Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 2016 *NO NUMBER SWAPS/SALES/TRANSFERS*

• Registered Users Posts: 31 deniseve

I was stewarding at the marathon today and there was a wonderful atmosphere again this year. The perfect weather conditions really added to the day. I was wondering if any steward would be willing to swap their Asics running jacket that we got for stewarding today? I got a size large one which is far too big for me. I'm looking for a size small or medium jacket. They are lovely jackets and it would be a shame not to use it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Mech1 wrote: »
    Is there a picture thread for this great event?
    Links to Cork Athletics coverage, of over 600 photos and almost 3 hours of video, from Starts, 13 Miles and 25.5 Miles, on Cork Athletics website

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2710|echancrure|2:59:17|2:49:59|2:49:18
    11815|diego_b|4:12:54|3:59:59|3:57:34
    |schqually|4:09:50|3:49:59|
    519|Singer|3:32:04|3:09:59|DNF
    10938|Derco|4:22:53|4:12:59|4:16:04
    836|hot buttered scones|3:38:39|3:21:59|
    5051|Run and Jump|3:26:14|3:19:59|
    10456|glacial_pace71|4:16:37|3:53:53|4:11:02|
    |ooter|3:14:xx|3:59:59|
    |CR 7|3:08:45|2:58:27|
    938|Paddybarry|2:55:28|2:58:XX|3:09:03
    |Myles Splitz|2:59:25|2:39:59|
    |dna_leri|n/a|2:59:00|
    |chrislad|4:46:09|4:19:59|
    3099|Sandwell|n/a|2:57:30|
    1023|Murph_D|3:29:16|3:19:59|3:28:28
    |Averagejoe123|3:18:20|3:09:59|
    4807|Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|
    1711|Healy1835|3:39:52|3:19:59|
    |boydkev|n/a|3:39:59|
    |Spaceylou|n/a|4:29:59|
    16111|Budhistmonk|5:07:45|4:29:59|
    |Fieldsman|4:48:XX|4:29:59|
    8375|younganne|3:55:25|3:50:00|
    |pink11|4:04:00|5:00:00|4:53:00|
    4602|donnacha|3:57:11|3:29:59|3:29:51|
    18577|wookiesleep|3:33:00|3:29:30|3:24:46|
    1538|jake1970|3:18:30|3:09:59|
    |Classic21|N/A|3:29:59|3:37:40|
    |overthebridge|3:50:43|3:29:59|
    2459|Djemba Djemba|N/A|2:59:59|2.57.58
    |psalm69|3:33:14|3:15:59|
    |gucci|3:16:XX|3:09:59|
    |BeepBeep67|2:55:51|3:19:29|Pacing
    |Healium|3:50:10|6:59:59|
    |Johnners1878|3:29:04|3:40:00|
    |Clearlier|3:24:00|DNS|
    |FBOT01|3:00:59|3:29:30|Pacing
    |Airtel31|4:20:59|4:45:00|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1414|Ed Mc Groarty|2:54:26|2:54:25
    4310|Martyboy48|3:19??|3:19:59|Praying
    9523|Chickey2|4:33:5x|3:59:59|3:58:42
    11283|Wubble Wubble|4:18:52|3:39:59|

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

Singer wrote: »
    1711|Healy1835|3:39:52|3:19:59|3:19:07
    11283|Wubble Wubble|4:18:52|3:39:59|

• Registered Users Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

11283|Wubble Wubble|4:18:52|3:39:59|3:49:01|

• Registered Users Posts: 7,502 ✭✭✭Trampas

4807|Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|3.18.39
    [/quote]

• Registered Users Posts: 13,860 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

First time doing the Dublin marathon yesterday and was absolutely blown away by it.

The organisation, the volunteers, the crowds. Thanks a million to you all. It was Dublin at its' best. Coincidently enough, I didn't see a single politican. :)

Just one question though. What I read is that a marathon should be 42.195km, yet my app showed up over 42.5km. One runner beside me when I finished said he clocked 42.6km. I never left the course, not even to go the toilet, so is there a logical explanation for this, as a newbie I can't understand it. Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Football Friend

Funny you should say that, my watch was constantly .3-.5 of a km off too. Like at the 30k mark my watch was around 30.5. I just assumed it was me. Doesn't make too much of a difference in the grand scheme of things I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Just one question though. What I read is that a marathon should be 42.195km, yet my app showed up over 42.5km. One runner beside me when I finished said he clocked 42.6km. I never left the course, not even to go the toilet, so is there a logical explanation for this, as a newbie I can't understand it. Thanks in advance.

