Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 2). **Read warning in 1st post**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

JohnSBG wrote: »
    The personal attacks towards me on this thread i genuinely dont mind. On my personal twitter account I'll hold on to my right to block who i choose but on an open forum i accept the bad with the majority thats good being in the spotlight I'm lucky enough to hold right now for this brief period of time.
    However the recent attacks towards charlie are really saddening and disappointing. I had just posted the dangers of believing the 'absolute' style posts of someone who actually doesn't have the slightest notion of whats actually going on and so many of you are so fast to immediately assume the worst. Do none of you actually have any friends who are not obsessed with social media? If you do, thats Charlie. He has zero idea about Facebook, Twitter or Instagram. As difficult as that might be for you to imagine.
    As of today ive taken over his page so posts moving forward I'll accept responsibility for. As for twitter, whoever set up his account is ignoring my dms. As some of you may know i had to follow it so i could dm. Kinda sad the worst is immediately assumed, then accepted as a given. Bizarre you would think dollery following it, who i dont think has even met Charlie, would somehow lend weight to the assumed fact Charlie has any control over it.
    Guys, just try a small bit of critical thinking before jumping to utmost offence.

I 'led' the "personal attack" on you on here over the "mental message of the week" segment you run on your FB.

I'm also the unofficial 'President of the Boards McGregor fanclub' and advised regularly to get off his balls and your balls.

The reason i criticized you was because i don't think you thought through the consequences of publicly humiliating harmless idiots who decide to empty their streams of consciousness into your Inbox.

Perhaps you did and thought 'feck it'. Either way i'll stand by the criticism of that segment.

As for Charlie Ward, you can see how this may have looked. The twitter handle is "CharliewardMMA' with "official charlie ward" in the bio and is followed by the official UFC Ireland page, fellow European fighters and yourself/Dollery.

It certainly looked legit and a fair assumption to make.

For the Boardsies thinking Charlie Ward is not a relevant McGregor topic - he absolutely is. When the reason certain fighters are getting pushed into the UFC is McGregor himself, not by virtue of 15-0 unbeaten amateur records, then they are fair to discuss on here.

Now, with all that out of the way, i'll have to extend an olive branch to JK and try get him to sign my copy of his book :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I'm also the unofficial 'President of the Boards McGregor fanclub' and advised regularly to get off his balls and your balls.

Not even close laddy. You've a long long way to go yet before you can challenge the seasoned campaigners around here for that title.

The force is quite strong in you though, to be fair.

John_D80 wrote: »
    Not even close laddy. You've a long long way to go yet before you can challenge the seasoned campaigners around here for that title.

The force is quite strong in you though, to be fair.

haha.

I love Conor and JK. They're both lessons in perseverance. It's great to see someone struggle along for more than a decade and finally find some success.

The big take-away from #OneZeroCon was how so many of the speakers had so many setbacks and kept going. Whether it was Kavanagh with coaching, Woodward with his rugby career, Lowry with his golf. They all had countless disappointments and moments thinking "am i ever going to make a go of this".

4 years ago Conor couldn't get a sponsor to fork over a few bob for a big tub of Whey Protein. Now if he put his name to sponsoring protein it'd be a 7-figure deal. That's inspiring.

I only criticized John because he's an advocate for Mental Health awareness and i felt his "Mental Message" segment didn't take into account what a public humiliation could do in the heads of some of these lads.

Anyway i'm not going to re-hash the whole thing. I'm sure we all have idols and heroes in sport, music and film - it's normal to have more criticism for those people, shows you actually care.

As for Charlie - he's got an Uphill Battle ahead in his career. Most believe he is being gifted a UFC-shot for one reason alone (being a good friend of Conor) so he's going to have hit the ground running in Albany and try put on a dominant display.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 431 ✭✭Killergreene

If conor was pulling strings to get guys into ufc would he not have already got that bum queally and James Gallagher in the door?

Mod: Another case of fighter bashing..see the Charter.

If conor was pulling strings to get guys into ufc would he not have already got queally and James Gallagher in the door?

Well, Peter was offered Tim Means at UFC 202 until the visa issue.

I can't imagine the UFC offering Peter that fight so early in a potential UFC career without Conor pulling strings. Tim Means would have been a difficult and high profile fight.

Joe Silva and Sean Shelby try to build up fighters from their debut onwards, not toss them a grenade such as Tim Means.

