If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Brexit: The Last Stand (No name calling)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

demfad wrote: »
    A European organisation imposing rules on a British institution!

Populism at its best/worst

It's FIFA, not UEFA.

catbear wrote: »
    UKip has a new target, to get the UK out of UEFA and take back their football.

I was very negative about our gombeen politicians with their bank guarantee but by god in retrospect they seem like harmless amateurs.

The only place HMS Britannia is heading is the saragossa sea.

It's FIFA, not UEFA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

It's FIFA, not UEFA.

A world soccer organisation imposing rules on British soccer teams rather than a European one. How double dare they!
    That makes a significant difference, thanks.

In Fairness it shows Corbyn's integrity that he didn't take the populist line with a question on this but rather maintained his focus on important issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭demfad

It's FIFA, not UEFA.

England should withdraw from both! They used to win all their games when they played with themselves back in the day....

It seems to be the Scottish FA that is leading this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭dinorebel

LordSutch wrote: »
    You would be even more surprised at the amount of English people who think the ROI is still part of the UK. Many English people don't get the whole 'seperate state' thingy :)
    I'm English and have never met anyone who thinks Ireland is part of the UK I have though seen people from further down the country asking if they need to change Euros for Sterling when they come up to Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

A world soccer organisation imposing rules on British soccer teams rather than a European one. How double dare they!
    That makes a significant difference, thanks.

In Fairness it shows Corbyn's integrity that he didn't take the populist line with a question on this but rather maintained his focus on important issues.
    Corbyn has been vilified for wearing a white poppy before, so much so that he backed down and only wore a red one on Remembrance Day....because the Poppy symbol is absolutely not political :rolleyes:

Theresa May is a disgusting piece of work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Jimoslimos wrote: »
    Right that there's zero doubt about her 1899 vision for the UK I wonder if we actually start seeing media giving corbyn an easier.

Even the media acting in self interest won't want to kill their host, would they?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

It seems to be the Scottish FA that is leading this one.

This ^^^ the SFA have been on about this for days now. Only heard of England and Wales getting in on it today. They've been angling for the exception the FA got a few years ago with printed poppies on armbands.

It's a fairly handy issue to latch onto for any politician (and tbh seems to properly represent the views of the country). Why wouldn't you? Hardly a symptom of Brexit-thinking or whatever ye're pushing lads.

Corbyn has been vilified for wearing a white poppy before, so much so that he backed down and only wore a red one on Remembrance Day....because the Poppy symbol is absolutely not political :rolleyes:

Jesus, the Little Irelander's have really lost the plot now:rolleyes:

What's Little Irelander about it?? :confused:

Even if you are a poppy supporter you have to admit it is an appalling piece of opportunism by Theresa May. The RBL poppy appeal raises money to support members of the Armed Forces injured in conflict (including ongoing ones) - one could easily argue that should be the government's role. If politicians had any sense of decency they'd be embarrassed even wearing one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,420 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I think you need to look up what type of behaviour or belief system 'Little Englander' actually refers to.
    Not liking the PM of another country is not really it.

What's Little Irelander about it?? :confused:

Even if you are a poppy supporter you have to admit it is an appalling piece of opportunism by Theresa May. The RBL poppy appeal raises money to support members of the Armed Forces injured in conflict (including ongoing ones) - one could easily argue that should be the government's role. If politicians had any sense of decency they'd be embarrassed even wearing one.

she was asked a question during PM's question time, she responded to the question and it appears she had a pretty resounding support from the house.

If we have a match against england in wembley at easter then it's lillies all round!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

If we have a match against england in wembley at easter then it's lillies all round!

Oh
    Fifa is "evaluating" why the Republic of Ireland wore a symbol marking the Easter Rising, as the debate over England and Scotland not being allowed to wear poppies continues.

England and Scotland are not allowed to wear a poppy when they meet at Wembley because of a Fifa rule banning political, religious or commercial messages on shirts, which UK Prime Minister Theresa May called outrageous.

The Republic wore the symbol in a friendly against Switzerland on 25 March to mark the centenary of the rising.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37853386

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,880 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I'm calling BS on that. Haven't met much (zero) people here who call it Ulster.

Everyone I can think of has asked me if I live in Northern Ireland or here which they either call The Republic of, Southern Ireland or The South.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,779 ✭✭✭MrPudding

dinorebel wrote: »
    I'm English and have never met anyone who thinks Ireland is part of the UK I have though seen people from further down the country asking if they need to change Euros for Sterling when they come up to Donegal.

I got a taxi once from Milton Keynes to Luton Airport. The driver thought Dublin was in Wales.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

News out today that inflation in the UK is set to hit 4% in 2017, more than double target inflation. Someone on reddit raised a very good point that students & young adults are going to be hit particularly bad by all of this. Student loan interest rates are linked to inflation at a set rate of between +1 to +3% over inflation. Most fall into the +2% band, which means they will be facing 6% compounding interest on their student loans from next year

Wetherspoons boss who campaigned for Brexit now blaming the EU for bullying the UK by not giving them a special deal as their group's growth is cut by half

But that's reconnection of the nation state, that FIFA also recognises. It's not like our political existence is in dispute. If Switzerland wanted to acknowledge 800 years of existence who could be offended. If some state is offended with either Irelands and Switzerlands existence then they'll just have to drop out of international competitions or get over it.