Consumer GPS devices/phones are not infallible, and you almost certainly did not run the race line.

http://www.saltyrunning.com/running-the-tangents-why-your-gps-thinks-every-race-course-is-long/
    https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/the-running-blog/2016/apr/15/course-accuracy-why-your-gps-watch-isnt-infallible

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Zebra and Footie lad, the watches are not 100% accurate. They are close to it, but not 100%. I usually find close to 1% out. But that varies too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Football Friend

Itziger wrote: »
    Zebra and Footie lad, the watches are not 100% accurate. They are close to it, but not 100%. I usually find close to 1% out. But that varies too.

Oh yeah I assumed that it was the watch alright, I wasn't complaining at all just saying that my watch was similar is all.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

|chrislad|4:46:09|4:19:59|4:27:22

I had been training for 4:30 but the last couple of weeks I readjusted for 4:20. All good well until I got awful cramp at 20. Got stretched out by a spectator who had muscle creams with her! I just about kept up my LSR pace after that to keep on track for my original target but a bit disappointed as I was on track for 4:17 or so. Still shows the training went well and was much better than last year where I was dead on my legs by 18. In comparison I was near 2 mins a mile faster on the last 6 miles when I was cramping this year!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

3:28:03 for me about 3 and a half minute pub from London this year. Went through half in 1:44:30. Better weather than 2014!

Was originally just planning to run around with a friend on fours hours but he pulled out so said I'd see how it goes on the day and stick myself at the front of the second wave.

Happy to finally go under 3:30. Couldn't keep anything down for about three hours after!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

It was Dublin at its' best. Coincidently enough, I didn't see a single politican. :)

I saw Minister of Sport Shane Ross walking up Foster Avenue :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭aero2k

What a fantastic day! I've been a spectator before at one fixed point, but this was the first time I made a deliberate effort to get round to a few places: High Street around 1.5 miles, Kilmainham Gaol just after 11 miles, and Northumberland Rd with 800m to go. Any misgivings I had about not being a competitor were quickly swept away by the atmosphere, the weather, and the huge number of terrific performances. I was disappointed to miss Myles Splitz - huge congrats to him - but I did see AMK at Kilmainham and looking very focused down the finishing straight. Yaboya looked comfortable under the weight of his balloon and the hopes and dreams of the big gang surrounding him - excellent pacing job done. I saw Murph_D looking strong at 800 to go, but he had passed me before I remembered his (real) first name to give him a shout. I was delighted to see a few work colleagues and one family friend who improved by 6 min over last year to post a very impressive 2:43:30.

Laura Graham looked very much in control on the three occasions I saw her - she had a tough second half last year, losing 10 min, now she's national champion. Hopefully that will console and motivate those whose day fell short of plans and expectations - there will be other, better days. Great runs by the auld lads too - McKinney, O'Connell, Moran.

Special mention must go to TBB. I thought he must have worn out his arms last year waving to the crowd and encouraging the cheers, but there he was in Kilmainham, leading a little group just like last year, waving for all he was worth. He looked very strong down the finishing straight, and his 2:41:09 shows he can run much faster when he's not towing me around, though I suspect he dragged a few along with him this time too.

16,812 finishers and nothing but positive comments - I think we can call the move to Sunday a success. Well done to all the organisers, competitors, volunteers and supporters for making it an event to be really proud of.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Woden wrote: »
    3:28:03 for me about 3 and a half minute pub from London this year......

Go home woden, you're drunk ☺☺

Well done, nice result ☺

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

I get your first point which is fair enough, but I don't understand your second point. What are you implying by it? :confused:

That you did not run the shortest line of the race i.e running wide on corners, wrong side of the road on straights etc etc which add distance to your race. 42.5 km is a bout what you would expect gps to measure for a marathon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

At expo on Saturday evening and OH who was planning a 4:30 first marathon got talking to one of the 4:20 pacers. Her 4:30 was based on my input to her training (mostly fear based on my marathon experiences), anyway this pacer (who coaches as well) told her that, based on her training paces (20 miles in 3:20) she was severely under-selling herself and that she should be shooting for 4:10. Not ideal to be altering your planned marathon pace the evening before your first marathon, but alter it she did and thoroughly enjoyed a comfortable 4:17. Big thanks to that pacer; gave her great confidence and she got a brilliant PB (beating my first effort by 9 mins).

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Derco

The story behind one of the heroes of yesterday. The Eiffel Tower guy. He's 70 years old!!!

https://www.balls.ie/fitness-lifestyle/the-story-of-eiffel-tower-dublin-marathon/350293

• Registered Users Posts: 760 ✭✭✭PGL

Came in at 3:32:13. Delighted with it being my first marathon. My hard target was to come in under 3:40, with an outside chance of sub 3:30 being bonus territory. I didn't hit the wall either which was great.

