Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 2016 *NO NUMBER SWAPS/SALES/TRANSFERS*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

El Caballo wrote: »
    Fairplay to the man! I geuss the problem that has come up here is that people think you undervalue the elite athletes drive and it's just as simple thing for them. I often hear people say things like it's harder for the non-elites to run a marathon and so on and maybe that's true in some sense but that's looking at one day and saying that takes guts whereas with the elite athlete, it's literally their life with thousands upon thousands of hours training with guts and determination to get there, sure they may have talent but a serious work ethic as well and that seems to be underappreciated by a lot of people.

Young Debele grew up in some of the poorest conditions on the whole planet stricken by poverty and hunger among violence and political unrest but rose up to become a top class marathon runner despite all that was against him through years of discipline, determination and belief in himself. There's sentiment in most peoples story when you look for it but many just see elite runners as machines who could just show up and win, not the sheer effort and will it took them to get where they are on the days when one is watching and I think that's why you got the responses you did.

I don't agree with everything you say

Firstly if you go to any of the fan pages on FB for these athletes you have people kissing their feet all over the place so they're more than getting their daily dose of praise and if they're not then they post 10 pictures of themselves reminding everyone why they're number 1.

Most people wouldn't give them the time of day if they wern't any use at what they do.

Yeah they deserve it for the gruelling training they do but they chose their profession.

Secondly Itzer was just being obnoxious to that OP, there was no reason whatsoever to act like that towards someone making an innocent comment about some poor soul who must've been in a terrible way to be still out on the course while a pensioner carrying a metal contraption was even home by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Clearlier

RayCun wrote: »
    about 17500 collected their numbers, so about a thousand DNFs

Not quite. There will be some (like myself) who pick up their numbers but still don't toe the starting line.

Itziger wrote: »
    Jeez Christ, it's probably because I had a few beers and a glass of wine at lunch time. I really shouldn't be responding.

Winner= first across the line. How difficult can that be?

If you want to compare sympathy cases, I'm sure there are lots of sub forums on this place to do so. This is the athletics forum where people understand what winner means. We're not talking about life you know. It's a race.

Cannot believe OP got an infraction and this one didnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

A mention for the pacers yesterday, most of whom are from these parts. Many come back to pace DCM year on year in a selfless act to help other runners achieve there goal times or help them run PB's. They ran many thousand of such runners to those goals yesterday through there love of running and a desire to help others.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aero2k

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Hi S,

Was that you at the top of the hill (with the bike) as we turned left at Christchurch?
    Thanks for the support and apologies if I didn't acknowledge/respond.

Hi P,

No, unfortunately I was unable to take to the bike due to a back problem I caught from reading Krusty's log. (BTW commiserations to Krusty - there's a man who'd have done some damage yesterday if fully fit). I had intended to view from there, but I decided to move further along to where you turned right to head down the steep hill to the Liffey as I thought I'd be better able to pick out faces in the crowd there, plus it would leave me slightly closer to Kilmainham:).
    I got a lot of unexpected shout outs from people and failed to respond to some as didn't know who/where they were coming from. aquinn made me very much aware of this in McGrattans :eek:

No better woman!

Congrats again on the pacing job.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

......I noticed coming down the hill from High Street to the quays that the vast majority were hugging the left hand side of the road despite the fact that the road curves around the right. This is one example of where people would have added extra distance onto their race............

I still can't understand this. At that exact same spot as I came over the top of the hill at the traffic lights I could see the entire left hand side of the road taken up with runners, nearly hugging the left kerb, I reckon of the 1000 people I could see only about 5 of us took the racing line.(Started at the back of wave 1)

ooter wrote: »
    There was a talk about the route at the expo today and the speaker said we were in for a big surprise at kilmainham jail, anyone know what that is?
    He also said the finisher T shirts will be a big surprise too.

Was looking at the T shirt wondering what all this was about :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Bugsy2000 wrote:
    I still can't understand this. At that exact same spot as I came over the top of the hill at the traffic lights I could see the entire left hand side of the road taken up with runners, nearly hugging the left kerb, I reckon of the 1000 people I could see only about 5 of us took the racing line.(Started at the back of wave 1)

I reckon I did this. I suppose I just followed everyone else, it was early in the race and the adrenaline was racing. I was more focussed later on and ran a better line but at the start it was fairly crowded and there was a fair few traffic islands and bollards etc. My watch was out from fairly early on but stayed out by the same amount (I get how Garmins work). The roads are really wide at at the start and there is plenty of potential to run a bad line - I would say it's very difficult run the racing line if your in the middle of the pack at the start and you've positioned yourself badly. I'll always try and account for an extra 0.1 or 0.2 miles when working out my race strategy simply because I go off my watch rather than the mile markers.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

tang1 wrote: »
    A mention for the pacers yesterday, most of whom are from these parts. Many come back to pace DCM year on year in a selfless act to help other runners achieve there goal times or help them run PB's. They ran many thousand of such runners to those goals yesterday through there love of running and a desire to help others.

+1... it's only when you sit down and think about it you realise the commitment and responsibility of the job. So many people guided and depending on your knowledge and experience..