On the other hand the Poppy has a distinct link to the british armed forces. If the line breaks then you'll have individual players demanding customised kits recognizing their agendas separate to the nation they play for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Wetherspoons boss who campaigned for Brexit now blaming the EU for bullying the UK by not giving them a special deal as their group's growth is cut by half

Pretty childish if not unexpected behavior from him. The EU not giving into Brexiter demands is not bullying, but simple business. These sensitive Brexit types are far too easily triggered, if you ask me. You can't insult and smear someone for decades and then cry about it, when they won't give you everything you demand.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,927 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

steddyeddy wrote: »
    The Uk's economy was growing faster than any in the world. Why stop that?
    A sterling success.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 95,927 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The only place HMS Britannia is heading is the saragossa sea.
    http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-37428864
    Conservative MP Jake Berry is leading calls for a revival of the royal yacht, telling the Sun: "it could bring in billions of pounds' worth of trade deals for post-Brexit Britain."

They should rename the boat Boris McBorisface. It will bring in even more billions of pounds, which will be, by the time all is said and done be about 10 euro :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

wes wrote: »

Pretty childish if not unexpected behavior from him. The EU not giving into Brexiter demands is not bullying, but simple business. These sensitive Brexit types are far too easily triggered, if you ask me. You can't insult and smear someone for decades and then cry about it, when they won't give you everything you demand.
    Complete speculation on my part, but he's said himself that Wetherspoons does best during recessions. They were one of the few UK businesses that recorded growth (3%) 2008-2009 in the depth of the recession. He wouldn't be the first person to campaign for Brexit for personal gain. He may just have not anticipated the fall in sterling and consequent increase in cost of supplies which is happening now

she was asked a question during PM's question time, she responded to the question and it appears she had a pretty resounding support from the house.
    Resounding support doesn't mean she was right or that she wasn't using it in a cynical way (I mean who is going to dissent openly in Parliament against poppies).

The correct response would have been to briefly state her disappointment but respect the regulations of the international governing body for the sport. Instead she launched into a bizarre ad hominem attack on FIFA and actually proved the point that the red poppy is a political symbol.

I wonder what the reaction would be if FIFA offered a compromise, a recognition of those who died* in WW1 (perhaps something as simple as the date of Armistice Day) but not the poppy - would the SFA and FA be so keen to embrace it.

*Everybody - soldiers and civilians from all sides.

He wouldn't be the first person to campaign for Brexit for personal gain. He may just have not anticipated the fall in sterling and consequent increase in cost of supplies which is happening now

Yes, wouldn't surprise me at all. His boycott call of the EU is also rather problematic, as he has pubs in Ireland. It may result in people in Ireland responding in kind in regards to his establishments.

I suppose he could lower the prices due to the pounds swan dive, but he is playing with fire with is carry on.

MrPudding wrote: »
    I got a taxi once from Milton Keynes to Luton Airport. The driver thought Dublin was in Wales.

MrP
    In fairness, taxi drivers aren't exactly the greatest barometer of a population's understanding of international politics :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Complete speculation on my part, but he's said himself that Wetherspoons does best during recessions. They were one of the few UK businesses that recorded growth (3%) 2008-2009 in the depth of the recession. He wouldn't be the first person to campaign for Brexit for personal gain. He may just have not anticipated the fall in sterling and consequent increase in cost of supplies which is happening now

Any number of so called experts included that as a risk and don't forget that the Bank of England did a fair bit of currency support on 24 June as well. If he didn't anticipate it, he should have. There were plenty of voices highlighting the likelihood. More likely, he refused to believe it was possible that all would not be perfect in the most perfect of worlds.
    wes wrote: »
    Yes, wouldn't surprise me at all. His boycott call of the EU is also rather problematic, as he has pubs in Ireland. It may result in people in Ireland responding in kind in regards to his establishments.

I suppose he could lower the prices due to the pounds swan dive, but he is playing with fire with is carry on.

TBH, nothing would persuade me to knowingly set foot in one of his establishments, regardless. Any time I have done in the past, it has not been an experience I have wished to repeat. As such, it's pointless me responding in kind per se because it changes nothing.

In fairness, taxi drivers aren't exactly the greatest barometer of a population's understanding of international politics :pac:
    Well, that particular taxi driver wasn't very good at geography anyway.

Instead she launched into a bizarre ad hominem attack on FIFA and actually proved the point that the red poppy is a political symbol.
    When I heard her rant about FIFA on the radio my first response was that she was crazy.

When I later read that Kenny said at the all island brexit forum this morning, that A50 could be triggered in December if preliminary talks with the EU became "quite vicious", as he put it, I knew he probably had good reason to believe it.

Having talked directly with May about Brexit and the border he probably has the best outsider grasp about her frame of mind.