Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MotoGP 2016 News & Chat

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

tommyboy26 wrote: »
    Great finish for the race. Very strange for a factory team to blow 2 engines in one weekend????

I wonder if they both blew for the same reason

Yeah....Rossi was given Lorenzo's second engine by mistake...:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 34,226 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Worrying for Yamaha as I don't think any mechanical changes are allowed to the engines during the season :eek: but they're very competitive when not blowing up. Honda look to have lots of issues getting the power down out of corners.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

I think that's Rossi's championship hopes over now. Still 2/3 of season left, but I can't see him being able to overhaul both Lorenzo and Marquez. He's depending on both of them to have a DNF whilst putting together a series of race wins. He also can't afford another DNF himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Pugzilla wrote: »
    I think that's Rossi's championship hopes over now. Still 2/3 of season left, but I can't see him being able to overhaul both Lorenzo and Marquez. He's depending on both of them to have a DNF whilst putting together a series of race wins. He also can't afford another DNF himself.

Would have loved to have seen the camera zoom to Stoners face when Rossis bike blew..bet it was like this..:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Pol Espargaro is off to KTM with Smith for 17 & 18.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

Sad day guys. Luis Salom has passed away due to injuries sustained in FP2 of the Spanish Grand Prix

Luis Salom R.I.P

Amazing race

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

excellent race

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

Absolutely brilliant, great to be at it today as at qualifying thought Rossi was out of it for the weekend. However the man never fails to amaze. That is us twice here at Catalunya and twice Rossi won. Junior was well impressed, he could see what all the hype was about. Even here Rossi has a mega huge following. Opens up the championship nicely.

On a sad note was the death of Luis Salom - Moto2 (R.I.P) at turn 12 , 2nd last before the main strait on Friday, the day we did not go and to the right side of our Grand stand. Many riders rode in tribute after each race with Espargado leaving a metal sign with the number 39 on it at the spot after the MotoGP Race, very fitting.

It was great to see Vale and Marc shake hands.

MotoGP.com wrote:
    Only one member of Jorge Lorenzo’s current crew will make the move to Ducati with him in 2017
    http://www.motogp.com/en/in%20the%20media/2016/06/07/lorenzo-s-crew-to-remain-at-yamaha/203507

That's really good news for Vinales.

h3000 wrote: »

Really impressive rider Vinales, well able to hold his own with the top flight. Having a seasoned crew will definitely stand to him.

Just finished watching a recorded run of the race, will be holding on to that recording. Junior had never been to a GP race and was well impressed with the high speed overtaking manoeuvre Rossi made on Marcquez at the end of the main strait.

A lot of VR46 fans at the airport last night and in Barcelona all day yesterday, great to see. Have to plan another jaunt, maybe Assen?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,626 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Fernando Alonso has a LS39 sticker on his helmet at this weekends Canadian F1 GP.

RIP Luis Salom

• Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

rins signs for suzuki. great move for him

Good move for Rins and Suzuki in fairness. I wonder where Aleix will end up. I hope he gets some sort of decent ride. I think I heard a rumour of him heading to WSBK.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

Good move for Rins and Suzuki in fairness. I wonder where Aleix will end up. I hope he gets some sort of decent ride. I think I heard a rumour of him heading to WSBK.

Well there is no factory ride left in motogp so his options are limited

There's still a seat at Aprilia as far as I know. It should be a much better bike next year too.

Actually there is the Tech3 seat too I think. That's pretty close to factory.

Tech 3 Yamaha, Pramac Ducati and a MARC VDS Honda available assuming Cal and LCR take up their options.

Herve has been complaining about Rins etc wanting a factory ride straight away and the fact that Tech 3 are no longer seen as the stepping stone to a factory Yamaha ride.

Current speculation is Zarco will go to Tech 3 and Pramac will remain unchanged.

Infoanon wrote: »

Current speculation is Zarco will go to Tech 3 and Pramac will remain unchanged.

That will be a lot of Moto2 riders up in one year. Lowes, Rins, Folger and Zarco.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭frostie500

Havent been online in a while but Aleix to Aprilia is a cert, same with Zarco to Tech3. Pramac are very happy with Petrucci and have a lot of confidence in Scott so they'll stay pat for next year. Avintia and Aspar are the interesting ones because they'll have GP15s and with Hector Barbera having been very strong he'll keep his seat and likely Baz too. Eugene will likely look to stay at Aspar as his first priority

Crutchlow confirms he will stay with LCR for 2017

https://twitter.com/MotoGP/status/746000049528672256

Stefan Bradl has confirmed that he will be leaving Aprilla at the end of 2016 and that Aleix will be replacing him - was due to be announced yesterday but flight delays have put back the announcement until next week apparently.

Bautista is high on Aspars list and has more or less confirmed he is in talks.

How in the name of Jaysus does he stay on the bike after a moment like this?
    http://www.snappytv.com/snaps/marquez-moment-about-dorna-first-show-on-dorna-_a7

Well Assen proved spectacular as usual. The Moto3 race was excellent, Moto2 was ok and MotoGP was drama filled at least. I was sickend for so many riders but absolutely delighted for
    Miller

****e day for
    Rossi
    , but at least
    Miller
    was able to win it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭lolie

Why is there spoilers for a race that took place yesterday ?