Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

For anybody wanting to see the best VLOGS in the business, they have to check out Tyron Woodleys "Champ Camp" stuff.

The production quality is insane and makes The Mac Life look like it was shot by a film student and edited by their 12-year-old sister.

Conor is extremely loyal in so many ways but some of them may be to his detriment. The guy who shoots the video is Colin Byrne, who used to do Shinobi V-Logs and has been heavily involved with SBG for ages. Dave Fogarty (ginger fighter from SBG) does all the photography. Lee Dunphy (childhood friend) runs a lot of the Mac Life website.

I think if his aim is to turn The Mac Life youtube channel into a proper money-spinner, he needs to stop giving all the jobs "to the lads" and fork out some cash to pros. I'm not saying Byrne or Fogarty suck because they're both very good but they're not exactly experts in their field.

The content, production, editing, fade-outs - the works - are incredible.

And this is coming out of Woodleys own pocket to these videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

BOHtox wrote: »
    The UFC 202 MacLife video was absolutely fantastic.

Just in case anyone didn't see it^

I had actually forgotten just how good that episode was. The eerie quiet in the dressing room before they go out is savage.

Whelo79 wrote: »
    I had actually forgotten just how good that episode was. The eerie quiet in the dressing room before they go out is savage.

I actually preferred Owen Roddys last VLOG from ufc 202. Breathtaking stuff.

Ps. Marcelo Garcia rolling with Woodley in the above video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

The content, production, editing, fade-outs - the works - are incredible.

And this is coming out of Woodleys own pocket to these videos.

I think overall the quality of Woodley's vlogs are better but I think certain MacLife ones are as good if not better.

Even the MacLife site is probably made by one of his friends, it's a fairly basic WordPress site.

Colin's video's improved considerably the first time round so I think we'll see the same and they are all getting 500k+ views so he;s doing something right.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,301 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I wonder if the UFC decided to help the fighters with setting up these vids, they're much more fun and appealing to the fans than a press conference.

Nate Diaz's one for the last Conor fight was great too. It also had really good production quality.

Woodley did some before his Robbie fight but they were nowhere near as good as his new ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Lukker- wrote:
    Colin's video's improved considerably the first time round so I think we'll see the same and they are all getting 500k+ views so he;s doing something right.

Yep, Conor is in them....That's the one and only reason they're getting 500k+ views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

darced wrote: »

Thanks man.

If people like the read and have an opinion (one way or the other) then i've done what i set out to do.

As for the commentary, there were 2 key points that influenced fans - the first was Mike Goldberg saying "1-1?" at the end of the first. When clearly Conor won that round. The other was the takedown in the 5th where he got hyped up saying it was huge on the scorecards.

Anybody doubting Rogans bias only needs to look at the very end of the fight. Rogan sneaked up behind Bruce Buffer, saw the result on the scorecard and gritted his teeth disgusted Conor won & Nate lost.

I won't rehash the whole thing but i would be astonished if a decent boxing commentator kept a monotone if Anthony Joshua dropped David Haye, yet started shrieking when Haye lands a half-decent uppercut that doesn't drop Joshua.

You gotta leave friendships and love of weed at the door in his job and call a fight down the middle.

Anyone is free to pluck any topic they want out of the sky and i'll write an article on it tonight :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Nate got pucked around for 8 minutes before Conor gassed and beat himself,Nate on the other hand got head kicked and finished by Josh Thompson but dont let that get the way of your usual anti McGregor rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

The end of the 3rd you'd swear he was nailing Conor with shot after shot, when in reality he hit him like 3 times.

He was clearly pulling for them in the fight, he's a massive fan of Nick Diaz and probably Nate by association.

He's a colour commentator and I don't really take him too seriously anymore, he used to offer far more technical insight but now I find Brian Stann to offer better play by plays. Joe's still descriptive when it comes to the ground game but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Joe just doesnt give a feck anymore in my view - Probably got offered fantasy money to stay on board as he was seriously considering packing it in altogether.

I'd still rather his commentary though over others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I used to like Conor, this sushi carry on though makes me want to vomit
    Depp wrote: »
    ugh i agree, how could you be a fan of someone who eats sushi? could you imagine like?!