James Gallagher getting into Bellator was a really positive move. If Bellator had planned the BAMMA link-up in advance, then it made a lot of sense to get the most promising Irish fighter in the door.

All i'm saying is this - If you're the UFC and you want Conor to headline a 2m+ PPV event - you'll absolutely say "yes" if he says "ok i'll do it. $4million, PPV points, and sign Charlie Ward for a 3-fight deal".

Conor is the only person with the clout to get people fast-tracked to the UFC.

Artems record speaks for itself. I love the guy he's great craic but his record speaks for itself. Charlie likewise. They got their opportunity for one reason and it's up to them to capitalise on it now.

Great stuff here with Dillon, John, Conor for the upcoming Polaris with Dillon in the co-main event slot.

Ps. If you think the stuff we discuss in here is "sh1te talk", you'll enjoy the youtube comments section! After a superb 5 minute interview, half of the comments are:

"Conor farted at 4:51 lol".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Charlie Ward should get in touch with Twitter to get the page shut down. If the fauxrage was bad here imagine what it would be like if the mainstream media picked up on it(I'm pretty sure some journos get info from these threads). Could take the shine off his debut in the UFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Lukker- wrote: »
    Charlie Ward should get in touch with Twitter to get the page shut down. If the fauxrage was bad here imagine what it would be like if the mainstream media picked up on it(I'm pretty sure some journos get info from these threads). Could take the shine off his debut in the UFC.

As John said, Charlie doesn't use social media. At all. John is currently trying to get in touch with Twitter to get it shut down on his behalf.

Lukker- wrote: »
    .ak wrote: »
    As John said, Charlie doesn't use social media. At all. John is currently trying to get in touch with Twitter to get it shut down on his behalf.

First of all - it's not "fauxrage".

You're correct that we live in an easily-offended society. It should be a function of any society that people reserve the right to (unintentionally) offend others. What people get offended by is so subjective and arbitrary; it's absolutely correct that you should have the right to say what you like and not worry who will be offended by it.

This profile picture on this "Charlie Ward" account is grossly offensive and disrespectful - to the family of Joao Carvahlo more than anybody else. Most decent-minded people would find it extremely insensitive and crass. That's not "fauxrage" that's basic humanity.

Now, Kavanagh has come on here and said "this is not charlie controlling this account".

Fair enough. He didn't say that it's not an account someone else set up on Charlies behalf. He merely said this account is not Charlie, he's not a social media guy and that he has contacted the person running this account.

If it turns out it's a complete imposter/fake account, then the outrage is unjustified.

As things stand, most right-minded people (not reading Boards.ie) will assume this account represents Charlie Ward. They will assume that because a) the account is followed by the official UFC Ireland page b) it is followed by journalists c) it is followed by fellow fighters and trainers such as Andy Ryan d) the account follows 17 people, some of whom are obscure SBG fighters not many will have heard of.

People not on this thread will assume it represents Charlie. That's quite sad. I noticed Charlie changed his nickname from "The Hospital" which i thought was a very wise decision, given the tragic events of 2016.

For clarity, JK did not say he DM'd the account to get it shut down - he just strongly clarified Charlie himself has nothing to do with the content on the account and implied the lack of a blue tick should mean we take it with a pinch of salt.

This might very well be true but it's also a poor, illogical argument. Kiefer Crosbie doesn't have a Blue Tick. Cian Cowley doesn't have a Blue Tick. Ryan Curtis doesn't have a Blue Tick.

His logic is that we should ignore the lads social media content due to a lack of a Blue Tick. This is nonsensical - not being verified does not mean we should assume these accounts are fake. People are slow to get verified on Twitter.

Charlie Ward is not a role-model for anybody. By that i do not mean he's a bad person - i've heard he's a good fella. What I mean is no combat fighter should be held up as a role-model. Parents and teachers are role-models, not lads who punch each other in the face. They are athletes, warriors, fighters. They've no responsibilty to set an example to anyone.

Kavanagh, on the other hand, does. In some ways. He is a teacher. He has many children in his gym in the Growing Gorillas Program. Whether he set out to be or not, he does have a responsibility to those kids and their parents to be a decent role model when these kids are left in his care.

