Brian.

That's racist.....:D:D:D

Now. Now. Brian.

That's racist.....:D:D:D

Is Austrian a race?

they/them/theirs

I thought that was obvious as to how they are integrating and in the long term will they work or just stay on welfare .
    I expect a veil of secrecy as this experiment is not going to go well .

Why would you expect a progress report on people's lives?
    Fairly invasive don't you think?
    Do you have progress reports on any Of The refugees that arrived here years ago?

I think we are entitled to see a return on our eleven million in taxes.These "teenagers"will no doubt qualify for free university fees too and I think they should be given loans not grants.Their parents haven't paid taxes here so why should they get any grants to go to University.

We don't need their names, they can all be given a number and their progress can be tracked, if they feck off across the border then we stop paying the accommodation suppliers for the cost of housing them.

Im presuming they won't have child benefit paid directly into the bank accounts that Zappone will set up for them.

The Germans and Austrians hate the Turks, the female German and Austrians especially, they hate the way Turks hang out the train stations ogling the white women, I saw a lot of these men in Munich at the stations.There weren't any in Berlin, they must be removed off the streets there.

I wouldn't foster any of those kids, I wouldn't put my family or my neighbours in danger, they would be up in the box room being radicalised and I wouldn't get a minutes peace from worrying about hatchets and knives etc.I also wouldn't like their attitude to my teenage daughters, God, no,couldn't be doing with that.

Is Austrian a race?

According to one of the many definitions on Dictionary.com.
    any people united by common history, language, cultural traits, etc.: eg: the Dutch race.

Interesting question, though, given their Germanic origins.

If you take in one of those "teenagers" you could think for years that he was perfectly well integrated, he might even go to college and get a good qualification.Some of the Paris, Brussels and Berlin bombers were definitely special needs, they were duped into planting the haversacks with bombs.Some of them though had grown up in the West, had availed of millions of euros being spent on them including a third level education and yet they jumped at the chance to go to Syria so they could engage in mass rape of women and some very young teenage girls.

You will find the friends and neighbours of these people will say, sure he ws grand, he came to our christmas party or he lived beside me for years and helped me with the bins.This is all an act, its a pretend life until the time is right to commit mass murder.Its now a case of when we are going to be attacked here and not if.Its just a matter of whether it will be an attack at the National Concert hall or an attack at an outdoor event, it could even happen at the ST Patricks day parade.There are bollards now being erected in Europe where the public gather, you can bet there will be no bollards or no measures in place on O Connell street on March 17th this year, we are sitting ducks.

I think we are entitled to see a return on our eleven million in taxes.These "teenagers"will no doubt qualify for free university fees too and I think they should be given loans not grants.Their parents haven't paid taxes here so why should they get any grants to go to University.

We don't need their names, they can all be given a number and their progress can be tracked, if they feck off across the border then we stop paying the accommodation suppliers for the cost of housing them.

Im presuming they won't have child benefit paid directly into the bank accounts that Zappone will set up for them.

The Germans and Austrians hate the Turks, the female German and Austrians especially, they hate the way Turks hang out the train stations ogling the white women, I saw a lot of these men in Munich at the stations.There weren't any in Berlin, they must be removed off the streets there.

I wouldn't foster any of those kids, I wouldn't put my family or my neighbours in danger, they would be up in the box room being radicalised and I wouldn't get a minutes peace from worrying about hatchets and knives etc.I also wouldn't like their attitude to my teenage daughters, God, no,couldn't be doing with that.

I'll make sure they don't get the box room. It's the most radicalising room in the house I hear.

they/them/theirs

According to one of the many definitions on Dictionary.com.

Interesting question, though, given their Germanic origins.

I am not a believer in race to be honest. It's all so bleeding arbitrary.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭b_mac2

I am not a believer in race to be honest. It's all so bleeding arbitrary.

Yeah I don't believe in human anatomy either.

If you take in one of those "teenagers" you could think for years that he was perfectly well integrated, he might even go to college and get a good qualification.Some of the Paris, Brussels and Berlin bombers were definitely special needs, they were duped into planting the haversacks with bombs.Some of them though had grown up in the West, had availed of millions of euros being spent on them including a third level education and yet they jumped at the chance to go to Syria so they could engage in mass rape of women and some very young teenage girls.

You will find the friends and neighbours of these people will say, sure he ws grand, he came to our christmas party or he lived beside me for years and helped me with the bins.This is all an act, its a pretend life until the time is right to commit mass murder.Its now a case of when we are going to be attacked here and not if.Its just a matter of whether it will be an attack at the National Concert hall or an attack at an outdoor event, it could even happen at the ST Patricks day parade.There are bollards now being erected in Europe where the public gather, you can bet there will be no bollards or no measures in place on O Connell street on March 17th this year, we are sitting ducks.

