Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

actually because people pay big money to hunt them the game keepers can invest in breeding programs to increase the populations

I dont listen to his hunting podcasts but Joe is only pro 'ethical' hunting.

to my first point, the only other exception is when endangered animals are poached because villages are literally starving, the poachers are at risk of being shot dead when doing this but they take the risk

Yeah i'm just ethically opposed to it. I really hope they could find other investment sources for breeding programs than allowing rich tourists to come butcher them.

I just tweeted Joe sarcastically saying i'd be impressed if they hunted a wild lion bare-handed.

Mind you, i'm a hypocrite in my views on this subject. I love chicken. I should probably be opposed to hunting/culling all animals if i'm being consistent. Something just feels off to me that you can have less than 400 of a species alive and people can just pay 50 grand and they let you shoot one of them through the eyeball with a crossbow or rifle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Here we go the McGoat thread about to turn into a hunting debate wait till the hippys come along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Yeah i'm just ethically opposed to it. I really hope they could find other investment sources for breeding programs than allowing rich tourists to come butcher them.

I just tweeted Joe sarcastically saying i'd be impressed if they hunted a wild lion bare-handed.

Mind you, i'm a hypocrite in my views on this subject. I love chicken. I should probably be opposed to hunting/culling all animals if i'm being consistent. Something just feels off to me that you can have less than 400 of a species alive and people can just pay 50 grand and they let you shoot one of them through the eyeball with a crossbow or rifle.

I had pet chickens as a kid but cant afford freerange so dont eat it, at least Irish cows have a great life here.

I do buy chicken when its in a microwave meal and its reached its expiry date with price reduction, that way the chicken didnt die for nothing!

Gamebred wrote: »
    Here we go the McGoat thread about to turn into a hunting debate wait till the hippys come along.

"Gamebred" sarcastically commenting on wild animals being used as game and subsequently being bred.....

Golden :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

Seriously chickens???

Any chance this thread could maybe get even slightly back on track.

I'm thinking alvarez is underestimating mcgregor, he just assumes that conor will gas out and it's easy pickings from there, seems silly to me.

Then again maybe he is playing us all and is preparing perfectly who knows.

interesting fact, 1 of the guys in Conors entourage owns a chicken farm (eggs)

jcd5971 wrote: »
    Seriously chickens???

I'm thinking alvarez is underestimating mcgregor, he just assumes that conor will gas out and it's easy pickings from there, seems silly to me.

Conor did have a cardio dip in his last 2 fights around the exact same stage.

2 incidents barely constitutes a trend, let alone evidence of a cardio problem.

Moreover, both fights were at 170lbs - plain as day this is not his weight category and it's a function of basic physics that his cardio will be much better at lower weights. Not just physics, he fundamentally has to do more cardio to lean his body out to make the lower weights.

My personal opinion is that his cardio dips at the end of every single round (including the first). His explosive style of fighting and the volume he throws is exceptional. I believe he's in the top 10 all-time for output/strikes thrown.

That's very difficult to maintain for 5 minutes. He tends to start fast in every round and fade slightly towards the end of the round. I don't think any amount of cardio can fix this without a style adjustment.

It's testament to his conditioning that he can use the minute to recover in between rounds.

He's clearly an extremely fit fella.

jcd5971 wrote: »
    Seriously chickens???

They all do,hes a joker to them until they eat a left hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,768 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

interesting fact, 1 of the guys in Conors entourage owns a chicken farm (eggs)

Finally we have come full circle on the chickens :D now can we leave it there and get on with discussing how Conor is going to bleedin batter Alvarez :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

Conor did have a cardio dip in his last 2 fights around the exact same stage.

2 incidents barely constitutes a trend, let alone evidence of a cardio problem.

Moreover, both fights were at 170lbs - plain as day this is not his weight category and it's a function of basic physics that his cardio will be much better at lower weights. Not just physics, he fundamentally has to do more cardio to lean his body out to make the lower weights.