That's why i found his "Mental Message of the Week" shenanigans on FB so distasteful. I would absolutely hate for kids to grow up thinking it's ok to use a position of power to humiliate those 'beneath you' for your own amusement. Especially when these messages he exposes were designed to be private. That works 2 ways - I would hate if Conor ever fell out with JK and used Kavanaghs private whatsapp/fb messages to humiliate and belittle his former coach.

These criticisms are not meant as "personal attacks" on John or SBG. I'm just extremely passionate about Irish MMA and (weirdly) proud of the success of Conor, SBG, John Kavanagh and the rise of the sport in Ireland. I just want the top-down to keep building on this success so that many more generations of Irish kids get to learn the core values of martial arts - respect, patience, humility, fraternity.

Any criticism i have of him (or his actions) comes from a position of admiration - not hate. I wouldn't waste a few hundred quid going to OneZeroCon or buying his book and SBG t-shirts if i just wanted to hate and begrudge. My social anxiety and depression means i don't get out as much as i'd like to support local, grass-roots MMA in Ireland so i've tried to support the gym in other ways.

The majority of people on this thread would love to see Conor take home that 2nd gold belt to the Naas Road and i'd personally be delighted to see the team do it. So very best of luck with it!

Ps. Eddie has been dropped 4 times with short-counter-hooks in the pocket, just after delivering straight right hands. A 3,000th reply wouldn't be worth writing if i didn't offer some coaching advice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

From what John said in this thread and reading between the lines, i'm assuming this is someone operating Charlies account for him.

Samuel L Jackson did say "when you assume you can make an ass out of u and me"....

But that seems logical.

Nobody would need to DM this account to get it closed down. You just report a fake twitter account and they close it.

The only reason someone would DM is if it's a legit account being run on his behalf.

It's the strangest "fake account" i've ever seen. Followed by Official UFC on twitter, following the likes of Paul Byrne from SBG....i simply can't imagine why a faker would go to the hassle of creating a troll account and then following obscure names he couldn't possibly know of.

If i had to guess, someone known to Charlie set up this account for him and made a balls-of-it with that profile picture.

But as Coach said, that's all logical guesswork - not fact. So don't take it as fact!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Set up a Charlie Ward thread this is pointless discussion here.

Kind of annoying how this thread absorbs everything else

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Any chance of getting over the Charlie Ward and JK's social media postings now lads? we get it your offended its not the end of the world unfollow them and you wont see it,

Anyways moving on,A key to stopping the Alvarez td I think Conor will have to have his muay thai on point,if you watch his shots against Cowboy a 'simple' knee to the solarplexs done the job heres one of many times it worked

ScarceGratefulBallpython.gif

This sort of sequence is where Alvarez will be punished,Conor sliding backwards will clip him with ease

DimwittedWanIsabellineshrike.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

Amazing analysis there. How did no one think of that before. Stop take downs with knees...woah

Tinie wrote: »
    Amazing analysis there. How did no one think of that before. Stop take downs with knees...woah

Good point you make there,very deep.

Gamebred wrote: »
    Good point you make there,very deep.

Your point was pretty ridiculous.

You want Conor to abandon his karate-based, striking attacks to become a muay-thai specialist.... purely because Cowboy landed a knee that winded Eddie? Jesus wept.

Conor winded Nate in the rematch with a TEEP!!! a TEEP! Nate buckled over and took 4 steps backwards. From a traditional karate stance.

Conor doesn't (and shouldn't) need to change his style for Eddie. Whatsoever. His counter-striking will hurt Alvarez from his existing style.

Brimage fights very similar to Eddie. That head-first punching style, biting down on mouth-shield, means he's very easy to hit for an accurate striker. Conor destroyed him on the back-foot with uppercuts and check-hooks.

If Alvarez comes in against Conor swinging wildly, it'll be Goodnight Vienna rather quickly.

Your point was pretty ridiculous.

You want Conor to abandon his karate-based, striking attacks to become a muay-thai specialist.... purely because Cowboy landed a knee that winded Eddie? Jesus wept.

Conor winded Nate in the rematch with a TEEP!!! a TEEP! Nate buckled over and took 4 steps backwards. From a traditional karate stance.

Conor doesn't (and shouldn't) need to change his style for Eddie. Whatsoever. His counter-striking will hurt Alvarez from his existing style.

Brimage fights very similar to Eddie. That head-first punching style, biting down on mouth-shield, means he's very easy to hit for an accurate striker. Conor destroyed him on the back-foot with uppercuts and check-hooks.