You so realise you're describing anyone that commits a shocking crime?
    Lots of people couldn't believe Graham Dwyer murdered someone. People Culdnt believe that guy in cavan killed his wife and kids.
    You're just racist Mary.

But if Graham Dwyer went to a priest and told him what he did the priest has to report the crime

The muslims drive trucks into innocent men, women and children, utter scumbag cowards that they are and then they go to their religious leaders who hide them in the mosques.

I think they are sexually frustrated myself, they can't stand the fact that educated women wouldn't wipe their shoes on them never mind buy those bird age outfits to walk around in, those outfits make me feel ill, I don't know how the women can even see where they are going.How can fifty percent of a population allow the other fifty per cent to dominate them like this, oh of course you deny them an education, stop them having a vote to change anything and then bring in laws that suit the men.

Some of the muslim terrorists who committed the atrocities were frustrated homoesexuals too.The one who killed all those people in Florida certainly was, his religious leaders told him being gay is a sin but he had attended the gay night club regularly.One of the Paris bombers had attended gay bars too, this angle should be explored while trying to find an excuse to understand these nut jobs.

I don't care what you think I am bubblypop, if you are living on an Island all on your own you bring whoever you want to live beside you.I don't want any part of Ireland to have a Molenbeek or those Paris districts where the Muslims have taken over.You need to open your eyes, these people have no respect for women and no respect for homosexuals, they hate white christians, they think we re infidels, they are the most racist people on the planet and they want to spread Islam all over the world.They are breeding a lot faster than the rest of us too so in the future they could be in a majority.The Jews are certainly going to be in a minority in the Middle East before very long and whatever you say about Israel its the only Middle east country that guarantees women and homosexual people full equal rights.

But if Graham Dwyer went to a priest and told him what he did the priest has to report the crime

The muslims drive trucks into innocent men, women and children, utter scumbag cowards that they are and then they go to their religious leaders who hide them in the mosques.

I think they are sexually frustrated myself, they can't stand the fact that educated women wouldn't wipe their shoes on them never mind buy those bird age outfits to walk around in, those outfits make me feel ill, I don't know how the women can even see where they are going.How can fifty percent of a population allow the other fifty per cent to dominate them like this, oh of course you deny them an education, stop them having a vote to change anything and then bring in laws that suit the men.

Some of the muslim terrorists who committed the atrocities were frustrated homoesexuals too.The one who killed all those people in Florida certainly was, his religious leaders told him being gay is a sin but he had attended the gay night club regularly.One of the Paris bombers had attended gay bars too, this angle should be explored while trying to find an excuse to understand these nut jobs.

I don't care what you think I am bubblypop, if you are living on an Island all on your own you bring whoever you want to live beside you.I don't want any part of Ireland to have a Molenbeek or those Paris districts where the Muslims have taken over.You need to open your eyes, these people have no respect for women and no respect for homosexuals, they hate white christians, they think we re infidels, they are the most racist people on the planet and they want to spread Islam all over the world.They are breeding a lot faster than the rest of us too so in the future they could be in a majority.The Jews are certainly going to be in a minority in the Middle East before very long and whatever you say about Israel its the only Middle east country that guarantees women and homosexual people full equal rights.

There's the proof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,646 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Silly as this may sound to you but i have travelled extensively over the last 30 years and it saddens me to say that the most racist people i have ever come across were Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Billmedley

Silly as this may sound to you but i have travelled extensively over the last 30 years and it saddens me to say that the most racist people i have ever come across were Irish.

You obviously didn't travel very far so

Billmedley wrote: »
    You obviously didn't travel very far so

Australia
    New Zealand
    America
    Spain
    Sweden
    Germany
    Denmark
    Portugal
    Barbados
    Iran
    Iraq
    UAE
    Yemen
    Cuba
    Costa Rica
    Mexico
    UK
    Canada
    Switzerland
    Monaco

Yeah not far at all :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,031 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

There's the proof!

Proof of what? That Mary made a great post with valid points?

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Confused mum84

You listed a handful of middle eastern countries on that list . Is it safe to assume you visited there as an Irish man rather than an Irish woman ? Would your experience have been the same if you were a woman ? Presumably you'd have experienced an unmerciful level of sexism . Is that OK as long it's done to all women rather than to certain race's...

Also on the subject of race , is the racism to the point of execution that domestic servants from the philipenes face in the likes of Saudi & UAE ok? Are we Irish worse racists than this in your eyes ?

