stanflt wrote: » Grass powering on here to at least 5 ton grown so far
GrasstoMilk wrote: » Grass still powering on here. 85 gr last week. 10t grown to date
whelan2 wrote: » Anyways.....second calver threw her calf this evening. Big calf fr heifer calf. Do these still have to be reported to the dept? Will be getting vet to blood her anyway
greysides wrote: »
K.G. wrote: » Cows gone as lazy these days,cant get out of the field,down the lane,into parlour,out of parlour, out of yard,just stop and start chewing the cud.
freedominacup wrote: » You'd want to get a few reels and pigtails and restrict their intakes a bit. That'll have them trotting in and out.
stretch film wrote: » Reels are a necessity here atm . Rationing every blade unfortunately. Cow flow not an issue
whelan2 wrote: » Interesting case in the money mentor in the country living part of the journal this week.
rangler1 wrote: » After a quick read, it sounds as if they were trying to do developement that they probably couldn't afford using cash flow.. As for using her salary to pay a farm loan....think he better cop on
freedominacup wrote: » Today's rain should get you going again. We're just on the other side of that equation. Gr just ahead of consumption. Amazing the difference a few miles makes to rainfall amounts.
whelan2 wrote: » he didnt know why he only got 1k of a milk cheque for May!
Timmaay wrote: » Someone explain the economics of that one to me please...
Timmaay wrote: » Only looking at the journal now, the buildings section features a lovely looking shed that cost 80k, for a farm with 17suckler cows (with scope to expand to 20cows!). Someone explain the economics of that one to me please...
Water John wrote: » Suckler farmer on 50% tax? He must have a laying hen.
K.G. wrote: » Easy. shed cost 80k subtract 10 k for vat,grant at 40%35k,and income tax at 50%35kbrings you to17k.shed probaly save at least100hrs work a year@10hr+extra performance could be two k a year.shed pays for itself in about7years
Timmaay wrote: » 80k was after vat. Grand of 32k on that according to the journal, so 48k after you've jumped through all the hoops to get the grant. And the income tax at 50%, surely far better ROIs in say investing in the likes of lime, p&k, reseeding etc. I'm all up for spending money where it helps make your life easier etc, but I'm just very cynical of the way the journal keeps on posting these over the top overpriced sheds which I really cannot see how they can ever make actually business sense, who does an 80k shed for 17 sucklers benefit? The local builders? Larry? The Tams dept lads ha? As was said the 17cow sucklers farmer is prb part time so all he is doing is blowing off farm income.