My personal opinion is that his cardio dips at the end of every single round (including the first). His explosive style of fighting and the volume he throws is exceptional. I believe he's in the top 10 all-time for output/strikes thrown.

That's very difficult to maintain for 5 minutes. He tends to start fast in every round and fade slightly towards the end of the round. I don't think any amount of cardio can fix this without a style adjustment.

It's testament to his conditioning that he can use the minute to recover in between rounds.

He's clearly an extremely fit fella.

Personally i think we are gonna see a massive difference in Conors cardio this time,while his weight is gonna be pretty much the same as the last Nate fight so in theory his cardio shouldn't be a whole let better.

But i think the heat and humidity played a factor in the Vegas fights where he gassed.His Holloway fight was in Boston i believe which like NY has a more suitable temperature for Conor,and he showed no cardio issues for a 3 round fight with plenty of action.

he can definitely improve his cardio

you need to get scientific if you want an edge, measuring power output for each interval, mimicking energy sytems used during a fight.
    its the backbone of modern cycling training, Julian is probably helping out with that. Im sure the Diaz brothers use powermeters on their tri-bikes

He doesnt have a cardio issue,anyone who beats Diaz over 5 rounds doesnt have one simple as that,

He punched himself out in the first fight no man alive would've sustained that output winging punches for 8 minutes straight,sure it looks like he gassed by rd 3 of the 2nd Diaz fight but round 4 he won easily enough so the cardio is there and I expect it to be even better now,although a grappling match will tire you more than striking so himself and Eddie could get tired if its played out grappling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Fight won't last long enough for cardio to be an issue for either man.

Im not saying his cardio is an issue, but if it can be improved why not improve it?

He doesnt have a cardio issue,anyone who beats Diaz over 5 rounds doesnt have one simple as that,

He punched himself out in the first fight no man alive would've sustained that output winging punches for 8 minutes straight,sure it looks like he gassed by rd 3 of the 2nd Diaz fight but round 4 he won easily enough so the cardio is there and I expect it to be even better now,although a grappling match will tire you more than striking so himself and Eddie could get tired if its played out grappling.

If you're sad enough and insomniac enough (cough = me) watch every one of his fights that made it past the first round.

His output at the end of Round 1 significantly drops from his output in the first 4 minutes.

This holds true in the Holloway and Diaz fights where he got to Round 3.

Obviously it's comparing apples with oranges because Mendes held him down for large parts of the fight, and Conor held Max down for periods, and Nate Diaz 2 was at 170lbs.

I agree he will be very fit this time around and cardio even better.

I just feel he can't keep throwing the volume he does and not experience small dips at the end of each round.

newbbieb wrote: »

But i think the heat and humidity played a factor in the Vegas fights where he gassed.His Holloway fight was in Boston i believe which like NY has a more suitable temperature for Conor,and he showed no cardio issues for a 3 round fight with plenty of action.

Seen this point posted a few times over the Diaz loss. But I dont get it- surely the MGM is fully air conditioned as is the house he lives in Vegas and the cars he travels in too. So you get a blast of heat walking from house to car and car to gym or venue. Its hardly going to effect cardio that much? (Im not expert on cardio conditioning tbh but it seems unlikely to me)

Also the first Diaz match was in March this year when Vegas is in its spring so not exactly boiling temperatures outside. The second Diaz match was in August when temperatures can get up to 39 degrees and Conor won that hands down. According to Google March temperatures only go as high as 21 degrees in March when he lost to Diaz. The temperature/humidity argument doesnt stand up IMO.

If you're sad enough and insomniac enough (cough = me) watch every one of his fights that made it past the first round.

His output at the end of Round 1 significantly drops from his output in the first 4 minutes.

Obviously it's comparing apples with oranges because Mendes held him down for large parts of the fight, and Conor held Max down for periods, and Nate Diaz 2 was at 170lbs.

I agree he will be very fit this time around and cardio even better.