I downloaded the pacing spreadsheet for Dublin that was posted on this thread (sorry, can't remember who posted it up), to come up with a pacing strategy, where I aimed to have a medium negative split bias, and a 3:30 finish time. See below the target and actual times:

target actual
    10k: 52:21 51:29
    Half: 1:46:07 1:46:41
    30k: 2:30:19 2:30:42

Things were roughly going to plan up to 30k, but I started to fade between 34k and 40k. Once I turned onto Fosters Ave I was expecting to be able to put the foot down, but I found that final section tough going. There was nothing left in the tank when I crossed the line, which I presume is how it should be.

However all in all I absolutely loved the event, was overwhelmed at times by the support, and was delighted with how things panned out for me.

Thanks for all advice boardsies!

• Registered Users Posts: 760 ✭✭✭PGL

also just wondering what happened to 3,000 odd runners. all of the reports suggested 19,500 were taking part, but the RTRT tracking app suggests 16,759 runners took part...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

PGL wrote: »
    also just wondering what happened to 3,000 odd runners. all of the reports suggested 19,500 were taking part, but the RTRT tracking app suggests 16,759 runners took part...

Drop outs due to injuries, illness etc I would imagine

PGL wrote: »
    Came in at 3:32:13. Delighted with it being my first marathon. My hard target was to come in under 3:40, with an outside chance of sub 3:30 being bonus territory. I didn't hit the wall either which was great.

I downloaded the pacing spreadsheet for Dublin that was posted on this thread (sorry, can't remember who posted it up), to come up with a pacing strategy, where I aimed to have a medium negative split bias, and a 3:30 finish time. See below the target and actual times:

target actual
    10k: 52:21 51:29
    Half: 1:46:07 1:46:41
    30k: 2:30:19 2:30:42

Things were roughly going to plan up to 30k, but I started to fade between 34k and 40k. Once I turned onto Fosters Ave I was expecting to be able to put the foot down, but I found that final section tough going. There was nothing left in the tank when I crossed the line, which I presume is how it should be.

However all in all I absolutely loved the event, was overwhelmed at times by the support, and was delighted with how things panned out for me.

Thanks for all advice boardsies!

You nailed it. Well done!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

|chrislad|4:46:09|4:19:59|4:27:22
    8375|younganne|3:55:25|3:50:00|3:49:38 :D

Delighted to hit my target, very tough last few miles and I'm very surprised to see split times, felt so much slower. I really was hanging on at the end. Couldn't lift my legs as both quads were screaming at me. In bits at the end but a visit to medical tent sorted me out. Support was amazing and gave me goosebumps on several occasions!!

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Fieldsman

I'm old enough to remember when the Beatles were in Dublin but wasn't the cheering in the last mile yesterday something like that. Hope everyone is feeling well today after what I thought was a brilliantly organised event. Take a bow everyone who participated in one way or another.
    I predicted 4 30 and at 24 miles I was on for 4 20 but lost a bit in the last two miles finishing in 4 25. Anyway as good a way as any to spend one's birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Was coming home from Sligo last night and heard there was some dude still in the race around 7pm at Donnybrook.
    In the dark, alone and no medal at the end. Congrats to all who competed and completed but for me the real winner is that guy. ðŸ‘

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,834 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Not knowing his pre race physical condition, but that guy probably shouldn't have entered.

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Hi folks, got round yesterday in 4hr 11 xx , was looking for a sub 4 but not to be.2nd ever marathon.
    had stomach cramps from mile 8 on. every time i took on water or a gel i felt terrible. I felt ok up to mile 20 but then everything went at once. legs cramped and pretty dehydrated. at one stage on fosters ave i considered hauling back 4hr pacers but legs weren't interested in that idea, lol.
    really enjoyed race up until i cracked then it became really hard work. was in pretty bad shape once i got home but fine today. Lots more experience gained out there.

Any how massive congrats to everyone, Roll on next year.:):eek:

Hi folks, got round yesterday in 4hr 11 xx , was looking for a sub 4 but not to be.2nd ever marathon.
    had stomach cramps from mile 8 on. every time i took on water or a gel i felt terrible. I felt ok up to mile 20 but then everything went at once. legs cramped and pretty dehydrated. at one stage on fosters ave i considered hauling back 4hr pacers but legs weren't interested in that idea, lol.
    really enjoyed race up until i cracked then it became really hard work. was in pretty bad shape once i got home but fine today. Lots more experience gained out there.

Any how massive congrats to everyone, Roll on next year.:):eek:

You did very well to tough it out. Fair play to you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

Donal55 wrote: »
    Was coming home from Sligo last night and heard there was some dude still in the race around 7pm at Donnybrook.
    In the dark, alone and no medal at the end. Congrats to all who competed and completed but for me the real winner is that guy. ðŸ‘

The real winner finished almost 8 hours earlier.

The mawkish sentimentality that surrounds the marathon is OTT.

Anyone can do a marathon. There's a mad urge to elevate slow runners as being somehow heroic while fast runners put in less effort.

It's running 26.2 miles. There's only one winner. Rest of us are there for the craic/challenge.