Guys, you crazy. Good sushi is amazing.
    Lukker- wrote: »
    I bet he gets the fake chicken sushi
    Do you just mean like chicken teriyaki rolls or is this something else you get in Dublin these days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

Anyone is free to pluck any topic they want out of the sky and i'll write an article on it tonight :)

I'd be interested in an article on the many many failures in mma. Great to read about conor etc but he's the 1%. I would like to read about guys like queally who are fighting for fifty sheets in gaa halls with no hope of getting to ufc, or guys who were in ufc but didn't cut the mustard and now drive taxis, stock shelves etc. Or an article on John kavanagh failures as a fighter and coach/businessman before the pot of sh.it turned to gold when conor stepped in the gym door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Lukker- wrote: »
    I bet he gets the fake chicken sushi

its not fake, its a common misconception that sushi is raw. sashimi is raw, sushi is just cold rice&meat/fish wrapped in seaweed

I'd be interested in an article on the many many failures in mma. Great to read about conor etc but he's the 1%. I would like to read about guys like queally who are fighting for fifty sheets in gaa halls with no hope of getting to ufc, or guys who were in ufc but didn't cut the mustard and now drive taxis, stock shelves etc. Or an article on John kavanagh failures as a fighter and coach/businessman before the pot of sh.it turned to gold when conor stepped in the gym door.

Ah. The top request would be more 'journalistic' that i'd need to talk to these people. Opinion pieces i can do in one night - i'm not (ever) going to write a piece that simply guesses how something has affected someone without talking to them. It's the same reason i'll never write my Joao Carvahlo one unless i could talk to the people in his life.

The second request, i'll give you a brief "article"/"reply" right here, right now below:

I'll start by what you want to read first.

Which is: John Kavanagh is blessed that a mouthpiece from Crumlin fell into his lap because he was an average fighter and over-rated coach and without McGregor he'd be nowhere.

With that out of the way.....

He opened a martial arts gym for the 1st time in 2000 at the age of 24 in a glorified shed. To put that into some perspective this was 12 years after the release of Bloodsport with JCVD, 16 years after the release of The Karate Kid, 27 years after the death of Bruce Lee. Martial Arts was hardly hoppin' in Ireland, on the big screen or otherwise.

When John opened his first gym, there was a UFC event at the same time. It was UFC 26. The late Kevin Randelman (RIP) headlined the event, which did a very respectable (for the time) 40,000 PPV buys. Marcelo Aguiar, who was defeated in Matt Hughes debut, for the event received $800 for his troubles.

SEG who owned the UFC at this point were in severe financial difficulty - up sh1t creek without a paddle is a fair assessment - and the "sport", at that time, was on the verge of complete collapse until Dana White managed to convince his school-friends the Fertittas to buy the UFC for a song.

John's gym came under the SBG banner in 2002. The founder of SBG, and John, ended up in a strip club together in South Africa. They were at some jiujitsu seminar and got talking. He moved the gym to Harolds Cross, taking over a thai-boxing place, and went under the SBG banner.

John's SBG wasn't doing so well so he ended up moving the gym to a school-hall in Crumlin on a part-time basis. In October 2006 he moved to a semi-decent unit in Rathcoole and all his students stuck by him, despite the awkward location, and it was in Rathcoole where he first met Conor McGregor.

2008 things began to pick up and saw the gym move to the Long-Mile-Road and, again, his students stuck by him. Finally, after a heap load of physical work renovating the Long-Mile-Road place he was in a position to make the move to the Naas Road and the facility they have in SBG Concorde.

Listen, point is this:

I'm never going to write an article bashing Peter Queally for his ability as a fighter or the dedication required to put in hard training every single day to show up in good shape to a "Mickey Mouse" event in Drogheda.

For a start, the guy was an inch away from the UFC (being actually offered the Tim Means fight) and went on to lose to McColgan. I simply can't imagine the character needed to be close to your dreams yet still have the determination to go to Drogheda to fight his way back to his dreams.

I'll never write an article slating fellas (former fighters) who thought they could fight, it didn't work out for them and are now scratching around on the dole or struggling to get by.

John Kavanagh, if you missed my point, got into this sport at a time where there was basically no sport. UFC 26 there was no money anywhere. None for the fighters, none for trainers, none for the Promoters.

He opened these gyms because he was pursuing his passion.