Have also heard from lots of ex pats working in UAE stories about hierarchy in terms of determining liability on dispute cases a car crash for example . No matter who is or who isn't blatently at fault it goes like this if crash between an emirate man & a emirate woman - the woman is at fault . Crash between an emirate & a foreigner - foreigner at fault . Crash between a professional foreigner & a domestic servant , the domestic servant is at fault
    Wasn't aware that we Irish operated this kind of racial hierarchy

• Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭Confused mum84

Doubt this has even occurred to you as your so busy smugly labelling a whole nation (your own fellow countrymen & women btw) But your own comment is completely racist against Irish people , thus showing you to be racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

That may bne true, but the brand of racism that irish people may doesn't extend to raping, murdering , etc., to expand irish culture into other societies, aggressively and without remorse.

Are you really comparing Islam-inspired gang rapes to an Irish pub?

We are asked to not judge all Muslims based on the actions of a few; likewise, I hope you are not judging all Irish by the actions of whoever you met on your "travels".

So if you can brand all the Irish as X, it is logical and fair, that someone else may brand all Muslims as Y.

Australia
    New Zealand
    America
    Spain
    Sweden
    Germany
    Denmark
    Portugal
    Barbados
    Iran
    Iraq
    UAE
    Yemen
    Cuba
    Costa Rica
    Mexico
    UK
    Canada
    Switzerland
    Monaco

Yeah not far at all :rolleyes:

Just as a matter of interest, how many languages do you speak fluently?

You listed a handful of middle eastern countries on that list . Is it safe to assume you visited there as an Irish man rather than an Irish woman ? Would your experience have been the same if you were a woman ? Presumably you'd have experienced an unmerciful level of sexism . Is that OK as long it's done to all women rather than to certain race's...

Also on the subject of race , is the racism to the point of execution that domestic servants from the philipenes face in the likes of Saudi & UAE ok? Are we Irish worse racists than this in your eyes ?

Have also heard from lots of ex pats working in UAE stories about hierarchy in terms of determining liability on dispute cases a car crash for example . No matter who is or who isn't blatently at fault it goes like this if crash between an emirate man & a emirate woman - the woman is at fault . Crash between an emirate & a foreigner - foreigner at fault . Crash between a professional foreigner & a domestic servant , the domestic servant is at fault
    Wasn't aware that we Irish operated this kind of racial hierarchy

i actually visited most of these places as a British male, never experienced any of the above nor heard of them in the decade or so i was in these countries

Just as a matter of interest, how many languages do you speak fluently?

not that it matters but English, Spanish, German and Swedish.

So, no Spanish or Arabic (or local dialects)

That has to have been a bit of a disadvantage in understanding any casual conversations you have overheard.

Not that it matters that much. Your racist comments about the Irish people being racist were quite shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

All of us????

So, no Spanish or Arabic (or local dialects)

That has to have been a bit of a disadvantage in understanding any casual conversations you have overheard.

Not that it matters that much. Your racist comments about the Irish people being racist were quite shocking.

you missed where i said SPANISH?

As for local dialect, if you had travelled much yourself you would know that many people speak English.

As for my comments on Irish people being racist, You may not like that observation but i find it to be true be never the less.

gitzy16v wrote: »
    All of us????

If i meant all then i would have said all, No not ALL irish people are racist no more tahn al Muslims want Sharia law or would slit your throat for having a beer.

you missed where i said SPANISH?

As for local dialect, if you had travelled much yourself you would know that many people speak English.

As for my comments on Irish people being racist, You may not like that observation but i find it to be true be never the less.

Whether or not you find it to be true is irrelevant.
    It is a racist statement.

So, if you find your racist statements to be true - and feel free to express that racism - what exactly is your issue with people who make racist statements that they find to be true?

Explain how it is racist bearing in mind Irish does not = a race of people

Neither does Muslim

Never said they were a race

I know...
    Just making sure myself and yourself are not branded racists when we generalise a whole society:)

I know...
    Just making sure myself and yourself are not branded racists when we generalise a whole society:)

just giving my personal observation/experience on the matter

Cool,no problem with that...
    My experience with people from that region(ive no idea if muslim or not)is not great.
    Ive spent most of my interactions with them either trying not to drive over them on the way into Calais or trying not to stop so the bastard5 dont try pull me out of my truck.
    Oh and once in clonskegh mosque being escorted out because I interrupted prayer time trying to deliver a fridge about 13 years ago I thought it funny at the time but this last 5 years has shown me why they did.
    Im sorry but Ive a family to provide for and that usurps any praying to anybody.
    Just for equality,Ive also walked straight into a catholic church behind the altar etc etc to find the priest I had a delivery for,but didnt get the same over-reaction.

