Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 2016 *NO NUMBER SWAPS/SALES/TRANSFERS*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Djoucer wrote: »
    The real winner finished almost 8 hours earlier.

The mawkish sentimentality that surrounds the marathon is OTT.

Anyone can do a marathon. There's a mad urge to elevate slow runners as being somehow heroic while fast runners somehow putting in less effort.

It's running 26.2 miles. There's only winner. Rest of us are there for the craic/challenge.

You're entitled to your opinion as am I.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Donal55 wrote: »
    You're entitled to your opinion as am I.

It's not an opinion. It's a fact.

Everyone starts HERE and everyone finishes THERE.

First across the line is the winner.

Now before you start with the 'sentimental' stuff, yes I do understand that people who have lost limbs, children, pounds, cousins, heads and so on in the lead up are deserving of some sort of sympathy. But the winner is the still the person who crosses the line first. Let us not lose sight of that on a running forum.

Itziger wrote: »
    It's not an opinion. It's a fact.

Everyone starts HERE and everyone finishes THERE.

First across the line is the winner.

Now before you start with the 'sentimental' stuff, yes I do understand that people who have lost limbs, children, pounds, cousins, heads and so on in the lead up are deserving of some sort of sympathy. But the winner is the still the person who crosses the line first. Let us not lose sight of that on a running forum.

For some it is not about winning, but the participation.

Well then use a term such as 'most deserving participator'.

You said 'winner'. The next poster pointed out that the 'winner' had finished somewhat earlier.

Facts. Opinions.

Take your choice.

Well then use a term such as 'most deserving participator'.

You said 'winner'. The next poster pointed out that the 'winner' had finished somewhat earlier.

Facts. Opinions.

Take your choice.

I said in my opinion he was the winner.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭dubal

table format issue

Jeez Christ, it's probably because I had a few beers and a glass of wine at lunch time. I really shouldn't be responding.

Winner= first across the line. How difficult can that be?

If you want to compare sympathy cases, I'm sure there are lots of sub forums on this place to do so. This is the athletics forum where people understand what winner means. We're not talking about life you know. It's a race.

Was coming home from Sligo last night and heard there was some loser still running around in the dark, with no home to go to and he won't even get a medal. What a knob. The winner crossed the line 5 hours earlier.

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭dubal

Could someone please add me to that table?
    1611|dubal|03:24:24|03:09:59|03:09:05

I think I started out too slow, afraid to have to walk... again.
    10K 46:30 07:29 mile
    HALF 01:35:40 07:08 mile
    30K 02:15:04 07:08 mile
    Finish 03:09:05 07:08 mile

Dubal

• Registered Users Posts: 6,625 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Why do you think he was the winner?

If I decide to do an Ironman in the morning off little or no training and manage to eventually haul my ass around the course two days later, would I be a winner or just an unprepared fool.

Context is everything. (And I'm not for one moment knocking the guys own personal achievement, but it's just that, a personal achievement that doesn't really merit wide acclaim)

TbL

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

aero2k wrote: »
    What a fantastic day! I've been a spectator before at one fixed point, but this was the first time I made a deliberate effort to get round to a few places: High Street around 1.5 miles, Kilmainham Gaol just after 11 miles, and Northumberland Rd with 800m to go. Any misgivings I had about not being a competitor were quickly swept away by the atmosphere, the weather, and the huge number of terrific performances. I was disappointed to miss Myles Splitz - huge congrats to him - but I did see AMK at Kilmainham and looking very focused down the finishing straight. Yaboya looked comfortable under the weight of his balloon and the hopes and dreams of the big gang surrounding him - excellent pacing job done. I saw Murph_D looking strong at 800 to go, but he had passed me before I remembered his (real) first name to give him a shout. I was delighted to see a few work colleagues and one family friend who improved by 6 min over last year to post a very impressive 2:43:30.

Laura Graham looked very much in control on the three occasions I saw her - she had a tough second half last year, losing 10 min, now she's national champion. Hopefully that will console and motivate those whose day fell short of plans and expectations - there will be other, better days. Great runs by the auld lads too - McKinney, O'Connell, Moran.

Special mention must go to TBB. I thought he must have worn out his arms last year waving to the crowd and encouraging the cheers, but there he was in Kilmainham, leading a little group just like last year, waving for all he was worth. He looked very strong down the finishing straight, and his 2:41:09 shows he can run much faster when he's not towing me around, though I suspect he dragged a few along with him this time too.

16,812 finishers and nothing but positive comments - I think we can call the move to Sunday a success. Well done to all the organisers, competitors, volunteers and supporters for making it an event to be really proud of.

Hi S,

Was that you at the top of the hill (with the bike) as we turned left at Christchurch? I got a lot of unexpected shout outs from people and failed to respond to some as didn't know who/where they were coming from. aquinn made me very much aware of this in McGrattans :eek:

Thanks for the support and apologies if I didn't acknowledge/respond.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Just one question though. What I read is that a marathon should be 42.195km, yet my app showed up over 42.5km. One runner beside me when I finished said he clocked 42.6km. I never left the course, not even to go the toilet, so is there a logical explanation for this, as a newbie I can't understand it. Thanks in advance.