If Alvarez comes in against Conor swinging wildly, it'll be Goodnight Vienna rather quickly.

Can you post examples of these teep kicks Conor landed on Nate for example the video is on youtube there so please just get back to be with the relevant times first of all because I cant remember 1 teep kick troubling Nate Diaz,Mendes yesbut I dont recall any in either Diaz fight that were significant,

If he throws any sort of teep at Eddie hes getting takedown with ease btw,

Again at no point did I say he needs to fight in a trad muay thai style so dont put words in my mouth please,If you watch Alvarez fight the front knee has done him damage (numberous times in the cowboy fight while shooting takedowns)

Eddie is fond of the thai plum too so anyone fighting him and ignoring the muay thai side of training for Alvarez will be in for a serious surprise.

Can you post examples of these teep kicks Conor landed on Nate for example the video is on youtube there so please just get back to be with the relevant times first of all because I cant remember 1 teep kick troubling Nate Diaz,Mendes yesbut I dont recall any in either Diaz fight that were significant,

If he throws any sort of teep at Eddie hes getting takedown with ease btw,

Again at no point did I say he needs to fight in a trad muay thai style so dont put words in my mouth please,If you watch Alvarez fight the front knee has done him damage (numberous times in the cowboy fight while shooting takedowns)

Eddie is fond of the thai plum too so anyone fighting him and ignoring the muay thai side of training for Alvarez will be in for a serious surprise.

23:09

4th round. Nate was coming forward for the previous 20 seconds Conor threw a teep and Nate started moving backwards, winded.

If you listen to the corner audio of the fight, Owen Roddy says "that hurt him" about that teep. If you watch the Mac Life video, in the dressing room after the fight Peter Queally says "that teep buckled him".

Knees are effective for Cowboy against Eddie because he's an orthodox fighter. His knees are coming in from his left knee against the mid-section Eddie can't protect because he's got his right hand kept low ready to swing.

Conors knees would be coming in off the right leg to the area Eddie always holds a high guard with his left hand.

I.e. Cowboy using knees means he's vulnerable to a counter LEFT hand from eddie. Conor using knees means he's vulnerable to a counter RIGHT hand from eddie.

Given all the power is in his right hand, regular use of knees would be a very risky strategy.

And if Muay-Thai was his gameplan, he'd be in the gym 24-7 with Cian Cowley and Johnny Dargan - not with Dillon Danis and Sergey.

You made out the teep was successful in the Diaz fight and thats the best example you could come up with? really?

If you said the Mendes fight I'd agree considering hes a orthodox smaller wrestler in Eddie's mould and the teep's took the wind from him,they however had zero to do with the win over Nate imo,

I think he's training with Danis and Sergey because he knows his grappling isnt on the level of Eddies so its a wise move upskilling and he knows Eddie is going to be shooting from the bell,but im just saying if you neglect training for Eddie's muay thai plum it could be trouble (not saying hes not working on it either im sure they have been)

You made out the teep was successful in the Diaz fight and thats the best example you could come up with? really?

If you said the Mendes fight I'd agree considering hes a orthodox smaller wrestler in Eddie's mould and the teep's took the wind from him,they however had zero to do with the win over Nate imo,

Well Owen Roddy and Peter Queally disagree with you.

They both said that teep changed the momentum of the fight. Conor lost round 3 and Nate was marching forward in round 4.

That small little teep changed the whole momentum of the fight. It winded Nate, he slowed down, and Conor took over the Round.

That teep had a lot to do with the win over Nate - certainly in the opinion of Roddy and Queally. And i agree with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭thewheel2.0

23:09

4th round. Nate was coming forward for the previous 20 seconds Conor threw a teep and Nate started moving backwards, winded.

If you listen to the corner audio of the fight, Owen Roddy says "that hurt him" about that teep. If you watch the Mac Life video, in the dressing room after the fight Peter Queally says "that teep buckled him".

Knees are effective for Cowboy against Eddie because he's an orthodox fighter. His knees are coming in from his left knee against the mid-section Eddie can't protect because he's got his right hand kept low ready to swing.

Conors knees would be coming in off the right leg to the area Eddie always holds a high guard with his left hand.

I.e. Cowboy using knees means he's vulnerable to a counter LEFT hand from eddie. Conor using knees means he's vulnerable to a counter RIGHT hand from eddie.