I just feel he can't keep throwing the volume he does and not experience small dips at the end of each round.

Yeah its that explosive style using fast twitch muscles very early marching people down from the bell throwing heat at people,its got him this far so I cant see him being any bit more conservative,

There's always room for improvement if he gets an extra round now of that explosive power 15 minutes of facing him will be daunting and not many will survive it,the Diaz fights were 170 so carrying 15lb less will be easier for him I presume (im no expert).

theres a track cycling event called the 'elimination race' where you sprint every 500m(2 laps), last across the line is eliminated, this goes on until 1 remains. the race starts with 20+ people. you are using fast twitch muscle fibers but theres also not alot of recovery time, you cant really slow down much between sprints, the pace is 50-60km/h for 10km if you make it to the last few

my point is its possible to adapt to allow short burst of high power while being conditioned to recover more efficiently to go again without tiring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

If you listen to the corner audio of the fight, Owen Roddy says "that hurt him" about that teep.

Nate's corner reacted similarly too.

One of them in a monotone voice said 'Fcuk. Fcuk. That hurt him a little bit" on witnessing it.

Was the only point in the whole fight his corner expressed concern in fact.

I think but for that kick, the way Nate was pressing and landing, and especially considering the round that just preceded it... Conor may very well have went on to lose the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Some actually discussion today, so that's a plus.

Some random thoughts I had reading over the thread
    You want Conor to abandon his karate-based, striking attacks to become a muay-thai specialist.... purely because Cowboy landed a knee that winded Eddie? Jesus wept.

Conor winded Nate in the rematch with a TEEP!!! a TEEP! Nate buckled over and took 4 steps backwards. From a traditional karate stance.
    I don't specifically remember that kick. But a teep is a muay thai technique, not a karate technique. As you probably know.
    Not saying he will be throwing those knees like cowboy, I just think it's a weird technique to focus on in terms of muay thai vrs karate base.
    Lukker- wrote: »
    I think Eddie will go for singles rather than doubles, that front leg is just there for the taking with Conor's wide stance.
    Probably. I'd expect it to be a high crotch single, then switched to a double. Don't think forcing it against the cage is the right approach...
    darced wrote: »
    ...for this ^^^^ reason.
    I'd be more worried about Eddie using his elbows on the fence tbh,Conor will over hook try turn him onto the fence and break the clinch back and get it back to the centre of the cage,as most know though Eddie will scoop the double a lot better than Nate could.
    Remember that arcing elbows KO that Travis Brown finished Gonzaga with.
    Conor won in the exact same fashion against an opponent a few years previous. If Eddie doesn't land the TD clean, dropping for a double against the cage is a risky move against a taller dynamic striker.

I'm not sure about the end of each individual round.
    But I noticed before that in the Holloway and Siver fights. Despite looking like he was cruising his output dropped in rd2 vrs rd1.

In McGregor Diaz II, his output increased in Rd2, and peaked in round 4. Noteworthy imo.
    Rounds 3 and 5 were low.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Seen this point posted a few times over the Diaz loss. But I dont get it- surely the MGM is fully air conditioned as is the house he lives in Vegas and the cars he travels in too. So you get a blast of heat walking from house to car and car to gym or venue. Its hardly going to effect cardio that much? (Im not expert on cardio conditioning tbh but it seems unlikely to me)

I think the big difference wasn't so much the temperature and humidity but more the period of acclimatising.

They went out 8 weeks in advance for the rematch. They went out 2 weeks in advance for the first loss.

You're dealing with many factors when it comes to Vegas. Obviously heat/humidity when walking around are small factors. The elevation above sea level is 600 feet higher than Dublin too.