You will never run the shortest racing line in a big city marathon. It's virtually impossible. Even if you do, it's possible the course will be measured slightly long just to ensure that it's not short.

I noticed coming down the hill from High Street to the quays that the vast majority were hugging the left hand side of the road despite the fact that the road curves around the right. This is one example of where people would have added extra distance onto their race. And forget about Garmins, they're a training aid and nothing more. I reckon Eluid Kipchoge and a few other Kenyans have probably run sub 2 hour marathons on theirs. World record is 2:02:57 though :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

yaboya1 wrote: »
    You will never run the shortest racing line in a big city marathon. It's virtually impossible. Even if you do, it's possible the course will be measured slightly long just to ensure that it's not short.

Unless it's Manchester :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭averagejoe123

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2710|echancrure|2:59:17|2:49:59|2:49:18
    11815|diego_b|4:12:54|3:59:59|3:57:34
    |schqually|4:09:50|3:49:59|
    519|Singer|3:32:04|3:09:59|DNF
    10938|Derco|4:22:53|4:12:59|4:16:04
    836|hot buttered scones|3:38:39|3:21:59|
    5051|Run and Jump|3:26:14|3:19:59|
    10456|glacial_pace71|4:16:37|3:53:53|4:11:02|
    11283|Wubble Wubble|4:18:52|3:39:59|3:49:01|
    |ooter|3:14:xx|3:59:59|
    |CR 7|3:08:45|2:58:27|
    938|Paddybarry|2:55:28|2:58:XX|3:09:03
    |Myles Splitz|2:59:25|2:39:59|
    |dna_leri|n/a|2:59:00|
    |chrislad|4:46:09|4:19:59|4:27:22
    3099|Sandwell|n/a|2:57:30|
    1023|Murph_D|3:29:16|3:19:59|3:28:28
    |Averagejoe123|3:18:20|3:09:59|3.07.53
    4807|Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|3.18.39
    1711|Healy1835|3:39:52|3:19:59|
    |boydkev|n/a|3:39:59|
    |Spaceylou|n/a|4:29:59|
    16111|Budhistmonk|5:07:45|4:29:59|
    |Fieldsman|4:48:XX|4:29:59|
    8375|younganne|3:55:25|3:50:00|3:49:38 :D
    |pink11|4:04:00|5:00:00|4:53:00|
    4602|donnacha|3:57:11|3:29:59|3:29:51|
    18577|wookiesleep|3:33:00|3:29:30|3:24:46|
    1538|jake1970|3:18:30|3:09:59|
    |Classic21|N/A|3:29:59|3:37:40|
    |overthebridge|3:50:43|3:29:59|
    2459|Djemba Djemba|N/A|2:59:59|2.57.58
    |psalm69|3:33:14|3:15:59|
    |gucci|3:16:XX|3:09:59|
    |BeepBeep67|2:55:51|3:19:29|Pacing
    |Healium|3:50:10|6:59:59|
    |Johnners1878|3:29:04|3:40:00|
    |Clearlier|3:24:00|DNS|
    |FBOT01|3:00:59|3:29:30|Pacing
    |Airtel31|4:20:59|4:45:00|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1414|Ed Mc Groarty|2:54:26|2:54:25
    4310|Martyboy48|3:19??|3:19:59|Praying
    9523|Chickey2|4:33:5x|3:59:59|3:58:42

Great day for running yesterday. Unreal conditions and class support. Stuck with the 3.10 pacers until half way who played a blinder even after both balloons burst early on. Heart rate was fairly high for the first 10k so had to reign it in a bit but kept it under control from there and managed to progressively pick up the pace until the end. Looking forward to next years craic at sub 3 already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭joesoap5

Why do you think he was the winner?

If I decide to do an Ironman in the morning off little or no training and manage to eventually haul my ass around the course two days later, would I be a winner or just an unprepared fool.

Context is everything. (And I'm not for one moment knocking the guys own personal achievement, but it's just that, a personal achievement that doesn't really merit wide acclaim)

TbL

Or maybe hes in a bad way physically and couldn't train like the average Joesoap?

We don't really know his circumstances.

Technically hes not the winner of course as everyone is pointing out trying to make an eejit out of the OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

Jeez Christ, it's probably because I had a few beers and a glass of wine at lunch time. I really shouldn't be responding.

Winner= first across the line. How difficult can that be?

If you want to compare sympathy cases, I'm sure there are lots of sub forums on this place to do so. This is the athletics forum where people understand what winner means. We're not talking about life you know. It's a race.
    Shut the fcuk up. It was just a phrase he used. Stop getting your panties in a twist over it.

joesoap5 wrote: »
    Or maybe hes in a bad way physically and couldn't train like the average Joesoap?

We don't really know his circumstances.

Technically hes not the winner of course as everyone is pointing out trying to make an eejit out of the OP.

Note where I said context is everything.

Yes there may have been circumstances that made this a stupendous effort but we don't know.

It's the general glorification of people that finish after the general populace that is somewhat peculiar. I personally don't think it merits wide acclaim. A personal achievement and personal satisfaction, sure, but generally not something for us all to get excited about.