Given all the power is in his right hand, regular use of knees would be a very risky strategy.

And if Muay-Thai was his gameplan, he'd be in the gym 24-7 with Cian Cowley and Johnny Dargan - not with Dillon Danis and Sergey.

Cowboy is also 6' 1", much easier for him to land knees to that area...

Yep. It takes a lot more energy and explosiveness for a 5'9 guy like conor to land effective knees to the chest/mid-section.

I highly doubt we'll be seeing many (if any) knees thrown in open space. Perhaps the odd knee or elbow thrown in the clinch.

Well Owen Roddy and Peter Queally disagree with you.

They both said that teep changed the momentum of the fight. Conor lost round 3 and Nate was marching forward in round 4.

That small little teep changed the whole momentum of the fight. It winded Nate, he slowed down, and Conor took over the Round.

That teep had a lot to do with the win over Nate - certainly in the opinion of Roddy and Queally. And i agree with them.

Clutching at straws here,If it changed the momentum of the fight how did Nate win the 5th?

Anyways im not arguing the effect one kick had in a 33 minutes of war we will agree to disagree.

Clutching at straws here,If it changed the momentum of the fight how did Nate win the 5th?

Anyways im not arguing the effect one kick had in a 33 minutes of war we will agree to disagree.

I don't necessarily agree Nate won the 5th. It was an incredibly tight round with the cleaner strikes by Conor. They secured one takedown each and Nate had 10 seconds of control with his takedown.

You can say "clutching" all you want but the bottom line is Owen Roddy was sat 10 feet from that teep and said it changed the momentum of the fight.

Conors path to victory isn't through muay-thai knees, clinch work or wrestling.

His clear path to victory is his elite striking and left hand. Eddie is very easy to hit. Conor hits very hard and is scarily accurate.

That's what this fight boils down to. Eddies chin is extremely suspect. If he can't get his hands on Conor to tie him up against the fence, this will be a very short nights work.

Heres some visual of some of the stuff Eddie is fond of

The Elbow - beautifully executed against Gil,dangerous for Conor on the cage particularly when defending the TD

UnfitMadColt.gif

He is also fond of the upper cut left hook combination

0-75817?w=1000

tumblr_n39wauLJNA1ry1rm7o4_r1_400.gif

I don't necessarily agree Nate won the 5th. It was an incredibly tight round with the cleaner strikes by Conor. They secured one takedown each and Nate had 10 seconds of control with his takedown.

You can say "clutching" all you want but the bottom line is Owen Roddy was sat 10 feet from that teep and said it changed the momentum of the fight.

Conors path to victory isn't through muay-thai knees, clinch work or wrestling.

His clear path to victory is his elite striking and left hand. Eddie is very easy to hit. Conor hits very hard and is scarily accurate.

That's what this fight boils down to. Eddies chin is extremely suspect. If he can't get his hands on Conor to tie him up against the fence, this will be a very short nights work.

You can say his chin is suspect,Im not sure I agree he might get dropped often but he hasnt a glass suspect chin hes been tko'd once in his career over 13 years fighting some very good strikers anyone who has been in there with RDA Pettis Gil cowboy and chandler(in a row) and not been ko'd doesnt have a suspect chin.

I've no idea why you are showing GIF's of Eddie landing strikes on orthodox stance fighters.

Conor is a southpaw!

That lead-hand right uppercut into left-hook combo simply isn't there against Conor.

He's gonna get dropped if he's going to try for a lead-hand right uppercut against a southpaw in a wide karate stance.

If you're going to show GIF's of Eddies striking, at least show it against southpaws. Otherwise they are pointless.

The difference in range between opposite stance fighters is not something i need to explain to you or is it?

You can say his chin is suspect,Im not sure I agree he might get dropped often but he hasnt a glass suspect chin hes been tko'd once in his career over 13 years fighting some very good strikers anyone who has been in there with RDA Pettis Gil cowboy and chandler(in a row) and not been ko'd doesnt have a suspect chin.

I posted a video of most of the times he was dropped. 7 times in his last 14 fights. That ain't gonna be good against McGregor to keep doing the chicken dance when he gets hit.

Hahaha the funniest thing ive read all day

Nope upper cut doesnt work on southpaw strikers go to bed mate seriously

20160707091741_GettyImages545473616.JPG