Conor McGregor walked into Rathcoole able to throw a few decent left hooks. He couldn't grapple, he couldn't roll, he hadn't a notion how to throw a spinning kick, not a clue what capoeira was, no concept what a leg-lock, heel-hook, guillotine was. Not the foggiest what MMA was about other than he wanted to fight.

That man is where he is in life, with his millions, for many reasons but you'll never find me writing a piece that says John Kavanagh got "lucky" he found Conor McGregor. There is no Conor McGregor without John Kavanagh - not the martial artist we know today.

Lastly, UFC 26 was called the "Ultimate Field of Dreams". The UFC around this period liked to give the shows names as they were (normally) released on VHS (that's video for young people) or the new fangled "dvd" format.

That's all John Kavanagh had back then. Dreams. The amount of failures and setbacks he experienced in his ambitions to spread his love of martial arts is unreal. Yet he kept going.

I'll never begrudge that man anything he achieves because he chased his dreams and refused to give up on them. Lord knows i gave up on my dreams many times in my life and now in my 30's just thinking "i wonder if i had kept at the football or snooker or persevered with my writing, what would have happened".

(Now, if he'd just fecking drop that Mental Message of the Week segment on FB.....:o)

TL;DR - I get your point fella. You think Queally is useless and Kavanagh is lucky.

I disagree. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

As for the commentary, there were 2 key points that influenced fans - the first was Mike Goldberg saying "1-1?" at the end of the first. .

Rogan sneaked up behind Bruce Buffer, saw the result on the scorecard and gritted his teeth disgusted Conor won & Nate lost.

Oh **** away off with that ****e.

1) Goldberg said that at the end of the second round, not the first, where some people, incorrectly in my opinion, could be forgiven for thinking Nate stole the round with his flurry. Also, as you've intimated through the use of a question mark, it was asked as a question.

2) Rogan did not "grit his teeth in disgust". You have a remarkable ability to read things into a facial expression.

Oh **** away off with that ****e.

1) Goldberg said that at the end of the second round, not the first, where some people, incorrectly in my opinion, could be forgiven for thinking Nate stole the round with his flurry. Also, as you've intimated through the use of a question mark, it was asked as a question.

2) Rogan did not "grit his teeth in disgust". You have a remarkable ability to read things into a facial expression.

1. Typo i made i thought people could see past that given i said 1-1 :o

nate_diaz.jpg

maxresdefault.jpg

rogan2.jpg

rogan1.jpg

Look, i wasn't trying to say this was part of a much-wider global conspiracy for Rogan to be biased towards Nate and anti-McGregor during his fight commentary and preview-stuff.

I'm simply saying him, Nate and Nick are good friends and love being baked off their noodles. Often together!

It's hard sometimes to remain impartial when someone you really like on a personal level is in a cage fighting someone you barely know personally.

That's all this was. Some of the biggest McGregor critics in the media - the likes of Jonathan Snowden, Luke Thomas etc who had a pop at him for his El Chapo/Escobar stuff and for having a go at RDA for raising American kids - even they commented how wildly biased the fight call was.

The point i was trying to make in my article wasn't supposed to just be an examination of Diaz - McGregor. It was just taking a look at what factors go into a) people judging a fight at home and b) the actual judges ringside scoring it.

Rogan/Goldberg fight call does influence the fans one way or another in every fight. On a conscious level or not. That applies whether it's Conor v Nate, Seery v Pickett, Tate v Pennington, whatever.

I haven't read your article and have no intention of doing so, so I can't respond to whatever's in it.

I responded directly to your claim that Rogan gritted his teeth in disgust when he peeked over Buffer's shoulder and that this is somehow evidence of a bias against McGregor. You decide to respond by posting a series of still images where he's smiling with Nate but not with Conor, as if that's some kind of ****ing evidence of something. Utter nonsense.

Oh look what I found!

I think Rogan's a hipster he knew of McGregor before he was signed to the ufc and now that hes become massive and everybody knows him he tries to distance himself from him so hes not a 'sheep',hes a pothead 'comedian' who is an emotional fairy remember him crying when he used to interview Ronda he had a huge part in that hype train,

I still listen to his Podcast most days in fairness so his flaws wouldnt bother me too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Gamebred wrote: »
    I think Rogan's a hipster he knew of McGregor before he was signed to the ufc and now that hes become massive and everybody knows him he tries to distance himself from him so hes not a 'sheep',hes a pothead 'comedian' who is an emotional fairy remember him crying when he used to interview Ronda he had a huge part in that hype train,

I still listen to his Podcast most days in fairness so his flaws wouldnt bother me too much.