These are all small factors. But i definitely think it's advisable to go out early to any hot climate.
    theres a track cycling event called the 'elimination race' where you sprint every 500m(2 laps), last across the line is eliminated, this goes on until 1 remains. the race starts with 20+ people. you are using fast twitch muscle fibers but theres also not alot of recovery time, you cant really slow down much between sprints, the pace is 50-60km/h for 10km if you make it to the last few

my point is its possible to adapt to allow short burst of high power while being conditioned to recover more efficiently to go again without tiring

I'm convinced Cavendish would have taken gold if he didn't feck up the elimination race in the Olympics. Silly, silly mistake to make because he looked to have really good legs.

He's your perfect example of short bursts of high power and conditioning.

I'm very open to correction on this but i read somewhere that McGregors resting heart-rate is 38 beats per minute. I googled it and can't find a link. I'll keep looking.
    Nate's corner reacted similarly too.

One of them in a monotone voice said 'Fcuk. Fcuk. That hurt him a little bit" on witnessing it.

Was the only point in the whole fight his corner expressed concern in fact.

I think but for that kick, the way Nate was pressing and landing, and especially considering the round that just preceded it... Conor may very well have went on to lose the fight.
    100% agree but we are in a minority here. Both Owen Roddy and Gilbert Melendez made a huge point out of that teep. Nate started the 4th really strongly. The teep caught him right in the mid-section and took the wind from his sails. Game-changing moment.
    Mellor wrote: »
    I don't specifically remember that kick. But a teep is a muay thai technique, not a karate technique. As you probably know.
    Not saying he will be throwing those knees like cowboy, I just think it's a weird technique to focus on in terms of muay thai vrs karate base.

Remember that arcing elbows KO that Travis Brown finished Gonzaga with.
    Conor won in the exact same fashion against an opponent a few years previous. If Eddie doesn't land the TD clean, dropping for a double against the cage is a risky move against a taller dynamic striker.

In McGregor Diaz II, his output increased in Rd2, and peaked in round 4. Noteworthy imo.
    Rounds 3 and 5 were low.

I love when Mellor gets online i just think of the sun in Australia while it's p1ssing it down here :pac:

I think you're mentioning the Steve O' Keefe fight where he ended up unconscious while dropping for a double and Conor cracked him with multiple unanswered elbows.

Yeah sorry i didn't mean to start a karate v muay thai debate. My point, which i made a balls of, is using an example of knees from Cowboy isn't very helpful from Conors perspective. Cowboy stands orthodox and is far taller. Conor requires a lot more explosive energy to land a similar knee. Why waste that energy when a teep can also wind your opponent.

I just don't see knees in the game plan in open-Octagon space.

I think the big difference wasn't so much the temperature and humidity but more the period of acclimatising.

They went out 8 weeks in advance for the rematch. They went out 2 weeks in advance for the first loss.

You're dealing with many factors when it comes to Vegas. Obviously heat/humidity when walking around are small factors. The elevation above sea level is 600 feet higher than Dublin too.

These are all small factors. But i definitely think it's advisable to go out early to any hot climate.

Im as insomniac as you tonight Wonder, just cant sleep :o

I dunno. Vegas being 600 feet above Dublin would mean nothing as Dublin is at sea level. Wicklow and Vegas would share a similar altitude. Altitude doesnt come into it till you are at 8,000 feet and above. I climbed to 21,000 feet in Nepal a few years back over the course of 18 days. Had about 50% oxygen available to my lungs at the top of the mountain and although breathing wasnt comfortable the human body acclimitises to it to adjust.

On the heat I do agree that 2 weeks is a little late to leave an adjustment in temperature & humidity. I think most Irish people who go to a very hot country on a 2 week holiday feel the heat a lot but most will say that at the end of the two weeks they had gotten used to it. And lets not forget that max temperatures in Vegas in March (when the first Diaz fight took place) are a high of 21 degrees with a low of 12 at night. So not too unlike a very good summers day in Ireland. I just cant see how the March temps were a contributor to the Diaz loss, I would put it more down to Conor being so used to finishing opponents in under 10 minutes. When that didnt happen with Nate he had no more left to give. But after the second fight all that had changed, he looked as fresh as a daisy considering he was just out of a 25 minute war. And he won that war in August when outdoor temperatures would have been as high as almost 40 degrees.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Im as insomniac as you tonight Wonder, just cant sleep :o