Ive also got to add the Muslim lad in the STH circular road.
    Delivered floor tiles for about 2 months to him,once I arrived during prayer,he very politely asked could I deliver 30mins later because of prayer,I laughed,he laughed and asked me could I help because its actually important to him.
    Lovely bloke,The next week I did what he asked and lo and behold two friendly blokes chatted and laughed,I slagged him about his ridiculous prayer time and he slagged me about being Irish and disowning the church,thanked me for respecting his wishes and my day and his day were unaffected from there on in.
    My issues with these lads is based solely on personal experience,
    Clonskeagh:ignorant,intolerant,abusive and aggresive,I was only trying to do my job.
    Sth Circular:polite,accepting,explained why I was problem,treated me with dignity and respect.

Calais boys:well they are nuts,crowding motorways,throwing stuff at truck,blocking roads,ripping curtains to get in the trailer,trying to open the door smash the window....they dont deserve our charity..simple as.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Calais boys:well they are nuts,crowding motorways,throwing stuff at truck,blocking roads,ripping curtains to get in the trailer,trying to open the door smash the window....they dont deserve our charity..simple as.

Why are we giving it to them. I think it's crazy. They don't even have to be there in the first place.

If people are to be relocated to Ireland surely the moral imperative is the relocate those most vulnerable and in need and *genuine* ?

No matter what anyone thinks of Islam, isn't this basic stuff?

Why are we giving it to them. I think it's crazy. They don't even have to be there in the first place.

If people are to be relocated to Ireland surely the moral imperative is the relocate those most vulnerable and in need and *genuine* ?

No matter what anyone thinks of Islam, isn't this basic stuff?

Ive no idea.
    In my mind its f-all to do with religion,Im sick of running the gauntlet of hooligans in Calais.
    And then I hear we are taking them in and helping them...fcuk no,2 smashed windscreens,countless replaced mirrors and every trailer ripped and now they get rewarded?????

In bold: Why cant anybody see there are far more deserving and needing of our charity than the Calais migrants...there was a car bomb set off in a Syrian refugee camp in Jordan today,surely we need to help those first.
    http://www.aljazeera.com/news/2017/01/deadly-bomb-blast-hits-syria-rakban-refugee-camp-170121130211057.html

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

i actually visited most of these places as a British male, never experienced any of the above nor heard of them in the decade or so i was in these countries

Pfffffft. A British anti - Irish man. Quelle surprise

"The funniest people I ever met were German."

"German people are very funny."

Do you see the difference between those 2 statements? The first is a comment on individuals and the 2nd is a comment on Germans as a whole.

What he said wasn't racist in any way. If he'd said " Irish people are very racist" , that would be a whole other story.

Some of the most racist people I've ever met were Irish too. I assume that's because I meet a lot of Irish people though.

they/them/theirs

Pfffffft. A British anti - Irish man. Quelle surprise

Erm

I lived in Ireland for over 30 years, have Irish children, friends, family. Not anti Irish just not afraid to speak my mind.

Its just as well you are no longer living in the UK Timberrrr, you wouldn't be able to cope with how"racist"your fellow countrymen were.They voted to leave the EU mostly because of immigration, they saw the prospect of Turkey with its fifty million muslims entering the UK and the British people pulled up the drawbridge.Now I felt very happy thinking the British foreign office might mind us Irish against the terrorists but if Enda Kenny isn't nice to Theresa May that won't be happening.The British foreign office and the counter intelligence agencies have foiled many terrorists threats that the general public don't know about and we Irish are in their debt.

We don't know how Britain leaving the EU will affect us but its very worrying.For a start we will no longer be able to avail of cross border treatment, and this includes orthodontic treatment for teenagers.Our young people if going to study in the UK will no longer be eligible for subsidies, this means bearing the full cost of third level education.This has all resulted from a Middle East problem that has nothing to do with us.There is as much chance of me settling in happily to a life in Kuwait as there is a muslim from Pakistan settling in Ballaghaderreen.

Total blinkered we are all one happy family stuff.

Glad as a man you could travel in safety wherever you went Timberrr, a young woman with Downs syndrome couldn't even go for a jog with her mother without being imprisoned and raped by a pakistani living in Dublin.He had been accosting Irish women on the streets before this poor victim crossed his path.How did he get into this country and how many more like him are here too.I hope he can be deported out of this country but we will have the Civil liberties brigade talking about his human rights and the free legal aid board will be called on to provide legal aid to him.