Its like reading your post really isnt it. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Re: JRE podcast

Wim hof back on today.

Such an intellectually confusing person Wim, he seems to have a fair amount of science in his corner so far. And his method seems to be based around hyperventilating, but I'll be damned if I can buy it even at this point

Re: JRE podcast

Wim hof back on today.

Such an intellectually confusing person Wim, he seems to have a fair amount of science in his corner so far. And his method seems to be based around hyperventilating, but I'll be damned if I can buy it even at this point

Not something you really associate with a Rogan podcast in fairness.

Bro science only on JRE

I thought he licked Dan Bilzerians Balls last week he wasnt his normal self.

I haven't read your article and have no intention of doing so, so I can't respond to whatever's in it.

I responded directly to your claim that Rogan gritted his teeth in disgust when he peeked over Buffer's shoulder and that this is somehow evidence of a bias against McGregor. You decide to respond by posting a series of still images where he's smiling with Nate but not with Conor, as if that's some kind of ****ing evidence of something. Utter nonsense.

Oh look what I found!

Ah g'wan. Read it. If you read it you'd see an in-depth explanation :)

Rogan has often smiled and laughed and treated Conor well - When he's not fighting Nate Diaz.

When Rogans friends (Nate Diaz, Ian McCall, Joe Shilling, Brendan Schaub) are fighting, he finds it impossible to hide his bias for them.

We can argue this point all day but i don't think you're accepting my general point that Rogan delivers biased calls when his friends are fighting.

There was one particular moment in the Nate-Conor 2 fight where Conor landed a beautiful combination and Rogans very next words, after silence, were "and another leg kick!".

Meh. Agree to disagree.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Bro science only on JRE

I thought he licked Dan Bilzerians Balls last week he wasnt his normal self.

He licks lots of balls on it. He had a Lance Armstrong one a while back that I made a point of trying to listen to and gave up early on it.

Some people he will call out on their bs with a ''Jamie pull that up''

Yeah imagine getting Lance on and becoming buddies with him I believe they are friends now too.

Ah g'wan. Read it. If you read it you'd see an in-depth explanation :)

Rogan has often smiled and laughed and treated Conor well - When he's not fighting Nate Diaz.

When Rogans friends (Nate Diaz, Ian McCall, Joe Shilling, Brendan Schaub) are fighting, he finds it impossible to hide his bias for them.

We can argue this point all day but i don't think you're accepting my general point that Rogan delivers biased calls when his friends are fighting.

There was one particular moment in the Nate-Conor 2 fight where Conor landed a beautiful combination and Rogans very next words, after silence, were "and another leg kick!".

Meh. Agree to disagree.

Yet he also flat out told Schaub he wasn't good enough.

So what now, if the (colour) commentator doesn't comment on every single separate piece of combat in a fight in the way you think they should, that's evidence of bias?! He called out McGregor battering him umpteen times.

Look, I've attached more evidence he loves him. Look at the size of that smile!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,379 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Seeing as we talking about Joe reaction to Conor vrs Nate. Here's the actual moment he peeked the result early.

http://imgur.com/XzZKN

Yet he also flat out told Schaub he wasn't good enough.

So what now, if the (colour) commentator doesn't comment on every single separate piece of combat in a fight in the way you think they should, that's evidence of bias?! He called out McGregor battering him umpteen times.

Look, I've attached more evidence he loves him. Look at the size of that smile!

haha. Good stuff.

In Round 4, Rogan said "nate is throwing combinations, Conor is pot-shotting him".

Slightly outlandish given the round unfolded with McGregor throwing 76 strikes to Diaz 63 strikes, outlanding him 46 to 36.

At the end of Round 5, he said the takedown was huge on the scorecards. He ignored the fact that McGregor secured a brief takedown, ignored the fact that Nate had 8 seconds more control with his takedown and blindly ignored McGregor outlanded Diaz in the round 24 strikes to 19.

I could go on all day about why it was biased but sure look i could show you a picture of Rogan in a "Stockton 209" t-shirt and you'd still disagree he had any bias :pac: (that was sarcasm i've no photo!)