I dunno. Vegas being 600 feet above Dublin would mean nothing as Dublin is at sea level. Wicklow and Vegas would share a similar altitude. Altitude doesnt come into it till you are at 8,000 feet and above. I climbed to 21,000 feet in Nepal a few years back over the course of 18 days. Had about 50% oxygen available to my lungs at the top of the mountain and although breathing wasnt comfortable the human body acclimitises to it to adjust.

On the heat I do agree that 2 weeks is a little late to leave an adjustment in temperature & humidity. I think most Irish people who go to a very hot country on a 2 week holiday feel the heat a lot but most will say that at the end of the two weeks they had gotten used to it. And lets not forget that max temperatures in Vegas in March (when the first Diaz fight took place) are a high of 21 degrees with a low of 12 at night. So not too unlike a very good summers day in Ireland. I just cant see how the March temps were a contributor to the Diaz loss, I would put it more down to Conor being so used to finishing opponents in under 10 minutes. When that didnt happen with Nate he had no more left to give. But after the second fight all that had changed, he looked as fresh as a daisy considering he was just out of a 25 minute war. And he won that war in August when outdoor temperatures would have been as high as almost 40 degrees.

My new blog post is up above if you're that desperate to be put asleep, my writing usually does the trick :)

I agree. I think whatever about heat, humidity, altitude, the bottom line is McGregor swung for the fences with every shot in the first fight.

He was too fast, too quick for Diaz and most importantly he was trying to live up this El Chapo and Mystic Mac stuff too hard.

I'm convinced if he fought a sensible fight both times he'd likely be 2-0 now. I don't think Nate is an easy fight, whatsoever, but i do believe Conor has more tools at his disposal.

Conor lost the first fight as opposed to Nate winning it.

He totally messed up his strategy and allowed his ego to get in the way, hunting for a KO so he could continue the Mystic Mac stuff.

Like most people i was delighted he ditched the El Chapo music and delighted he came out super-focused for the rematch.

The danger with the Alvarez fight is if he truly believes he will walk through Eddie, he's going to get hit often like in the Mendes fight.

If he respects Eddies power and heart he won't try walk through his shots like he did against Chad.

I'm highly confident Conor gets the job done if he approaches it properly. And it was really good to see that Polaris video of Conor smiling and laughing a lot. Focused but relaxed.

Life is good for him. He's always been hard to hit cleanly, the Mendes fight being the exception. Chad hit him at will because Conor didn't respect his power. He can't make that mistake with Eddie or he'll be seeing stars.

I love when Mellor gets online i just think of the sun in Australia while it's p1ssing it down here :pac:
    Absolutely :D:D:D:D

I think you're mentioning the Steve O' Keefe fight where he ended up unconscious while dropping for a double and Conor cracked him with multiple unanswered elbows.

That's the one.

O_27Keefe_medium.gif

Travis Brown def. Gonzaga
    9-travis-browne-vs-gabriel-gonzaga.gif
    Yeah sorry i didn't mean to start a karate v muay thai debate. My point, which i made a balls of, is using an example of knees from Cowboy isn't very helpful from Conors perspective. Cowboy stands orthodox and is far taller. Conor requires a lot more explosive energy to land a similar knee. Why waste that energy when a teep can also wind your opponent.

I just don't see knees in the game plan in open-Octagon space.
    Yeah, I knew you were aware.
    And I agree about the knees. He'll work rank and distance. If we see knees, it'll be from the cage-clinch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

darced wrote:

The headline is misleading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,490 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Front kicks(teeps) are used in karate extensively.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Front kicks(teeps) are used in karate extensively.
    Front kicks are used in karate, but a teep isn't a front kick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 150 ✭✭Head Wreck

Teep is Muai Thai