Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy chit chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

stanflt wrote: »
    Grass powering on here to at least 5 ton grown so far

Same here ,but couldn't tell ye how much !!!more surplus growing and increasing by the day cows doing 2.16 kgms fat nudging over 4% now and p tipping 3.7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Things went tight here for a bit, late first cut is a balls even beside the poorer silage. Will be drying off a few autumn ones in August so will reduce stocking rate, should have bought silage instead of closing ground for second cut, live and learn as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

Grass still powering on here. 85 gr last week. 10t grown to date

Growth was back up to the mid 30s is all here last week.. could really do with more rain than we've got.. managed to cut out silage but still going hard with meal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Anyways.....second calver threw her calf this evening. Big calf fr heifer calf. Do these still have to be reported to the dept? Will be getting vet to blood her anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    Anyways.....second calver threw her calf this evening. Big calf fr heifer calf. Do these still have to be reported to the dept? Will be getting vet to blood her anyway
    Yeah, anything coming out has to be reported still, I think.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

jqT0NsFl.jpg

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    jqT0NsFl.jpg

I dont have permission to access this page

Should work now. G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,831 ✭✭✭stanflt

greysides wrote: »
    jqT0NsFl.jpg

Sorry

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Cows gone as lazy these days,cant get out of the field,down the lane,into parlour,out of parlour, out of yard,just stop and start chewing the cud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

K.G. wrote: »
    Cows gone as lazy these days,cant get out of the field,down the lane,into parlour,out of parlour, out of yard,just stop and start chewing the cud.

You'd want to get a few reels and pigtails and restrict their intakes a bit. That'll have them trotting in and out.

Have reels up here don't even bother closing the gap they won't cone out till I go get them

You'd want to get a few reels and pigtails and restrict their intakes a bit. That'll have them trotting in and out.

Its not just the cows are lazy at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Reels are a necessity here atm .
    Rationing every blade unfortunately.
    Cow flow not an issue :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Reels are a necessity here atm .
    Rationing every blade unfortunately.
    Cow flow not an issue :)

Today's rain should get you going again. We're just on the other side of that equation. Gr just ahead of consumption. Amazing the difference a few miles makes to rainfall amounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Spend the last month praying for rain. Book the contractor to mow some silage today, and it starts pissing rain, so had to cancel him lol.

Interesting case in the money mentor in the country living part of the journal this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Interesting case in the money mentor in the country living part of the journal this week.

After a quick read, it sounds as if they were trying to do developement that they probably couldn't afford using cash flow..
    As for using her salary to pay a farm loan....think he better cop on

rangler1 wrote: »
    After a quick read, it sounds as if they were trying to do developement that they probably couldn't afford using cash flow..
    As for using her salary to pay a farm loan....think he better cop on
    he didnt know why he only got 1k of a milk cheque for May!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Today's rain should get you going again. We're just on the other side of that equation. Gr just ahead of consumption. Amazing the difference a few miles makes to rainfall amounts.

Ahh definitely.
    All ground back in the equation so gr matching demand but that's on the back of grazing some silage ground .

Seem to be fighting stem all summer..
    First world problems....

Yea he wasn't aware of what he owed...she'd be better putting her salary on a horse than the farm in it's current state. he has to prove he can reverse the problem before he throws more money at it.

Only looking at the journal now, the buildings section features a lovely looking shed that cost 80k, for a farm with 17suckler cows (with scope to expand to 20cows!). Someone explain the economics of that one to me please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Timmaay wrote: »
    Someone explain the economics of that one to me please...

Sure its been said for years, the money in farming is in beef & sucklers :rolleyes:

Only looking at the journal now, the buildings section features a lovely looking shed that cost 80k, for a farm with 17suckler cows (with scope to expand to 20cows!). Someone explain the economics of that one to me please...

Easy. shed cost 80k subtract 10 k for vat,grant at 40%35k,and income tax at 50%35kbrings you to17k.shed probaly save at least100hrs work a year@10hr+extra performance could be two k a year.shed pays for itself in about7years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Suckler farmer on 50% tax?
    He must have a laying hen.

Water John wrote: »
    Suckler farmer on 50% tax?
    He must have a laying hen.

At 17 cows most likely working off farm is imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,260 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I understand that. Slight and poor effort at humour, on my part.

K.G. wrote: »
    Easy. shed cost 80k subtract 10 k for vat,grant at 40%35k,and income tax at 50%35kbrings you to17k.shed probaly save at least100hrs work a year@10hr+extra performance could be two k a year.shed pays for itself in about7years

80k was after vat. Grand of 32k on that according to the journal, so 48k after you've jumped through all the hoops to get the grant. And the income tax at 50%, surely far better ROIs in say investing in the likes of lime, p&k, reseeding etc.
    I'm all up for spending money where it helps make your life easier etc, but I'm just very cynical of the way the journal keeps on posting these over the top overpriced sheds which I really cannot see how they can ever make actually business sense, who does an 80k shed for 17 sucklers benefit? The local builders? Larry? The Tams dept lads ha? As was said the 17cow sucklers farmer is prb part time so all he is doing is blowing off farm income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

80k was after vat. Grand of 32k on that according to the journal, so 48k after you've jumped through all the hoops to get the grant. And the income tax at 50%, surely far better ROIs in say investing in the likes of lime, p&k, reseeding etc.
    I'm all up for spending money where it helps make your life easier etc, but I'm just very cynical of the way the journal keeps on posting these over the top overpriced sheds which I really cannot see how they can ever make actually business sense, who does an 80k shed for 17 sucklers benefit? The local builders? Larry? The Tams dept lads ha? As was said the 17cow sucklers farmer is prb part time so all he is doing is blowing off farm income.

Friend of mine is mad into rallying, easily spends 20k a year on the car. You can't blame people for their hobbies.
    Sure what harm

Lesser of two evils i suppose, investing in the likes of lime, p&k, reseeding etc. would be all for nought on my farm and most farms if you didn't get them off the land for the winter.....reseeding, fertilising,etc in fact make it more liable to poaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

He thought the cows where doing 22 litres as well, thought way to rosy a picture was painted about that farms situation going forward with the cows basically dried off coming into August at 16 litres a cow where was he going to turn the cash to meet his bills coming into next spring, was a bit rich on young's part reckoning because he was taking up grass measuring and was going to cut his meal bill in half everything would be fine going forward