3:20 pacers spot on for the first half anyway, I can't comment on the second half ☺

Even the pacer who stopped for a piddle around 10 mile peed at 7:15 pace in order to catch up ☺☺

The 3:30 pacers looked rock steady too, didn't even see the 3:40s pass me ☺☺☺

A special mention has to go out to the women's winner yesterday, 'Laura Graham'.

I don't anything about her really, was looking at her picture thinking shes got a lovely figure for a long distance runner.

Then I heard she's a mother of 4 who took up running two years ago.:eek:

Surely she must've known when she was a kid that she was a good runner or did she always run but only took it up competitively 2 years ago?

Anyway that's what I call a real winner and a lucky sucker.

I could be running in a Kenyan camp around the best in the world and I still wouldn't win a bag of crisps.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

martyboy48 wrote: »
    +1... it's only when you sit down and think about it you realise the commitment and responsibility of the job. So many people guided and depending on your knowledge and experience..

3:20 pacers spot on for the first half anyway, I can't comment on the second half ☺

Even the pacer who stopped for a piddle around 10 mile peed at 7:15 pace in order to catch up ☺☺

The 3:30 pacers looked rock steady too, didn't even see the 3:40s pass me ☺☺☺

That's because we didn't pass you. We started at the beginning of Wave 2 at 9:10am, meaning even though you ran 3:47 we were still behind you.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

joesoap5 wrote: »
    Was looking at the T shirt wondering what all this was about :rolleyes:

There's a f*****g zip in it! HOW ARE YOU NOT AMAZED?!

(seriously though, when I noticed the zip pocket, I was delighted with the top)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Thanks for the pacing yesterday yaboya1....I was with the 3:40 pacers until about 20 miles then the wheels came off....still delighted with my debut marathon....particularly liked the "ogi ogi ogi" cries going under the bridges coming out of Chapelizod.

Also had a great laugh when one of you made a pit stop on the Lower Glen Road and there was many cries of "do we all need to stop here"....not sure of that was you though!!
    That's because we didn't pass you. We started at the beginning of Wave 2 at 9:10am, meaning even though you ran 3:47 we were still behind you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,162 ✭✭✭ooter

i seen a lad yesterday just past the 2 mile marker, i was behind him for about a minute before i passed him out, he was with another lad who seemed to be coaching him around but he was being really aggressive with him, both verbally and physically. felt like saying something to him but as i didn't know the full situation i thought it best not to. i'd love to know if he completed the race, i'd be amazed if he did to be honest because even at that early stage he looked to be in bad shape.

chrislad wrote: »
    There's a f*****g zip in it! HOW ARE YOU NOT AMAZED?!

(seriously though, when I noticed the zip pocket, I was delighted with the top)

haha, there is that alright! :D

But also you just reminded me I was giving out about the goody back from the RDS and they redeemed themselves with a second goody bag yesterday which was actually a surprise.

I enjoyed the chocolate last night when I couldn't get off me a$$ to go to the shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Spirogyra

A special mention has to go out to the women's winner yesterday, 'Laura Graham'.

I don't anything about her really, was looking at her picture thinking shes got a lovely figure for a long distance runner.

Surely she must've known when she was a kid that she was a good runner or did she always run but only took it up competitively 2 years ago?

I could be running in a Kenyan camp around the best in the world and I still wouldn't win a bag of crisps.
    Yes an amazing story. Running seems to be a sport though where some people can start relatively late and reach a good level. Well done LauraðŸ˜႒

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Unless there are exceptional circumstances then 10 hours deserves no praise whatsoever. You could walk it, taking a break in the pub for pints, grub and a premier league match and still come home comfortably within that timeframe.

If you aren't fit enough to run a marathon, then don't do it, and get fit instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭overthebridge

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2710|echancrure|2:59:17|2:49:59|2:49:18
    11815|diego_b|4:12:54|3:59:59|3:57:34
    |schqually|4:09:50|3:49:59|
    519|Singer|3:32:04|3:09:59|DNF
    10938|Derco|4:22:53|4:12:59|4:16:04
    836|hot buttered scones|3:38:39|3:21:59|
    5051|Run and Jump|3:26:14|3:19:59|
    10456|glacial_pace71|4:16:37|3:53:53|4:11:02|
    11283|Wubble Wubble|4:18:52|3:39:59|3:49:01|
    |ooter|3:14:xx|3:59:59|
    |CR 7|3:08:45|2:58:27|
    938|Paddybarry|2:55:28|2:58:XX|3:09:03
    4445|Myles Splitz|2:59:25|2:39:59|2.43.03
    |dna_leri|n/a|2:59:00|
    |chrislad|4:46:09|4:19:59|4:27:22
    3099|Sandwell|n/a|2:57:30|
    1023|Murph_D|3:29:16|3:19:59|3:28:28
    |Averagejoe123|3:18:20|3:09:59|3.07.53
    4807|Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|3.18.39
    1711|Healy1835|3:39:52|3:19:59|
    |boydkev|n/a|3:39:59|
    |Spaceylou|n/a|4:29:59|
    16111|Budhistmonk|5:07:45|4:29:59|
    |Fieldsman|4:48:XX|4:29:59|
    8375|younganne|3:55:25|3:50:00|3:49:38 :D
    |pink11|4:04:00|5:00:00|4:53:00|
    4602|donnacha|3:57:11|3:29:59|3:29:51|
    18577|wookiesleep|3:33:00|3:29:30|3:24:46|
    1538|jake1970|3:18:30|3:09:59|
    |Classic21|N/A|3:29:59|3:37:40|
    3574|overthebridge|3:50:43|3:29:59|3:38:38|
    2459|Djemba Djemba|N/A|2:59:59|2.57.58
    |psalm69|3:33:14|3:15:59|
    |gucci|3:16:XX|3:09:59|
    |BeepBeep67|2:55:51|3:19:29|Pacing
    |Healium|3:50:10|6:59:59|
    |Johnners1878|3:29:04|3:40:00|
    |Clearlier|3:24:00|DNS|
    |FBOT01|3:00:59|3:29:30|Pacing
    |Airtel31|4:20:59|4:45:00|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1414|Ed Mc Groarty|2:54:26|2:54:25
    4310|Martyboy48|3:19??|3:19:59|Praying
    9523|Chickey2|4:33:5x|3:59:59|3:58:42

Great day out. Was in front of the 330 pacers right up to mile 19 when my hammies started cramping.
    It was a case of hanging on after this. No "A" or "B" goal but the "C" target was achieved.
    Plus it's a 24 minute improvement on my time from last year.

The crowds were absolutely sensational the whole way round. Special mention to the corner just after mile 11.
    I think it's Dolphins Barn or Kilmainham? The noise along here was absolutely deafening.

I'll back again next year !

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Thanks for the pacing yesterday yaboya1....I was with the 3:40 pacers until about 20 miles then the wheels came off....still delighted with my debut marathon....particularly liked the "ogi ogi ogi" cries going under the bridges coming out of Chapelizod.

Also had a great laugh when one of you made a pit stop on the Lower Glen Road and there was many cries of "do we all need to stop here"....not sure of that was you though!!

Guilty your honour. I've never had such a big audience, glad I didn't get stage fright

• Registered Users Posts: 20 psalm69

2771|psalm69|3:33:14|3:15:59|3:39:19
    |gucci|3:16:XX|3:09:59|

DCM chewed me up and spat me out!!:)
    Thought I had prepared well and did absolutely everything I usually do, but I knew something wasn't right with a stitch in the 2nd KM. I found a bit of rhythm through the park but by the time I was at the end of Crumlin I was in trouble the stitch had returned, I was roasting and couldn't cool down. A,B,C times stuffed I hung on till the end (just about), wobbled around a bit and made a b-line for the massage tent!

I did PB's in 5km 10km and half this year, I probably naively became to expect them, but was brought down to earth here, a tough but a good lesson.

The crowd, volunteers and fellow runners were amazing, the atmosphere was unreal and electric.

Im off to do yoga for a month and roll on a spring Marathon.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Somebody posted on Twitter, so it could be bollox, that she does her training on a treadmill, and judging by how he wrote it I assume he meant that's how she does all her training.

Why did you put the quotes around her name by the way? :D

ligerdub wrote: »
    Somebody posted on Twitter, so it could be bollox, that she does her training on a treadmill, and judging by how he wrote it I assume he meant that's how she does all her training.

Why did you put the quotes around her name by the way? :D

I wouldn't be surprised at all, its probably the only way can train if she has a family to look after.

Sure didn't 'Ingrid Kristiansen' do most of her training on a treadmill?

I used the quotes because she's special :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Derco

tang1 wrote: »

Didn't follow a pace team this year but the 4:10 lads looked to have done a great job. They caught up with me going past the RDS. I tried to keep up with them but I didn't have it in the legs. Might follow them next year :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭gucci

Managed to bag 3:09:XX yesterday (can someone add that to the table for me?)
    Absolutely delighted with the time, my training wasn't quite as thorough as it should and could have been, so I think I just about got about all out of the tank yesterday. There really was a lot of pain in last 4 miles but the support is amazing, both from the crowds the volunteers the other athletes.....really makes you see the best in human spirit, and what lovely weather we had too. All in all a great day. I said before that I was a bit bored of the marathon training and may focus on the shorter stuff, but I have not really experienced anything better or more rewarding than the cheers and smiles from random strangers in the last 1km....sure I gotta try to get under 3!!

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭Ed Mc Groarty

|gucci|3:16:XX|3:09:59|3:09:XX

Added gucci

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Airtel31

Added gucci

Could you add mine 4:30:41 pls

1414|Ed Mc Groarty|2:54:26|2:54:25|3:07:33

Adding my time.
    My first time not hitting a pb in a race. I somehow believed I could just hit a target without actually training properly for it, my respect for the distance has been refreshed. I never really stopped celebrating conn100. I got away likely considering it wasn't a goal race but it's given me a wake up call on my next goal, lesson learned(I hope).