Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,719 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Lukker- wrote: »
    I'd imagine it's written into Conor's contract on the UFC's end. They are granting him temporary release so they can get certain guarantees on Conor's end.

There are bound to be loads of things that are written into his UFC contract that have needed to be waived for this to happen. Not engaging in boxing matches for example.

If Showtime are the only broadcaster, given what they'll be paying for it, I imagine they'll want exclusive rights for All Access or similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Basically if you approach this with mindset of "this is not a UFC promotion" you can't go wrong. They'll take their cut and that's it.

Dana said there'll be an Embedded series for it but I'll believe it when I see it.

Stephen Espinoza: "Embedded is a great series and really builds fight week. You're gonna see all the UFC outlets (put out content) combined with the kinds of things we often do with Floyd (like CBS). I'm really interested to see how we can blanket both fan bases".

Fair enough. I'll still believe it when I see it.

Just FYI, the cameramen/crew from Embedded are the same people who film the Showtime All Access series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

If Showtime are the only broadcaster, given what they'll be paying for it, I imagine they'll want exclusive rights for All Access or similar.

He'll do both. MayPac was more of a hurdle, two separate channels doing their own pre-fight promotion.

This is a tiny concession for Showtime to make in the grand scheme of things. Conor will likely be doing 2 diff vlogs before the fight anyways, Maclife and Embedded. And whatever he's obligated to do for Showtime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 650 ✭✭✭PVA

cloudatlas wrote: »
    She gave them both a decent chance of winning, she didn't come out on either side.

“I do think the longer the fight goes – I mean that's Mayweather's style – the longer the fight goes he really gets people's timing and really starts to pick them apart,” continued Holm. “If McGregor wins, it will be in the early rounds. If it goes longer, it goes to Mayweather. Anything can happen in that fight.”- Holly Holm

Hmmm... phrased like a politician!

I don't think she is giving both of them a decent chance of winning tbh. If McGregor wins it likely WILL be in the early rounds, for a whole host of reasons, but even with the above statement Holly could still be giving McGregor a miniscule chance of winning, whereas she is categorically saying if the fight goes longer than a few rounds it goes to Mayweather. Most pro's would agree Conor has 'a chance', I wouldn't read too much into this.

Holly's comments do hold some extra weight given that shes one of the few that have experienced success in both sports, but using vague comments like the above to back up an argument is poor... unless you plan on asking everyone for their percentage chance of Conor winning.
    Never underestimate how the general public/casual fans perceive belts.

I'm a casual fan and can tell you that any talk of a boxing belt means f**k all. How many boxing organisations and belts are there at this stage? Public perception is that of a sport that needs a massive clean up, both in the number of organisations, and the ever-present cloud of corruption hanging over it. The fact that this Bayless guy could end up refereeing the fight is laughable.
    Whelo79 wrote: »

I'll enjoy the build up, enjoy studying how Conor and his team prepare, all the fight content released in advance, the walkouts, the nervous anticipation, the Buffers doing the fighter introductions, the first exchange and yeah maybe I'll be left underwhelmed by the actual fight, but I'm aware of this well in advance. However, there is always 'what if'. I'd hate to wake up the next morning to find out there was a shock result or even just a loss for Conor but there was a flash knockdown or a surprisingly competitive 3, 4, or 5 rounds before Floyd puts Conor away. I'd hate to be trying to watch it live on a dodgy stream. What's it likely to cost, €20, €30, €40? Not much between some friends. It's worth it even just for the excuse to stay up and have a few beers like a lot of UFC events.

SPOT ON - can't wait for the build-up but fully expecting the fight to be a let-down. Anything more than that is a bonus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Gamebred wrote: »
    you're a hater if your saying Conor has no chance.

How does this happen when the two words are so close together?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Effects wrote: »
    How does this happen when the two words are so close together?

Grammar nazi's are wurst dan people who think Conor can win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Schaub's already got on with Showtime to do some pieces with him 'breaking it down' so he's going to keep driving the McGregor train full steam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,463 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Any good ideas for the tag for this match?

I was thinking someone's 0 has got to go, but that's been done to death...

so, what about The Con is on?

Fromvert wrote: »
    Schaub's already got on with Showtime to do some pieces with him 'breaking it down' so he's going to keep driving the McGregor train full steam.

Makes sense. Showtime need some MMA guys to hype Conor and make the fight look like it might be reasonably competitive.

Who knows what he actually thinks, but he's been doing well for himself lately with Bellator and now Showtime.

walshb wrote: »
    Any good ideas for the tag for this match?

I was thinking someone's 0 has got to go, but that's been done to death...

so, what about The Con is on?

Money vs Money Jr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Money vs Money Jr

Wealthy Vs Rich?

Mayweather Vs Fairweather (i.e flavour of the month)?

The Pinnacle Vs the Pinstripe?

Wealthy Vs Rich?