I'm not much of a runner but if I hit my own targets I'll be very pleased and have a huge sense of achievement however outside of my log I'd be embarrassed if people, started making it out to be something it isn't!

Once again fair play to the lad if he hit his target.

TbL

Casey78 wrote: »
    Shut the fcuk up. It was just a phrase he used. Stop getting your panties in a twist over it.

Lad, go search for the anger management forum.

No need for that

TbL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Casey78

Lad, go search for the anger management forum.

No need for that

TbL
    I'm very relaxed thanks for your concern. I'm not the one getting upset over a harmless post about some fella taking 10 hours or whatever to finish.
    I'm not the one who needs to chill.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

I can't believe there was still somebody out in the course at 7pm !!! That's crazy Mr Eiffel Tower guy who is 70 years and the fireman who was running in full protective suit were in well before that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

PGL wrote: »
    also just wondering what happened to 3,000 odd runners. all of the reports suggested 19,500 were taking part, but the RTRT tracking app suggests 16,759 runners took part...

19,500 entered. Unfortunately not everyone makes it to the start line through injuries etc. I was one of those yesterday - would certainly have been there if I could. Well done everyone - great reading about all the individuals stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Spirogyra

Surely almost everyone who actually started did manage to finish ? Attrition rate is more so in preparation than during the actual marathon itself ? Didn't do Dublin yesterday, but think now I'd love to . Have done 2 smaller marathons but must be great to be part of a 'big' marathon with big support?ðŸ˜႒

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

4445|Myles Splitz|2:59:25|2:39:59|2.43.03

If a Marathon was 22 mile I would be golden :P. Major cramping made the last 4 mile a bit of a death march but happy enough to manage to get around. CAme out of it happy with the effort even though the sub 2.40 slipped through my fingers (this time)

Huge thank you to all boardsie supporters (pretty sure I didn't go more than 3 miles at any point without getting a shout out from someone)

Also a huge congrats to former poster TBB with a serious PB. Came by me around Ballsbridge and was looking strong.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Spirogyra wrote: »
    Surely almost everyone who actually started did manage to finish ? Attrition rate is more so in preparation than during the actual marathon itself ? Didn't do Dublin yesterday, but think now I'd love to . Have done 2 smaller marathons but must be great to be part of a 'big' marathon with big support?ðŸ˜႒

about 17500 collected their numbers, so about a thousand DNFs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

Was coming home from Sligo last night and heard there was some dude still in the race around 7pm at Donnybrook.
    In the dark, alone and no medal at the end. Congrats to all who competed and completed but for me the real winner is that guy. ðŸ‘

Fairplay to the man! I geuss the problem that has come up here is that people think you undervalue the elite athletes drive and it's just as simple thing for them. I often hear people say things like it's harder for the non-elites to run a marathon and so on and maybe that's true in some sense but that's looking at one day and saying that takes guts whereas with the elite athlete, it's literally their life with thousands upon thousands of hours training with guts and determination to get there, sure they may have talent but a serious work ethic as well and that seems to be underappreciated by a lot of people.

Young Debele grew up in some of the poorest conditions on the whole planet stricken by poverty and hunger among violence and political unrest but rose up to become a top class marathon runner despite all that was against him through years of discipline, determination and belief in himself. There's sentiment in most peoples story when you look for it but many just see elite runners as machines who could just show up and win, not the sheer effort and will it took them to get where they are on the days when one is watching and I think that's why you got the responses you did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

El Caballo wrote: »
    Fairplay to the man! I geuss the problem that has come up here is that people think you undervalue the elite athletes drive and it's just as simple thing for them.

If the person was able bodied they shouldn't have started. If they got an injury mid race they shouldn't have finished. It's that straightforward. Nothing to do elitism.

(Edit, picked up the gist of the post completely wrong)

4445|Myles Splitz|2:59:25|2:39:59|2.43.03

If a Marathon was 22 mile I would be golden :P. Major cramping made the last 4 mile a bit of a death march but happy enough to manage to get around. CAme out of it happy with the effort even though the sub 2.40 slipped through my fingers (this time)

Huge thank you to all boardsie supporters (pretty sure I didn't go more than 3 miles at any point without getting a shout out from someone)

Also a huge congrats to former poster TBB with a serious PB. Came by me around Ballsbridge and was looking strong.

If you'd a decent coach you might have managed it ;)

Well done, super time

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Pretty much nonsense. If the person was able bodied they shouldn't have started. If they got an injury mid race they shouldn't have finished. It's that straightforward. Nothing to do elitism.

Never said it had anything to do with elitism:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

A lesson in don't walk and post for me while rushing to be outraged.

Upon rereading your post I understand the point you're making. And for me anyway I just don't think it was the brightest thing to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

There was a documentary on Setanta recently about some elderly man who runs the marathon. He ended up finishing in the dark, and has done so for several years apparently. It could well be him. If it's him he's in good shape, and puts in a hell of an effort, he just has to take a lot of breaks, and it takes a lot out of him. He makes a point to finish it though.