Nouveau wealthy vs nouveau rich

I wouldn't call Conor flavour of the month, he's been the biggest combat sports star going since MayPac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

When two GOAT's collide!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Nouveau wealthy vs nouveau rich

I wouldn't call Conor flavour of the month, he's been the biggest combat sports star going since MayPac

4 years ago he was on the dole though (i'm sure someone mentioned that somewhere :pac:), so its not that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Iv, a feeling Conor's cardio stinks, first Diaz fight it was awful and the second one he gassed midway through the 3rd and ran ,rightly so he still won but you can't turn your back like that in boxing ,the ref will deduct points,
    He's been partying more than ever before since last December and in this fight he will be swinging at air , Also people seem to going all out on the punch power thing, id imagine pro boxer's hit harder than MMA fighters, I'm sure Canelo hits harder than Conor and he didn't cause Floyd any problems,
    Also even if he lands a punch its not like Flyod is a Diaz who just takes square on he rolls with punches something few MMA fighters do well,
    Also the heavier gloves play into Mayweathers hands,
    I just can't see how Conor wins at all .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,463 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Whether pro boxers hit harder with punches or not than MMA guys is irrelevant, as the main thing is that pro boxers are specifically trained to deliver strikes with their hands. Power is more than just taking a swing and landing. The likelihood is that in general the pro boxer will get the most out of his punches because he is trained specifically in the delivery systems for punching. Bad news for Conor really, but there is always a silver lining. Floyd is not the same punching animal that say a Thurman, Garcia or Canelo are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Fromvert wrote: »
    I think you're crazy that you believe it's impossible a professional boxer in Mayweather can't KO McGregor with one shot. Even with a free shot!

We're not talking about ANY professional boxer though.. nor indeed ANY mma fighter.

We're specifically talking about the possibility of Mayweather being able to knock McGregor down with one punch for a standing count of ten... not happening.

But I've reasoned why I think he wouldn't be able to do it.... what's your reasoning for thinking that he could?
    Did you miss when he fought Diaz only half decent boxer he's ever fought and  the straight right turned him into a panic wrestler just before he got choked,
    Conor usual blocks punches with his face in MMA but he's only really been hit by Mendes and Diaz (who rocked him) neither are on Flyod's level, Its Flyods timing that can catch him and ko him, pretty much like it was his timing that caught Aldo,
    To say Floyd can't ko him is silly, Floyd hasn't ko'd anyone in ages cause he has been fighting the worlds best boxer's not an MMA striker who blokes punches with his face,

Wealthy Vs Rich?

You've put a lot of thought and effort into this, I think you're overly obsessing about this fight.

Actually no I just think you've nothing better to do than troll the forum, derail threads and thank-whore anything negative to do with Conor.

Mod: Just report a post if you have a problem with it - dont make personal comments or backseat mod.

walshb wrote: »
    Whether pro boxers hit harder with punches or not than MMA guys is irrelevant, as the main thing is that pro boxers are specifically trained to deliver strikes with their hands. Power is more than just taking a swing and landing. The likelihood is that in general the pro boxer will get the most out of his punches because he is trained specifically in the delivery systems for punching. Bad news for Conor really, but there is always a silver lining. Floyd is not the same punching animal that say a Thurman, Garcia or Canelo are...

Yeah the bottom line is power is useless in isolation.

You can have the punching power of a Tyson but it won't matter if it's not accompanied by accuracy to hit the target.

I personally think Conor's power is over-rated. He's a strong puncher, no doubt, but it's his accuracy that's frightening, he consistently finds the chin.

He has more than enough power to hurt Floyd, the question is can he translate his accuracy to the new sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Did you miss when he fought Diaz only half decent boxer he's ever fought and  the straight right turned him into a panic wrestler just before he got choked...........

Staph infection.

Did you miss the rematch?

You've put a lot of thought and effort into this, I think you're overly obsessing about this fight.

Actually no I just think you've nothing better to do than troll the forum, derail threads and thank-whore anything negative to do with Conor.

**** me, sensitive much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Diaz needs to get over this 'i'm tough I don't check leg kicks' he could barely put any weight on that leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Inviere

Did you miss the rematch?

It seems there's plenty who use the first Diaz fight to support their arguments, completely ignoring the rematch.

**** me, sensitive much?

Look I've had it with you, Finglashoop, Weldoninho and the other trolls.

You've got nearly 2,000 posts.

You've now quoted ME or replied to ME over 700 times.

Almost every single time to disagree with me and/or slag me off. Whenever I say something I know you agree with, you stay silent.

Your replies have included over 400 curse words and constantly having a go.

I'm tired of the constant negativity, sniping and frankly I've no idea why half of you even follow MMA as I've never actually seen any of you bring any positivity to anything.

I sat down and asked some questions in that 'AMA' and numerous posters just went over there to derail the thread and slag me off.

The man has better things to be doing with his time than reading that and frankly I'm done with this too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 DerrickL

Look I've had it with you, Finglashoop, Weldoninho and the other trolls.

You've got nearly 2,000 posts.

You've now quoted ME or replied to ME over 700 times.

Almost every single time to disagree with me and/or slag me off. Whenever I say something I know you agree with, you stay silent.

Your replies have included over 400 curse words and constantly having a go.

I'm tired of the constant negativity, sniping and frankly I've no idea why half of you even follow MMA as I've never actually seen any of you bring any positivity to anything.

I sat down and asked some questions in that 'AMA' and numerous posters just went over there to derail the thread and slag me off.

The man has better things to be doing with his time than reading that and frankly I'm done with this too.
    Even though we disagree about McGregors chances I will miss your passion and positivity for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

*Metaphorical bottles of water thrown*
    "F*ck your whole team"

Agreed there's a fair bang of naysaying. Enjoy the run-in lads, it's the kind of thing likely not to be relived in our lifetime. It's meant to be fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

This thread is mad.